Perodua Myvi introduced in Mauritius – RM81k-90k

The third-generation Perodua Myvi has been launched in Mauritius, the car being officially introduced in the republic last weekend at the Defi Media Motor Show held in Port Louis.

Local distributor Raouf Dusmohamud & Co is bringing in two automatic variants of the hatchback, the 1.3 G AT and 1.5 H AT, priced respectively at 699,000 (RM81,300) and 775,000 (RM90,140) Mauritian Rupees, on-the-road with insurance. Mauritius becomes the Myvi’s third export market after Indonesia (where it is sold as the Daihatsu Sirion) and Singapore.

“The new Myvi is a very sophisticated and advanced product that Mauritians can truly get excited about. Plus, we’re sweetening the ownership package for our valued customers by offering free servicing up to 30,000 km with every Myvi purchase, which we are now also extending to all the other Perodua models in our current line-up, namely the Alza, Axia and Bezza,” said Raouf Dusmohamud & Co Ltd MD Raouf Dusmohamud.

The new market for the Myvi will also help push the automaker’s export numbers along, in line with its plans to improve on its export performance this year. “Perodua aims to export 3,270 cars in 2019 – a 50% increase over last year’s 2,184 units.” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad said.

“So far this year we have sold over 1,600 units outside Malaysia and launched the Myvi in Singapore and the Seychelles respectively. The Myvi’s Mauritian debut should edge us closer to our year-end export target and boost Perodua’s brand exposure internationally, what with Mauritius being a major tourist destination,” he added.

Located in the Indian Ocean, the island nation is one of Perodua’s oldest overseas markets – the brand has been present since 1996, and nearly 2,400 Perodua cars have been sold there. Models sold previously include the Kancil, Rusa, Kembara, Kenari, Kelisa, first- and second-generation Myvi and the Viva. The current line-up is made up of the Alza, Axia, Bezza – which was introduced in 2017 – and the Myvi.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Manggo juice on Aug 06, 2019 at 11:54 am

This is an exciting news. Our game changing second cational carmaker are going international and now Perodua introduced our game changing Myvi in Mauritius. I am sure the Myvi will sell like hotcakes there as Perodua cars have modern design, complete features, complete safety and reliable engine. This can also be a game changing lesson for Proton to learn how to be an international carmaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • EDITOR on Aug 06, 2019 at 7:04 pm

I feel sorry for this guy. After losing his Nissan job, now he is clinging onto dear life to his paid trolling. What a sad sad life.

• 2,400 in 23 years. That is about 1 car sold every 3rd day. Meanwhile each Proton shipment goes out 400 cars. Don’t make me laugh.

• Selling 2 cars a week is good achievement? Exactly Perodua jaguh kampung mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
        • Celup King on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:11 pm

I lol at their marketing team, more when they are resorting to trolling sites like here. I can see why they are still paying full salaries to staff just to open showroom 2 days a week. They mustn’t be making any money if they are working with such inefficiencies. Since they have never declared annual profits, this must be one of the reasons.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Aug 07, 2019 at 9:21 am

I think that is still a good achievement, since Mauritius’ population is only around 1.27 million. Divide by 2,400 cars sold by Perodua there, that means about 1 in every 529 people in Mauritius owns a Perodua vehicle there, in a country of small islands. Not bad at all.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 07, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Really now? Can you show me a Mauritian that still owns his Perodua from 1996?

• P2 close shop la on Aug 10, 2019 at 8:43 pm

What game changing? Sold just 100 unit a year over 23 years is not an encouragement for a car maker to begin with.

• Celup King on Aug 06, 2019 at 11:55 am

Since 1996 and only 2k sold there, expect near to no sales again. lel.
    I hope Perodua can give us a breakdown of overseas Perodua sold with their own badge and not just rebadged as Daihatsu. My guess, 99% of those 1.6k is sold in Indonesia, which is minuscule amount considering their huuuggeee market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Master233 on Aug 07, 2019 at 1:04 pm

It is sold under the name of Perodua Myvi in Mauritius.

And there is another car named Toyota Agya here in Mauritius, which is also known as Daihatsu Agya overseas.

The Toyota Agya is cheaper than the Perodua Myvi here. I do not understand why we don’t yet have the manual transmission Myvi.

• Ayam goreng keju on Aug 06, 2019 at 11:56 am

Myvi murah. Minyak paling murah in the region ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Tree hugger on Aug 06, 2019 at 12:06 pm

I hope our resident troll Mario will not come here to badmouth this successful Perodua as well as commenting using multiple names, accusing others, disrespecting Honda, Hyundai, Nissan, Perodua, etc, and spamming like/dislike button. We readers here are very dissapointed with his game over ways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • No need feed the troll, my friend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Halloha 560 on Aug 06, 2019 at 7:28 pm

Mario have been caught spamming like/dislike button on others game changing comments here to create a scenario that someone dislike his comment. We readers are so disappointed after finding out his game over behaviour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Real Worlds on Aug 06, 2019 at 7:55 pm

Nice caught bro. I hope that he can stop his insane game over behaviour that have caused trouble in here. Let us keep PT clean from any game over dupes, fake like/dislike and fights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • Mazda1530 on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:04 pm

I hope that you will stop your game over behavior because you spamming likes to your post and dislike to other post, using your own dupes, stealing other people’s name and accusing other good carmakers

• You think everyone have so much free time like you, Mr Troll?

• Raymond on Aug 06, 2019 at 10:34 pm

Just read comments from Mario and Real World in older articles. Both clearly have the same horrendous english! So yes, this Mario guy DOES create dupes! Don’t just target the ‘game over’ dude, be fair and target others too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • Mazda1530 on Aug 07, 2019 at 12:51 am

Ladies and gentlemen’s, I would urged to all of the readers to read the comments from older articles from 2019 till 2017, it is already CLEARLY STATED that Sallehudin and Lim See Leng have the SAME STATEMENTS that posted in October 2018 about Ford Ranger

Sallehudin Post: https://paultan.org/2018/10/26/2019-ford-ranger-line-up-in-malaysia-spec-by-spec-compared/

Lim See Leng Post:
          https://paultan.org/2018/10/25/first-look-2019-ford-ranger-wildtrak-4×4-rm145k/

And as above from Mario and Bros said that both comments from Tree hugger and Luigi and Yoishi have the SAME STATEMENTS. And other older articles, Kunta also post with SAME STATEMENTS WITH DIFFERENT NAMES. So yes, Kunta guy DOES create dupes! Don’t just target ‘Kunta Kinte’ to all, just be fair and target others.

• P2 troll and changing names berpisah tiada. Oh, and upliking his own comments too. Pathetically funny lah this troll!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Myvi Sejuta Umat on Aug 06, 2019 at 12:21 pm

The new Myvi is a very sophisticated and advanced product that Mauritians can truly get excited about.

• Lets See on Aug 06, 2019 at 12:49 pm

Somebody will want it…. There’s too many Jap fanboys in the world for them not to get sales, especially if they market them as Daihatsu substitutes. Then again that’s still due to Daihatsu rather than Perodua itself.

• Master233 on Aug 07, 2019 at 12:58 pm

In Mauritius the Myvi is sold as Perodua Myvi;

And the Daihatsu Ayla is sold as the Toyota Agya.

• Master233 on Aug 07, 2019 at 1:00 pm

In Mauritius, the Myvi is sold as Perodua Myvi;

& the Daihatsu Ayla is sold as Toyota Agya.

And the Myvi is more expensive than the Toyota Agya.

• Poor Mauritius, cars damn expensive af.
    Per capita Mauritius 11k, Malaysia 12K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • v-tec fan on Aug 06, 2019 at 2:18 pm

this is what we want, we already have P1 and P2. improve it and sell it to oversea, not P3 or flying car.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Aug 07, 2019 at 9:30 am

Let it be la. Let them compete & push each others to the limit. You know how many car producers in China? Look at how competitive they are now. Ok, our domestic market is far smaller than China, but overseas markets like Indonesia and Mauritius (and Singapore as well) is something we should go for.

• Shukor bin Azman on Aug 06, 2019 at 2:22 pm

We are so lucky to get the Myvi for RM50k. This shows Perodua cares for Malaysians.

Look at Boyue. In China is it RM59k. But come to Malaysia it becomes RM123k. So much for national car and cheap pricing for its own rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Celup King on Aug 06, 2019 at 6:51 pm

41,000 buyers don’t seem to care. It’s at least Rm40,000 cheaper than equivalent competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • 3000 units kereta boleh dikatakan tak ada orang minat, Perodua hanya sebuah kilang memasang kereta dan bukan reka buat kereta.

• Mauritius population only 1.2M++

• Of those 2.4k, how many are still remaining? Doesn’t mean that 1.2M++ is using all of them right now.

• Master233 on Aug 07, 2019 at 12:54 pm

I live in Mauritius and can tell you that many of them are still driving well. But the pricing of the new models is a bit expensive here, considering that we can have cars from another brands with a similar price tag or even cost less than the Myvi. For example, Toyota Agya, Suzuki Ignis, Nissan Micra, Datsun Go are at a lower price here. Maybe it is because of the shipping or tax etc, but the Myvi is more expensive here. But again..other brands are also affected by shipping & tax..

• Amran on Aug 06, 2019 at 5:29 pm

Go go go perodua! Luaskan pasaranmu!

• Yeah, Malaysian market is slowing down for P2. Better think of which third world countries to expand because your cars are designed for such countries. Oh, maybe need to rebadge back to Daihatsu because Perodua name is not famous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Proton Geely Alliances on Aug 07, 2019 at 1:52 pm

Proton have been exporting car to Australia, Egypt and UK for ages

• panjang on Aug 07, 2019 at 9:00 pm

Myvi recond anyone?