Perodua Ativa Hybrid coming soon? P2 already testing new Daihatsu Rocky e:Smart Hybrid in Malaysia!

What’s this? Why, it’s the Daihatsu Rocky, inexplicably finding its way onto Malaysian roads. Experienced Klang Valley drivers will no doubt recognise the sights of Bukit Bintang in these images, which were captured by Facebook user Alex Tung and posted in a Chinese-language Perodua Ativa group.

The car is also wearing trade plates belonging to Perodua, as it has previously seen on test units of the Daihatsu Move and Tanto. This suggests that this is yet another evaluator, used to test certain components before they are integrated into local models. But the Rocky is already sold here as the Ativa – complete with its novel turbocharged engine, CVT and active safety systems – so what’s the big deal here?

Except this isn’t any other Rocky. The Daihatsu and Rocky badges are taped up, yes, but so are a number of other badges on the front fenders and tailgate, while the honeycomb grille is different from the slatted item on the regular Rocky. Put these photos side-by-side with some teaser images accidentally revealed by Daihatsu last month and the answer is clear – it’s the Rocky e:Smart Hybrid!

That’s right, the petrol-electric version of Daihatsu’s wildly-popular SUV is being tested in Malaysia a whole month before it is due to be revealed in Japan. It’s clear that Perodua is looking to implement that car’s hybrid powertrain in the Ativa, as it has had a long history of testing features and engines due for the Malaysian market – autonomous emergency braking in the Move and the 1.0 litre turbo mill in the Tanto.

So we’re likely getting the hybrid system sooner or later, which is to be expected given that the government plans to implement the Low Carbon Mobility Blueprint, potentially providing certain incentives to manufacturers of electrified vehicles.

Technical details are scarce, but we know the e:Smart will utilise a version of the WA-VE 1.2 litre naturally-aspirated three-cylinder engine already found in the Rocky in Indonesia, here codenamed WA-VEX. The typical Toyota X suffix means it will most probably be an Atkinson-cycle mill, as is usual for a hybrid vehicle.

This is paired to a hybrid electric system that has reportedly been developed by Daihatsu instead of Toyota. It’s been rumoured that it will be a range-extender system that uses the electric motor to drive the car and the petrol engine as a generator, similar to Nissan’s e-Power and (to a certain extent) Honda’s e:HEV technologies. A Smart Pedal (S-PDL) system will also enable one-pedal driving.

A new hybrid would explain why Perodua needed to add a T badge for the Ativa, even though only one turbo engine option at launch. We might see the hybrid model being offered with a H badge, although it’s already taken for the mid-range 1.0 H model. So, what do you think – would you like to see an Ativa Hybrid in Malaysia, and would you prefer it over the turbo model? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky e:Smart Hybrid teasers leaked

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Engine already so small.. hybrid doesn’t make sense though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
    • X70 killer is here on Oct 06, 2021 at 9:09 pm

Sure take over at least 70% of x70 and x50 market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
      • Celup King on Oct 06, 2021 at 10:35 pm

Talk only! Show us the car laa! Your masters have been promising hybrid since 2003. Bayi baru lahir pun sudah boleh undi tahun ini. P2 words & promises cannot be trusted at all. Take what you pipul say with jars of sea salt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • newme on Oct 07, 2021 at 10:08 am

Show what? They are already testing in Malaysia. The pictures are there. Unlike P1 testing in Iceland, Australia but selling at Pakistan, Nigeria.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
          • Show U Da Money on Oct 07, 2021 at 11:10 am

Testing, teasing, trialing, sneak peek, candy show in Malaysia since 2003 and yet can you buy in showroom today? Where is your hybrid car, I want to buy. Don’t just BS and deflect to other brand, why no talk about your own brand failures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Hybrid zone on Oct 07, 2021 at 12:45 pm

Oh my goodness gracious me’
            Nothing concrete and official yet!
            Daihatsu has requested their Malaysian counterpart Perodua to assist with adaptation work with tropical climate. It does not necessarily mean that Perodua will be launching a hybrid version of the Ativa.
            Daihatsu will launch the Rocky e:Smart in Japan in November.

• Newme on Oct 08, 2021 at 6:41 am

Thats rich coming from people that teases Proton Emas ev, Jebat, Lekiu and all the craps plus pickup truck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • PlainBS on Oct 08, 2021 at 8:10 am

What are you talking about Newme? If you’re blind I won’t blame you for not knowing Emas became Iriz while Jebat, Lekiu are concept cars. Unlike concept cars, Daihatsu & Toyota hybrid cars had existed since 2000 that is donkey long years ago and until today Perodua still have no access?
            20 years of getting cheated, without Perodua we could get these Daihatsu & Toyota small car hybrids in.

• Contradiction on Oct 08, 2021 at 8:54 am

as above have said, stop deflecting. Why compare concept cars with cars sold in JDM. Can I also say Daihatsu has plenty of concept cars that Pereodua is guilty of not putting into production? Ridiculous bullcrap!

• newme on Oct 09, 2021 at 9:46 am

Which part of Emas looks like Iriz? And Emas was introduced as hybrid. Is Iriz a hybrid?

And what’s the news for this?
            https://paultan.org/2007/03/07/proton-and-lotus-engineering-develop-proton-gen2-eve-hybrid-concept/

and this

https://paultan.org/2009/12/03/proton-exora-hybrid-under-development-in-uk/

and this

https://paultan.org/2010/03/03/how-does-the-proton-emas-hybrid-system-work/

and this

https://paultan.org/2011/04/25/proton-exora-hybrid-to-arrive-into-the-market-in-2012/

what about this

https://paultan.org/2013/12/26/proton-come-hybrid-car-end-2014-bring-ev-market-end-2015/

this

https://paultan.org/2014/01/23/proton-hybrid-to-enter-market-end-2015/

this

https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

https://paultan.org/2014/03/14/proton-hybrid-car-end-2014-miti/

and

https://paultan.org/2012/09/28/proton-electric-car-coming-in-2014-parliament-told/

It’s too many announcements and some are official, I can’t list all but you get the idea. Now can you show 1 announcement from P2 that they will be launching a hybrid?

• If you cannot google, Newme. Your dumber than I had given you credit.

• newme on Oct 11, 2021 at 9:33 am

I gave you so many sources and you can’t find one? Not even one? Seriously?

Why?

Because you are lying. Perodua has never announce hybrid. Simple as that. Next time, check your facts and find out who you are arguing.

• RyanT on Oct 06, 2021 at 10:54 pm

Really? only saw 2 units in Melaka so far, another failed P2 CUV like Kenbara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Proton X70 kills 1.5CR-V
        Later Proton also launching Hybrid.

Proton AEB and Perodua AEB cheaper and better than other Tin Kosong

• Coean on Oct 06, 2021 at 8:11 pm

Finally, Perodua is bringing Ativa hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Celup King on Oct 06, 2021 at 10:36 pm

Wait til you find out how much owners have to fork out for replacement battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • Contradiction on Oct 08, 2021 at 5:04 pm

Huge kudos to Daihatsu, zero for Perodua who are just riding on their coattails.

• Benny T W Wong on Oct 06, 2021 at 8:27 pm

Please bring in this Hybrid model as it is going to be more fuel efficient and little more eco friendly.
    Also one pedal driving would be fun. *Following…

• Lando on Oct 06, 2021 at 8:29 pm

NICE

• Quack on Oct 06, 2021 at 8:55 pm

YESSSSS ALL MY DREAMS ARE COMING TRUE. Hopefully the hybrid variant of the ativa comes equipped with an electronic parking brake and auto hold so that we can finally operate the adaptive cruise control during traffic jams. Also, Perodua please please equip your facelifts/new variants with apple carplay and android auto. I think if Perodua have all of these, no one can comes close to them in terms of value. Also they need to get the pricing right too

• Silthice on Oct 07, 2021 at 8:41 pm

Perodua ASA only use cameras and no radar. So unable to operate adaptive cruise control.

• John Labu on Oct 09, 2021 at 8:39 pm

Camera can see… Radar can sense only(like blind)… Furthermore its a stereocophic camera like human eye… Some manufacturer only use single camera… Adaptive cruise control is already on ativa dude… Go for a test drive ativa…

• Menteri Fasola on Oct 06, 2021 at 9:17 pm

Shut up and take my money

• Good move by Perodua

• Mohammed on Oct 06, 2021 at 10:56 pm

Why don’t they combine the turbo engine with the hybrid electric motor for better output?
    Can someone explain?
    Power is the thing that customers are looking for with efficiency indeed.
    In any case, it’s good to sell hybrid cars by PERODUA.

• TAN TENG EK on Oct 06, 2021 at 11:14 pm

I would love to own an Ativa-hybrid if it’s available in Msia.

• SL Vin on Oct 06, 2021 at 11:25 pm

Not Bad

• Extended range power recovery, it should be very fuel efficient

• Kodio on Oct 07, 2021 at 1:01 am

Let’s try hybrid

• Alza hybrid coming soon too?

• Captur C3 on Oct 07, 2021 at 7:22 am

Testing for Tyt Raize Hybrid too, est. RM 110k.
    Tyt Raize Turbo may come too, est RM98k-105k with sst taxed

• ThePolygon on Oct 07, 2021 at 8:11 am

Too bad Nissan… you always have the tech e-Power but never bring in to M’sia, now no need to bring in at all. Just like the Juke before HRVs

• Sparcov on Oct 07, 2021 at 8:39 am

If the cost of replacement hybrid battery can be below RM5k and comes with 10 years warranty with unlimited mileage. Perhaps I will consider buying hybrid car. I do agree applying hybrid on a small engine may not really benefit us. Why not straight got for full electric instead?

Until then, I will still stick to ICE powered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • Fraser on Oct 07, 2021 at 11:10 am

Bye bye Proton.

• jusknittin on Oct 07, 2021 at 11:36 am

Think of it for a second, how can people who care about the resale value would ever consider of a product that will greatly depreciate in value after a few years? Only because it’s hybrid. Don’t believe me? Didn’t people always say Honda & Toyota always very high resale value? Then why Prius and Insight secondhand price is very-very low? So, those people who said in their comment that they will immediately buy this car (e.g. “Shut up and take my money”) are probably have extra money (I’m not going to say “rich” because if they’re rich, they would already buy other brands that show how rich they are..) or are just liars.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 07, 2021 at 2:42 pm

Habislah Proton. Gonna kena bash till kingdom come.

• Copy Paste on Oct 07, 2021 at 5:28 pm

Copy paste: “So, those people who said in their comment that they will immediately buy this car (e.g. “Shut up and take my money”) are probably have extra money (I’m not going to say “rich” because if they’re rich, they would already buy other brands that show how rich they are..) or are just liars.”

• Family Guy on Oct 08, 2021 at 12:23 am

The clear answers why family guys prefer Protons. The perception of:
      1.Good value for money
      2.Solid Proton engineered product
      3. Local smell/Malaysia’s pride
      4. Easy to repair even bengkel bawah pokok pomen can do
      5. Family legacy – father bought a Proton and grown up with a Proton constantly in the family
      6. FC
      7. Kedai potong got cheap & plenty quallitier part for my P1
      8. Cheap roadtax
      9. It is the clear our own Kegemaran Malaysia
      10. Sturdy & tough HPF body, even if got whack by some idiot I know we will be safe inside
      11. Ligthweight car
      12. Got big boot, so as a man it is very versatile and easy to haul lots of things
      13. Very reliable, constantly being refined and updated.
      14. Proven Campro tech
      15. Bullet prove
      16. Internationally collaborating refined CVT
      17. No start stop, save battery, save environment compared to other car
      18. More planted drive on road, it won’t fly and do some acrobatic manouvres into longkang (unlike TheKing especially)
      19. No teh tarik hook, dissuade using plastics. Saving the earth for future generations
      20. Nice and comfy seats for long distance drives
      21. Plenty of aftermarket part from abang to layang2
      22. A few make up can unmistakabaly convert it R3 Limited Edition hnggg version
      23. Proton superb ride & handling yet improved NVH
      24. Nice meter display cluster, more higher end than some rm100k car
      25. Last but not least, using timing belt maa, no worries on timing chain will snap. Just only need to spend rm200 on the average lifetime of this car and drive worryfree

• Headspinner on Oct 07, 2021 at 8:22 pm

This Ativa by looking from the pictures at launch looks big as the Perodua Nautica/Rush. But in reality it’s smaller especially if view from the side profile. Still a lot of people are hype about it.

I’m waiting for the Honda HRV 2022 btw..

• Tombak on Oct 07, 2021 at 11:17 pm

As far as i know from the insider, they are testing mule here only for others market. Collecting the data. But is still not possible P2 will bring it. But it will not nearly or sooner.

• newme on Oct 09, 2021 at 9:47 am

Which part of Emas looks like Iriz? And Emas was introduced as hybrid. Is Iriz a hybrid?

And what’s the news for this?
    https://paultan.org/2007/03/07/proton-and-lotus-engineering-develop-proton-gen2-eve-hybrid-concept/

and this

https://paultan.org/2009/12/03/proton-exora-hybrid-under-development-in-uk/

and this

https://paultan.org/2010/03/03/how-does-the-proton-emas-hybrid-system-work/

and this

https://paultan.org/2011/04/25/proton-exora-hybrid-to-arrive-into-the-market-in-2012/

what about this

https://paultan.org/2013/12/26/proton-come-hybrid-car-end-2014-bring-ev-market-end-2015/

this

https://paultan.org/2014/01/23/proton-hybrid-to-enter-market-end-2015/

this

https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

https://paultan.org/2014/03/14/proton-hybrid-car-end-2014-miti/

and

https://paultan.org/2012/09/28/proton-electric-car-coming-in-2014-parliament-told/

It’s too many announcements and some are official, I can’t list all but you get the idea. Now can you show 1 announcement from P2 that they will be launching a hybrid?

• If you cannot google, Newme. Your dumber than I had given you credit.

• PlainBS on Nov 17, 2021 at 1:44 pm

Proton said nevermind we have plans for EV, PHEV and hybrids. Talk only.

P2 already have testing car on road in Malaysia liao

• Mark X on Mar 01, 2022 at 8:28 am

Having driven my Prius everywhere since the last 10 years, I don’t mind buying this if before the SST exemption expiry as replacement. All talk crap about hybrid as expensive never own any BMW before or even HAccord.