Malaysian police to check toll payments during Raya

If you’re thinking of sneaking across state borders during the upcoming Raya holidays while certain states like Selangor and Kuala Lumpur are under movement control order (MCO), forget about it. Perak police chief Datuk Mior Faridalathrash Wahid said highway users with a high toll charge and invalid reason for travel will be issued a compound and turned back, reports Malaysiakini.com.

“Sometimes there are those who exit the highway at various tolls to avoid being detected cross state lines. They have various tactics,” said Mior. He also said Perak police will be tightening 27 road blocks around the state to prevent unauthorised order crossings during the Aidilfitri celebrations.

Asking for cooperation from the public, Mior said, “we will have checks at toll plazas, but we cannot check everyone, that would cause traffic congestion.” Instead, police would check the toll charges for random vehicles at the exit.

“For example, if there is a high toll charge from somewhere like Jalan Duta, we will stop the vehicle to issue a compound and the vehicle turned around, unless they have a permission letter. This is one strategy we will implement,” said Mior. During a monthly gathering at the Police Air Mobile training base, Mior also said the 15 Perak police headquarters receive up to 3,000 applications daily for permission to cross state borders.

“We evaluate each application thoroughly. We usually reject about 100 applications a day. Many applications are for cases of bereavement but this is found to be not the case. Funerals are permitted but only for close relatives while many applications are received for travel during weekends,” added Mior.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• They check at toll booth? For TnG card it’s impossible to immediately check after that unless you’re using TnG eWallet which PLUS still not support it yet.

• Safety First on May 07, 2021 at 8:08 pm

Abang-abang polis should check and verify where we working & study. Hold the car until the guilty suspect is proven innocent… stay safe!

• Civic Turbo 2018 on May 08, 2021 at 10:35 am

One-eye shut all these while. What’s more to say?

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 09, 2021 at 1:05 am

Cakap tak serupa bikin. Ini kali gua sapot 100% Close both eyes we sapot… Thumbs up!

• Sick & Tired on May 07, 2021 at 4:13 pm

Why our infection rates are still high? Its not cuz the police or govt not doing their jobs. Its these peeps idiots trying their best to break the law.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 07, 2021 at 8:57 pm

why them so selfish and stubborn in this holy month, putting everybody safety at risk. Msians cannot afford another PKP3, PKP4, PKP5 ….PKP99. Video call kan ade.

• pengayuhbasikal on May 07, 2021 at 4:23 pm

not an issue…there will be someone at the toll gate…looking at the toll amount…hehehehehehehe

• Sgt Scoop on May 07, 2021 at 11:09 pm

Telco signal can report to PDRM when phone owner in KL…and 8 hours later detected in Kelantan. Telcos gotta do for Malaysia to survive this pandemic,

• DJ Sakan on May 07, 2021 at 11:35 pm

Ini tak berniaga hujan takde gaji … oghang2 kaya moto besor alpad hitam kasta tinggi helang. dia tak peduli peniaga2 kecil roboh priuk belanga peti ais semua, kesian rakyat pipit sekiann

• business man on May 07, 2021 at 4:32 pm

they will check at the screen that shows the paid amount. So if you want to make that amount low, you need to exit on every toll and enter back :P

• Copy Paste on May 07, 2021 at 10:25 pm

“For example, if there is a high toll charge from somewhere like Jalan Duta, we will stop the vehicle to issue a compound and the vehicle turned around, unless they have a permission letter. This is one strategy we will implement,” said Mior

• thomas on May 07, 2021 at 5:01 pm

Said is easier than done.. haha

• alt ctrl del on May 07, 2021 at 5:29 pm

Those who ride motorbikes don’t pay toll…

• caps lock on May 08, 2021 at 10:48 am

jam darurat ini mmg tidak patut pon ke sana, ke sini… ikut cakap abah

• 4G63T DSM on May 07, 2021 at 6:57 pm

Police so much time be lazy…..

I ride my sports tourer you check my TNG please. Hahaha.

Hell, I don’t even see then having a road block at the interstate highway for the motorcycle bypass, not to mention all the various jalan tikus.

• Dr Strange on May 07, 2021 at 10:34 pm

Police doing their best to stop covid cross state infections and idiots here still trying their luck. Why not use that bit of brain power in helping to volunteer and stop the spread.

• Luyan on May 07, 2021 at 8:31 pm

Mco a year already now only they think of this strategy, hahahah. Sad to say but this is our style, slow slow slow, Malaysia boleh.

• Ben Yap on May 07, 2021 at 9:56 pm

take airasia la…. no roadblock. say going for work and ask a kawan-kawan company to produce a letter.

• Kjaan jangan sakiti lagi hati rakyat yang sedang susah. Syukur marhaen kini dapat kepimpinan melalui tauladan.

• bijak bruh. after raya we sez got new work in kl… can balik kl.

• Mengarut, Makin mengarut

• Levin on May 10, 2021 at 3:27 pm

I have a better idea. Instead, check each driver/passenger MySejahtera app to see the past history as to where they had checked in prior to exiting the toll. This will be a better method, but not everyone is using MySejahtera app as of now… there will always be loopholes.

On a side note, I’m noticing many bikers couldn’t even be bothered to wear helmet but they would happily wear masks, usually around residence/taman areas. Looks like they’re not afraid of getting into an accident and smashing their heads, but rather afraid of getting fined for not wearing a mask?

LOL… Malaysian enforcement u-turn style at its best.