As part of the 12th Malaysia Plan (RMK-12), there will be a focus on active mobility with a focus on pedestrian and cycling infrastructure. The emphasis will be on user-friendly, connected infrastructure that is safe and comfortable.
Measures to be implemented include traffic calming measures and natural shading for pedestrian walkways. This is part of the plan to enhance green mobility as an integral part of city and township development including low-carbon mobility.
A low-carbon mobility blueprint will be introduced to guide the planning, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of green mobility initiatives in both urban and rural areas. Additionally, accessibility, connectivity, safety and reliability of public transport will be further improved, along with seamless micro-mobility services for first and last-mile connections.
To improve cycling infrastructure, one has to replace the default of private vehicles to cycling. e.g. continuous footpaths. great for pedestrians and cyclists, not so much for private vehicles.
Do a study in countries that successfully implemented cycling infrastructure & adopt what to suit Malaysia. FYI, there are many “specially built cycling/pedestrian routes” known worldwide that able to attract many local users & tourists (i.e. Japan, Korea, US, Aus etc) making it safe for all.
Don’t forget Denmark!
Look at CYCLING lanes ..JUST BESIDES HIGHWAY !!! So much for Healthy Exercise.
there is currently a high demand for bicycles especially road and mountain bikes. coupled with the lack of supply of groupsets to meet the demand surge, bicycles are getting more and more expensive. RMK-12 plan should also look into ways to reduce the price of bicycles.
Too many folks want to impress other and prepared to pay high prices. Good bike fotr RM1300 from Decathlon
great in theory, practically how to do in already built areas?
Stupid idea. Even if u make bike lanes, those bamgsawan will still use highway and tiok lorry for so called aerodynamics drag reduction. Again, waste of $$$. Malaysia weather is not ideal for cycling to work.
Seems they forgot the kind of climate we have here in bolehland.
Stupid idea? So what’s the alternate idea? How do you foresee the future then? Or you cannot think that far huh?
Look at those countries that successfully adopt cycling commute into their city and even the whole country, look at the netherlands, they rain a lot, like in Malaysia, look at Oslo, Norway, they even have snowy days, but they still manage to have over 40% of norwegians does cycling as a norway commuting way, it depends on howmuch effort your country put it, weather is just a world wide excuse
Cycling lane? We don’t have a proper planning for pedestrian walkways, most of our roads are too close with buildings or obstacles, you always walk in caution and it’s stressful. City council thinks vehicles are the only moving objects.
should ban these amateur weekend cyclists from the road. period.
Should ban all cars from the roads. period.