Cheaper toll in Malaysia being studied: works minister

The government is still studying and going through the most appropriate options to reduce the toll rates for Malaysian highways. Works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said that he will also consider the financial burden that will be carried by the government in any option, and the impact to the economy.

“The government and highway concessionaires are studying various incentives and methods to reduce the toll rates on highways. The works ministry is also allowing the highway concessionaires to propose restructuring of the companies’ finances towards the goal of toll reduction,” he said at the Dewan Rakyat today while debating the 12th Malaysia Plan (RMK-12), reported by BH.

Fadillah added that all suggestions will be discussed between the works ministry, finance ministry, the public-private partnership unit (UKAS), the prime minister’s department and related agencies for a holistic decision.

In the RMK-12 that was presented last month, the government outlined its plans for the restructuring of the highway development model. The aim is to reduce the risk to the government while enabling concessionaires to carry out operations and maintenance of highways, and the generation of fair returns from toll fare collection.

The government will also explore options to ensure the viability of existing highway projects. The Highway Network Development Plan 2030 (HNDP 2030) will also have provision for “a mechanism for prioritising new highways and available funding options”. More here.

Not easy to find a win-win situation for all parties concerned. The government can’t be taking over all highways with public funds, so depending on the private sector is a must. All private companies are after profit, and all highway concessionaires have the agreements in place. Each time the government stops a toll price hike, it has to compensate the highway companies. The rakyat? Cheaper fares, of course.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• suomynona on Oct 06, 2021 at 2:02 pm

Being studied until 2050*

• Bob Mal on Oct 06, 2021 at 3:04 pm

Nah maybe they will reduce the toll but then concessionaire upped from 30 years to 100 years free money for friends and family.

• That is the more realistic option not some harebrained promises of abolishing tolls if won the election but later weaseled their way with excuses and half sincere admission it was all a lie.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Oct 06, 2021 at 3:25 pm

Previous one said they will mansuhkan tol within 100 days of grabbing power. What happen to the janji?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Moneyfastodecapati on Oct 06, 2021 at 11:37 pm

If anyone did that, the concessionaire would have become even more filthy rich with the compensations.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 07, 2021 at 8:31 am

Don’t make promises you can’t keep. That only makes you a liar, and lie once how many more are also lies.

• LX5000 on Oct 07, 2021 at 10:57 am

Since u oredi proved to be very knowledgeable about such a behaviour, no doubt u must be a professional in this field.

• Dong Gor on Oct 06, 2021 at 2:13 pm

Reduce 20c this year, next year up RM1.20. We have lived here long enough to know how we would be taken around the park.

• Imagine being promised free admission to Disneyland and then found out you have to pay for everything including breathing the air once inside? That is how we felt like been taken after the last time.

• Full time student on Oct 06, 2021 at 2:18 pm

Been studied since many years ago, even changed many governments… some of them even said “sudah boleh buang”…

• Manifesto Dicapati on Oct 06, 2021 at 3:26 pm

Previous one did not buang tol as promised so we buang them.

• Bieight8 on Oct 06, 2021 at 2:23 pm

If they are serious about reducing co2 emissions they should raise toll rate by 300% and introduce high occupancies car pooling lane…

• Dawson on Oct 06, 2021 at 3:24 pm

Is it that time of the year for our beloved government? All right, moving on..

• Angry Voters on Oct 06, 2021 at 3:34 pm

But this is more realistic than promises of abolishing tolls. Let’s hope we are smarter this round and not to trust those promising unbelievable sweet things. In fact, we should punish them this round for fooling us.

• angry driver on Oct 07, 2021 at 11:02 am

You mean, support those who can reduce the burden but not those who can remove the burden?

• Sick & Tired on Oct 07, 2021 at 5:37 pm

666 days did they remove the burden? It only takes one day to do it. Why did they not?

• Healthy & Energetic on Oct 07, 2021 at 6:20 pm

No wonder you’re sick & tired; you wasted too much time trying to make sense of politicians.

• Spin Too Much on Oct 07, 2021 at 7:25 pm

You should direct your comment to @angrydriver who believed certain politicians can remove burden laaa!

• Stop the spin on Oct 08, 2021 at 11:01 am

Too bad if other ppl don’t want to follow your spin.

• Mr. Sotong on Oct 06, 2021 at 5:08 pm

Talk is cheap…

• Avenger on Oct 06, 2021 at 10:26 pm

On the contrary it is expensive. We trusted empty talk and wasted 22 months of progress for our country. Thanks to them we regressed back 22 years.

• Justice League on Oct 08, 2021 at 12:58 am

Yep. It got so bad that my PC regressed into a MMX Pentium machine that runs on Windows 98.

• Vezeroth on Oct 06, 2021 at 7:35 pm

To spend money in the name of study… and feasibility… abother umno way of lining their pockets

• Avenger on Oct 06, 2021 at 10:27 pm

So whose fault for that Rm300million unfinished undersea tunnel study? Umno?

• if it was on Oct 08, 2021 at 8:30 am

If it was almost nine times that amount with the story that it came from West Asian royalty, it would be fine with them.

• "studying" jer... on Oct 06, 2021 at 8:41 pm

Studying sedikit, berita keluar semua gembira syok syok, boleh jer game ni…

• ThePolygon on Oct 07, 2021 at 8:14 am

If Toll can survive during MCO without much cars, it can definitely make do with cheaper rates.

• That is like saying businesses which were barely hanging during MCO should give us big discounts now that we can patronise their bars and clubs and ‘ehem’ spas. Bang 10 free 1 anybody? You wish!

• Rave Drogo on Oct 19, 2021 at 9:17 am

Tak habis-habis nak study! Ikutkan boleh dapat PhD dah!