Transport ministry studying use of video and sensors to prevent corrupt practices in driving tests – Wee

The transport ministry says it is looking into the possibility of using technology to improve the integrity of driving tests in Malaysia. According to transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong, the ministry is presently conducting a feasibility study on the use of video recordings and sensors to prevent corrupt practices, The Star reports.

He said the ministry would look into using CCTV videos and sensors in the vehicles used for taking driving tests. Cameras will be present inside vehicles, and all the poles in the parking circuit will be equipped with sensors and cameras. This would verify the integrity of tests, he said. “It means that we can record, play back and look at what had transpired when allegations are made,” he explained.

“Previously there were claims that you could give bribes when taking a driving test. This will be unfair if there is no such evidence. With the use of such technology, all the information can be controlled by a control centre, and integrity can finally be upheld,” he said. Wee was replying to a supplementary question from Datuk Zakaria Mohd Edris (PN-Libaran) at the Dewan Rakyat yesterday.

Separately, Wee told Zakaria that the extension given to learners drivers licence (LDL) holders until June 30 next year to renew their licences would help those unable to follow through on the licensing process and take their driving test due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.

“The extension period has been given to allow those who could not follow the usual process to obtain a licence and sit for a driving test due to the closure of driving institutes, which led to an estimated 462,000 candidates who are (part of a) backlog,” he said, adding that there are presently about 73,000 people waiting to take driving theory tests.

The ministry has also granted driving institute operators’ a three-month moratorium until November 30 to renew permits that expired between January and September this year. Driving institutes, which were closed during the lockdown, were finally permitted to operate again on September 9

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taj mahal murah on Sep 24, 2021 at 11:32 am

Corrupt practice deal starts at driving school already nego with tester. Not during test inside car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Aura89 on Sep 24, 2021 at 1:01 pm

Inb4 testers would need to wear bodycams like NYPD Police but everyone knows corruption practice starts at the police station.

• Bob the builder on Sep 24, 2021 at 7:31 pm

Ya la driving school instructer last time ask me u wan confirm pass exam or normal exam? The confirm pass is more expensive than the latter. Semua done belakang pintu and I think govt also know. All this build sensors is to waste money maybe get kickbacks also from this ‘new’ project.

• Ajibkor on Sep 24, 2021 at 11:58 am

Should have been implemented donkey years ago.Anyway,not too late for uncle Wee to do it.

• Still no info yet on Malaysia EV policy ???

• Mr. Sotong on Sep 24, 2021 at 12:20 pm

This is what it comes down to… Officers have to be monitored to ensure corruption doesn’t happen.

• Sick & Tired on Sep 24, 2021 at 10:25 pm

I wish our mentri besars would wear body cameras too, so they wont be sending millions of our money to offshore banks or kamching talks with favorite developers of undersea tunnels.

• Bob the builder on Sep 24, 2021 at 12:26 pm

Don’t need to do that. I can tell u how corruption works in driving centres. The instructor/ school will collect money from you even before he teaches you to drive. It’s all included in the ‘package’ you’re paying for. Dun waste money build and buy stupid sensors.

• anonymous on Sep 24, 2021 at 1:40 pm

hahaha.. i wont be surprised the camera is cost rm50k each or more when PAC reveals. On the other hand, when any crime happens, camera either went missing or not functioning. Mark my words..

• malaysia, the country of corruption even in driving schools

• Sparcov on Sep 24, 2021 at 2:38 pm

If the Examiner want to fail you, he can fail you with many reason. Such as you did not check you rear mirror or the sequence of releasing handbrake, safety belt, etc. will be good enough to fail you.

Even though you do nothing wrong on the hill test, 3 point turn or parking. During road test, no one will really pay attention to the sequence. Is that important in reality? Will you play your phone during test? But many play phone on the road !

Whoever went to learning school or driving test will definitely know how to drive. Problem is the attitude of driver and law enforcement which contribute to the high accident rate in Malaysia.

I see no people will speed if there is a camera there or at the traffic lights.

Any introduction of new technology is a new contract to the provider

• Bieight8 on Sep 24, 2021 at 2:49 pm

In Germany they use VW and Opel as learner cars here use axia…

• They're at it again on Sep 24, 2021 at 11:40 pm

Studying looking identifying discussing

Relax, guys. It’s studying only, now we see how long they’ll take to have the next thing to the reporters.

And bribery thing is not even an alleged claim, it’s been there, widely known or decades.

• Corruption makes things work; take a look at Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar, and not to forget Malaysia back in the 80’s & 90’s.