Where is the budget for road safety? – Lee Lam Thye

The Alliance for Safe Community has lamented the lack of allocation in Budget 2022 towards enhancing road safety, and its chairman Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye said that there is no specific budget allocated to address the growing number of road deaths involving motorcyclists, the New Straits Times reported.

We have covered the automotive- and transport-related points under Budget 2022; read them in detail here.

Though billions of ringgit have been set aside for other areas, none have been allocated to implement road safety projects even though road deaths have been on of the biggest causes of loss of life among Malaysians, Lee was quoted by the New Straits Times as saying.

According to Lee, the Alliance for Safe Community has submitted proposals and a wish list for Budget 2022 to the finance minister, highlighting the need for dedicated motorcycle lanes along existing roads and highways.

“There has been absolutely no political will to commit financial allocations to make available such motorcycle lanes which if implemented, could save thousands of lives, mostly of young Malaysians. This is confirmed based not only on continous research conducted by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety (MIROS), but on common sense, too,” Lee was quoted as saying.

According to Lee, dedicated motorcycle lanes were critical to segregate the two-wheelers from the fast lanes where they are the most vulnerable to crashes. Lee also said that due to the absence of exclusive lanes for motorcycles, most fatal crashes and serious injuries sustained by motorcyclists occurred due to weaving in and? out of vehicles on the fast lanes.

Official figures cited from the Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) stated that 167,074 deaths occurred across all types of road users between 1995 and August 2021, or an average of 18 deaths per day, Lee said. Between 2001 and August 2021, 79,916 motorcyclists were killed in road incidents.

“Seven out of 10 road deaths were motorcycle users, making Malaysia close to Thailand for the world’s worst death rate for motorcyclists. With the increasing popularity of food delivery services by motorcycles, the death toll will inevitably rise until and unless the government and political leaders come to terms with the harsh reality of such preventable deaths which have a huge social and economic impact on the nation,” Lee said.

What are your thoughts, motorcyclists? What is on your road safety wish list? Air your views in the comments section.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:26 am

Implementing better safety is only as good as the people’s mindset of using them.

Don’t you find it odd that the highest group at risk seems to be always impatient? Running red lights, lane splitting at speed, weaving in and out of traffic? What is the rush?

How many times I have gotten angry eyes when lane splitting slowly holding up kapchais. I choose to lane split in a safer manner..or not lane split at all.

When you are on the bike, assume that no one can see you so expect someone to cut you off eventually.

How many motorcyclist wear a good helmet or any protective gear when riding?

• Celup King on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:51 am

Gip dedicated motorcycle lane oso they dun use, what for. What they want is dedicated 6 lane motorcycle highways running parallel with the same highways for cars and with the convenience to cilok either one. Money for safety? They prefer that money better to foreva subsidise families of riders that were killed in accidents.

• That’s the problem, bike lane is useless mess. They need to maintain it

• Tan Sri, this year G only save RM2.80 monthly using Hellfire, so no money for road safety whatsoever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • YB Albert on Nov 09, 2021 at 4:01 pm

Datuk Leo,
      You are 101% correct,correct,correct.
      $2.80 extra for each Vellfire monthly,but dont forget the most bloated workforce ,to provide gaji,KWSP,Socso,and lagi later bonus and pension.
      Make no mistake,”Road safety Budget allocation” is a MYTH,now.
      You understand what is a myth? My cucu said “fairytale”,grandpa.

• Ya Mentri on Nov 10, 2021 at 12:32 pm

All those so called “bloated workforce” are actually essential and critical staff to keep the Civil Service afloat and running properly, stability of the Government over anarchy when the Administration keep changing hands every year. That way the people can go about their daily lives without worrying the country will descent into chaos.

• Avenger on Nov 09, 2021 at 3:43 pm

If motorriders don’t care why should the Government care?