2021 Proton Iriz, Persona facelift accidentally shown in PDRM live video – new 16″ wheels, smoked tail lamps

None of us probably saw this coming, but it appears that the upcoming Proton Iriz and Persona facelift models have been unintentionally leaked online. This comes after the Perak police force shot a Facebook live video (it has since been taken down) of its spot check at the national automaker’s Tanjung Malim plant.

Now, we at paultan.org have a policy of not running leaks from private facilities, especially factories. But since this came from what was a publicly accessible live video, we’ll make an exception.

While the video quality isn’t particularly good, some of the updates are actually visually discernible. All models of the Iriz and Persona get a redesigned front bumper, and the fancy reflector LED headlights previously seen in spy photos seem to be exclusive to Premium variants.

Other updates to the pair include smoked tail lights, although we can’t tell if the Persona will get the rumoured LED tail lights upgrade. Either way, there’s no new rear bumpers, though the Iriz seems to get a red-accented grille and red pinstripe along the lower rear bumper trim. The Persona 1.6 Premium, on the other hand, appears to have a gloss black roof this time around.

We also get to see the new twin six-spoke 16-inch wheels for the first time. This will likely be offered as standard for the 1.6 Executive and Premium models of the Iriz and Persona. Looks miles better than the 15 inchers from before, don’t you think?

Things get a little bit more blurry with the interior upgrades. However, we could make out the new freestanding touchscreen infotainment display, and the Persona no longer features a two-tone dashboard. It’s all black now, although the pillars and headliner remain beige in colour. What’s nice is that the 1.6 Premium variant will get a nice brown leather seat upholstery for a change.

As for mechanical changes, there should be no updates made to the powertrain, although it remains to be seen if Proton will replace the existing CVT with the same Hyundai-sourced four-speed automatic transmission that was introduced with the facelifted Saga. So, what do you guys think? Excited for the launch?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Izhar on Jul 07, 2021 at 4:23 pm

Thank you PDRM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Christopher on Jul 07, 2021 at 4:28 pm

whoops

• persona lipas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Dredd on Jul 07, 2021 at 7:31 pm

You mean like hardy, long lived, ubiquitous, able to survive virtually anything, hard to get rid? Dredd agrees.

• skinny hatch on Jul 08, 2021 at 1:03 am

easy hack, the new X70’s paint & pair it with 17′ inch bbs!
      I guess the iriz final hurrah should get a new rear design including the (horizontal) taillight, a shorter front overhang & 250nm engine output with drive-modes.

• Sammy on Jul 07, 2021 at 5:07 pm

What’s to look forward to if they just keep working on the same thing again n again. I have a few protons myself but to keep doing this for so long, it is just meaningless. Not even worth any hype.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Brian on Jul 08, 2021 at 11:56 am

PIES still sold well, so refreshing them isn’t a bad thing as it can keep selling them until replacement models arrive.

• SYAIFUL NIZAM BIN HASSAN . on Jul 12, 2021 at 11:45 am

Only Exora has to be reworked with major facelift (with grille + logo matching Saga, Persona, Iriz) & additional safety kit (curtain + side airbags, ISOFIX, hill assist, traction control etc) with minor hiking costs & pricing.

• SYAIFUL NIZAM BIN HASSAN on Jul 12, 2021 at 12:42 pm

Exora should be reworked with major facelift (different from current design + infinite weave grille + new logo) and additional safety kit (TSC, HHA, ISOFIX, 6 airbags as had in both Iriz & Persona) at minor hiking cost & pricing.

• Derrick on Jul 09, 2021 at 9:40 am

Market in M’sia is small, once R&D a model out of course they sell minimum 3-5 years to recoup cost. Unlike Japanese maker which have huge domestic market they can afford to totally redesign models very often.

• Black is gold now on Jul 07, 2021 at 5:17 pm

We had suggested, complained abt the decision on sportrim’s colors b4. Just follow current trend 20-21s now which is either gloss or matte finished in Black. Project leader should delete all 2000s template. The other parts of design, such as bumper, light, dual tones follow the currenttrend but why ignored the rim, again?
    If a certain demographic of your prospective buyer (old, aunties) insist on silver trim or hate the black, ask them to get it fix at aftermarket shops.

• Brian on Jul 08, 2021 at 11:57 am

Dunno but I spy the Persona looks to have 2tone diamond cut rims that are a thing in 20-21.

• Annoynimouse on Jul 07, 2021 at 5:31 pm

Good product/package. It’s just that I can’t get over the frog-like body. The tall body with small wheels don’t work.

• the driver on Jul 07, 2021 at 6:16 pm

Smoked tail lights are so yesterday. Reminds one of cheap automotive cosmetic jobs. Pimp job

• Contender on Jul 07, 2021 at 8:14 pm

Haha who cares about Iriz and Persona facelift ? We’re more interested in Geely models to be localised as Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • i think my old samsung note 2 can take more clearer picture

• if the price is right on Jul 08, 2021 at 7:04 am

Showrooms are closed, so visit the factory…

• does not matter la, Persona is forever fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • newme on Jul 08, 2021 at 9:33 am

“ACCIDENTALLY”…. hahahahahahaha

• same ol ugly design
    meh

• Slingshot on Jul 09, 2021 at 11:31 am

Can it fly?

• kingx on Jul 09, 2021 at 12:02 pm

Replacing the hopeless CVT is better than changing useless bumpers.

• Those who want to have 4AT steam engine feel shall buy Bezza or Myvi

• Arvin on Jul 09, 2021 at 12:03 pm

Rim 15 already not fuel efficient…now 16… RIP fuel consumption

• RavenAii (Member) on Jul 09, 2021 at 1:19 pm

PERSONA AND IRIZ LOOKS WAY BETTER WITH 16 INCH.

• Angeleyes on Jul 09, 2021 at 2:08 pm

Lipas. Side profile remains ugly as before. We know Proton wanted to reduce RnD cost thus came out with this easy job of facelift. But for me, the front door’s oversized window just totally doesn’t fit the proportion for a sedan. Honestly, this model can only laku for taxis and govt dept or maybe could try exporting to 3rd world countries.