2022 Suzuki Jimny coming to Malaysia – launch soon

Suzuki’s return to Malaysia through Naza Eastern Motors was led by the launch of the Swift Sport in April this year. At the time, the subsidiary of Naza Group said that it would introduce another Suzuki “icon” during the second half of this year, which we strongly believed to be the Jimny.

This has now been confirmed in a post on Suzuki Cars Malaysia’s official Facebook page, which clearly shows an illustration of the off-road SUV along with the caption “the one and only…returns.” We don’t get a launch date or further information for now, but it shouldn’t be too long before we get more details.

As with the Swift Sport, expect the Jimny to arrive as a fully-imported (CBU) model, seeing how the Naza Group said previously that it will focus on a CBU-only business for now. In terms of specifications, the Jimny should get a K15B 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine that provides 102 PS (100 hp) and 130 Nm of torque, as is the case in Indonesia, Singapore and Thailand.

The mill can be paired with a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic – we expect the latter – plus a part-time four-wheel drive system (dubbed AllGrip Pro). In Japan, the main seller is the kei car version with a slightly smaller footprint and 660 cc turbocharged three-cylinder engine.

Are you looking forward to the arrival of the Jimny? How much do you think it will cost? As a point of reference, the top-spec XG with the 4AT in Japan goes for 1,611,500 yen (RM61,116). Closer to Malaysia, the Jimny starts at 395.5 rupiah (RM115,669) in Indonesia.

GALLERY: Suzuki Jimny at the 2019 Bangkok Motor Show

GALLERY: Suzuki Jimny at the 2019 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• BobTheBuiilder on Sep 18, 2021 at 11:43 pm

Perfect for KL roads where sometimes got flash flood and wont get bullied so easily. Can consider.

• Jortsen on Sep 19, 2021 at 6:01 am

I’ve seen it. It looks tiny on the road compared to in a studio.

• Haidi on Sep 19, 2021 at 11:11 am

Cute lil G wagon is here, however the pricing is not wise…

• Matchy on Sep 19, 2021 at 11:16 am

My bet would be >RM100k.

• Freelander on Sep 19, 2021 at 11:20 am

Please bring in the manual shift gear transmission Sierra model.

• jurujual on Sep 20, 2021 at 9:38 pm

Unfortunately, those in the business of selling cars nowadays prefer to stock up on the auto versions as the manual versions tend to become dead stock which may have to be sold off at a loss.

• Well, anything closer to RM100k will be great but I suspect it will be around RM130k. That will make it a niche market baby SUV only as there are just too many SUVs around that price.

• Looking for its return but definitely NOT going to buy from Naza again!

• Casual reader on Sep 19, 2021 at 2:14 pm

Naza kinda exited car business, anyone dare to buy?

• jinggo on Sep 19, 2021 at 3:20 pm

All the time cars sell cheaper in Malaysia, likely around rm50k. The top-spec Jimny XG with the 4AT in Japan goes for RM61,116. The Jimny starts at RM115,669 in Indonesia.

• The pricing will be ridiculous here!
    Anyway, dont see any of the new swift on the road. The price maybe??

• Dong gor on Sep 19, 2021 at 6:31 pm

X70 1.8 liter turbo mated to 6 speed DSG and starting at 95k. How is this gonna sell here even at same price tag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • I would pay 95K for this Jimmy as I go hiking alot and the having a true 4×4 that is also compact and easy to drive and park in KL would be ideal.

Unfortunately that price will never happen.

• Jimmy on Sep 19, 2021 at 6:49 pm

If rm160k no need to bring it here

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 19, 2021 at 8:39 pm

The Indonesian price would be more realistic to what we gonna have to pay to get one.

• Here in Indonesia, initially you get a Jimny for RM98,500, but with crazy enthusiasts the price for the second hand is RM146,000. that’s why Suzuki slowly increased the price until now to RM115,000

• Here in Indonesia, initially we got a Jimny at a price of RM98,500, but with crazy demands the price of the used was RM146,000. That’s why Suzuki slowly increased the price until now to RM115,000

• Saddam Hussain Abbasi on Sep 19, 2021 at 9:36 pm

Why Suzuki not lunching Jimny in Pakistan .??? I guarantee that it will boots sale of Suzuki .

• I heard it will cost upwards of rm160k

• anonymous_c on Sep 20, 2021 at 10:18 am

Suzuki is a affordable brand, but it will definitely a huge mark up for us local Malaysia consumer.

• Red Chilly on Sep 20, 2021 at 12:04 pm

NAZA, ring any bell? for those car owners whom lost their hair talking to NAZA SC people?

• araams14 on Sep 20, 2021 at 1:09 pm

Just bring in Thar from India …… Then Suzuki Jimmy will mampus with it’s higher pricing!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 20, 2021 at 3:03 pm

naza, no eye see

• Finger four on Sep 20, 2021 at 8:45 pm

Naza last time left many KIA owners high & dry…….remember?

• U missed the million in Rupiah?