RMK-12: Incentives for EVs in Malaysia to be reviewed – to promote local production and customer purchase

The 12th Malaysia Plan (RMK-12) announced by prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob for 2021 until 2025 has stated details on the Malaysian government’s direction for the next five-year period, including initiatives for the enhancement of green mobility initiatives.

Usage of green vehicles, which operate with reduced air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions as well as with improved energy efficiency, will be promoted by the government in order to drive user transition to green mobility. To this end, the government will review the incentives provided to manufacturers based in the country for the production of these vehicles, as well as their purchase by customers.

In May this year, Malaysia Automotive, Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii) CEO Datuk Madani Sahari said that the Malaysian government will look into further customised incentives for manufacturers based on their level of commitment, on top of fixed incentives that will benefit both end users and the industry.

For car buyers, the range of proposed benefits are to include zero-rated import and excise duties and sales tax for electric vehicles, as well as zero road tax for limited run of CBU (fully imported) vehicles.

The voluntary MARii EEV labelling scheme was first applied to the 2020 Proton X70 CKD

The private sector will also be encouraged to invest in driving the advancement of next-generation vehicles, technologies and supporting infrastructure, such as energy-efficient vehicles, hydrogen and battery-electric vehicles as well as charging stations, according to the document.

Additionally, the private sector will also be encouraged to adopt the practice of green labelling for next-generation vehicles and technologies, the document wrote for the 12th Malaysia Plan.

Taken as read, this would be a version of the labelling that currently exists in the form of the MARii EEV label that was first sighted on the 2020 Proton X70 CKD. This included a QR code that leads to a list of the car’s key specifications, including model designation, fuel consumption CO3 emissions and top speed.

The labelling scheme itself was first introduced in March 2018 at the launch of the National Emissions Test Centre (NETC), in line with Malaysia’s commitment to reducing carbon emissions by 45% by 2030 as outlined under the Paris Agreement.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Sounds like not much change from current, I guess pending after GE15 to have some definite guideline

• Copy Paste on Sep 27, 2021 at 11:57 pm

Copy paste: “Going green is a good excuse. Has anyone done proper research as to the real cost of going green. Buying a new car is not green as new carbon resources are needed to make a new car and also to ship it to the end user. Scrapping an old vehicle also needs resources. So 10 years to switch may be too short a time to be carbon neutral.
      Malaysia’s low per capita income and high new car prices also does not augur well for EoL policies to be effective. If a new car costs more than 24 months of my net salary, it may not be affordable.
      So the National Automotive Policy must be revamped to take a holistic view of the whole industry and consumers. Don’t blindly follow the rich countries when we are still not capable of sustaining such policies.”

• dong gor on Sep 27, 2021 at 6:24 pm

If you look at the whole thing, the structure is always trying to make more money.. squeeze max out from the median/rich and yet look not too obviously biased on the news. With this mentality, there will never be a good deal to us as consumers, let it be gasoline or EV, today or tomorrow.

• Copy Paste on Sep 27, 2021 at 11:56 pm

Copy paste: “Going green is a luxury which our country cannot afford.
      The fundamental problem is our GDP per Capita and income level are not at level where we can change our cars every now and then.
      Our public transportation, urban planning are so poor, majority of us still rely on private vehicles.

The only way to go green is to give incentive, let those who can afford to adopt first and slowly moving down the chain rather than enforce it for everyone.”

• SmartConsumer on Sep 30, 2021 at 10:04 am

Yes, i agree with you. Start first and everything will flow smoother and faster

• donno on Sep 27, 2021 at 8:00 pm

the infrastructure must be there before EV can take off.

prioritize charging areas. make EV charging points compulsory in all new build homes. public parking spaces must have say 10% of bays for EV charging by 2024 for example.

• LRT User on Sep 27, 2021 at 11:27 pm

Who to pay for that? Your money or my money, why not urs alone?

• EV Enthusiast on Oct 15, 2021 at 2:36 pm

Actually charging stations installations can be funded by the private sector. Just like gas stations.

• Copy Paste on Sep 27, 2021 at 11:57 pm

Copy paste: “While I’m all in for saving the planet and reducing my carbon footprint, we all know good and well that the ones with the highest amount of carbon footprint are large companies, the shipping industry, commercial flights & construction industries. Very disappointed to hear Malaysia is following the footsteps of the EU. Attacking the motorcar is an easy way out, having everyone swap to newer EV cars aren’t going to slow climate change at all.
      There was a video that Kurzgesagt has released that explained this better than I ever could.”

• SmartConsumer on Sep 30, 2021 at 10:03 am

I disagree with you. I say EV should come first then we can see the infrastructure gets build faster. If not, its always waiting.

• haulaikdat on Sep 27, 2021 at 10:08 pm

At this rate, they need all the luck they can get.

• Adamosmy on Sep 28, 2021 at 5:33 am

EVs are not for everyone till battery replacements are affordable. Imagine that you need to get a loan just to replace the batteries (after the warranty period). Cheaper batteries first. For now it’s only for the rich.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 28, 2021 at 11:08 am

Alamak only at review stage. Other countries are already implementating their plans. Malaysia eating a lot of dust lately

• Brian on Sep 28, 2021 at 4:25 pm

Akio Toyoda said dun follow blindly
      https://paultan.org/2021/09/28/carbon-is-our-enemy-not-ice-akio-toyoda-urges-japan-to-not-follow-europes-ev-model-blindly/

• SmartConsumer on Sep 30, 2021 at 10:06 am

Akio Toyota should just kamikaze. Bangang punya orang tua nyanyuk

• For car buyers, the range of proposed benefits are to include zero-rated import and excise duties and sales tax for electric vehicles, as well as zero road tax for limited run of CBU (fully imported) vehicles.

Syukur all the rich can afford Tesla, taycan, ix. Benefits to the rich. Poor people continue support la