RMK-12: Vehicle end of life policy for Malaysia to be studied for green reasons – no more old cars soon?

Prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob today presented the 12th Malaysia Plan, or Rancangan Malaysia Ke-12 (RMK-12), a five-year guide for the country’s development. In Chapter 8 of the document titled Advancing Green Growth for Sustainability and Resilience, the government outlines its plans for Enhancing Green Mobility.

A low-carbon mobility blueprint will be introduced to guide the planning, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of green mobility initiatives. The blueprint will outline strategies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the transportation sector as well as accelerate the shift to green mobility, particularly low-carbon public transport and active mobility, which includes walking and cycling.

“A study to identify mechanisms in phasing out old vehicles in a sustainable manner will also be undertaken,” the RMK-12 states. Now, this isn’t a new topic, far from it. The government has long toyed with the idea of a vehicle end-of-life (ELV) policy, which limits the lifespan of vehicles. Think Singapore and its vehicle scrapping policy. Looks like this is still very much on the agenda.

The RMK-12 is a broad plan and there’s no time and space for details, but in March, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS), in conjunction with the ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP), opened a three-page ELV survey to the Malaysian public.

The youngest car pictured here is the Mazda at 18 years old – naturally, car enthusiasts are against ELV

The survey was meant to gauge opinion on the matter of vehicle scrapping; should there be an age limit on vehicles, and if so, how old should they be allowed to run before being scrapped – 10 years, 40 years, or not at all? It suggested methods for the implementation of the vehicle ELV policy in Malaysia, which includes incentivising owners of old vehicles to scrap them, and offering rebates for the purchase of new vehicles in return.

The vehicle ELV idea usually goes hand-in-hand with periodic roadworthiness inspections, much like the UK’s MOT checks and semi-annual Puspakom inspection for commercial vehicles in Malaysia – the survey touched on this as well. Another suggestion was to increase insurance premiums for vehicles over 10 years of age. See the MIROS vehicle ELV survey in full here.

Generally, and this is in our words, carmakers would be for ELV (people will have to buy new cars to replace old ones) while the rakyat would be against the idea, wanting the freedom of choice of if and when to replace their cars. If there was no resistance, the government would just press ahead with ELV, but each time the topic is raised, there’s bound to be uproar. The ruling coalition would have to be strong enough to risk an unpopular move like this, even if it has merits. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokok on Sep 27, 2021 at 7:11 pm

tokok since medeka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Brian on Sep 27, 2021 at 11:15 pm

That is exactly what car enthusiasts wants since merdeka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • John Doe on Sep 28, 2021 at 10:11 am

Just do it already instead of studying.
      If studying is your forte then just go back to the University.
      The risk of having an old car of more than 10 years on the road is unfair to other road users who maintain a premium new cars.
      Unless there is a mechanism that can ensure old cars are equally well maintained for road worthiness, this is a no brainer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 71
      • Wilson on Sep 28, 2021 at 9:41 pm

Unfair to road users who maintain a premium new cars? You mean unfair to people who only earn 1.5k a month, while these people who maintain premium new cars are earning 5k to 8k a month?

• KaTAMaNutz on Sep 29, 2021 at 7:31 am

Ngam John Doe….harus jua biskita INGAT lau dgn ekonomi bisdiya yg terjejas kan mambali mutukar bahau USIN ndada….tapi ianya keperluan ASAS. Kan Loan nambah beban so min kan bagi pendapat mohon gunakan kepala otak mu yg di atas bukannya di pala tuhutmu atu…kimak. TQVM

• Sani Sulaiman on Sep 29, 2021 at 9:14 am

The major winner will be the car industries and bankers. And the Government get more sales tax, duties etc due to more car sales. Main losers are the people, second hand car dealers and second hand car parts dealers. Car pollution is just an excuse to help car industries and bankers.
      In long term, EV vehicles will cause more pollution when million of tonnes of car lithium batteries expired. Lithium is hazard to health.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Bieight on Sep 27, 2021 at 7:21 pm

8 years for private vehicle and 4 years for commercial vehicle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 102
    • Bobthebuilder on Sep 27, 2021 at 9:40 pm

One part of me supports this as there are many old junk wira and saga on the road that simply drive and cause accidents. But I know many poor people out there using old saga for nasi lemak biz. How they gonna survive if you take their car away from them. Kinda trapped between.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 9
      • Arnold Stallone on Sep 29, 2021 at 9:23 am

New car also cause accident. Its the driver not the car. Like a bad jockey on a good horse.

• SmartConsumer on Sep 30, 2021 at 10:01 am

stupid policy. the better alternative is to inspect cars that are more than 10 years old. Do an emission test every 3 years. Those that fail cannot renew road tax.

• Pendapat bodoh tiada akal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
    • Wilson on Sep 28, 2021 at 9:06 pm

You think buy new car very easy ah? Rich kid not knowing our public transport aren’t even half as efficient as Singapore

• While I’m all in for saving the planet and reducing my carbon footprint, we all know good and well that the ones with the highest amount of carbon footprint are large companies, the shipping industry, commercial flights & construction industries. Very disappointed to hear Malaysia is following the footsteps of the EU. Attacking the motorcar is an easy way out, having everyone swap to newer EV cars aren’t going to slow climate change at all.
    There was a video that Kurzgesagt has released that explained this better than I ever could.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Sep 27, 2021 at 7:42 pm

My neighbour has a penchant for Mercedes E-class but he can only afford a secondhand 14-year old W211. With this policy in place, with his budget of RM30K, he will have to buy a new Perodua or Proton. He can’t have the luxury of trying to look good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Hudjan on Sep 27, 2021 at 10:21 pm

Cant even buy a brand new proton or perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • KaTaMaNutz on Sep 29, 2021 at 7:34 am

Ahhhh….loan again….my economy has dive down since the pandemic arrive, and at the same time have to concern about the Environment policy….

• donno on Sep 27, 2021 at 7:51 pm

Just copy UK MOT requirements.

any car/motorcycle more than 4 years old and less than 40 years old must do annual inspection of roadworthiness. No inspection, no roadtax.

if 4 years old is too young, then we can do more than 10 years old to less than 40 years old. If motorcycle would hassle low income owners, then probably only for 250cc and above motorcycles.

Anything more than 40 years old (which is not many anyway) consider classic and not need inspection.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 13
    • Mike Tee on Sep 28, 2021 at 11:46 am

I agree. It’s about road worthiness and not age per se. Cars with worn out brakes, tyres with little to no threads, excessive emissions, no bumpers, none working lights, etc have no business being on our roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Emmesso on Sep 27, 2021 at 8:12 pm

Car prices in Malaysia is broken and expensive, I think we should address that before ELV can proceed.

And how does the govt intend to incentivise me to scrap my car and get a new one? If I scrap my old W124 and get cash equivalent to what? Market value of 7k? I can’t even get a new car with 7k, let alone a car that’s as good to drive. In the end, I’ll have 7k in hand and no mode of transportation. 2nd hand car markets will be broken too.

They’re better off spending money on improving public transport infrastructure to the point where driving becomes irrelevant as people can just use public transport, similar to Japan and SG, as opposed to taking people’s mode of transportation away and giving them virtually nothing in exchange.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 3
    • JoyJoy on Sep 28, 2021 at 12:47 pm

Every time this issue bring out, there must be quarters said to improve public transportation such as bus and MRT etc..but these is only economy feasible to the city-san. We must think of rural area and small town folks who need a transportation to send kids to school, to buy groceries, to bring family cuti-cuti Malaysia, to carry goods, to sell nasi lemak etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Fendi on Sep 28, 2021 at 5:32 pm

Totally agreed

• Confirm it won’t work.
    Going green is a luxury which our country cannot afford.
    The fundamental problem is our GDP per Capita and income level are not at level where we can change our cars every now and then.
    Our public transportation, urban planning are so poor, majority of us still rely on private vehicles.

The only way to go green is to give incentive, let those who can afford to adopt first and slowly moving down the chain rather than enforce it for everyone.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
  • Ahmad Fuad bin Md Arif on Sep 27, 2021 at 8:48 pm

Scrap all the relevant taxes on new cars, and we will faithfully abide with the new rules on scrapping cars after 10 years

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
    • YB Albert on Sep 27, 2021 at 9:49 pm

If an Axia 1.0 Auto can retail at 20K,I dont mind scrapping old cars.But the problem is ,this mini car is Rm37K which is mind boggling.
      Never ever use Singapore as scrapping contoh.They have a scarcity of land.So they have to limit cars and make them very expensive.
      What about our beloved uncle and aunties in the kampongs..many have 20 years old plus cars but are still in drivable condition.You expect them to scrap and buy Axias? With covid,where got money to buy new cars?
      Never scrap cars to enrich the big boys.Think about our covid stricken rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 4
    • Yong Heng Keong on Sep 27, 2021 at 10:23 pm

Yes agreed, Gouverment should reduce the heavy taxes on the new cars. And our GDP per Capita and income level are not at level like EU or others countries..of cause is good to have new technologies and safety and carbon free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • I think the ELV is not only beneficial to the environment but it will also add to road safety standards. Many of the older cars lag behind in safety technology and are also at risk of breakdowns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 69
  • nomaninotok on Sep 27, 2021 at 9:38 pm

As long got money, can talk.. but now, see how 1st lah…

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 27, 2021 at 9:38 pm

Scrap all taxes and AP on cars baru talk.

2nd hand recond cars can still sell as “new” cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 27, 2021 at 9:48 pm

lower car price first, revamp the ridiculous motor insurance, then we talk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
    • Brian on Sep 27, 2021 at 11:16 pm

I don’t understand. Hw does car insurance charges have any bearing with going green?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 28, 2021 at 4:33 pm

you are aware the malaysian car insurance is based solely on the value of your car

• Greener cars like EV and hybrids have lower RV so by default the insurance sum is lower too, is that what you meant? But isn’t that a bad thing to owners?

• Petrol Head on Sep 27, 2021 at 9:49 pm

Going green is a good excuse. Has anyone done proper research as to the real cost of going green. Buying a new car is not green as new carbon resources are needed to make a new car and also to ship it to the end user. Scrapping an old vehicle also needs resources. So 10 years to switch may be too short a time to be carbon neutral.
    Malaysia’s low per capita income and high new car prices also does not augur well for EoL policies to be effective. If a new car costs more than 24 months of my net salary, it may not be affordable.
    So the National Automotive Policy must be revamped to take a holistic view of the whole industry and consumers. Don’t blindly follow the rich countries when we are still not capable of sustaining such policies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
  • Malaysia Boleh on Sep 28, 2021 at 1:04 am

In the end the rural area FELDA come and against the idea and everything back to normal (which Rural area mode of transport fully rely on private car and mostly aged second hand vehicle)

• Eduardo on Sep 28, 2021 at 2:27 am

Govts of Malaysia always like to look good feeding on high level statementa like msia will become a high income nation by 2025 and this ELV is no exception. As usual hype news without details on how to make it happen. High income nation by 2025? More than half of epf members have rm10k? Yes go scrap their beloved old cars that is if they can afford cars. Scrap those retired old cars too. Malaysians are not that rich. Unlike those who govern who are somehow blessed with good fortune of having able to own large fleets of luxuries and sport cars though their official salaries are only 20k or less? Trust these goons to make policies for our beloved country. I would rather die than succumb to these policies esp of those who are penyu egg feeders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Dosmon on Sep 28, 2021 at 6:32 am

Wait for another 50 years to go green.Most of Malaysians are poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • sarawak sarawak on Sep 29, 2021 at 12:08 am

Malaysians make themselves poor by having too many children!

• Pak U on Sep 28, 2021 at 8:32 am

Charging stations mana? Don’t talk EV when public charging stations are not vastly available like fuel pumps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Annoynimouse on Sep 28, 2021 at 10:03 am

What’s wrong with the 20 yr old Mitsubishi Evo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Rimau on Sep 28, 2021 at 3:35 pm

expired tech, noisy and banyak asap. Prang … . You can keep the junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • kusochon on Sep 28, 2021 at 10:44 am

kereta dah mahal nak mampus ada hati nak buat polisi macam-macam

• ThePolygon on Sep 28, 2021 at 10:47 am

At least 100 years lah.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 28, 2021 at 11:10 am

Aiyo if you want to keep an old car then just do an emissions and vehicle roadworthy test yearly la.

• If you are retired and do not qualify for a vehicle loan scrapping the only means of transportation is a cruel act. In the Covid era having an old car is lower risk than travelling on public transport. Everyone grows old at some point and not many are as lucky as our politicians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Can’t follow Singapore as they have other limitations. Until government reduce excessive duties on cars and buyers are stuck with 9 year loans.. The system won’t work, once automotive market is less burdened with inflated pricing due to high taxes scrapping or disposing old cars will come naturaly

• Ramesh Subramaniam on Sep 28, 2021 at 12:02 pm

Better remove all the taxes applied on vehicles. Also abolish AP licence for bringing in vehicles to malaysia.Vehicle owners must pay yearly roadtax & do yearly vehicle inspection before roadtax is issued.Fix Gasoline price ajt RM4/L like Singapore/Thailand.Than ppl will support Vehicle Lifespan removal.since car was bought tax free but the maintenance is high.Many won’t buy vehicle using gasoline in higher quantity

• U want kampung ppl to change to new car?..with your 60 years tongkat policies..you are shooting yourself on the foot..lol

• tan32 on Sep 28, 2021 at 12:58 pm

further burdening common people with expensive cars + tolled road

• D.Kaur on Sep 28, 2021 at 1:00 pm

Age of vehicle is not true indicator of its roadworthiness: vehicle might not have been used much; or might have been very well-maintained even if mileage is high. Think: some men lose it in their 30’s whilst others still have it in their 80’s !

• Rambo on Sep 28, 2021 at 1:27 pm

Not everyone cld afford a new car…listen to the people on the ground before throwing the idea to the govt….unless there going to be govt subsidised cars ..bring down price of locally made cars n abolish import taxes….or come up with people friendly lease or hirepurchase plans

• Mbsdg on Sep 28, 2021 at 1:33 pm

It is a proposal and requires feedback and expression from the public. However the question arises that needs to be considered, whether every owner of an old vehicle is given a certain amount of subsidy to get a new car?

• T J PEREIRA on Sep 28, 2021 at 1:43 pm

Go according to cc for cars. ELV 15 yearsfor <1300cc, 20years for 2000cc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • player on Sep 28, 2021 at 1:47 pm

no I disagree about a old car to get scrap and buy new one they so stupid what about poor people that can not buy a new cars

• Let's Be Real on Sep 28, 2021 at 1:50 pm

Honestly I don’t think that’s their agenda in the first place. Govt is only interested in income. More turnover means more tax income. Objective is to promote spending. As it is they don’t earn much from owners of old cars. Let’s be clear here, our govt has never been focused on succeeding green initiatives. Look at our renewable energy initiatives, look at our forest preservation, look at our pollution enforcement. Start today, gone tomorrow. Zero results. Only know how to introduce half baked policies based on assumptions with no actual benefits to the rakyat. Please wake up my fellow Malaysians. You can object to my statements but it’s the fact. They don’t give 2 nuts bout us. Half this country is financially poor, look at the B40 stats. Today you got money, you can gloat bout changing cars frequently. Wait till the day you stop earning income and with the continuously rising inflation rate. These are facts, our Ringgit is consistently losing its value. One fine day don’t be surprised we have to pay RM80k for an new Axia. Just a matter of time. I hope to see fruitful and positive changes in this lifetime but at the rate things are going, it will not happen anytime soon because the intentions are not sincere to start off with. Finally, old cars don’t necessarily cause accidents, badly maintained cars plus idiotic and reckless drivers do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • That is a good way for government to rob the citizens. Each time anyone buy a new car , a crap ton of excise duty has to be paid to the government. Talking about going green , the way to go should be reuse and recycle . Remove tax on car spare parts, making repairs cheaper so that humanity can reduce consumption of raw material to make new cars.

• Just stop production of new ice car if u wanna move to ev. Existing cars let them run on the road. Apa susah? U wanna be high income nation? Later everything inflated again like najibs time. Minimum wage then food and everything prices shot up straight away.

End of life? Determine their road worthiness. Rather than based on years. Enthusiasts keep their vehicles in tip top condition even after 20 years. Some new car owners don’t even bother to keep up with maintenance.

• Bains on Sep 28, 2021 at 2:32 pm

This country is regressing. Look into more important area than making the country green. Its not only by eradicating old cars we can go green. There are many areas to work on. Our rivers, our drainage, our air and our dumping of garbage. Don’t disturb the poors who too need to move. I think the Govt should subsidise and help the poors with living facilities. Why not give “bantuan kereta baru” ? To all those who own only one car and it is more than 20years over. What about vintage cars?

• No one on Sep 28, 2021 at 2:51 pm

I dont think this for green environment reason at all. Increasing the cost to main old car is just to earn more money for the government. True old car release more carbon than new car but what about poor people. Some of us just afford to own old car because they so cheap. For example, kancil. Because of these ‘cheap’ car almost everyone has their own transportation!

• Thinking on Sep 28, 2021 at 3:14 pm

The survey is very skewed toward the ELV policy.
    The question itself it leading to the answer for example @ if the car is not safe/old what do yo do with it, the option given, lupus, sell to scrap metal and sell to others.
    Where is the baiki option.

Elv policy option is just give rebate and incentive
    So after all the hard earned money used to finance and repay a car, they give you ‘tiny’ little sum to continue and entice you back into incurring more debt for another 9 more years then the cycle continue for the rest of your life.

Also old doesnt mean not safe, old car that is properly maintained is still road worth.even a 3k bill to repair an old car is better than 30k plus more debt to take on for a new car.

• Donald Hian on Sep 28, 2021 at 3:51 pm

I am in favour of ELV…. Even though I would like to keep my old cars for as long as possible… But for our future generations and for the benefit of environment and social efficiency… I choose to sacrifice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Red shah on Sep 28, 2021 at 5:10 pm

Patut utk plan jangka panjang. Bukan cepat sgt utk rmk12…boleh bentang rmk16 atau 17 ke atas. Tambahkan lagi ke hutang isi rumah keluarga bawahan yg dh sedia terbeban sbb covid lagi. Nk wujudkan lagi hutang isi rumah yg baru 7-9 tahu lagi ke. Harga kereta berani nk letak dibawah harga mampu milik? Axia paling murah pun skg dh cecah 30k. Yg majoriti beli kereta secondhand sbb itu yg mampu.xnak lagi nak fikir kena hutang.Nak kena tukar bateri baru kereta ev lepas 5 -7 tahun pakai harga mcm bateri kereta ke? Kalu x beribu ribu harga nak tukar tu. Petronas? Nak kena bungkus pasal demand dah x der dlm negara.padahal salah satu sumber utama income kerajaan tu.mcm meludah ke langit.kena barang hidung sendiri.nak buat ev sendiri pun xnampak nampak kat jalan raya.setakat modal prototype jer.lepas tu senyap. suma harapkan Nk kena import.stesen minyak sakit kepala nak kuar modal Nk beli charger elektrik plak. Kuar lagi modal.stesen minyak yg ada charger kt malaysia nie pun berapa lah sgt dari beribu ribu Stesen minyak yg ada skg.

• Fendi on Sep 28, 2021 at 5:29 pm

Reduce tax and levi on vehicle so that price can be reduce. Currently so many tax incured on vehicle. On safety, any new safety measures or support green and sustainability on vehicle should also have special incentives given It will help to reduce cost of ownership and monthly payment.

• tok tokwan on Sep 28, 2021 at 5:39 pm

It could be a good thing provided,
    we have a cheap and efficient public transport system nationwide from the rural areas to the cities and vice versa round the clock, which would make it easier for people to accept using these services rather than drive.
    The govt should think how the folks in the rural areas can move about to go to shops in the morning, prayers, clinics, hospitals and also their farms and businesses.
    Unless these are thought off, the plan will still remain an idea.

• Firstly, they need to set a new price for a new car. It supposes to be cheaper so that I can replace my old car. Then set the max lifetime of a car like maybe 18 years. And for that cars exceeded 18 years should be scraped & I will receive a cashback of up to 10% from my old car value. Decrease cashback gradually so I will immediately scrap my old car. Revise plan after year 15.

• Mohd Shah on Sep 28, 2021 at 7:01 pm

Tak perlu nak letak limit umur utk scrap. Just perkenalkan ev, infrastructure n bg insentif utk rakyat pakai ev. Lama2 yg guna ice car ni akan kurang juga. Jika ev tu murah dan lebih jimat kos penggunaan, yg pakai kereta lama tp nk berjimat pun akan tukar pkai ev. X perlu ikut cara singapore.

• Abolish tax for car and then ask us to change the old car we driving.Some of us driving old car not because we are car enthusiasts, we driving it coz can’t afford new car. Car is so F’ing expensive and expecting us to change cars? Even EV is 400k…look at Tesla model 3. Basement of national policy is F’ed up and expecting to change to top icing? Good luck.

• Hendrix on Sep 28, 2021 at 8:20 pm

Never destroy old cars.

With this pandemic of Covid-19,where can we get money to buy new cars?They didn’t see those old cars that we use from the time our country have nothing till now.Why?They shouldn’t do this nonsense thing and they don’t think about the other people that poor and moneyless.We should think about the others.

• Zack

• There are many cars that can last for many many years to come.To end an old car policy and asking public to buy new, firstly ALL taxes of vehicles should be abolished completely.Buying a car in Malaysia is extremely over priced.

• There is no such thing as free carbon here in Malaysia.The govt are burning gas and charcoal for power consumptions etc.that should start first.

• Better Get rid of minister if 55 years and anove 1st

• Ravanah on Sep 28, 2021 at 8:30 pm

To safe environment, emphasise on other options first, e. g. Stop selling reserve land/jungle to greedy developers or to the top people in Malaysia to boost their living style or greedy business (pls don’t bullshit rakyat) or pls enhance clean Malaysia mentality in people to ensure no rubbish (e. g. plastic) thrown on road or under their apartment. Please stop unnecessary ” highway development” which benefits the corporate
    and please stop all crap concern to save environment **we Malaysian NOT less educated** scrap/stop talk about car, hope to receive some brainy comments… Vehicles like old conventional lorries, bus, and heavy-duty vehicles which release polluting gas shld be on first phase consideration.. Not all Malaysian effort to buy/change new car every 10 yrs with government tax which close to 200 to 300% on foreign and more or less same tax rate on local vehicles..

• Lian Hau peng on Sep 28, 2021 at 8:46 pm

Government should remove the excise duty first before considering to implement ELV.

• zinedine on Sep 28, 2021 at 8:46 pm

I think Mr paul tan should retired first.

• Poor Rakyat who owns secondhand car on Sep 28, 2021 at 9:18 pm

ELV only benefits the government and car makers, making them richer in the process while the low income people lose their mode of transportation instead of gaining any benefits as they could not afford to buy a new one. It’s a backward thinking, they should help rakyat to stand on their feets, not chopping them off

• Gunasekaran Karapaya on Sep 28, 2021 at 9:28 pm

Firstly the government must ensure public transport is very efficient and cheap.
    Secondly, age of the car doesn’t determine road worthiness. It’s the user of the car. So inspection for road worthiness is more appropriate after 4 or 5 years. ( no corruption in car inspection please).
    My Altis of 14 years going strong even had run 500 000 km. I can drive with full confidence to north or south without any worries. In my case as retiree I don’t think I can effort a new car as same quality as my current Altis.

• Shuggler on Sep 28, 2021 at 9:37 pm

Total BS reason for end of life policy for private cars, just to suck more tax from us, and appease automotive lobby. Go do proper research on why accidents happen, is it really from old private cars? Go do proper research on full lifetime carbon emissions. The longer I drive a car, the less waste I produce in buying new cars.

Encouraging car consumerism to save the environment. What a joke.

And don’t tell me EVs save the environment. That only happens if our power generation is green as well. How many % of our electricity in Malaysia is from green sources?

Open up the market to give puspakom some real competition, closely regulate commercial and public service vehicles, make sure laws are enforced. The solution is always there. Not “make people buy new cars”.

• Old car owner on Sep 28, 2021 at 10:27 pm

Remove excise duty first!!

• Muruga on Sep 28, 2021 at 10:31 pm

Singapore has excellent public transport & facilities with very small land mass compared to Malaysia. Please don’t compare with Singapore. Even in Klang Valley with LRT, MRT & Komuter it’s not easy getting around. imagine the rest of the country. Get the public transportation system on par with Singapore before even considering this plan

• MOHAMMAD RASHID AHMAD KAMAL on Sep 28, 2021 at 11:21 pm

The average rakyat needs to take out a 7 year loan for a decent car most dont even afford to buy new so the only option is also used cars also by loan…the ones they could buy cash are mostly 20 years old… sadly malaysia has yet a long way to go to be developed stable high income country to make implementing such laws even plausible

• MOHAMMAD RASHID AHMAD KAMAL on Sep 28, 2021 at 11:24 pm

The average rakyat needs to take out a 7 year loan for a decent car most dont even afford to buy new so the only option is used cars also by loan…the ones they could buy cash are mostly 20 years old… sadly malaysia has yet a long way to go to be developed stable high income country to make implementing such laws even plausible

• It’s brilliant that our staff aka the Government brings us these issues while the pollution is also coming from Big Brother owned factories. None of that are mentioned. No talk about doing something about that? It’s always dividing us The Public with our opinions.
    Want to safe the planet then stop producing / importing Vehicles that travel above the allowed speed limit damn’it. Malaysia is not Germany for God’s sake.
    Want a safe the planet then go H2o @ plain ass drinking water. It’s a simple process. Talk about safety while travelling in a vehicle that has excessive speed than allowed in the first place with tank filled with gas with the risk of blowing up in a collusion.
    H2o producers gas only when the car starts and let’s out oxygen via the exhaust pipe. If it works for one it works for all.
    How long more do we have to endure with this lame ass govern-mental system. By the way government/public servants were supposed to retire at 60+-. The future belongs to the younger (than them) generation to decide.
    Stand together brothers and sisters.
    Assalamualaikum and Salam Sejahtera.

• Imports and tax are exorbitantly expensive for new vehicles in malaysia even CKD is unreasonably high .Reduce the sky high tax duties and what nots and I’ll agree to scrap my old car .

• Just my opinion on Sep 29, 2021 at 12:59 am

Let me tell you something, (ALERT: This is just my opinion).

First of all, what is the main purpose of a vehicle? – To bring people from a place to another easily with less effort (ex:walking)
    So what are the main important aspects of a vehicle that we need to see? -The car’s functionality, usability and mobility
    Therefore if the vehicle is in a good condition you dont have to send it for scraping and you dont have to make people buy new vehicles

Let me tell you, why are there speed limits and all this road signs?? -To assist and make sure the users are making sure its safe for themselves and OTHERS!
    The main problem now is because people are assuming cars are getting safer so there are needs to always change it! This is true but when this is the mindset, people forget that there are safety rules to follow. NOT JUST PECUT!

Im using a Modenas Kriss which was made in 1999. I can say most of the time people love to PECUT and get fast. Is it because Im using an old moto?? Why is this happening? Im riding at 60 km/h. This is because there is a mindset telling you that “This car is better and safe, I will not get hurt”. No matter what year the car was made and how safe it is, you have to be patient!

ABOUT GREEN TECHNOLOGY,
    There are always pollution no matter what and we cant deny it. We can reduce it but this is not the way. If you really want, make all the vehicle on EARTH stop. Stop using it! Can you do it? Of course the answer is no. No matter how you think, it is a cycle. Lets say, you buy EEV vehicles, are there will be many changes? People will use it more since its more fuel efficient. So what’s the point? Plus, if with these we can reduce the usage of petroleum, it will soon be used for other purposes for sure. If you say you want electric cars, who is saving actually? First electric bills will rise, causing more need of electric. So more burning of coal need to be done to generate electricity. Second, you can have many renewable source but how many will you take to destroy the nature in order for it?

• scrap program with rm10k cash i agree.

• gibranilram on Sep 29, 2021 at 1:56 am

Not about the age but the standards in road worthiness. savings on carbon emissions from newer cars are easily negated by its true social and environmental cost. The old cars would have paid the true cost many times over.

• Wong Mee Wah on Sep 29, 2021 at 7:40 am

The idea is good as Singapore had done it scraping old car, but our Malaysian government must think about layman on the street can they effort to buy a new car? They is alot of commitment in a family with school going children expenses. Better plan it well before approving to scraping old car in Malaysia.

• Want to follow Singapore to scrap the car periodically? Can. Do your other part as well. How far our public transport system compared to them. Can rakyat fallback and rely on current public transport system if they can’t afford to buy new car? My area do not have MRT or LRT system, bus frequency is around a hour per trip.

• Sani Sulaiman on Sep 29, 2021 at 8:37 am

Salam. Old or new car is no difference if the owner maintain the car. The proposal to limit the age of the car on the road is to help the car industries to maintain their profitability and to make the owner richer. Don’t look at Singapore, it’s a small countries. Look at USA and Britain ….. there’s no age limit for the car on the road. If govt to go green. …. should tighten regulation on industries, heavy vehicles , shipping industries that major contributor to pollution. This proposal
    has been lobbied by car industries almost every year. They are the most benefactor if the proposal materialised. In addition…
    EV vehicles will be the most polluted contributor when million tonnes of lithium car battery to be disposed in the future.

• Sani Sulaiman on Sep 29, 2021 at 9:13 am

The major winner will be the car industries and bankers. And the Government get more sales tax, duties etc due to more car sales. Main losers are the people, second hand car dealers and second hand car parts dealers. Car pollution is just an excuse to help car industries and bankers.
    In long term, EV vehicles will cause more pollution when million of tonnes of car lithium batteries expired. Lithium is hazard to health.

• Sparcov on Sep 29, 2021 at 10:08 am

It is the eco system.

1. Bank give 9 years loan to new car mean the car can easily last 9 years with proper maintenance. We all know it can last depends how we take care of it.

2. Strict annual inspection for car above 10 years are mandatory to make sure the car are road worthy.

3. Reducing new car price to match ELV programme

4. To make sure the scrapped car can be “recondition” or export as spare parts to other countries or recycle.

5. It is all talking about money, currency depreciation and inflation.

If in UK can buy a new car under 10,000 pound with a 3000 pound monthly salary. Equally we in Malaysia for a RM 45,000 Myvi should have RM 12,000 salary per month. I know we always debate about this, if we cannot match the income why should we follow and talking about environment? Our “Rakyat” need to survive too.

Can Malaysia do it? if can’t please allow us to finish of our 9 years burden loan so that we can just pay the maintenance and repair cost without the need to commit another bank loan at the end of loan tenure.

Please study what cause the accident? Is it because of Motorbike allowed to use highway, speeding, overload lorries, sub standard spare parts, tires or even consumption of drugs? How many accident due to drug positive?

Logically, old car driver will drive slower rather than causing the accident at high speed. As they know what their car are capable.

Green environment is all talking about cost and time. One of the reason why car manufacturer design the car to “fail” after X numbers of years and will incur high repair cost which indirectly forcing the consumer to change new car.

This is all due to attitude of the driver. How many of us will drag the maintenance and repair because we do not have enough cash for it?

• ALI BIN RAHMAT on Sep 29, 2021 at 10:58 am

If environmental reason is the issue then allow the conversion to EV.

• If cars are scrapped too early, there’ll be more car junk unless there’s an industry to recondition cars to give them a new lease of life. Keeping the car in roadworthy condition is more important but 20 years could be the limit. My car is 16 years old and has no problem driving outstation but cars above 20 years old should be prohibited from travelling long distances. Government can require annual inspection for cars above 15 years old but the fee must be low so as not to burden the poor and the process must be quick and convenient, like having many authorized car workshops everywhere instead of monopoly by Puspacom.

• Don’t worry.. Don’t change your cars, don’t scrapped your cars.. Just change the government that come up with this BS idea.. Change them that already eat a lot from us the rakyat..

• Johnny saint on Sep 29, 2021 at 1:59 pm

Instead of end of like should just make sure older cars have road worthiness inspections every 2 years or so. A lot of classic/old cars that are kept in tip top/ mint condition, rubbish to scrap history. You want save on emissions better think about electricity production in Malaysia; mostly coal and fossil fuels. Cars prolly generate only about 10% of all pollution compared with other things.

• Mamat Malaysia on Sep 29, 2021 at 9:40 pm

For time being, this is stupid idea…

• Car Enthusiast on Sep 30, 2021 at 12:22 am

If a honda accord is price at RM30k instead of RM175k, change every 10 years also can

if a subaru impreza is price at RM60k instead of RM399k, change every 5 years also can

if subsidize is 90% value of the car first bought, he want to change the world also can

• daniel tan on Sep 30, 2021 at 4:01 pm

If EV car price at USD4400, eg China, there will many waiting to exchange old to new. Can they allow EV to market here?