JPJ extends validity for expiring licenses, number plates, Puspakom tests and tukar hak milik process

JPJ extends validity for expiring licenses, number plates, Puspakom tests and <em>tukar hak milik</em> process

JPJ announced yesterday the extension of validity for a range of services and transactions that cannot be done from June 1 to July 31 due to the current movement control orders.

While counter services for all agencies under the transport ministry (JPJ, LPKP Sabah and Sarawak, APAD, Puspakom) have reopened since July 1 under government order, the services are only for transactions that cannot be done online, and with counter staff capacity not over 50%. No walk-ins – one has to make an appointment before heading there physically.

The road transport department says that to ensure that the delivery to the rakyat is not affected, the JPJ director-general has decided on this special extension. This means that one does not need to rush to make appointments.

For those who need to tukar hak milik, note that your Puspakom B5 report will be valid till September 30. That’s also the new extended date for B2, PG11A and PG13B reports. Commercial vehicles with scheduled inspection from June 1 to July 31 will be allowed to delay their trip to Puspakom, with exemption from saman.

More on the tukar hak milik process. JPJ’s MySikap system automatically blocks the transaction if the new owner does not present himself for biometric (thumbprint) confirmation within seven days after the existing owner has done his part. Now, new owners have till September 30 to complete the process.

In the number plate department, numbers expiring from June 1 to July 31 have their validity extended to September 30. There are also extensions for expiring rosak/binasa and hilang/curi number plates.

For driver licensing, CDL, GDL and PSV (competent, goods and public service vehicle licenses) get extensions till November 11, so holders won’t have to retake the test. This also applies to the switch from PDL to CDL and the renewal of learners driving license (LDL) – it’s now November 11. Expired international driving permit (IDP) holders have been given leeway until all forms of MCO have ended.

JPJ is advising the public to use online services and JPJ kiosks when possible, and not to rush to make appointments or obtain physical documents from its counters. This is to avoid overcrowding at the premises of JPJ and its partners, which might form Covid-19 clusters. Expired regular lesen and road tax? As announced earlier, you have till September 30, but make sure your vehicle has valid insurance cover.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Temujanji on Jul 09, 2021 at 12:56 pm

To use JPJ kiosk would also need to make appointment first, this is the instruction given by the security guards at JPJ Petaling Jaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Kim Jong Din on Jul 09, 2021 at 1:15 pm

If banks,pharmacies, certain factories and JPJ(limited pre arranged appointments)can operate,can the authorities explain why car workshops and spare parts suppliers are prohibited from operating under the latest EMCO?
    How do you expect the poor uncle with a boneshaker to make it to the market or vaccination centre if his car is breaking down?
    As car showrooms are closed,no one can buy new or used cars now.So what is the covidian science behind closure of mechanic workshops?
    You cant repair a broken down car by going online and watch Scotty Kilmer (American mechanic)to his tricks.
    Just pathetic how the rakyat is being treated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • LRT User on Jul 09, 2021 at 7:17 pm

For those cavemen who recently came out, there is such a convenience known as ‘taxi’, ‘public transport’ and ‘Grab/ ehailing’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
      • Casual reader on Jul 10, 2021 at 12:34 am

“Kim jong din” is probably a runaway from north korea where such conveniences havent yet existed. So you can forgive him for literally being a caveman out from medieval age.

• alt ctrl del on Jul 10, 2021 at 7:19 am

In a taxi or a Grab/e-hailing car, you’ll be sharing a ‘confined space’ with the driver in the vehicle’s interior. In a bus or a train, you’ll also be sharing a ‘confined space’ with the driver and the other passengers. Better chance of avoiding infection when you’re driving alone in your own vehicle.

• Brian on Jul 12, 2021 at 1:28 am

Has there been a Grab cluster or taxi cluster?

• Miss Ionim Possible on Jul 12, 2021 at 9:21 pm

Although there are currently none, the possibility cannot be totally ruled out.

• Banks, pharma, certain factories and certain jpj operations are necessary to keep essentials running & supplied. Service centers and show rooms are not an essential, as you have plenty of other options. Most importantly not all areas mandate workshops to close, areas in Phase 2 are opening for business again whereby as of date nearly all states are in Phase 2 or 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • showroom not essential, yes. but workshop is. lot of essential service worker drive/ride daily.

• everyman on Jul 10, 2021 at 7:09 am

Businesses which repair computers, tablets & smartphones that are vital for work from home & online school lessons, should also be allowed to open, at least to serve customers on appointment basis.

• Abd Halim Bin Abdullah on Jul 10, 2021 at 11:05 am

U right…. really right…..

• Nathan on Jul 10, 2021 at 4:45 am

Jpj ruling expired license can still drive on the road but why police roadblock checking license.

• Dredd on Jul 12, 2021 at 2:06 pm

They are checking if you coming from interstate, nothing to do with expired or not.

• ASMUI BIN KAIRON on Jul 10, 2021 at 7:31 am

Salam.
    Saya nak dapatkan geran kereta saya yg telah hilang. BGT 6258

• AngryofGT on Jul 10, 2021 at 9:01 am

I usually renew Road tax at the post office but this year unable to do it even though JPJ is open by appointment only. You have to go to the office to make the appointment, no online appointment available. However, found out that MyEG is offering renewal services but the system also keep crashing after trying to pay. So confused and frustrated with the system!

• Charoen Thaw on Jul 10, 2021 at 10:40 pm

not exaclty , like pj still phase one so how food panda and grab to repair or service especailly the heavvy transport vechicle

• Charoen Thaw on Jul 10, 2021 at 10:41 pm

Expired regular lesen and road tax? As announced earlier, you have till September 30, but make sure your vehicle has valid insurance cover.

isnt road tax follow the insurance cover date?

• JP Montoya on Jul 11, 2021 at 1:12 am

I m dissapointed with the way of this fail gov.hndle c19 pandemic.. closed all spare prts shop& auto workshop is making people more in hard situation.. My car having pblm with the leaking radiator exactly on my way back from PPV for my first vaccine 25km from home. Till today at 10/07 cannot sent for repairs or buy any spare prts..its really redicioulos situation for me since no trnsport to get my groceries stock & to move around. Pls stop this nonsence & mentally torturing people from ur madness.. We are very sick.!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Lolwhut? on Jul 12, 2021 at 1:32 am

Too much politicking has drove this guy to madness. Must reflect his PH states is still the highest infections and failing the worse rate vaccination from mismanagement. LOL!

• Dredd on Jul 12, 2021 at 2:08 pm

Dredd agree, you are a sicko. Please check yourself into nearest mental health facility.

• TINNERSON AK ALBERT LIKAU on Jul 11, 2021 at 8:04 am

Sila bantu saya memperharui lesen GDL telah tamat tempoh dapati semua kiosk buat masa ini tiada beroperasi kerana PKP masih diteruskan lagi…terima kasih

• Copy Paste on Jul 12, 2021 at 2:26 pm

Copy paste: “For driver licensing, CDL, GDL and PSV (competent, goods and public service vehicle licenses) get extensions till November 11, so holders won’t have to retake the test.”

• Ng Xiao Wei on Jul 12, 2021 at 7:10 pm

How can make apoointment

• Jayaraj 0189651138 on Dec 10, 2021 at 10:30 am

Saya hadir pagi ke jpj wangsa maju kl untuk nombor plate perlis yang saya beli untuk tambah tarikh pengawal keselamatan kata jpj beri tambahan hari sampai akhir tahun ini
    Saya minta tolong pihak jpj untuk tambah lagi
    No plate saya
    RAJ7665
    MINTA CADANGAN