PLUS giving out free RFID replacements for faulty tags

Since it was announced last month that the entire North-South Highway would support Touch ‘n Go’s radio frequency identification (RFID) system for toll payments, there have been several concerns raised over the reliability of the tags. In response, highway concessionaire PLUS Malaysia has said it would give out free replacements for faulty tags at toll plazas.

The company stated that toll personnel will hand out a coupon for a full detection diagnostic test should the tag be unreadable by either the RFID lane’s reader or the staff’s handheld one. This test can be taken at the nearest Touch ‘n Go fitment centre, and in the event that the RFID tag still cannot be read, Touch ‘n Go will replace the tag for free.

This is one of several improvements PLUS has made in response to customer and public feedback, which also include doubling the number of personnel attending to issues at toll plazas and improving the visibility of directional signages. The company advised motorists to ensure proper use of the lanes according to guidance on the signage provided.

Since implementing the system on the main stretch of the highway (from Juru in Penang to Skudai in Johor) on Saturday, PLUS recorded a migration rate of 10% to RFID transactions. The company stated that it hopes the increased use of the system, which it said is in line with the current popularity of contactless payments and e-wallets, will provide a “smoother and more enjoyable travel experience.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• QC/QA issue

• WTF RFID on Jan 19, 2022 at 4:49 pm

WTF

I just paid in full for my faulty RFID sticker replacement last week!!!!!!!!!

There are multitudes of RFID sticker version out there. Some much more better than others, and some versions (like the one with the large black square in the middle) easily damaged by water intrusions.

So can i get a full refund for my RFID????

• kugen on Jan 19, 2022 at 10:32 am

Only in malaysia we like going backwards , smart respond must fast than RFID

• sohai on Jan 19, 2022 at 3:31 pm

I drive 40kmh thru smart tag no issues, over 15yrs my smart tag never failed to detect. Your stupid RFID only 20-30kmh and intermittent failed. We want Singapore toll less RFID active payment at 110kmh.

• sohai on Jan 19, 2022 at 3:38 pm

Really stupid project still toll nottleneck not solve, Singapore make payment 110kmh with zero slow down and zero bottleneck.
      MALU betoi who is start, approve and run this project, this people really KURANG CERDIK, dont know from which SCHOOOL.

• Brian on Jan 20, 2022 at 1:21 am

Ironically, when RFID was activated few days ago, it is Smart Tag lanes which I see with long lines of waiting people instead of the RFID lanes. How weird is that.

• digidigi on Jan 19, 2022 at 10:59 am

rubbish crony company, you can change some of the tng lane into rfid, why close all smart tech land, people do use own money to buy smart tech device and now u force people to buy your third world tech sticker at RM35

• sohai on Jan 19, 2022 at 3:34 pm

Why your rm0.35 stupid intetmittent failed rfid tag selling at rm35? We want 110 kmh make payment like Singapore done it 20yrs ago.

• Quentin Howell on Jan 19, 2022 at 11:01 am

Its nothing to do with faulty tags, mine had no issues until they started implementing the usage on the rest of the highways. This is the case of the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing. Shouldn’t the minister provide us with the solution rather than just throwing the buck to both PLUS and TnG? Typical

• Hopefully the coupon comes with installation at fitment centers. High chance tags are difficult to detect due to improper self installation by users.

• newme on Jan 19, 2022 at 12:33 pm

Free replacement for FAULTY tags? Isn’t it called WARRANTY -something that you have to do when the product is faulty? Don’t sound like you are doing a community service.

• Gabriel on Jan 19, 2022 at 1:17 pm

Why are we still paying toll? Did PH kencing all the Malaysian when they were in power?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • sohai on Jan 19, 2022 at 2:51 pm

Rm0.35 tag selling at rm35.00 is really TIPU RAKYAT. Further more the RFID Pasif project IS NOT SOLUTION for TOLL BOTTLENECK ISSUES. [what we eant is RFID at 110 KMH like SINGAPORE done it 20yrs ago] . my smart tag go thru the toll with zero failed over 15years ago at 30kmh+-, sometime a bit faster 40kmh also no problem, why i should paid RM35 for same solution (zero improvement).

• bieight8 on Jan 19, 2022 at 4:52 pm

Profit margin X100….

• Free? Replacement for faulty takkan mau BAYAR lagi?

• RyanT on Jan 20, 2022 at 6:31 am

I doubt how long it can last under sunlight n rain everyday…long term income for cronies

• Habibu on Jan 20, 2022 at 8:54 am

I don’t stick my RFID, I just put it at my dashboard, it works fine. But of course, RFID need to improve their scanner.