Malaysian police conduct noise checks on their own

Perhaps in an effort to show the Malaysian public that the law is being applied equally, police conducted motorcycle noise and modification checks on police personnel. The operation was held by the Traffic Investigation and Enforcement department (JSPT) on police personnel exiting police headquarters at Bukit Aman, Kuala Lumpur.

This was held in response to public sentiment on social media saying the recent over the top police action against motorcycles was only targeted at the riding public. The vehicle examination special op involved 15 officers and 35 other JSPT personnel, accompanied by 5 officers from the police Integrity and Standard department (JIPS), along with personnel from the Department of Environment (DOE).

During the operation, 280 vehicles were inspected, resulting in 146 summons issued for offences such as “fancy” number plates, no side mirrors, no road tax and exhaust modifications. The main objective of this surprise check is to ensure police personnel complied with the law and road rules, showing an example to the public, as stated on the JSPT Facebook page.

What do you think dear reader, are police doing the job we pay them to do or is this just mere window dressing and playing to the public gallery? The recent persecution of road users, notably motorcyclists, has reportedly become overbearing and many feel police are targeting the lower income and disadvantaged group in these times of pandemic and lockdown with the resulting economic downturn across Malaysia.

While overbearingly noisy exhausts are a nuisance, the current disportionate response starts to bring to mind images of a police state. Leave a response with your thoughts and opinions, below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Motorcycle rider not equal low income. Even if some of them are low income law apply the same to everyone. The police is doing some very good job here, keep it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 18, 2021 at 4:53 pm

Yeah I was just about to say that the lower income group has enough money to illegally mod their bikes so they definitely have the money to pay the fines.

• John Doe on Mar 18, 2021 at 7:30 pm

The police should be giving fines for not using turn signals and and cars with their taillights out. It’ll make driving much more safe for everyone instead of just noise, which barely contributes to motorists safety.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 18, 2021 at 10:28 am

Fired and charge in court those who conspired with criminals vices. Instead of merely transferring the tainted personnels to other stations and deskjobs, but still enjoying paid salaries.

The nation security and Rakyat utmost safety is at stake here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Wow. 280 vehicles inspected with 146 summons issued. That’s really something to think about for those in the higher ranks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Imran on Mar 18, 2021 at 11:49 am

Agree 101%. Those in the higher ranks must take note. Doin very good job here to check motorcycle rider. Esp when younger officers conspiring against IGP.

• Moriwaki on Mar 18, 2021 at 12:22 pm

Summon…yes. Bayar berapa?

• Police on Mar 18, 2021 at 10:53 am

Saman je ikut undang2. Tak kiralah kesalahan apa sekalipun.

• Double Standard Tape on Mar 18, 2021 at 11:23 am

Window dressing for sure. Later all samans get cancelled off internally in their system

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Hasan on Mar 18, 2021 at 11:31 am

I have no problem with these recent laws. In fact, I encourage the government to take more action by also including vehicles. They should also crack down on vehicle emissions especially by those lorries. On another note, the government should provide subsidies to help people with older cars to fix their catalytic converters and such in order to meet the car’s original emissions specs.

• MrDDR on Mar 18, 2021 at 12:11 pm

“What do you think dear reader, are police doing the job we pay them to do” Since when you become their majikan. Just because you pax tax its not qualify you as their boss. You pay tax because that your responsibility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • kaizen on Mar 18, 2021 at 4:00 pm

agree with u GGR. i think the phrase ‘we pay them (civil servants’)’ the salary is an overratedly used phrase by desperate and dissapointed people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 18, 2021 at 4:50 pm

Dude we pay taxes and vote coz we are their boss. They answer to us citizens of a country. Why do you think they have to always justify their actions to the public?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • Dredd on Mar 18, 2021 at 6:55 pm

Incorrect.
        We serve the public but they are not our bosses.
        Their taxes fund the Govt, they do not pay our salaries.
        Our badge is answerable only to King and Country not to the public.
        We enforce the law without fear nor favour to the public.
        We should not need to justify our actions to the public. The public should justify to us their inability to follow the laws.
        It is this stupid thinking that the more taxes you pay, you can walk over us. Big Mistake.
        Dredd will show you no mercy with my trusty Lawgiver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Moodin on Mar 18, 2021 at 12:58 pm

MACC officers should disguise themselves as mat rempits and catch corrupted cops on the spot

• wayang on Mar 18, 2021 at 1:33 pm

those who are children’s of police personnel will know that you can just cancel the summons later.

just wayang for the ordinary folks.

• Land of Fine Discounts on Mar 18, 2021 at 1:59 pm

Keep first later wait for discount code announcement

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 18, 2021 at 4:52 pm

Targeting lower income group? I beg to differ. The law is equal on all sides. Whether u rich or poor, you pay up when you get the ticket. Speaking about the lower income group, are they really cash strapped? I mean they have the cash to mod their vehicles so they do have the extra moolah to play.

• Diskaun-kaw-kaw on Mar 18, 2021 at 5:59 pm

PDRM staff sendiri ade discount ke??

• SK9927 on Mar 19, 2021 at 8:14 am

more than 50% were issued with summons. those issued with summons should be also subjected to disciplinary action!!!! this is the police force not some random govt department. if the police themselves are happily flouting the law, then there is no need for the rakyat to obey the laws either.

• That is why PDRM clamp down on their own people. The law applies to all.