Perodua Aruz launched in Singapore – RM286,461

The Perodua Aruz has made its launch debut in Singapore, where it is offered in a sole 1.5L X variant priced at SGD92,999 (RM286,461) inclusive of GST and certificate of entitlement (COE) – that’s around four times what we pay here. Available through Perocom Auto, the seven-seat SUV joins the Bezza and Myvi in the local line-up, with the Axia no longer being on sale there.

“The Aruz’s arrival in Singapore marks the first seven-seater offered by Perodua in the island nation,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad. “With nearly 58,000 units sold in Malaysia since its debut in 2019, the Perodua Aruz was Malaysia’s best-selling SUV overall in 2019 and 2020. We are looking forward to sharing the Aruz’s space, safety, versatility, durability, practicality and fuel efficiency with our southern neighbours,” he added.

Just like in Malaysia, the Aruz for the Singaporean market is powered by a 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that makes 102 PS at 6,000 rpm and 133 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. The Dual VVT-i mill sends drive to the rear wheels via a four-speed automatic transmission, and has a rated fuel consumption of 15.6 km/l (6.4 l/100 km) with the Eco Idle system.

Standard equipment includes 17-inch alloy wheels with 215/60 profile tyres; LED headlamps and taillights; keyless entry and engine start; manual air-conditioning with digital controls and rear vents, a touchscreen head unit with six speakers; and a reverse camera. The cabin also features fabric seats, with 60:40-split second and 50:50-split third rows.

On the safety front, the 1.5L X gets six airbags (front, side and curtain), along with vehicle stability control, traction control, ABS with EBD and brake assist, emergency stop signal, hill start assist and Isofix child seat anchors. Unlike in Malaysia, there’s no 1.5L AV variant offered, so the Aruz doesn’t get the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0 suite here in Singapore.

Customers there can order the Aruz in one of four colours, including three metallic options – Granite Grey, Electric Blue and Glittering Silver – and an Ivory White solid hue. Each purchase also comes with a five-year or 100,000 km warranty.

Perocom Auto is the sole authorised Perodua distributor in Singapore since 1997, and aside from the Aruz, third-generation Myvi, Bezza and Axia, has sold the Kancil, Kembara, Kelisa, first-generation Myvi and Viva previously. Besides Singapore, Perodua also exports to Brunei, Sri Lanka, Mauritius, the Seychelles, Fiji and Indonesia.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Premium Perodua Aruz Jeep Crossover, only SGD 92k for Singaporean

Its cheaper than Toyota Sienta SGD 108k.

• Lih Woei Law on Apr 13, 2021 at 3:43 pm

RM286,461. Seriously? can get 3 unit in boleh land

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Karam Singh on Apr 13, 2021 at 6:57 pm

Because include COE. Without COE.. u use red plate number.. weekend only. COE is never cheap.

• tricycle on Apr 13, 2021 at 7:45 pm

I see more Proton Exora in sinkie then p2 cars..

• What the…? Dei all cars in Sinkie needs COE dont matter if Black plate, or Red plate, or Yellow plate! You only pay less road tax for Red plate which has no bearing on COE cost!

• Fasting tho on Apr 13, 2021 at 3:48 pm

For the basic spec Perodua Aruz and the price plus coe wow

• Lolwhut? on Apr 13, 2021 at 4:03 pm

A Rush rebadge for the price of a Harrier plus spare change? LOL!

• Norf Norf on Apr 13, 2021 at 4:17 pm

Low taxes , High prices of freedom, the truly Asian way

• Celup King on Apr 13, 2021 at 4:54 pm

Can P2 CEO tell us the truth how many cars they sold in SG for the past 5 years? Setting up an overseas branch there for a handful of customers is plain waste of money.

• They made lots of money in the past 5 years. Can you say the same about Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • So its ok to waste money if one made lots of money?
        Talk about good business strategy….

• Looking at your statement, you should be the last one to mention the words “Business Strategy”.

• So what kind of ‘Business Strategy’ you have that happily waste money? You do realise these are our taxpayers money going down the Sinkie drain?

• debunked on Apr 14, 2021 at 11:34 am

I’ve been investigating and I found an impeccable of comment similarities between “ioma” and “newme” (probably now in hiatus).

• justasking on Apr 14, 2021 at 8:29 pm

How about john, Alan, Gary & Celup King?

• Casual reader on Apr 14, 2021 at 11:56 pm

What about them? They are still posting comments as usual more or less, while your kunta handle remain permabanned. Tells a lot dont you think so?

• debunked on Apr 15, 2021 at 11:49 am

to “justasking”: At a glance, I don’t see similarities but I’ll investigate for you

• Proton also made a lot of money in the past 20 years, so your logic means it is okay for Proton waste more than Perodua lah?

• Curious on Apr 13, 2021 at 5:27 pm

Never mentioned how many booking aldy make ?

• dong gor on Apr 13, 2021 at 5:31 pm

The cost of owning a car in Singapore outweighs the car’s actual ‘value’ by miles. so if one would to buy a car it’s just natural to chose something more ‘valueable’. then back to P2, how many cars are you gonna sell there? and why bother…

• Dylan on Apr 13, 2021 at 5:40 pm

Singapore mandates euro 6. Perodua is able to meet this. Proton, I’m not so sure. I last read that their Campro only Euro 4.

• Mesia all fuels edi switched to Euro5, are you saying Proton cars cannot meet? Yet why so many Protons are still running around?

• Dylan on Apr 16, 2021 at 2:28 am

Malaysia petrol is euro 5 or euro 4? I thought euro 4 only?

I know that diesel is now euro 5.

There is nothing preventing a euro 2 compliant car from using euro 3,4,5,6 fuel.

• Makcik Kiah on Apr 13, 2021 at 9:48 pm

Syukur kereta P2 masih mampu milik di Malaysia. Uni graduate pun boleh beli Aruz….

• Buy a biji rambutan for RM286,461, poor Singaporean.