2022 Proton Saga MC2 spyshots – new grille, wheels

While out shooting our usual car review pictures in Putrajaya today, our resident photographers stumbled upon a video production crew working around a shrouded car. Intrigued, they hung around with their longest zoom lenses out, waiting to catch the hero car uncovered.

As the shoot wrapped, the car was to be moved to a carrier. Our photographers pounced at the opportunity to grab a few shots in and lo and behold, we now have our first few photos of the soon-to-be-launched 2022 Proton Saga MC2!

Now obviously, many of you would have already seen leaked photos of the updated sedan taken from inside the factory by now, so this isn’t quite a groundbreaking reveal of any sort. However, us at paultan.org have always made it a point not to publish leaked photos taken from private facilities as such, so here’s our first real look at the Saga MC2 (second minor change).

Forgive the blurriness, as we were camped far away – trust us, these were not taken with potato cameras; quite the opposite, really. Still, the new grille with the latest round Proton logo can be seen quite clearly, together with the red ethereal bow tucked neatly below it. The shuriken-like new alloy wheels can be made out too, as can the blacked out side mirrors.

Beyond the obvious changes, the Saga appears to be pretty much the same as before. The bumpers and light clusters front and back look unchanged. Those expecting a more elaborate visual change may be disappointed, but this is a minor change exercise after all.

Anyway, we already know what to expect beyond the few exterior updates, courtesy of a leaked document that made the rounds earlier this month. The Saga MC2 will receive a new range-topping 1.3L Premium S AT variant, featuring the new 15-inch wheels, front bodykit, side skirts, auto-fold side mirrors and an updated trunk lid with a release switch.

Inside, it will get an updated instrument cluster, leatherette covers for the steering wheel and seats, keyless entry with a push start button and a sportier looking black headliner. Again, nothing game changing, but it will at least bring it up to par with its only competition, the Perodua Bezza in terms of interior amenities. The new seven-inch floating touchscreen head unit will surpass that, even.

Beyond that, the 1.3 Standard AT variant is set to receive electronic stability control (ESC), which is big news. The base 1.3 Standard MT will still exist at least – being Proton’s last surviving car with a manual transmission – though without the crucial electronic aid.

Anyway, what do you think of the 2022 Proton Saga MC2 for now – a welcome update, or are the changes too minor to make a dent? Comment below!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Whooaa so exciting! Meh..who care?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
    • CarOwner on Apr 30, 2022 at 12:20 pm

It seems like you care enough to post a comment.. so..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 8
    • John Gagal on Apr 30, 2022 at 3:38 pm

Lol spyshot konon…maybe sendiri tell location and ask take our photos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • If it were their own photographer why the pics so bad and out of focus bro? Tak paham u pnya logic

• TunFck on Apr 30, 2022 at 4:55 am

Saga?

• John Gagal on Apr 30, 2022 at 3:34 pm

Work hard and buy new Toyota Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
      • Buble on Apr 30, 2022 at 7:29 pm

Vios and Saga are also good buy choices, though that Vios can’t compare with Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Ok bro on May 01, 2022 at 12:05 pm

Civic Fe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
        • Garden Turtle on May 01, 2022 at 6:47 pm

I bought Civic Fe for 2 months back, but few weeks later, got rattle abnormal sound from dashboard, wind noise, steering rack and front parking sensor

• YB Your Boss on May 01, 2022 at 12:48 pm

If your target is a Vios your not working hard enough. Work harder trolling to earn your keep or your fired!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • LIM CHAI ANN on Apr 30, 2022 at 10:24 am

I specifically bought the proton Saga vvt manual transmission in June 2020 . I am very happy with the good feel of power & control of the torque when enjoying my drive . Hope proton keeps the manual transmission in offer in production for future models , for avid stick shift driver aficionados .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Brian on Apr 30, 2022 at 3:10 pm

https://paultan.org/2020/06/30/why-is-the-manual-transmission-going-extinct-in-malaysia-because-so-few-of-us-are-buying-them/

• Curious on Apr 30, 2022 at 11:38 am

Pls la do something abt the headlight, in case u forgot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • CarOwner on Apr 30, 2022 at 12:22 pm

Why? Haven’t seen any significant issue posted about it’s headlight yet.. maybe I live in cave so I don’t know. So, what’s wrong with the headlight?

• Celup King on Apr 30, 2022 at 1:03 pm

Haven’t heard anything about the headlights, so what is it?

• what’s wrong with the headlights? as if the LED reflectors unit that are so glaring to road users are any better?

• Luke hakim on Apr 30, 2022 at 9:23 pm

Vios at japan same level as saga jee…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Muhammad Najmi on May 01, 2022 at 12:26 am

I hope it will be more reliable and lmproved production quality audit than the 2019 Saga . Just like what they did with the New Iriz and Persona …

https://paultan.org/2021/09/02/2022-proton-iriz-and-persona-production-quality-audit-87-better-since-2017-now-close-to-geely-volvo-levels/

• Unknown on May 01, 2022 at 2:37 pm

Rest assured Proton has always leaps & bounds expectation in quality, refinement, reliability, safety, & features.
      https://paultan.org/2019/08/16/driven-2019-proton-saga-facelift-review/
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcIdjQ7ZKj0

• Improve NVH ? on May 01, 2022 at 4:42 pm

suspension soft or hard like Pickup TRUCK ?

• Autodriver on May 01, 2022 at 5:25 pm

I don’t know how many times Proton had facelifted the Saga. It was launched since 2008 and still selling till now and always facelift in countless times. Still showing spyshot of this old Saga is hilarious.

• Raja Celup on May 01, 2022 at 11:19 pm

That’s all they can afford to do by adding extra butt to Savvy body shells. If totally new Saga the cost would totally wipe off all the profits made by Geely so far. So better stick to what you do best: rebadge whatever Geely cars available.

• Jajar_Banks on May 02, 2022 at 8:55 pm

I actually love the 2020 saga, been moving up and down from KL to Kedah and it’s supprisingly comfortable for a lenghty journey.

• newme on May 03, 2022 at 2:02 am

And they are still wondering why they have parts problem.