GALLERY: 2022 Proton Persona 1.6 Premium – RM56k

The Proton Persona was officially unveiled its latest facelift guise early last month, though due to pandemic restrictions at the time, it is only now that we can bring you live images of the national carmaker’s once again revised B-segment sedan. Here it is, in visual detail.

The example photographed here is the top 1.6 Premium CVT, to give its variant name, and is priced at RM55,800 on-the-road excluding insurance. Under the skin is a 1,597 cc naturally aspirated engine that produces 109 PS at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm and mated to a continously variable transmission driving the front wheels.

Its front end receives the latest Proton emblem located within a redesigned grille, paired with LED headlamps on this range-topping Premium variant. Its front bumper has also been brought up to date with a refresh, and LED daytime running lights continue to be located at the bumper insert panels.

At the rear, changes that identify the 2022 model-year facelift are more reserved and still closely resemble the previous iteration, here bringing darkened tail lamp housings, and the rear bumper’s lower section wear a similar design to that of its predecessor, which was itself a facelift in 2019.

Rolling stock on the 2022 Persona in this Premium trim is a set of 16-inch alloy wheels in a dual tone finish, shod in tyres measuring 185/55R16. The middle Executive trim variant gets the same wheel design in a plain finish.

The interior gets the lion’s share of revisions in this facelift, and the Premium variant is differentiated here with brown leatherette upholstery whereas the Executive and Standard variants get fabric trim instead. Front and centre with the most prominent interior update is the freestanding eight-inch infotainment screen that now sits above the horizontal air-conditioning vents, whereas the screen was previously between vertical vents.

Exclusive to the Premium variant in 2022 Persona range is the “Hi Proton” voice command function, while adding navigation, music streaming, weather forecasts as well as 4G and Wi-Fi connectivity.

Safety kit in the 2022 Persona 1.6 Premium CVT is comprised of six airbags (front, side and curtain), plus two rear parking sensors added from the Executive variant onwards. Standard across the board are ABS, EBD, brake assist, stability control, traction control and hill hold assist. These culminate in a five-star Asean NCAP rating for the 2022 Persona and the related Iriz, based on testing conducted under the 2017-2020 protocol.

Last but not least, the 2022 Proton Persona gets a choice of six exterior colours, of which five are available for the Premium variant. This is the Premium-exclusive Space Grey finish photographed here, and others also available for the range-topper are Snow White, Armour Silver, Rosewood Maroon and Ruby Red.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Short nose, matching distance on Sep 01, 2021 at 3:16 pm

Persona vs City and Vios
    The matching ratios, the distances between
    1) firewall to front-axles Verses
    2) front-axles to front-bumper:
    https://paultan.org/image/2021/09/2021-Proton-Persona-1.6-Premium-CVT_Ext-3.jpg
    https://paultan.org/image/2020/10/Honda_City_E_Modulo_Launch_Malaysia_Ext-7_BM.jpg
    https://paultan.org/image/2020/12/2020-Toyota-Vios-Facelift-Malaysia_Ext-4-BM.jpg

• Persona win on Sep 01, 2021 at 4:58 pm

For sure la Azlan and the gang Win lor, those 2 japanese gangs tryin too hard to translate their love of foodies and anime into their design. Long noses, excessive criss cross lines, comical somemore. Opposite of European gangs

• Brian on Sep 01, 2021 at 5:50 pm

Look closely and you see the spare wheel is placed valve up unlike many many many reputable brands placing the wheel valve facing down. It is a godsent feature that many don’t seem to realise as it totally makes pumping air 1000X soooo much easier. I have seen so many Jap cars with seriously deflated spare wheel making them useless in an emergency, when asked why the owners tell me too mafan to take out the wheel for checking and refill. LOL!

• Roti john on Sep 01, 2021 at 7:08 pm

I still remember last time there are Game Over people here bashing Perodua for using LED reflector headlamp because it is dangerous. Ironically, now proton is using it for both Iriz and Persona FL.

• Troll Hunter on Sep 02, 2021 at 12:25 am

I still remember last time there are Game Over people here bashing Proton for using CVT because it is useless technology. Ironically, now perodua is using it for Ativa and they sing praises for CVT today.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 01, 2021 at 3:20 pm

The best keeps on getting better.

• Proton fanboy on Sep 01, 2021 at 5:04 pm

Thorbaik

• Avenger on Sep 01, 2021 at 5:38 pm

This brand gets Thor’s hammer seal of approval
        https://paultan.org/2020/04/27/proton-saga-savvy-and-satria-neo-appear-in-netflixs-hit-action-film-extraction-starring-chris-hemsworth/

• (Dude) on Sep 01, 2021 at 3:39 pm

Wow, the touchscreen brightness set to maximum already still got a lot of reflection

• Why So Serious on Sep 01, 2021 at 4:48 pm

Backlighting from the showroom reflecting of the screen my fren. On the road it won’t be so obvious

• newme on Sep 01, 2021 at 4:05 pm

This funny looking car cost RM56K?
    Really made by loser for loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 55
    • Avenger on Sep 01, 2021 at 5:40 pm

Wow just wow, hate the car all you like but if you had nothing bad to point out, name calling it…. is just childish on your side.

• Arnie on Sep 01, 2021 at 7:24 pm

Man you seriously ran out of things to diss don’t cha

• drastic change for NY22 on Sep 01, 2021 at 9:28 pm

Losers are created when they become overly negative and have nothing positive in their life. This mindset is created through a lack of gratitude and appreciation for what they do have. Selfishness becomes the dominant way of living and everyone else is the problem in their eyes. Losers stop taking responsibility for their negative action and decide to do nothing.
      Life can change in a moment when you make a better positive decision. It’s this decision-making ability that allows someone to go from being a loser to being a champion.

• drive grab with proton on Sep 01, 2021 at 4:31 pm

+ armrest
    – still short headrest at the back
    – cabin light moved to front, drive grab how to gives change at night time?

• jinggo on Sep 01, 2021 at 4:54 pm

i dont know why but i really feel safe in this car.. the ride & handling is superb in its class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • mnazri on Sep 01, 2021 at 5:38 pm

With RM56k what do we expect? Bravo Proton

• Neutral on Sep 01, 2021 at 6:14 pm

At 56K for the top-speced,this Persona is definitely value for money. Remember 20 years ago, 2001 to be exact, I paid 60K for the safety-features-free Waja, the improvements are to be commended.

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Sep 02, 2021 at 8:17 am

Experience sharing:
    I drive my friend’s Persona last year going somewhere. Once on a highway, I notice that the engine was struggle to up shift beyond 4th gear. Cruising at 110kmh, RPM was somewhere at 3600-3800 I can’t remember, very high RPM and very inefficient. My honda City is just about 2200 RPM. I thought my friend’s car was broke down and quickly tell him to go to service center.
    So he was just laughing at me. He said to me Persona only has 4 speed transmission. I said what?!!

So with this facelift and upgrades, I really hope Persona has better transmission and saves more fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Hantu Raya on Sep 02, 2021 at 9:56 am

Funny, I’ve driven (owned) the 2008 persona hi-line and the 2017 standard model (company owned), and I have a polo 1.6l.

The 2008 model used a 4 speed Aisin auto tranny, the 2017 model used a Punch CVT, Polo uses 6 speed Aisin tranny.

Engine speed at 110kmh cruise are –
      +-3200 rpm (2008 model),
      +-2900 rpm (2017 model,
      and circa 2600 rpm in the Polo.

I don’t know where you get your figures from and how on earth does a CVT have ‘ratios’?

• Celup King on Sep 02, 2021 at 12:34 pm

I think he drove Persona CM and confused himself with current gen Persona BM

• Annoynimouse on Sep 02, 2021 at 8:52 pm

Nice effort to improve. A great value for money car.
    The overall shape puts me off though. I can’t get past the humpty-dumpty looks. Body looks tall and bloated and wheels are disproportionately sized… even putting larger wheels wont fix the problem since the arches are small. Hope to see an improved design for the next model.

• 56k just too much regardless of spec. Basic spec with just less than 45k will be better strategy. For me, Proton is just Proton. Just buy the basic that serve the purpose of commuting from A to B. No matter how “premium” the spec, still a Proton.

With right strategy then only Proton able to grab more market share. Just pushing more gadgets and sell it at higher price is totally wrong markerting strategy.

• You must be referring to Perodua. Proton is moving upmarket and spec up their cars, sure there is slight price rise but the affluence of Msians have risen and so have our tastes, the hot sales of X50 & X70 is a clear indication that Proton’s strategy is well received.

• nnazri on Sep 28, 2021 at 12:48 pm

berapa lama tempoh menunggu persona premium?

• anonymous_c on Oct 04, 2021 at 10:27 am

Overall Persona and Saga current offering do provide better offering to local consumers.

Main downside is Campro within this package, introducing a new engine would meant more cost of RND probably re-engineer chassis to match with engine.

Perhaps that is the next chapter… but should Proton invest again on these product range since consumer are all going for medium size SUV/MPV?