Suzuki to launch next ‘icon’ in second half of 2021, no CKDs, says Naza Eastern – Jimny next for Malaysia

Suzuki is back in Malaysia! New local distributor Naza Eastern officially unveiled the Suzuki Swift Sport tonight at its new showroom in PJ, within Naza Automall along the Federal Highway. You can read our full launch report of the third-generation SSS here.

What’s next for the brand and its new local partner in Malaysia? According to Naza Eastern head of company Mohamad Redza, this year will see the company focus on Suzuki’s “icons” as it rebuilds the brand in Malaysia. He won’t explicitly name the icon in question, but looking at Suzuki’s current global range, it has to be the Jimny.

If so, the fourth-generation Jimny, which is hot in demand over the world and currently sold here by grey importers, will be officially available in Malaysia very soon, with a factory warranty. Mohd Redza says that the iconic model will make its debut in the second half of 2021 and it will be a CBU import.

Speaking of CBU imports, that’s going to be the way forward for Suzuki in Malaysia. Mohd Redza says that at the volumes that Naza Eastern is looking at, CKD local assembly is not viable. Furthermore, Suzuki has assembly operations in Thailand and Indonesia, and cars can be brought in via the ASEAN free trade area (AFTA).

Back to the Jimny. Now, we know that the Jimny is made in Japan and more recently, in India by Maruti Suzuki. Our guess is that Naza Eastern will source its Jimnys from the Land of the Rising Sun, as there’s a free trade agreement between Japan and Malaysia that will enable it to save on import duty, compared to importing from India. Jimny, Malaysia, excited?

GALLERY: Suzuki Jimny at GIIAS 2019

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Henry on Apr 09, 2021 at 8:22 pm

SSS Turbo rm140k … Suzuki Jimny RM180K at least.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 10, 2021 at 10:21 am

Grey market Jimny 190K laugh die me

• Plotekkk on Apr 10, 2021 at 6:57 pm

Looks like Jimny price to follow and protect existing AP holders price RM200K? Good luck to Naza!

• The potential fall of a good Japanese brand under Naza. Sorry for all the previous owners who bought their cars under Naza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 83
    • Naza’s car business is a great Malaysian local success story from a small motor trading company to become a giant Conglomorate today. I bought my very 1st car from them was the Datsun 120Y in 1980 at only RM7,600.00 then Toyota Corona 5-door and Galant Sigma wagon. Proudings of their hardworking and rags to riches culture until today, sapot Naza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 109
      • comeonlah on Apr 10, 2021 at 10:40 am

Giant conglomerate but cant CKD, cant maintain distributorship, cant increase sales, cant bring value..

• Sohai on Apr 10, 2021 at 3:49 pm

You are speaking of another era, where the founder was still running the business.
        Cant say the same for the current management. Alot of buyers suffered.

• Satrian78 on Apr 10, 2021 at 7:31 pm

I am proud to say that my late Dad bought his 1st car from Naza as well . Its a Toyota Corolla Ke30 in 1980
        for Rm8000 +-.

• Roger Denjis on Apr 10, 2021 at 8:14 pm

Rubbish, this NAZA sells cars at high prices with high service charges, no way im goung to this NAZA, cheats

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 10, 2021 at 10:04 am

Once upon a time kia ria/naza ria ruled the country with its cheap and affordable price for such a big mpv…thanks naza…and continue to make the excitement grow for the auto industry…without naza no way we can enjoy all those exotic cars and sports cars…kudos to naza…

• stupidnaza on Apr 09, 2021 at 9:20 pm

Jimny, Malaysia, hell yes I’m excited!
    Jimny, Malaysia + Naza, hell NO!! NOOO NOOO NOOOOOOO!!!!

Current Kia customer, once bitten twice shy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 66
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 10, 2021 at 10:06 am

Suzuki will triump under naza…a match made in heaven…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 13
      • hazri on Apr 12, 2021 at 1:55 am

Malaysia is high income nation & rakyat berlimpah rezeki … Syukurr…

• Dont expect this Jimny to be cheap. Confirm gonna be some ridiculous price and with Naza running Suzuki MY now, all I can say is prepare for crappy after sales support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 53
    • Crony on Apr 09, 2021 at 10:50 pm

C’mon lah buy first before you bashed. Cakap baik atau diam, perangai buruk sangka ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 32
    • Truckers on Apr 09, 2021 at 11:17 pm

https://paultan.org/2019/03/29/bangkok-2019-suzuki-jimny-launched-from-rm199k/
      Small SUV for 200k anyone?

• Curious on Apr 09, 2021 at 9:42 pm

Dulu lain skg lain, now got the backup fr Peugeot n Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Contender on Apr 09, 2021 at 9:46 pm

Jimny yes of course but at what price CBU ?

• The door handle design at least a decade ago

• Aero (Member) on Apr 09, 2021 at 9:57 pm

Frankly speaking, I have very low expectations for Suzuki under Naza direction. Without CKD models, Suzuki will be very lucky to capture even 1 percent annual market share moving forward.

I think Naza’s business attitude for the past decade speaks volumes. They have virtually lost interest in their mass-market franchises. It seems they only care about their luxury and sports car divisions now, which have huge profit margins, especially in aftersales. In fact, Naza is trying to get out of car manufacturing altogether, because they know the easy money is in sales and aftersales… always has been, and always will be.

Honestly, I feel sorry for Suzuki in Malaysia. For some reason, they never really managed to succeed here despite ticking all the right boxes. Yet Daihatsu, which is very similar to Suzuki in many aspects, has done quite well here, even before the existence of their Perodua JV. None of Suzuki’s local franchise holders managed to make Suzuki a household name. And Suzuki’s JV with Proton, which had high hopes at the time, ultimately went nowhere too, again to no fault of Suzuki themselves. And now it seems Suzuki has gone from one bad deal to another.

Sorry Suzuki, it’s not you, it’s us. Thanks for not giving up on Malaysia despite the seemingly endless bad luck you’ve had here. I’m sure long-time fans are happy to see Suzuki formally return to Malaysia either way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 72
    • seancorr (Member) on Apr 10, 2021 at 2:55 pm

Oh they will sell some but not a lot since they aiming for a very small market. I have my fair amount of shit coming off as a previous customer of Naza. Not gonna touch any brand that is under their name.

• You seem to own cars from just about every other makes and yet push Perodua here. I find you unbelievable.

• Operation Manager on Apr 10, 2021 at 4:05 pm

ekceli Bermaz plan to make CKD Suzuki cars here.

Swift – rm72k
      Jimny – rm87k
      Grand Vitara – rm110k
      S-Cross – rm125k.

• arthur on Apr 10, 2021 at 5:42 pm

too long, didn’t read.

• What is good about this car … it is only suzuki!. Are we paying for the look only …

• Alive & Kicking on Apr 09, 2021 at 11:23 pm

What about the 4th generation Suzuki Vitara SUV?

• I guess this new distributor gameplan is to make Suzuki a low-volume and niche brand in this country. So, I do not think mass-market models will be introduced. For those who can’t afford the more than RM150k Jimny, please don’t complain and just stick to your collolla closs.

• Everyman on Apr 09, 2021 at 11:48 pm

Will they bring in the Ignis and the Baleno? Heard that they’re being sold in Indonesia.

• I presume the jimny Sierra will be a around rm140k onwards. In japan, the Suzuki swift sport and the jimny 1.5 is almost identical in price. Hence 4wd tax is lower then saloon cars. So my estimate is above rm140k, hence we don’t know the variants that they will Bering in. If SSS is only auto, my best guess the Jimny will be an auto also.

• Mr Cent-sible on Apr 10, 2021 at 8:47 am

Ori Jimny used to be cheap in price and low in maintenance. Popularly used at construction site without hassle.

New Jimny is too expensive and “cute” as workhorse. Maintenance and service could be expensive at Naza. In addition, I cant forget how KIA owners are left high and dry by Naza previously.

Anyway, there are similar or better 4×4 brands out there, and more to choose from if you are willing to by 2nd hand.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 10, 2021 at 9:01 am

naza can close shop la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 44
  • kanazai2001 on Apr 10, 2021 at 9:06 am

no CKD…
    ya bah… naZ is juz a trading company…
    n understood oso bah… thai & indon r fighting for the ckd right for the region n yet MY r bz with politix n striped off consumer right to choose MT variant…

• Naza = no CKD = GG = eternal failure

• Price will determine success or failure…. I’m hoping Naza will be able to find a competitive price to offer good value. Many enthusiastic fans out here!

• Love the Jimny and hope to own one but never will I ever buy a vehicle from Naza again. THEY are just terrible!

• Ex VGM staff on Apr 10, 2021 at 12:18 pm

Under afta zero tax agreement, make the prices more viable.. and you will need at least 60 dealerships around the nation.

And to the writer… maruti is not new in india.. it has been rebadging suzukis for more than 29 years. The reason why suzuki is very strong today despite no big projects with toyota honda or nissan. Except perhaps 1 or 2 kei models.

• Few months ago I checked grey importer, this Jimny selling at RM180k, asking price. This car sell like hot cakes now. Suzuki cannot supply to demand. Even there’s some sales here but expect for the long delivery time.

• Tbey should have a pick up version to reduce tax

• They tested jimny v g wagen and found it equally competent in the wild. But on highways, it was basically moving sll over the place with top speed at 80mph.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 10, 2021 at 7:58 pm

Nobody bought the Jimny when it was RM100k. Nobody’s going to buy it when it’s RM180k.

• kamal hassan on Apr 10, 2021 at 10:53 pm

Buy a 308 use for 3month breakdown send to naza for repair no sparepart only after 7month get back my car..consolation is get a spare car for use from naza

• If below RM80k will sell very well and it must come with a manual transmission.
    Also, must have available off-road parts at affordable prices.
    After sales must be world class….as good as the Japanese.
    Can?

• NAZA again? All brand which distribute by NAZA, all die lar!! No service NO Spare part No Marketing!! HD bad doubt already pay back?