Hyundai Sonata to be discontinued for good, assembly lines tipped to be converted to manufacture more EVs

The future of the Hyundai Sonata seems bleak, if reports of its discontinuation are to be believed. Company insiders told South Korean newswire Chosun that the Sonata will indeed be discontinued, with its assembly lines set to be converted to produce more electric vehicles.

Hyundai is in the midst of preparing a midsize electric sedan known as the Ioniq 6, which sits on the same E-GMP platform as the popular Ioniq 5. The new EV will be unveiled later this year, but there is currently no plans to produce an electric Sonata.

An insider said there is a possibility, but the project is not a priority. “We can’t rule out an electric Sonata, but we’re prioritising the development of a compact electric car rather than a less popular midsize vehicle.”

Based on sales figures for the past few years, the automaker just can’t seem to catch a break with the Sonata, especially after a successful run with the YF. The styling for the current eighth-generation model is deemed too radical for buyers in its home market, causing its popularity to dwindle. What was once the bestseller in South Korea is now the sixth bestselling car.

Meanwhile, back at home, there’s just one variant of the Sonata on sale – the 2.5 Premium. It’s fully imported from South Korea, with prices starting from RM189,888. Each purchase comes with a five-year or 300,000 km warranty coverage.

It’s powered by the automaker’s 2.5 litre Smartstream four-cylinder MPI engine making 180 PS and 232 Nm of torque, with drive sent to the front wheels through a six-speed automatic transmission (with shift paddles). Watch our review to see what we think of it, and feel free to check out the full details and specifications on CarBase.my.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• salem on May 23, 2022 at 10:33 am

Hyundai ioniq Petrol, confirm cheaper and can sell abit more.
    More practical, lighter for better handling.

• YB Albert on May 23, 2022 at 5:06 pm

In the very near future,all Sime Darby showrooms will display ” Only EVs available”.”Rich man’s Toys available here”.
      The SA will politely ask you to leave if your budget is less than Rm200K .

• Celup King on May 23, 2022 at 10:37 am

According to bashers, Sonata dah Gagal, Hyundai dah Gagal, kimchi dah Gagal. Better kolos shop. 70 years of shameful history.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • pdesign on May 29, 2022 at 9:25 pm

that’s why the korean company move to indonesia and i like korean cars they are the european cars of asia

• meladam on May 23, 2022 at 10:39 am

this catfish looks outdated adyy

• Vincent on May 23, 2022 at 10:47 am

RIP Sonata!
    I got a chance to look at the Hyundai lineup of cars during the Bangkok International Motor Show. I am sorry to say that, Hyundai does not look bright or shine in next 5 years. Basically, products and technologies do not attractive. Thai CKD Haval and MG will takeover the Japanese T&H market share. I see MG will become top 3 brand in next 5 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Civic fe on May 23, 2022 at 11:00 am

Thought the design was the years ahead compared to other d segment cars.

• Donno on May 23, 2022 at 11:01 am

Classic example of designer “syok sendiri” and alienated the customers of the brand.

Others

– BMW “beaver teeth” huge grilles is good (and now quietly back tracking the implementation)

– Luxurious expensive SUV is what Land Rover Defender customers want (and actually Ford really gets it with the Ford Bronco)

– replacing affordable people mover Starex with hyper luxurious Staria

• Carnival on May 23, 2022 at 4:46 pm

Staria is not hyper luxurious, only overpriced in Malaysia.
      It start @ similar price to Previous Gen Starex.

At Korea, Staria begins @ RM99k.

• dong gor on May 23, 2022 at 11:02 am

this design, this technology, at this price…already destined for this end result since launch la. Next is Elantra 1.6 NA asking for 160k…gold plated?

• RyanT on May 23, 2022 at 2:15 pm

Elantra should be the first to be discontinued for that price

• pdesign on May 29, 2022 at 9:27 pm

in malaysia elantra is overpriced but in indonesia the honda civic is the most overpriced cars for medium sedan class

• pdesign on May 29, 2022 at 9:28 pm

i hope the elantra can be more cheap when it’s enter indonesian market

• st3wp1d on May 23, 2022 at 12:15 pm

design = Okey lah
    price = are u kidding me?

• Well.. Sort of varieties comments here. As a matter of fact, this is CBU model. Hence, the price will be more. 2nd, for me Sonata is the highest rank for Hyundai sedan so the price is ok. 3rd, have anyone here actually test drv it? Enjoy its ambience? Value its finishing? Compare it with other brand with the same segment? Well, i do. And, its a good car with that price tag. Yes, one can agree or disagree with me. But, if u want a xar that suits all ur taste, u gonna never make it. Lps tu nk murah. Rasional le skit.