Locally-designed Proton X50 widebody kit available for purchase – perfect fitment, no drilling, from RM4,500

One of Malaysia’s most popular Proton X50 makes a splashing return with a brand new set of widebody kit. This time, it’s not just a bespoke kit made for Lee’s car, but one that you can purchase and install on your own X50.

According to the Facebook post, the full kit – designed and manufactured locally through JWide Bodykits – comprises 10 items, such as a front lip, side skirts, flared wheel fenders, front and rear diffusers, exhaust covers, and a new ducktail spoiler that sits on the tailgate.

Prices start from RM4,500, and goes up to RM5,500 should you opt for the exhaust covers, tailgate spoiler (can be purchased as a standalone item for RM650-RM750) and widebody trimmings. The good news is, no drilling is required for this kit, and fitment is guaranteed to be on point. Also included in the price is the installation fee.

In case you missed our previous coverage of Lee’s X50, the car now sits on gigantic 21-inch wheels wrapped with low profile Continental ContiSport Contact 5P tyres. These are staggered, so the front wheels are fitted with 275/30 rubbers, and the rear measures 285/30.

Stopping power comes from a pair of 405 mm drilled and ventilated rotors up front (taken from the Cadillac CTS-V), clamped by six-piston pink Brembo calipers. The rear rotors are slightly smaller at 380 mm (taken from a Porsche Cayenne), managed by four-piston clampers. The pink and yellow calipers pay tribute to the Bumblebee and Miltank guises of its past.

The 1.5 litre three-potter has been flashed to make 203 PS and 330 Nm at the wheels when fed with RON100 fuel. This is further augmented with a new cold air intake system and a catless downpipe. There are also adjustable dampers and race-spec bushings all around, making his car the fastest X50 around the Sepang International Circuit with a time of 2 minutes 47.94 seconds.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• This is the wheel arch kit and skirting..
    Wide body panel not just the eyebrow for the wheels..

• YB Albert Zelensky on Apr 22, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Dr.Li..we read u were busy chairing war room meetings on sparepart shortage issue.
    No need all these hideous looking frills and add ons.
    P1 fanboys can go to any top Klang valley car spa and get the design they wanted at lower costs.
    Pls concentrate on your after sales spare parts commitment.Those frustrated P1 owners will say a big thank you once the spart parts arrival time is shortened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 112
    • BOYRACER on Apr 22, 2022 at 3:49 pm

Where did the article said the body kit was made by Proton..Jwide bodykit doesn’t look or sounds the same as proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Bro. This jerkwad is well known to be trolling proton articles and bashing nonsensically. Once he spots ‘proton’ in the title he will unleash his hideously routine copypasted comment over & over without actually referring the writeup. He is after all the regular troller in Paultan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Title reader on Apr 22, 2022 at 3:52 pm

Maybe you need to concentrate on your reading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • YB xtau baca…kecian

• He use a small Nokia phone to browse PT.

• Hantu Raya on Apr 23, 2022 at 11:05 am

How to tell people you’re an idiot, without telling people you’re an idiot.

• Muhammad Najmi on Apr 23, 2022 at 6:59 pm

Next time, Read the news first before make a comment, and jangan jadi sebaliknya :V

• Like = this bodykit damn hot!
    Dislike = urggghh..ugly kit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Newme on Apr 23, 2022 at 9:17 am

Perodua launching their ah beng Gearup.

Proton-hold my Qingtao.

• Casual reader on Apr 24, 2022 at 10:35 am

Another of YB bodoh cohorts who did not read the article and assumed it was by proton. K

• Protoniamah on Apr 23, 2022 at 9:48 am

So use double sided tape ? Typical

• Casual reader on Apr 24, 2022 at 10:37 am

You want them use hot glue to stick also can nobody is stopping you from being different