Press the fuel pump’s E-Stop button to prevent SG cars from using RON 95 petrol? Please don’t do that

The world’s busiest land border has finally reopened after over two years, and Singapore and Johor are now connected again – so near yet so far no more. It’s a good thing that our Singaporean friends are back, and the opening of the border will be a boon to so many Johor businesses that have been hard hit by the pandemic.

However, this also means that we’re seeing some unsavoury things such as reckless driving and, as viralled recently, the illegal use of RON 95 petrol. Yes, it’s illegal. Foreign-registered cars are prohibited from buying RON 95 fuel, which is heavily subsidised by the Malaysian government. They are free to fill up with RON 97, which is currently priced at RM3.81 per litre (RM1.76 per litre difference from RON 95) – still very cheap for those earning SGD.

After examples spread on social media, the government issued reminders and promised enforcement, but Twitter user Abe J has a seemingly better idea that we can all participate in.

“If you see any Singaporean cars using our subsidised fuel, and if they show shit face when you sound them, just press the E-Stop button and then report to the authorities. That’s the only way to teach them,” he tweeted. Pardon the less than polite words of our direct translation from BM.

Sounds good, like a citizen’s arrest to stop theft. However, this is not advisable, as pressing the emergency stop button may also interrupt fuel flow on the opposite side of the same island.

For certain stations (different fuel companies may have different failsafes and protocols), it may even take some time for fuel flow to be restarted, causing further delays for everyone. It should also be noted that not all fuel stations have such emergency stop buttons installed at each kiosk.

Perhaps what a witness can do is to confront the motorist and inform him/her that filling up with RON 95 is not allowed for foreign-registered cars. Say so nicely, and point to the warning notices that are placed everywhere around the station. Kasi dia malu, in hope that he/she won’t repeat the stunt. You can inform the station staff, which are on high alert as enforcement is currently ongoing.

You can also file a complaint with the ministry of domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP) via its e-complaint platform or WhatsApp them at 019-2794317. Whatever it is, no violence, please.

It has to be said that the majority of Singaporean visitors know of the no-RON 95 rule, and abide by it – the few that have been caught with yellow nozzles in hand are merely a few bad apples. Let’s continue to be good neighbours and welcoming hosts. But with cameras on standby.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• YB Albert on Apr 07, 2022 at 9:05 pm

So, are we going to fine the petrol station operator 1 juta RM for each offence? It takes 5 Sporeans to bankrupt the poor Bangla reliant operator.
    Perhaps there has to be a mechanism to direct the photos of the offender to our border dudes real time .Imagine,the poor Bangla attendant getting a “Will smith” type slap for confronting the rude Singaporean.
    Just seize 100 of those who have tons of unpaid summons n cheating on cheap fuel..for a month..see whats the reaction.
    Time to stop the talk.Walk the talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
    • Copy Paste on Apr 07, 2022 at 10:54 pm

Copy paste: “You can also file a compliant with the ministry of domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP) via its e-complaint platform or WhatsApp them at 019-2794317. Whatever it is, no violence, please.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Avenger on Apr 07, 2022 at 10:56 pm

Better just take photo and name & shame them. Better yet, name & shame those talibarut supporters of them, I see one such above me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Lol dah kena sounding by forumers now you suddenly side with Malaysia again? Dah terlambat bro. Time you walk the talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Lolwhut? on Apr 08, 2022 at 12:22 am

Sinkies has bring the selfish stupidity to next level

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • So we’re going to stereotype a whole nation because of a handful of bad apples? Like this we can also stereotype the whole of Malaysia as useless lying good for nothings because of all the corrupt politicians we hear about.

Use logic lah. the ones you notice are the bad ones. How about the many tens and thousands more that obey the laws and don’t attract any attention.

I agree to shame these idiots who flout the rules but don’t just stupidly judge a whole nation just because of these cheapskate idiots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • When the rich takes advantage of subsidies meant for the poor. Scummy attitude coming from a scummy nation.

• bieight8 on Apr 07, 2022 at 9:17 pm

Should just kick them in the balls…

• Gomen should look into the illegals that residing in Malaysia which escaped Tax too.

• Border sentry on Apr 07, 2022 at 10:31 pm

Create a fuel surcharge at the border when going out from Malaysia to SG on those foreign plated cars. For starter, RM 100 per day in Malaysia. If 2 days, RM 200 and so on. Revise as needed. RM 100 is an estimation that 1 car will pump 50 litres of petrol per day and RM 2 (for subsidy) is charged per litre. So no need to worry if they come to get our RON 95. All done without the need to setup complicated procedures and systems that will create new problem, internal corruptions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • YB Albert on Apr 08, 2022 at 9:09 am

What if the dude stays for a month with his relatives here?$3000/-? Anyway,If there is a will,there is a way.The saddest part is tons of unpaid summons since 2016.Why are we not seizing the vehicles for unpaid summons?No Malaysian can escape any unpaid summons in Spore,cos they are super efficient,with so many CCTV s around.If go men needs funds,why are we letting these morons in,without collecting the overdue fines?Some dept heads should be hauled up for sloppy collection of fines n denied bonuses and pay rise.

• Border sentry on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:13 pm

YB Albert, you miss the “revise part”. there is always some ways to escape /minimize that. for you later statements starting on the summons, they have been a long standing issues. Never can be solved until now despite everyone knows about that

• Good luck with rebuilding the decimated economy then. No one is ever coming in if you’re charging RM100 per day.

You do realize that a singaporean family coming over will spend about 3 to 4 days if they’re coming for a holiday. Thats 3 to 400 you’re proposing to levy them. No one is coming to Malaysia if thats the case. A trip to Thailand or Indonesia would be better.

Additionally you can kiss the town of JB goodbye as they crumble from the fallout of financial ruin as Singaporeans avoid coming over totally.

The last 2 years of no cross border travel already pretty much destroyed the economy there and Malaysians from other states don’t even come down south enough for them to maintain their businesses.

Use brain lah when commenting on issues like this. If got no good idea should shut up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
      • Ghani on Apr 08, 2022 at 2:35 pm

We lasted 2 years without your sinkie money. We will survive without you thank you very much. But can you survive without pumping our cheap petrol? As soon as we reopen border, you desperate lot racing over each other thirsting for Malaysian petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Border sentry on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:20 pm

R, seems you got burnt because of this comment. are you one of the perpetrators who think high of him/herself but hollow inside? Yapping so hard. where is your pride of being “rich” when earning SGD? You might not realized it, SG is strong because of the brilliant elites at the top unlike MY. not because of low level employees like you.

• mailee on Apr 08, 2022 at 9:37 pm

you know I find it funny that it’s only the sinkies that are pissed off with this ruling when the same ruling is imposed to the Siamese up north (bordertown of Perlis/Kelantan). You don’t see them pissing for weeks on social media. wonder why the entitlement is so strong with the neighbors down south…

• mibukyoshiro on Apr 16, 2022 at 9:07 pm

destroy our economy? those 2 years without your scumbag ass was a paradise for us..peaceful road, no trafic jam, desaru coast still full of local tourist, no sight of monkey bussiness goncang2 kereta fill up petrol..we really dont need you morons..

• Miori on Jun 12, 2022 at 4:33 pm

One of those tali barut im sure. Fuck me, you think this SG hot shit contributing to our tourist economy whatever bs u spit thus giving this green light for this. Tell this to your SG buddy, u come here, use the green pump not the yellow one. & fuckk off.

• Stanliy on Apr 08, 2022 at 12:26 am

How about the government enforce their own laws instead of ordinary citizens butting in?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Nicholas Lim on Apr 08, 2022 at 7:31 am

True. Let me just break-in and rob this one apartment room. And let the police and enforcement do their job to catch me. The residents of that apartment has no say to me breaking in and robbing this one room.
      /s

• Mr. Sotong on Apr 08, 2022 at 8:12 am

I feel it is also important to point out that foreign registered vehicles can pump RON95 if they are not in Johor or more than 50km away from the Thai border.

I’d hate to see tourists getting harrased by locals when what they are doing is actually legal.

• Ghani on Apr 08, 2022 at 2:37 pm

Nope. RON95 & cheap diesel is across the nation barred from foreign plate vehicles.

• Cheapskate Singaporean..
    Come Malaysia berlagak … but fuel up Ron95..
    Hope their car burn on fire..

• Ghani on Apr 08, 2022 at 2:39 pm

I would gladly donate some of my RON95 for that. Burn it wit faiya!

• Lawson on Apr 08, 2022 at 10:01 am

At Thai border and at causeway goverment to put a reminder on fine of up to RM5000 if caught filling with RON95. But our goverment first have put up a bill to make this an offence. Concurrently set up an apps site for citizens to take & send over the pictures via smart phone. Sender have to key in time, location and date. Goverment give a reward of RM500 for each conviction.

• Mason on Apr 08, 2022 at 10:40 am

Singaporean will continue to pump Ron95 as their mindset will like Malaysia authorities will not take this issue seriously. Same concept like like they will not simply throw rubbish in their own country Singapore but they will in Malaysia if they hv to.

• dong gor on Apr 08, 2022 at 10:55 am

country issue let the ministry settle lar. all gaji banyak banyak just sit and watch ka?

• newme on Apr 08, 2022 at 11:23 am

The guy that suggests using E-Stop button is a good example the people that we have. They are like “aarrgh .. aku tak peduli, janji puas hati” when making decision.

• phatcat on Apr 08, 2022 at 11:53 am

that is your solution? try to shame the thick face kiasu. in HOPE that they would not repeat. They HUMP the car in broad daylight to get a few ml of petrol more. there is no SHAME to begin with.

• Ruuben on Apr 09, 2022 at 9:08 am

They thought very standard,we must stop Singapore plate using our ron95,we have our own standard,kita tak boleh bagi tempat lagi,mereka perlu ikut undang undang kita,ini kota kita,kalau kita pergi negara dia orang , mereka layan kita thrid class,jadi kitapun buat samaje,

• Just my input,perhaps that petrol kiosk shld not b allowed to sell RON95 since it’s so difficult for them to monitor who pump what

• Subsidi yang di beri haruslah di pantau oleh kerajaan. Dah kerajaan gagal pantau. Terpaksalah rakyat yang bakal terkesan ini mengambil tindakan. Bila dah viral nanti. Maka barulah kerajaan akan mulakan kajian dan ambil tindakan. Amin….

• Ollie on Apr 10, 2022 at 11:29 pm

It makes zero sense that people driving 3.0 X5 and Cayenne and Alphard get to use subsidized ron95. My tax money is paying for this rich people to fill up their guzzlers. That’s why 60% of the subsidies are going to the wrong people. End subsidies immediately. Enough stupidity in malaysia

• Wctree on Apr 16, 2022 at 6:11 pm

How about we just mind our own business and not be snitches?

• Smarter way to minimize this stupid illegal act is to install front and back camera; cheap one to just focus on plate number for the cashier, or expensive system that can read plate number and detect a singapore plate.
    Then upgrade the start and stop pump flow electronically, straight from cashier on-screen. The system will alert there are cars at the pump, and cashier can look at the screen then decide to stop pump or not (manual system), or system auto stop.
    Its expensive system, but this is the way that make sense to control this. Gov can subsidize one time for this to enforce all petrol station to upgrade.
    This can also be use to minimize those rich people from pumping Ron95 also.