Proton – orders from May to be delivered after July 1 due to chip shortage; new price list with SST soon

Proton has announced that beginning May 1, 2022, all orders placed for its vehicles will not be delivered before July 1, 2022. According to the national carmaker, this is due to production delays arising from the global semiconductor shortage as well as supply chain disruptions brought on by the lingering effects of the pandemic.

As such, Proton vehicles ordered from today onwards will be subject to sales and service tax (SST) as they will only be delivered after the current SST exemption period ends on June 30, 2022. The company apologised to those who are affected by this issue and said it is focused on maximising vehicle production to make deliveries as soon as possible.

It added that a new price list will be issued soon, once all factors including the reinstatement of SST have been calculated. The SST exemption was first announced by the government back in June 2020 as part of its short-term economic recovery plan, with 100% exemption for locally-assembled (CKD) cars and 50% for fully-imported (CBU) cars.

Originally scheduled to end on December 31, 2020, the SST exemption period was was later extended to June 30, 2021, and then to December 31, 2021, and again to June 30, 2022.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Muhammad Najmi on May 02, 2022 at 5:44 am

There is an old saying that :

“Every Cloud has a Silver Lining.”

That means that with criticism (yeah both destructive criticism and constructive criticism, although the majority are destructive compared to constructive) and haters that like to spitting in their mouth cursing and mocking Proton so harshly, then good luck to work hard to overcome those …

I hope you guys focusing the real problem that i, well tired to say it over and over again, lol …

Spare Parts availibility issues and backlog orders, those two should be primary in 2022 for Proton’s Agenda, hopefully ..

Work hard for it will ya, and i hope when you guys at Proton (again and again) read this comment. I hope you guys are serious about what i just said before, so don’t take it lightly….

If you guys want for a change, then change ! For the better ! P1 !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • John Gagal on May 04, 2022 at 10:34 pm

Lol typical fanboi fetish…just buy Ativa, problem solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Western Star on May 05, 2022 at 5:07 pm

Agreed. Ativa is so outdated it is unaffected by chip shortages.

• Casual reader on May 02, 2022 at 9:51 am

Before anyone complains, yes chip shortages are real, yes not just proton facing that problem but nearly all makers except P2 cuz their cars are so outdated they do not use any tech, yes it is not a illuminaty/freemason conspiracy by proton to delay deliveries, yes they are doing the best to cope and they did not skimp or remove features like BMW did, yes these still the best value car your money can get, nope paying agents won’t make deliveries faster just wait your turn, nope nothing you do can make it come faster unless you own a semicon factory that supplies to proton, yes just wait patiently and your ride will come soon enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • MalaysiaBoleh on May 02, 2022 at 11:31 am

Very true. Actually Malaysia is considered lucky. Asian countries are facing less chip problems. In America and Europe, they got it bad. I think proton is over coming it very quickly

• the only reason asian countries is less affected, because US and Europe countries workers are affected and fell sick. so the car makers are using that ‘chip shortage’ as an excuse. thanks to their herd immunity policy.

ask yourself, since when asian countries will get priority shipment than US and Europe.

• Plotong on May 03, 2022 at 10:27 am

You said Perodua is outdated…yet Myvi is now the industry leading car in terms of Safety with ASA 3.0. There’s no other car that offers it at this price range. Have you wonder that maybe Perodua with better management and the Japanese connection just able to secure their critical supply chain more efficiently? Kek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • ROTI CANAI on May 03, 2022 at 11:51 am

industry already called out the semi con factories bluff.

• funny on May 02, 2022 at 10:30 am

x70 MC ( aka facelift) is launching in May22 anyway.

• Dong Gor on May 04, 2022 at 1:52 pm

Yes and it’s gonna be with 1.5 tdgi similar to the x50..More fuel economical and cheaper road tax.. But 3 cylinder. U want which one?

• Cost Reduction strategy Backfired ? on May 02, 2022 at 11:11 am

Spare Parts availibility issues can be External and or strictly only Proton Internal issues

External Causes are suppliers disruptions these effect entire auto brands not just Proton alone
    Chip stortage are external issues

Internal are poor inventory control and or specific to certain management culture

Reorder Level (Initiate part order before Quantity reaching Min Level)

Lead time (Time needed for parts to reach store upon issue of Part Purchase Order)

The general public consensus is that Proton Spare Parts issues are internal problem

• Rosmah & Ajibkor on May 02, 2022 at 1:30 pm

P1..pls dont use chip shortage as excuse .
      All car distributors are no spared from parts shortages.
      You cant absorb the SST ,say so lah.
      What to apologise ? Just announce new price and give the fanboys improved and better products,thats more important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
    • Arnie on May 02, 2022 at 2:03 pm

The general public consensus are that parts shortages are unavoidable, if big names ie VW, GM, Ford, Toyota, BMW, et al, faced these problems it not an internal issue but a global problem. This compounded with supplier side having to cope with Covid breakouts last year badly affected supply and on top the devastating in Selangor meant months of downtime for machinery repairs.

• Dong Gor on May 02, 2022 at 4:56 pm

News like this is giving false hope to those that booked their car in April to get theirs before end of June / tax exemption. Keke

• justin on May 02, 2022 at 6:18 pm

First they blame the flood and now they blame the chip shortage. What is next? Putin facing sanction? There is always excuse for delaying production without actually acknowledging it is their own problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Casual reader on May 03, 2022 at 2:04 pm

https://paultan.org/2022/04/29/volvo-cars-sold-148k-cars-in-q1-2022-20-less-y-o-y-due-to-russia-ukraine-conflict-and-covid-lockdowns/
      Yeah am sure Volvo Cars in the global world are just giving excuses for delaying production without actually acknowledging it is their own problem. LOL

• newme on May 03, 2022 at 2:01 am

Ada saja benda nak blame, covid, banjir, chip, vendors, dealers… just anything under the sun except themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • helmi on May 03, 2022 at 2:56 am

Booked X50 Executive on November 2021. Until today, 3rd May still haven’t received any. Delay after delay, promise after promise, When booked the car they said within 3 month, after that another month and another month and another month. And today they said I should get the car in 2nd week of May. Sound super crazy super ridiculous right? This nightmare remind me in those days when Proton having a serious quality issue such as the falling side screen, leaking tailgate lamp etc. Today management issue … long Q, spare part supply chain etc. Or maybe in my case integrity issue (jump Q)?

• Roman Abromovich on May 03, 2022 at 12:26 pm

Any order that can’t be fulfilled in 60 days is a shit sale.By July 1, u pay SST some more. You should have plan B to buy other cars whether new or used,dude ,without SST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Dong Gor on May 04, 2022 at 1:56 pm

There is no plan B when buying cars. U already chose the best of the pool before u made booking.. For value, for style, etc. The plan B is sub standard and u know it deep inside. I would just live with the 4% hike after June to get what I really wanted

• Copy Paste on May 04, 2022 at 11:32 am

Copy paste: “Before anyone complains, yes chip shortages are real, yes not just proton facing that problem but nearly all makers except P2 cuz their cars are so outdated they do not use any tech, yes it is not a illuminaty/freemason conspiracy by proton to delay deliveries, yes they are doing the best to cope and they did not skimp or remove features like BMW did, yes these still the best value car your money can get, nope paying agents won’t make deliveries faster just wait your turn, nope nothing you do can make it come faster unless you own a semicon factory that supplies to proton, yes just wait patiently and your ride will come soon enough.”

• I ordered X50 before it’s off its official launch. Waited for 9 MTHS answers was what your LOA date 3 MTHS after that and LOA dates keep renewing. End of the days Proton unable to inform customers with accurate answer.

• Tom Cruise mauverick on May 03, 2022 at 1:38 pm

Cy,
      The next excuse p1 gives ,is Dr.Li going on holiday after 3 years of non stop work.
      So,spart parts for production units all affected,not to mention those already delivered ,waiting for warranty parts.
      P1 has a reputation now,as the “Not sure when delivery” car distributor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Nawkhi on May 03, 2022 at 11:08 am

Yes I order civic rs for my son in Feb 22 and supposed to receive it before raya. Unfortunately was informed by the dealer that will only arrive after July due to chip shortage.

• Nawkhi on May 03, 2022 at 11:09 am

Yes I order civic rs for my son in Feb 22 and supposed to receive it before raya. Unfortunately was informed by the dealer that will only arrive after July due to chip shortage.

• For toyota vehicles, it will be at least 7 months wait (except vios & yaris).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Heard that is between 3-6 months for most toyota vehicles, like corolla cross is between 3-5 months. Yaris & Vios is not longer like most of toyota vehicles

• CH Lee on May 03, 2022 at 2:42 pm

Just end of last month loan approved for the new saga,salesman said within 1 month get the car and sst exempted,looks like additional sst pymt expected,it’s been almost 30 years since I first bought proton car,not sure whether want to proceed further with this purchase as loan agreement luckily still not sign yet

• Ayzex on May 03, 2022 at 10:21 pm

Booked Iriz Active on December 2021. When booked the car SA said within 1 month but until today nothing. When asked SA keep saying for almost 2 month that car already in list for to receive. Hope that can use the car for Raya but cannot. Maybe consider for cancelling the order after Raya week.

• Hazmin on May 11, 2022 at 3:02 pm

same situation here. book iriz executive early october 2021, more than 7 month waiting, still nothing and dont know when to receive the car.

• Heard from some SA said, they don’t think this is chip shortage issue, is about government…as per that SA mentioned, government purposely order car manufacturers to delay all the delivery hence government can earn SST after that…I’m not sure weather this it true, but sound macam true…

• IQBAL PARKER on May 04, 2022 at 5:38 pm

I’m interested in either the Proton X50 or the Proton X70 let me know the pricing for both in a white color show me the colors must be automatic

• Hans Alay on Jan 10, 2023 at 11:15 am

Why my order saga premium s, already 3 mnths but no delivery ?