Not that there is likely to be a rush to take advantage of it, but from tomorrow, July 2 until August 31, motorists will not have to pay for roadside parking within the federal territory of Kuala Lumpur. The initiative was announced by federal territories minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa in a tweet earlier today.
He said that the move to introduce free parking for the duration is aimed at lightening the burden of city folk, and hoped that people would use the savings to buy things needed for the family. Motorists will be able to take advantage of free parking at around 46,100 street parking bays across the city, according to The Star.
However, the publication added that the move is news to Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL), with officers saying they were unaware of the matter. “I guess you just have to wait for the ministry to provide the details on that,” said an officer.
Payment for roadside parking in KL is now made via mobile app platforms or e-wallets, with the switch to cashless payment having being made on October 1 last year.
i never paid for parking ever, parking fines i got one stack at my house also
So you are proud of yourself?
Biar la dia lepas mati. Roh jiwa tergantung jika Hutang tidak dibayar…
Left hand doesn’t know what the right is doing. Hahaha.. As usual
Our civil servants must speed up their actions & reactions when our mentris are firing full cylinders performing. The mentris are running so they can no longer be jogging and say dont know. They cannot continue being lazy like during 22 months kjaan gagal era.
70 mentris Makan Gaji Buta… Tido Makan Kenyang, Ponteng Parlimen.. Kasi Buang Tros, Kemaluan Besar Bangsa!!
Makan gaji buta > tipu sembunyi vaksin xmau bagi rakyat
I do 100% agree. These crop of ministers are working 24hrs and they are fast to come out with new policies and plans, made public often on the fly via social media, no more the bureaucratic red tape bs, or the old style formality of issuing thru tv & radio. This is the new age governance and civil servants mindset cannot remain buka 8.30am-4.30pm with 2hr breaks and tutup the rest of the time. They must be alert and be aware 24hrs, and be ever ready to carry out those policies as soon as the next working day starts. If need to burn the midnight oil to work out the plan overnight then so be it. This is what we want from our govt, fast & effective actions.
Adoii…keymark tool MahaRaja Lawak! LOL
The biggest MahaRaja Lawak is desperately trying to backdoor into Gomen. LOL!
hahaha….ppl have been doing roadside parking legally, and illegally all these while.
Free, or not free makes no difference for our unique Malaysian.
Only this time this period we don’t get fined so all is good. Thank you DBKL, FT Minister
Kudos to gomen for allowing free parking. *2 thumbs up!*