Resale value for Hyundai cars in Malaysia comparable to their Japanese rivals – Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors

The resale value for Hyundai cars in Malaysia is apparently comparable to their Japanese rivals. According to Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) managing director, Low Yuan Lung, the perception of Hyundai cars having substantially lower resale value is wide off the mark.

“The difference in the selling price of a five-year-old Hyundai model in comparison with the likes of a Japanese model is marginal. The same goes for the depreciation value of both makes after five years which is about 10% per year,” he said, adding that the demand for pre-owned Hyundai cars have increased in the past five years.

“Hyundai has come a long way to prove itself to be a reliable car brand that is of superior quality. Hyundai models today are not just good looking, but they are also equipped with the latest innovation that is at par with premium continental brands, which is why they are in demand,” Low noted.

He also stated that all the pre-owned Hyundai models listed on its Hyundai Promise approved used car programme were quick to sell out, likely because they are rigorously inspected and serviced with genuine parts prior to being approved for sale.

The Hyundai Promise centre can be found at Lot 33, Temasya Industrial Park, Glenmarie. The facility is open from 9am to 5pm on weekdays, and 9am to 12.30pm on Saturdays. Hyundai Promise is owned and managed by HSDM, supported by Sime Darby Auto Selection.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Really? Who can tell me whether the statement is true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • bossku on Nov 12, 2021 at 5:59 pm

liar…

• alldisc on Nov 12, 2021 at 10:03 pm

Even their own salesman hesitate to offer good trade in value on hyundai cars they sold seevral years back. Whats that all about then?

• ask them show you proof la.
      everybody can just simply click mudah.my
      HSDM suck your old Hyundai car gao2 then sell at high price go la.

• WOO WEE TIONG on Nov 14, 2021 at 8:12 am

I Owned 2 korean cars.Their qualities are pretty good, reliabilities very good & substantially bettter than my other cars of japaness brand.

• maybe they are stuck to the old version Hyundai. Well I am a proud owner of Hyundai Sonata since 2011. and I don’t hesitate if my next car will be Hyundai or Kia. Even bought a 2nd hand car. Much cheaper but perform well with good maintenance :-)

• hazri on Nov 12, 2021 at 1:06 pm

Hyundai RV the best during Berjaya days..

• Amran on Nov 12, 2021 at 1:43 pm

My advice. Buy sushi good RV. Buy kimchi low rv..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Hyundai is proven to be affordable value for money globally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • bossku on Nov 12, 2021 at 6:00 pm

not the new model from hyundai, all are overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • pdesign on May 28, 2022 at 1:17 pm

different from indonesia hyundai price is almost a same like the japanese cars so if u want to buy japanese cars u spend a lot of cash with minimum features but if u want korean cars u spend a bit cash than the japanese but u get lot of feature

• Really? Or syiok sendiri again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • selling hyundai staria at rm360k+ to compete with alfard & hellfire is just poor strategy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • YB Albert on Nov 12, 2021 at 2:30 pm

This Sime Darby Hyundai MD dude is talking non sense.
    How much is a 2.0 Camry 2013 compared to a Sonata 2.0 2013?
    There is a marked difference in resale value.
    If the distributorship is not competent like the naza dudes,the resale value suffers.
    Hyundai and Kia are now the top 5 biggest auto maker
    ,but why in Bolehland we need the Mazda boss to take over Kia?
    Why only 120 units of Hyundai sold last month? MCO?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • FudgeMeSideways on Nov 12, 2021 at 2:58 pm

2nd hand value of coursee increase when your selling price is astronomical. Tell me who buys the new Elantra again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Haidi on Nov 12, 2021 at 3:27 pm

Marginal?! No no no. However I hope that one day Korean RV can be on par with the Japs. They make good cars as well.

• Of course RV is increased, they simply increase their car prices higher than comparable Japanese rivals! Your drop per year is still higher than Japanese, you kimchi fanboy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • tatu880 on Nov 12, 2021 at 4:05 pm

Not exactly true. My friend bought a 2016 Hyundai Sonata LF in 2017 (new old stock) for RM120k (original price was RM153k), and now a second hand dealer only offered him RM35k. Its a very nice and solid car, but its resale value is a pain in the a**.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Resale Value might not mean trade in value?

• jusknittin on Nov 13, 2021 at 9:47 pm

Thats a dealer alright.. they will definitely offer a bottom rock price because they know you can’t really get 35k cash anywhere. Give you reason “nobody want this” and “other dealer will give you cheaper” etc. Later they will sell at least from 80-90k.

• Civic FC on Nov 15, 2021 at 6:35 am

That’s bad! My 2016 civic bought for 135k now offered by used car dealer for 77k sia

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 12, 2021 at 4:07 pm

They are saying half the truth. Try selling your Korean vehicle to any used car dealer and you will get chopped for it with the same old excuse ‘Its a Korean car’ from them. You need to find a direct buyer to get fair value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • hyin21 on Nov 12, 2021 at 5:56 pm

Hyundai Promise sells very expensive pre-owned cars…hahaha

• Yealo.

Trade in value and Resale Value.
      Different… cannot compare.

• Ben Yap on Nov 12, 2021 at 6:03 pm

a 2016 elantra 1.8 premium selling new for RM115K and after 5 years going about RM45K. A 2016 civic 1.8S selling new was RM110K and after 5 years RM78K. meanwhile a 2016 corolla altis new was RM120K and after 5 years is going for RM70K. the resale value for a hyundai is very very far off from its japanese rivals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Checked on Nov 12, 2021 at 10:30 pm

Actually, Civic 1.8S is RM56k after 5 years while Corolla Altis 1.8E is RM64k after 5 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Curious on Nov 12, 2021 at 6:11 pm

One thing I”m sure is, maintenance costs is on par wit Jap cars.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 12, 2021 at 7:24 pm

dei stop learning from malaysian ministers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 32
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 12, 2021 at 7:25 pm

i wonder what sam loo has to say about this

• Jok’ng on Nov 15, 2021 at 1:29 pm

Sam Loo did not bother to respond as he had hard time to help his Hyundai cars’ owners who wanted to buy Toyota, as all of them needed to use their own pocket monies to top-up to settle their loans. RV is too low that Eventually most of them give up and continue driving until the loans are fully settled. BTW he sent his regards to kimchi fans. He is too busy selling Toyota like no other business. Sales is too good for Toyota/UMW now.

• hazri on Nov 12, 2021 at 9:28 pm

the fact is, if korean people dont have patriotism to buy hyundai/kia car, they are nowhere now. i dont judge the car quality, but under sime darby the price is not competitive and syok sendiri. look how MD give statement syok sendiri.

• 1 word . Bullshit!

• Public data available on Nov 13, 2021 at 2:26 am

I just searched 5 years sonata averagely selling 58-62k. Equivalent 2016 2.0 Camry cheapest is 76k goes up to 90+k? Can ask Mr Low provide citation for the claims?

• Geny AEB on Nov 13, 2021 at 1:34 pm

If Staria begin RM99k like Korea, then can get 10% RV drop annually.

• Firdaus on Nov 13, 2021 at 2:07 pm

Takde hal la resale value rendah atau tinggi,,

ada duit beli, tak cukup duit takyah la beli,,

Menda simple macam ni pun nkorang tak faham?

Asyik komplen je tak habis2,,

Teruk betul mindset nkorang ni,,

• anti sombong on Nov 13, 2021 at 4:04 pm

Ya lah, memang org kaya sombong mcm engkau selalu cakap mcm tu.

• Xde duit xyah berlagak on Nov 15, 2021 at 6:37 am

Last skali dengar orang cakap mcm ni, kena scam ps5 by scammer sin chan, lol

• Back in 2017, I sold my 2011 Sonata high spec for RM 42k. Purchased at RM 138k

• WOO WEE TIONG on Nov 14, 2021 at 8:13 am

I Owned 2 korean cars.Their qualities are pretty good, reliabilities very good & substantially bettter than my other cars of japaness brand.

• Azgarffield on Nov 15, 2021 at 11:11 am

I may slightly agree with you, since I have owned a 2004 CBU Kia Picanto before. Bought that car before 1st gen MyVi was launched. 5 years later, the ride was better than a comparable 5 year old MyVi (which SCs would say, “biasa ma, Perodua/Proton quality” when we complain).

However, trading in that car 2 years afterwards were a pain in the ass. The only way HDSM can back up their claim is to do a guaranteed buy-back programme which shall lock in loyalty from customers like you who claim they’re happy with the cars’ quality and reliability

• The RV is different as buyers are biased towards Japanese used pussy… nothing to do w car quality, reliability or style (Korean miles ahead in style and features)… change ur mindset la…

• Ain’t get fooled on Nov 15, 2021 at 1:18 pm

Really? The last time I check, Hyundai owners needed to top-up if they wanted to settle their loans.

• David on Nov 15, 2021 at 8:17 pm

Shiok sendiri

• Thaya on Nov 16, 2021 at 2:02 am

Dude my Mazda CX-5 2.2 Diesel was offered 74k in Jan and right after MCO was announced in April the price dropped to 60k . Just in 4 months 14 k price drop. I believe the current lower prices is because 2nd hand dealer not willing to commit to higher prices due to pandemic. It’s a cycle la many lost jobs and no takers , hence the lower prices