Proton Tg Malim plant produced 1,677 cars in July, while Perodua, Toyota, Honda factories were closed

The gradual reopening of the manufacturing sector in the country under the different phases of the national recovery plan (NRP) has seen the resumption of vehicle production operations in certain states, though output in the country has otherwise largely remained idle last month.

Among those allowed to resume operations are Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant in Perak, which was allowed under Phase 2 rules which took effect early in the month of July, thus yielding an output of 1,677 vehicles last month for the national car brand. Meanwhile, key big-hitters in terms of volume such as Perodua (Rawang), Toyota (Shah Alam) and Honda (Pegoh, Melaka) saw zero production as their factories were closed during this period.

In addition to Proton’s output volume, just a handful of production sites in Malaysia recorded passenger vehicle production numbers in July, with 138 units from Mitsubishi, 176 units from Volkswagen, 258 units from Mercedes-Benz, 48 units from BMW, 75 from Hyundai and 24 units from Peugeot. For pick-up trucks classified as commercial vehicles in Malaysia, Isuzu charted three units, in addition to 229 commercial trucks.

All other assemblers in Malaysia have charted zero in terms of output volume due to ongoing pandemic restrictions during this period as they are located in NRP Phase 1 states, therefore total production of passenger vehicles for the month of July comes to 2,396 units.

This has been until the Malaysian government allowed operations in varying capacities according to rates of vaccination among the companies’ staff; this allowed for 60% capacity of operations for a 40-50% vaccination rate, 80% capacity for 60-79% vaccination rate, and the full 100% capacity for companies that have achieved a staff vaccination rate of 80% and above.

Vehicle production directly correlates to vehicle deliveries, and so Proton’s chart-topping production performance for July is reflected in its sales figures, selling 1,904 cars in that month. Overall, the resuming of production activities should bode well for the recovery of sales by ensuring a continued supply of stock, as showrooms have also been permitted to receive fully vaccinated patrons.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Celup King on Aug 25, 2021 at 2:54 pm

Congrats to P1 for taking great efforts to vaccinate their staffs
    https://paultan.org/2021/08/13/proton-says-over-86-of-its-staff-now-fully-vaccinated/
    Meanwhile pseudonational and other nonnational brands do not care for their staffs and biarkan mereka unvaccinated. They better close shop if this is how they treat our rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Mr. Sotong on Aug 25, 2021 at 4:25 pm

How do u know the rest did not get theirstaff vaccinated? Just because its not reported does not mean it did not happen. Don’t be a typical moron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Fake News on Aug 25, 2021 at 10:35 pm

How do you know they did? If it is something proud to share, they will share, no doubts as it is free PR. Tan Chong have done it you think perodua won’t if it was worth shouting out. So a good assumption is they did NOT.

• Mr. Sotong on Aug 26, 2021 at 9:04 am

Not all companies want to boast about taking care of their staff wellbeing. It is a responsibility, not an achievement.

• Fake News on Aug 26, 2021 at 9:46 am

You seem confident about your statement so do share here how many of their staffers are fully vaccinated, how many had done 2nd dose and what is your company doing to those who refused.

• Spin Too Much on Aug 26, 2021 at 12:55 am

And you know that for a fact how? Do you work for them?

• Perodua – Building cars, people first

• Fake News on Aug 25, 2021 at 10:36 pm

They value cars first b4 their people. Must be saddening to be their staff

• Dai Suk on Aug 25, 2021 at 9:17 pm

Vaccination through Pikas Programme organised by UMW Group was carried out on 28/7/2021 to 1/8/2021 at SACC Shah Alam.

• Bangala on Aug 26, 2021 at 8:46 am

Which arm? The sales arm? The O&G arm? Their assembly workers is under ASSB so they are still way far behind in being fully vaccinated.

• Dai Suk on Aug 26, 2021 at 6:58 pm

I only know I am holding a letter from MITI stating PIKAS UMW program right now and I got my first dose on 27/7 and 2nd dose on 13/8 and I am involved in auto industry. What more do you want to know?

• Anti Raja Celup & konco2nya. on Aug 27, 2021 at 5:17 am

Jangan nak tabur fitnahlah kawan, di mana2 dalam PT ada sahaja orang macam you ni. You sendiri fitnah, you sendiri komen.Tak tahu duduk diam-diamlah. Insaflah tabur fitnah, jangan sampai besok you yg termakan finah you sendiri.