Penang Bridge Smart Tag, RFID toll lanes combined

Penang Bridge users, take note. Plus has announced that Lane 25 at the bridge’s Plaza Tol B is now a merged Smart Tag and RFID lane. Previously an exclusive Smart Tag lane, the lane now accepts both Smart Tag and RFID users. The rightmost Lane 26 is still an RFID exclusive lane.

The concessionaire says that the public pilot project started yesterday night and the objective is to test the effectiveness of such a set up. The signage has changed as a result, with the Smart Tag yellow sign now half its size, as illustrated above. Smart Tag users, don’t be alarmed because your tags are still valid for payment.

Drive safe and follow traffic signs and personnel at the area.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Penang Folks on Apr 21, 2021 at 5:57 pm

Bad move !Expected more traffic jem. The existing RF ID is not robust always sangkut. Smart TAG is much faster. They suppose to convert the normal TnG… I thought they want to encourage auto !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Elaine Choong on Apr 21, 2021 at 10:05 pm

Double deduction. I kena whn rfid just started

• Truckers on Apr 21, 2021 at 10:56 pm

I dont mind to queue and used the normal TnG. Sometimes tailgating or used faulty TnG card… huhuhu

• Ah Chong on Apr 22, 2021 at 1:25 pm

Yeah. Lane 25 already crazy jam since they convert 26. Nowadays I just squeeze over to left side to use lane 19. Way faster.

• Baki Tak Cukup on Apr 21, 2021 at 6:49 pm

After so long – they STILL can’t integrate the Smart Tag App to the TnG card balance. Now only allowing for KV highways.. so many got trapped with “Baki Tak Cukup”

Utter nonsense

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 21, 2021 at 6:59 pm

stupid system. make sure your smart tag is hidden, otherwise u kena double charge.

• No double charge on Apr 21, 2021 at 10:33 pm

This is very agree. I prefer they convert 1 tng lane to rfid rather than do combo auto scan. Double charge is really bad

• Those truck & lorry drivers dun like to use RFID.

• Confused on Apr 21, 2021 at 8:55 pm

My car have both. What are the chances of double deduction. Care to clear the air, anyone?

• You won’t as both is linked to EWallet, the smart tag via paydirect so you’d only get deducted once.

• swoosh3553 on Apr 22, 2021 at 7:55 am

From what I know, RFID will supersede Smart tag. RFID will be executed first. if barrier fail to come up, then reverse lor. what to do. Smart tag readibility is still better than RFID except when those dungu installed metallized windscreen tint that obstruct radio frequency. Then smart tag also sangkut!!!

• Average Joyah on Apr 22, 2021 at 12:14 pm

Speaking from past experiences, yes you will be double charged.

• This is not really a good idea because some people prefer using smart tag with discount rather than rfid which is a hassle to register for the discount

• i think TNG need to be acquired by oversea company in order to get know how to use technology, and not bullshit

• No to Stupid RF ID on Apr 22, 2021 at 6:07 pm

RF ID is stupid system… always have problem. Not robust. Any problem when when wrong charging takes months to refund. No help desk somemore.