2022 Proton Saga MC2 interior spied – new OS and AC control panel; red accents on meter, vents, steering

Here are more spyshots of the 2022 Proton Saga MC2, which launch should be just around the corner now. We’ve seen the updated Saga’s exterior – here, we get to see more of those, close up, as well as the interior of the car, which sports a few changes.

We’ll start with the red highlights, which appear as rings surrounding the dials in the meter panel. Coloured meter rings aren’t a new idea for the Saga – the Anniversary Edition from 2020 had yellow rings as well as highlights on the air con vents and centre stack.

The MC2 goes further with the red though. Here, the “sporty colour” surrounds the central AC vents, as opposed to just highlights on the adjusters. The tiny chrome strip that separates the steering buttons are also in red here. We can’t see the side AC vents, but they should be in red as well to match the central vents. The red treatment probably won’t go as far as the Iriz Active or Myvi AV facelift, but they’re welcome.

Also new is the AC control panel, which has knobs on either end and two buttons in the middle. The knobs look like those on the Iriz Active, but there are no piano-style keys and display here. It looks a lot better than the current car’s basic-looking three-dial layout.

It appears that there’s a new OS for the infotainment system as well, judging by the home screen, which has more icons and colour. There’s also a Perodua-style “please check your belongings” warning when one turns off the engine, reminding you to bring along your baby, bag and laptop. Lastly, the Saga gets Proton’s new round logo on the steering.

As for the exterior, the changes are very minor. The grille gets Proton’s new logo, and there’s a red ethereal bow cradling the grille, X50-style. We can also see a shuriken-style two-tone pattern for the new alloy wheels and black side mirrors on this top-spec example. Everything else appears unchanged, including the bumper and lights at both ends, but look closely and you’ll see a bodykit.

A leaked document that made the rounds earlier this month tells us all we need to know about the Saga MC2. There’s will be a new range-topping 1.3L Premium S AT variant, and it will featuring the new 15-inch wheels and bodykit you see here, auto-fold side mirrors and an updated trunk lid with a release switch.

Other goodies listed in the document are an updated instrument cluster, leatherette covers for the steering wheel and seats, keyless entry with a push start button and a black headliner. Beyond that, the 1.3 Standard AT variant is set to receive electronic stability control (ESC). The 1.3 Standard MT won’t have ESC, but it will continue to exist as Proton’s sole manual transmission car.

What do you think of the 2022 Proton Saga MC2’s changes and interior updates?

GALLERY: 2022 Proton Saga MC2 spyshots

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Muhammad Najmi on May 05, 2022 at 11:06 pm

Exciting or not, I just hope this 2022 facelifted saga is more quality and reliable than the 2019 facelifted version…

Btw, that infotainment screen on the dashboard. Is it Shares the same component or Material with Iriz and Persona too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • John Gagal on May 06, 2022 at 8:01 am

Work hard or forever unable to buy Toyota car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 51
      • John Gagal = Inbred on May 09, 2022 at 9:45 pm

lol work hard just to buy a Toyota car ? So a vehicle from Toyota is the pinnacle of automotive to you ? What happened to live within your means and only buy what you can afford. What you say tells a lot about your capabilities. Definitely not anything good by all means :)

• morpoyos on May 06, 2022 at 8:03 am

Timing chain? Better fuel consumption? Lesser emissions?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Sohai on May 06, 2022 at 8:21 am

What’s with the red now in a car?
    I like red, but is getting too much!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • newme on May 06, 2022 at 9:12 am

Spied? The pictures taken by a spider drone?

• Aku harap Proton keluarkan kereta sedan turbo untuk bersaing dengan Almera.

• newme on May 06, 2022 at 10:49 am

Klu keluar je tapi berselindung belakang excise duty bukannya bersaing. Klu nak bersaing, jual sama harga ngan Almera. Amacam? Ada brani?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • Jaguh Global on May 06, 2022 at 11:59 am

Betul tu dah banyak eksport jadi jaguh global sepatutnya tak perlu takut bersaing dengan adil.

• Amran on May 06, 2022 at 1:04 pm

Dulu Nissan bleh jual 2012 Almera kat harga Preve tapi maseh kalah, apesal Nissan xblh jual 2022 Almera pada harga yg sama? Skarang Nissan mmg harga yahoodee. Kek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Stupid comment. Saga is the people’s car, so why would Proton sell it more expensive than it needs to be. If ETCM Nissan were brave, they should have sold their Almera at Saga prices. At the moment, Proton are selling more Iriz than Nissan pushing new Almeras onto the road.

• asdasd on May 06, 2022 at 3:25 pm

Aik bukan Proton Preve Turbo ke?

• Kopikrazz on May 12, 2022 at 1:37 pm

Mana dapat? Semua kereta buatan Malaysia hanya tahu meniru saja. Tiada satu rekabentuk yang dibuat tersendiri.

• melati on May 06, 2022 at 9:49 am

why lah not use same steering as Iriz? That exora steering is huge for saga

• Kekwa on May 06, 2022 at 12:49 pm

Stock banyak…habiskan lah.pasni fokus rebadge model Geely je. Kene buat ruang utk parts dr Geely kat dalam stor tu.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 06, 2022 at 10:04 am

The best keeps getting better and better deswai it is best seller and kegemaran Rakyat Malaysia dulu, kini, & selamanya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Proton oh Proton on May 06, 2022 at 10:07 am

Just a facelifted, nothing much…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Well what did you expect from a facelift? All facelifts are the samelah, not just Saga.

• Facelift is a “facelift”. You dont get performance lift or suspension lift or luxury lift. Paying small expecting big improvements ? LoL

• Thayanand on May 06, 2022 at 10:57 am

Does the steering looks misaligned compared to the meter panel?

• bendansagua on May 06, 2022 at 11:10 am

Why proton like to follow wrong trend? WTF is those red trim

• RyanT on May 06, 2022 at 11:16 am

Please change the ugly fatty 3-spokes steering

• I hope the price will be below 45k for this spec

• Brian on May 06, 2022 at 11:48 am

Proton continues to astound detractors and haters with even more evolution and constant improvements to their cars the latest which we can see here with Saga. Tho a tad bit old in years it did not look old as Proton refreshes are like a new breeze bringing modern updates and features. It is a testament to its good & solid heritage that enables it to adapt all these constantly new features like a gloved hand, thereby ensuring it remains the most popular car in Malaysia by far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • New look on May 09, 2022 at 11:41 am

Sport mode Yang tiada ciri2 sport, R&D asal boleh sebab Tu ciri2 Tu langsung xde. Gear S ganti la gear 3 Dan gear 2. Kalau sport mode RPM 4000 keatas boleh terima la sebab engine kecik. Kalau sport mode, RPM rendah, tekan pedal lebih baru nak down shift memang xde beza gear D dengan S. Myvi gear B boleh terima akal Lagi tau.

• BARUDDIN BIN SAMSUDIN on May 10, 2022 at 10:41 am

Proton Saga MC2