Singapore car refuels in Johor, leaves without paying

Here’s a curious case of a Singaporean car fuelling up in Johor and leaving without paying. Curious because we can’t quite pin down how exactly it happened – perhaps you can help.

So here’s the case. The Singaporean-registered Kia Sorento you see here bought diesel at a petrol station in Bukit Indah, JB. Except that the driver didn’t actually buy the fuel, as he/she allegedly left the station after filling up, without paying. The petrol station then put up a notice and a CCTV screengrab of the Kia, asking the owner to come back and settle the bill.

As with most misdemeanours these days, it went viral, picked up by social media pages in Singapore. The caption on the SGRV Admin Facebook page reads “Kia Sorento Diesel failed to made payment for fuel at Bukit Indah, Johor. Bukit Indah JB petrol station cashier asks to post”. They did a number plate search for SNA 9151 S and the official info shows 2.2D, so it’s diesel that was allegedly stolen.

Singapore car refuels in Johor, leaves without paying

By the way, unlike RON 95 petrol, Singaporean vehicles are allowed to pump diesel in Malaysia, but the purchase is limited to 20 litres per day at petrol stations within 25 km of the Malaysia-Singapore border (Bukit Indah is within the zone). The price of diesel in Singapore is around S$3 (RM9.60) per litre and in Malaysia, subsidised diesel is capped at RM2.15 per litre for Euro 5 B10 and B20 blends. Based on these prices and the 20L limit, the savings for the Kia Sorento is RM149.

Not paying for what you bought is not right. Singapore residents are already saving so much (more so with the current SGD-MYR exchange rate) and surely going viral for a gain of less than S$50 is not worth it? Inflation is creeping up everywhere (newsflash to Malaysians: yes, even in SG), but unlike in Malaysia, you’re quite well off if you have a car, and this is the latest Sorento, not a Picanto. There’s also a chance that the driver truly forgot, of course.

But what puzzles us is how this happened. Presumably, the Kia driver went for a cash purchase and the cashier didn’t ask for payment before authorising the pump? It’s quite the norm for them to ask to hold some cash for full tank purchases, so perhaps this transaction slipped through. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mr. Sotong on May 27, 2022 at 11:38 am

Wait I think? I think I wait for the story to unfold on social media.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Kancil Hybrid on May 27, 2022 at 12:52 pm

Betul la tu.. Alang2 dah murah sangat, baik ambik free je terus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Kiasuonly on May 28, 2022 at 5:28 pm

Too many kiasu come for what. Stay at kiasu land better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
        • Fark Kiasuonly on May 28, 2022 at 9:40 pm

Kiasu people come to kiasi land mAh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Ah seng ah lian on May 29, 2022 at 1:42 pm

Come here show off but actual fact nothing at bank account one. Stay flat also how lian and kiasu

• dong gor on May 27, 2022 at 11:53 am

which station no need to pay up front before pumping? please let me know as i want to go there as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 21
    • Sick & Tired on May 27, 2022 at 12:45 pm

Still think Sinkies are so great? They are nothing more than monkey behaviour in human form. Absolutely worse character than our B40 rempits & lajaks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 25
      • Hantu Raya on May 27, 2022 at 2:28 pm

Really? ALL of ’em???… Like i said before- bad apples, they have em, we have em.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
        • Celup King on May 27, 2022 at 3:05 pm

Their rotten apples are more rotten than our rotten ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
        • ALL of them?
          who use this kind of argument?
          dude, we even have human eating glass, yes, glass, kaca. google it.

who the f use ‘all of them’ in any argument?

• Jimho on May 27, 2022 at 3:31 pm

You’re Essolutli collect

• Steven on May 28, 2022 at 8:18 pm

How are you exactly sure it Sporean or Malaysian driving a spore car or Malaysian converted PR or Singaporean?

• Hello Bro, we sinkies are not great, many of us are working very hard for our money and not rich. It’s only afew unbehaving monkies that makes the news that shame the rest of us. We are the same, just on different sides of the border under different governments.

• Look at the picture a little closer. It is Petronas at Jalan Indah 15/2………. :)

• seancorr on May 27, 2022 at 12:03 pm

No way we can get fuel without paying for it first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Therealmaserati on May 27, 2022 at 1:38 pm

I have been to many stations where i can fill up first without paying anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • M’sia citizen on May 27, 2022 at 12:16 pm

Singapore people show their true colour when not in their home country lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 10
    • Alamak on May 29, 2022 at 11:36 pm

Alot of Malaysian motorists show their true colours when on Singapore roads too. Don’t make it sound like all Malaysians are oh-so-law-abiding. Just the corruption alone beats every other ASEAN countries hands down.

• DumbFounded on May 27, 2022 at 12:50 pm

My guess is the credit card machine at pump malfunction. Driver drop an expired or unknown credit card at counter and ask for full tank. Drive away without care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Ghani on May 27, 2022 at 12:51 pm

If you come here JB see how petrol stations are run you will know how this happens. Here got attendants who would take cash payments and help you to pump petrol, they have authorised card to set the payment so you no need to pay at counter. I bet that Sinkie idiot asked the attendant to pump for him with the excuse he will make payment at counter but when the driver goes in he did not do so hence why it slip thru and this fella was found to had stolen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • SURJIT SINGH A/ J HARNAM SINGH on May 27, 2022 at 1:05 pm

How in the hell you fill without paying some money

• Bieight8 on May 27, 2022 at 1:43 pm

What do you expect from a Kia driver…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Bro, I’m driving a Kia too. This is clearly attitude problem u badge snobber.

• hahaha on May 28, 2022 at 4:57 pm

lol you can drive any car brand and still be an asshole.

• when i commented in the kia ev6 post that kia drivers are assholes, i was accused of being “car-cist”. now i feel vindicated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Waiting for more information before commenting. Do not use assumption as the truth and start bad mouth.

• Brian on May 27, 2022 at 10:26 pm

Dear Sinkie lover, gtfo and gbtSinkie.

• Lpoui on May 28, 2022 at 9:27 pm

According to the source of these pictures, SGRV admin Facebook page the owner of the car has paid the money he was needed to.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 29, 2022 at 11:05 am

Dh malu tu baru tau bayar ye. Klau tak viral macem mana.

• YH Lor on May 27, 2022 at 3:56 pm

Santa Claus petrol pump. Whoever did not collect payment upfront should bear full responsibility

• PS Dhillon on May 27, 2022 at 5:13 pm

The poor attendant or cashier has to fork out for the mistake and that could mean a few days going hungry. Shame on such people.

• Ben Yap on May 27, 2022 at 7:23 pm

free diesel… this is what i called full subsidy!

• Sgbuto on May 27, 2022 at 7:26 pm

Pukimak punya kiasu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Definitely asked attendent they want to do full tank pay with card because no malaysian cash to pre-pay.

• Simon Loo on May 27, 2022 at 9:57 pm

Serves the petrol station right! There is an unwritten SOP at petrol station – cash before delivery, or alternatively, a with-holding amount or car keys. Failure to comply with one’s own SOP, is tantamount to one’s own fault, although it’s not an excuse not to pay …

• Anne Nair on May 28, 2022 at 7:05 am

There’s a petrol station just round the corner from our house which I’ve been frequenting for decades. Before I started using my debit card for payment, I would indicate to the clerk with a simple hand signal that I wanted to fill up the tank. He would give me a thumbs up and activate my pump and I will fill up the tank before going to the counter to pay. Of course, the clerk has known me for decades and he trusted me, but I was wondering if the same thing happened with the Singapore driver and the clerk at the petrol kiosk, only in this case, the clerk made the error of being too trusting.

• Kanasai on May 28, 2022 at 7:17 am

How to fuel without paying? Angkat tangan jerit full tank, fuel up and cabut la, aiyo…

• James on May 28, 2022 at 7:29 am

Hey editor, I do not like the words Singaporean registered car, why can’t you write Singapore registered car? Registered car does not means all purchased by Singaporean and not PR or foreigners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • james the clown on May 28, 2022 at 7:39 am

hey clown, the word singaporean simply means of singapore origin, which can also refer to the plate. singaporean does not necessarily mean a clown of singaporean citizenship.

• Janice on May 28, 2022 at 12:48 pm

Most of the Singapore registered cars are driven by Malaysian especially those frequent JB trip.

• Janice on May 28, 2022 at 1:03 pm

Most of the Singapore registered cars found in Malaysia are driven by Malaysian or ex Malaysian. True born Singaporean seldom drive to Malaysia as they are not familiar with the road and traffic rules. Safety is another main concern too. So please don’t bad mouth until you get the clearer picture of it.

• PangsaiSin on May 29, 2022 at 8:24 pm

Stay at kiasu land lah. Come here for mandi at hotel play massage lah

• Kuku jiauw on Aug 21, 2022 at 1:47 pm

So what, sue me – if you are unhappy…

• Virtue of strict regime on May 28, 2022 at 7:55 am

Take a seat and wonder if the so called “law abiding Singaporean” is only possible when enforced by their strict law rather than by having virtue of what is right and what is wrong…
    You often found their behaviour appalling :
    1. Overspeeding on Malaysian highway
    2. Not paying fines (aka not respecting our law)
    3. Taking advantage on our subsidised items

• You’re an idiot that needs to be put in his place.

1) There are more malaysian drivers speeding like crazy each day on the nsh than all the singapore cars combined. Because of a few idiots you need to label all?

2) do you know how frigging difficult it is to pay fines. If you don’t have a mykad, you can’t do online payments. This means you would have to take time off to go down to the summons kaunter to make the payments. And they are only opened during office hours. A lot of people do want to pay off their fines but the malaysian government has decided to make it difficult.

3) Because of the few people that try to purchase subsidized items in malaysia, you seem to have this idea that its almost all singaporeans that do it. Please think of the number of people that come over. You really think these tens of thousands of people will be doing this?

Please do everyone a favor and try to understand the whole issue before commenting. You come across like an idiotic individual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • James on May 28, 2022 at 8:14 am

Forgotten to pay? Can always return to make payment.
    Some people just walup the bone.

• Elias Kamaruzzaman on May 28, 2022 at 8:57 am

Quite simple. Previous drive who filled at that pump used credit card. When he finished filling he did nor place the nozzle properly. So this Spore car who came in next just continued filling the previous transaction. Technically the bill was paid by the earlier driver

• The bandit on May 28, 2022 at 11:21 am

Tangkap then give 2 strokes of rotan..after that see if they still dare or not..

• Sarjit on May 28, 2022 at 12:39 pm

All fault story promoting KIA vehicles that all

• Slzamandee on May 28, 2022 at 2:26 pm

Never mind we set off with ‘kopi pejuang’ already. They’ve gone cuckoo with it!

• Pay up. Its not good. U buy u must pay. Whateva the reasons was….must pay up.

• Richie on May 28, 2022 at 4:21 pm

If the driver didn’t pay & drove off, then shame on him, not fit to be a S’porean, POOR PEOPLE MANTALITY. PLS BAN HIM FROM DRIVING TO JB:(

• You can drop expired card,pump and walkaway

• Geet Moh on May 28, 2022 at 5:55 pm

This magazine exist donkey’s years but never accepted me. Now opening for public comments.. Brain realize more readers more money.
    Selfishness equals loss century era. Thanks.

• Mr. Nobody on May 28, 2022 at 6:18 pm

Sudah bayar katanye…

https://www.facebook.com/1631826980245346/posts/5140803622680980/?sfnsn=mo

• Mr Coffee on May 28, 2022 at 7:43 pm

In JB it’s quite common for Singapore registered car to refill before they make the exact payment. It is based on trust.

• Sundar on May 28, 2022 at 8:00 pm

Malaysia towards singapore
    For info five fingers not the same
    Neither any country in the world
    Is all about you as a human
    That spack of moment you may not realize what
    You doing so stop criticize others as though
    In this world everyone is perfect
    Otherwise why you clowns working in our country so as our currency is high… people do mistake once they repent Hope they change
    Bless you

• Elvan on May 28, 2022 at 8:52 pm

I am from Singapore. If the driver cheated, it is inexcusable. I saw some comments that it is not possible to pump gas before paying. Well, it is possible if done through the pump attendants. I would ask for full tank and pay the amount after.

• Anonymous on May 28, 2022 at 9:34 pm

The car owner has already paid for the petrol according to later posts.

• Pay first before fueling the gas, however I believed this page for promoting Kia brand.

• Elvan on May 28, 2022 at 8:55 pm

I am a SG driver. If the driver cheated, it is inexcusable. it is possible if done through the pump attendants. I would ask for full tank and pay the amount after.

• Lpoui on May 28, 2022 at 9:30 pm

According to the source of these pictures, SGRV admin Facebook page the owner of the car has paid the money he was needed to.

• Anonymous on May 28, 2022 at 9:32 pm

According to SGRV Admin Facebook page the car owner has already paid for the petrol.

• appahal on May 28, 2022 at 10:04 pm

petrol pump yg bangang. yg pegi bg tuang dulu apahal musibat? ko ingat singaporean xde org jahat ke? lagi ramai malaun kat sana. dtg malaysia berlagak mcm org kaya tp sume lahanat.

• Normally station will allow to pump first when u mention u want to pump full tank. While some hold some payment such as RM50, mostly don’t becos base on trust. This casez most likely driver wanna pump full, then forgot to go back to cashier to settle bill.

• Hello Bro, we sinkies are not great, many of us are working very hard for our money and not rich. It’s only afew unbehaving monkies that makes the news that shame the rest of us. We are the same, just on different sides of the border under different governments.

• Morons on May 29, 2022 at 11:02 am

Just close the stupid causeway. Wtf do we need the hinterland for?

• This website like sensationalize Singapore bashing stories.

Big question is, why in Malaysia, pump need to be activated and some stations, need to pay before pumping? Looks like petrol station cannot trust some Malaysian of paying after pumping petrol. There must be many such cases to resort to such measures.

In Singapore, Australia, one just pick up the pump immediately. No pre-authorization, no pre payment. Users just pay after that. No issues. It seems only in Malaysia, trust is an issue here.

• Logical Deduction on May 30, 2022 at 11:14 am

So if Singaporean trust Singaporean pumps better why not pump fuel at Singapore and not here? You do not trust your Singapore pumps ahh?

• dellen on May 30, 2022 at 11:18 am

dont you think your attempt at insulting malaysians has backfired when it shows right here in this story that singaporean clearly cannot be trusted to execute a postpaid fuel transaction properly?

• Victor on May 29, 2022 at 4:33 pm

If this is a.deliberate attempt, this driver will be pinned down soon by local authorities, it’s so embarrassing. Speaking as a Singaporean myself.

• Victor on May 29, 2022 at 4:40 pm

Let’s not stir up hatred in this post, just be mindful that we Singapore and Malaysia needs each other and still do so in the very long future. Living in Malaysia for so many years, I have my fair share of poor experience of Malaysian drivers as well, also have terrible experience in Singapore roads with Singapore as well. People are still people, but please don’t stereotype based on nationality, it’s seems so shallow yah.