Proton has officially confirmed that the 2022 Proton Saga MC2 facelift will be launching in May. That’s this month, and there are slightly more than three weeks to go, so it’s truly just around the corner.
“The best-selling model in April however was the Proton Saga with 4,579 units sold leading to a year-to-date total of 14,028 units in its final full month of sales before the launch of the 2022 Proton Saga,” Proton said in its monthly sales report released today.
Now, a refreshed Saga isn’t a surprise, as we’ve shown you two rounds of spyshots in the past week alone. Don’t expect any mechanical or major skin redesign – exterior changes are limited to Proton’s new round logo; a red ethereal bow cradling the grille, X50-style; a bodykit for the top spec car; shuriken-style two-tone alloys; and black side mirrors. No changes to the lights and bumpers at both ends.
Inside, red highlights appear on the meter rings, central AC vent frame, little strips on the steering buttons and side AC vents. For an example on how coloured accents work on the Saga, check out the yellow on the Anniversary Edition from 2020. It’s more comprehensive here, though.
The AC control panel is new – it has knobs on either end and two buttons in the middle. The knobs look like those on the latest Iriz, and it looks a lot better than the current car’s basic three-dial layout.
It appears that there’s a new OS for the infotainment system as well, judging by the home screen, which has more icons and colour. There’s also a Perodua-style “please check your belongings” warning when one turns off the engine, reminding you to bring along your baby, bag and laptop. There’s also Proton’s new round logo on the steering.
A leaked document that made the rounds earlier this month tells us all we need to know about the Saga MC2. There’s will be a new range-topping 1.3L Premium S AT variant, and it will featuring the new 15-inch wheels and bodykit you see here, auto-fold side mirrors and an updated trunk lid with a release switch.
Other goodies listed in the document are an updated instrument cluster, leatherette covers for the steering wheel and seats, keyless entry with a push start button and a black headliner. Beyond that, the 1.3 Standard AT variant is set to receive electronic stability control (ESC). The 1.3 Standard MT won’t have ESC, but it will continue to exist as Proton’s sole manual transmission car. Not long now.
GALLERY: 2022 Proton Saga MC2 spyshots
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
Please consider to do upgrade on the headlamp
At those price levels, Proton does not need to upgrade the headlamps. Saga buyers are more cost conscious and prefer them to keep a lower price than expensive upgrades.
It’s not as cheap as you think to replace the headlights even with factory prices. A big part of it is having to redesign and MAKE them.
Perodua had done a great job being able to squeeze in LED headlamps with such a tight budget, but the Bezza has its own compromises (apart from poorer driving dynamics). For almost RM3000 more over a Saga Premium you don’t even get a reverse camera, steering audio switches, and Hill-hold assist, and that’s for the MC1. And, replacing the LED headlight is EXPENSIVE and this is supposed to be an entry level car. It’s a “mainstream” tech but it’s not really something you would consider on a budget. One Bezza headlight can set you back RM400-500, but you can get a pair of Saga headlights for half that.
Yes, please change the aircond dials… even it’s cheap car, it doesn’t deserve to look that cheap. Same goes with Nissan’s products. remember i do remember how the entry level almera and even the Sylphy look. that was really a turn off and also the deal breaker. things u can see already skimmed to that extend, what about those u don’t see!
One year one variant.
When got parts problem, blame it to dealers.
Hey, X50 and X70 are the one who got those problem. Persona, Saga, and Exora are 90% Local made, so spare parts shouldn’t be a Problem for those three models …
lol this is facelift not a limited edition variant. If you do not know what is a facelift better learn English b4 you come back.
Booking……….how long have to wait? come on Protonggg
Aiyah…Look at the Aircon vents..smeared with red lipstick.In midst of chip shortage,you book in May..wait till Christmas to try your luck.
Copy paste: “Excellent example of simply typing a comment by plucking info from thin air.”
Copy paste..dont tokok..respect free speech as long as it is not harmful.
Opinions are in diversity at paultan forum.
Thin air or no air,thats none of your blardy business.
The constant dislikes and disparaging comments u get from the community here tells me ur persona non grata with the readers and i can see why many are just fed up and telling u to shutup coz ur plain clogging up this section with mostly irrelevant comments. Just take ur blardy business somewhere else.
True dat bro. If he did not get the hint by now, he is more stupid than his nonsense comments.
They taking note of how Myvi AV can get away with red interior is it? Truly face palm.
From the looks of it, we are still unable to change the directions for the ventilation and I hope a trunk release has been fitted into this.
Updates are good but as always basics first. (Adjustable rear headrests)
Ride and handling is great, 4AT is a lot better but convenience is important.
Unfortunately not a lot consumers will realize these small changes hence the lack of attention to these things but it is still important.
Still the same model Saga…meh…next
Well the news post is titled ‘Saga’ so what were you expecting, a Ferrari?
Proton’s SA must be ready with all sorts of infos on Proton cars. So many times I asked questions but SA say “errrr I don’t know”.
A facelift will be welcomed. But they could do better by changing the lamp clusters, front and rear.
I wish the track was made wider.