Motorists changing tyre on roadside get hit by lorry

Two motorists were killed yesterday after they were struck by a lorry as they were changing a tyre on a Proton Preve near Bukit Rotan at KM11.5 of Jalan Kuala Selangor heading towards Kuala Lumpur.

The incident, which happened around 4.40pm, was captured in a dashcam video that has been circulating on social media. As reported by Utusan Malaysia, Kuala Selangor police chief Superintendent Ramli Kasa said an initial investigation revealed the driver of the Preve to be a man working for the ministry of health (KKM).

The 55-year-old was believed to have suffered a puncture and pulled over to the side of the road before being joined by a 40-year-old motorist in a Proton Wira who stopped to help. “Not long after, a lorry coming from Kuala Selangor is believed to have failed to avoid the two men and hit them, resulting in their deaths at the location,” said Ramli.

Based on the video, the lorry is believed to have collided with a car that was in its front blind spot, which led to it hitting the victims before stopping on the shoulder of the road. The case is being investigated under Section 41 (1) of the Road Transport Act 1987.

Should you be faced with a tyre puncture, it’s advisable not to perform a tyre change on the side of the road if you can help it, especially if the affected tyre is facing the road. If need be, move the car as far left and away from the road as possible and set up a safety triangle a fair distance behind your car to warn approaching motorists.

Swapping out a tyre can take some time, so using a sealant/foam-based tyre repair kit that is relatively inexpensive and easy to use for a quick fix can, at the very least, allow you to move your car to a safer place or a tyre shop to get proper repair work done.

Alternatively, if you’re unsure how to deal with a punctured tyre, you can call your insurance provider to send roadside assistance after moving your car as far away from potential danger as possible. Accidents can happen at any time, as this unfortunate incident has, so we should do our best to minimise risk.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Lorry drive should hold responsibility to face the charge!
    1) Day time
    2) Straight road
    3) Lorry supposed can see from far
    4) No other lorries blokcing in front it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 4
    • Sawadee kap on Jun 03, 2022 at 4:59 pm

In semua salah kjaan BN Umno. Again for allowing lorry otr during daytime. Alfatihah to abg KKM,

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 343 Thumb down 413
      • Lets See on Jun 03, 2022 at 6:19 pm

Pls dont bash the innocent BN UMNO due to one bad apple driver.U want us to bash all the other PH dudes due to this eksiden happen in Selangor ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 96
        • Dong Gor on Jun 03, 2022 at 9:19 pm

Bradder
          All those dudes ,we cant find a single GOOD apple.Thats why we have IMDB,Scorpene,PKFZ,Bakun…etc..very long list.
          Datuk Mydin said”people are stealing ikan kembong”now..but those bad apples are celebrating all night long in 7 star hotels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 79
          • Copy Paste on Jun 04, 2022 at 10:57 am

Copy paste: “Do you have like a quota to comment per week or something. This is absolutely gibberish as all your other comments. smh”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • Copy Paste on Jun 04, 2022 at 12:44 pm

Copy paste: “And you want to give those involve in the penang tunnel opportunity to lead the govt again? Hell no. They are even worst. Look at the flooded bukit kukus elevated highway and the recently flooded with seawater esplanade. Both in penang. We are not blind.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 69
          • Dap red army on Jun 04, 2022 at 11:33 pm

Election coming, all dap armies working again. Dont bash here at PT blog pls. Here is political free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
        • James Wong on Jun 04, 2022 at 7:26 pm

The authorities must get hold of the lorry driver and revoke his driving license. He did not even slow down after killing 2 innocent people in trouble. The authorities should ban him from applying for a driving license the rest of his live. The authorities must also ck tact the employer of the driver and fine them heavily for employing such a person to drive a heavy vehicle on the road.

• Asskerhole on Jun 04, 2022 at 8:30 pm

Ban this ban that, just throw him 10 years jail and 10 rotan at the ball. Make the company mamagement incharge personal go to jail too for using fker to drive. Look at the damm lorry, eating into the emergency lane for what? Drive like out station asshole. Drunk? On pills? They should only drive at night la. Dont kacau other road user la.

• Casual reader on Jun 03, 2022 at 7:19 pm

Yea yea you PH troopers so dayum smart can blame BN for this accident. Langgar pokok pun pokok boleh salah. No small wonders why you only lasted 22 months on top when filled these dayum smarts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 73
        • General Gerasimov on Jun 04, 2022 at 3:42 pm

PH supposed to last 220 months,but the Assmin splinter group jumped ship.NOw,they may even shorten the present sidedoor gahmen to 14 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 17
          • Casual reader on Jun 05, 2022 at 10:15 am

If PH cannot get their act right and maintain their team going in one direction together, why should they deserve to run the country? Just as Liverpool filled with primadonnas but came up against a Real with superior team spirit, they lost and so did not deserve to win CL. You win as a team and you lost when you lose team spirit, both examples showed this adage is still true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 58
      • OMG this was an unfortunate ACCIDENT and 2 people DIED but you can be so heartless as to politicise this incident. I mean come on PH, you wanna whack BN please read TPO as much as we don’t like them but this way you politicise everything including people’s deaths make me sick of PH. You know I rather not vote for you than vote for BN this GE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 67
        • You do realized that the OP can be a BN supporter that just post “reverse hate” msg to his own party so people like you immediately bash the other opposition party? It almost as easy as breathing if that what it takes for someone to decide their vote from.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 2
          • Casual reader on Jun 05, 2022 at 4:32 pm

Bruh, if they that dayum smarts like PH troopers they would not have lost leh :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Jeremy on Jun 04, 2022 at 2:31 pm

Does Pakatan HAVETA politicise EVERYTHING!? Have some compassion or does bots have no such humanity?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 60
        • Hafiz Hashim on Jun 06, 2022 at 12:13 am

You gotta see those hateful rasis comments that came from Umno Pas supporters for that unfortunate ACCIDENT of our fireman Adib who DIED. Its just unfortunate that our country had such lowlifes , Definitely no votes from my family and friends for Umno & Pas in GE 15. Maaf4…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
          • “Lowlife” yes, one such as this racing person above me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
          • Geng Bang Non on Jun 07, 2022 at 1:39 am

Haiz… only racing pipul will think it must be racing thing and everyone else must be racing and then complain when they lost after others race better than them. Dats why our PH gomen kena fatality, they racing too much until terbabas langgar pokok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
      • Either there are 100+ bots upvoting this comment, or humanity has a serious problem when 100+ PH supporters are clapping with glee in pinning this accident onto BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Naw bro. Not humanity problem, it is PH problem. PH has no humanity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
    • Mariam Mokhtar Sr on Jun 03, 2022 at 5:10 pm

There was another incident in Selangor,where a Malay gentleman lost 9 family members due to his Wira stranded on the road,being hit by a speeding lorry…boleh ingat?
      Now,what happens? Just a court case.
      Our memory of events fades after weeks ,not months.
      Just the “kami akan memantau” response as usual.
      The problem with lorry drivers is,they dont give a damn,since they are just employees.The 100K lorry doesnt belong to them.Speed first,see how,later…this is called in Harrison Ford’s movie “A CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER”
      You can have Anthony Loke or Asiongkor..everything will be biasa in a few weeks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
  • Toxic people on Jun 03, 2022 at 1:43 pm

1) I don’t see the lorry brake at all
    2) There’s no emergency light in the video (which I suppose not really important cause the lorry no brake)
    3) Lorry driver is sleeping

P/S : The lorry driver failed to avoid ? More like doesn’t avoid at all, rest in peace to the driver and the helpful Wira driver

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • BOYRACER on Jun 03, 2022 at 8:20 pm

When they themselves became Road hazards, exactly like those Basikal lajak kids without realizing it. Takdirrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • Wow bro how stupid can you be to relate these 2 deaths is exactly like those kids?

• Idiot lorry drivers on Jun 03, 2022 at 1:45 pm

I don’t know why in the world this kind of people can pass their lorry test and be on the road.

Please jail this madafaka for the rest of his life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • Mariam Mokhtar Sr on Jun 03, 2022 at 5:18 pm

Do it Xi Xin Ping style.’ Chiang pi” in Mandarin means give him a bullet in his head.Settled..no parole..no early release.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
  • Ajal dh sampai , redho takleh nk kata apa. Normalli I placed a Safety triangle a fair distance behind my car to warn approaching motorists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
    • Ni punya mindset patut buang jauh2 la. Kita kena redho. Memang ketentuan allah swt ajal dah sampai tapi pemandu lori kena tanggungjawab. Macam kita nampak tiba2 jiran kita kaya raya reno rumah beli kereta 3,4 biji. Kalau kita sibuk amek tau kata kita iri hati dgn rezeki dia walhal dia kelepet duit kerajaan la duit haram la. Kita kena ubah mindset.

• Up to you... on Jun 04, 2022 at 3:00 pm

Typical thinking of ‘ajal da sampai’. Did you know that you can awal your ajal right? (Suicide, reckless, intoxicated driving etc?) How about that? Still say ajal?

• sallezshah on Jun 05, 2022 at 10:09 am

I do agreed with U Tuan, most the Malay typical always say ‘ajak da sampai’….easy to say!… and famous words!….” Kami akan siasat “…what the hell!
        64 over the if independent !!! full of bullshit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Setuju. Tapi tengok gaya drebar lori ni letak triangle pun lamggar.

• Usually an experience guy an change Tyre faster than exploring how to use the foam/seal.

An inexperienced guy playing with the foam/seal is just as dangerous as inexperience Tyre replacement at the road side.

But clearly in this video,
    The Lorry has unreasonably caused crash/sway out of his lane!

#Kita jaga Kita.
    Be ready to run away anytime when you are at the road side doing whatever business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Who the heck pulls onto the RIGHT side of the road when got a puncture?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 43
    • Who the heck on Jun 03, 2022 at 3:20 pm

Who the heck see that as a RIGHT side of the road ?

Oh wait, it tooks 5 minutes to realise is a left

• Rizal on Jun 03, 2022 at 3:55 pm

R u blind or what ? The stranded Preve was on the road shoulder. Not on the right most lane. I guess you didn’t have the gut to watch the video

• Dong Gor on Jun 03, 2022 at 9:12 pm

Rizal
        This Gary dude is not only blind,he tokok without facts.He is not quaified to post comments here.Just ignore his bullshit comments when u see “Gary”.

• Oh wait now I see it was on the LEFT side, so the question is why that lorry been going straight had suddenly swerve left and hit those guys. Was it there is jam ahead, cars were slowing down and that lorry wanted to cut thru the jam by going onto the road shoulder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • General Gerasimov on Jun 04, 2022 at 3:38 pm

The Dumbest commentator in paultan forum.Cannot differentiate right from left.

• Casual reader on Jun 05, 2022 at 10:19 am

Not as dumb as u using stupidly obvious fake names and bringing nonsense Ukraine war talks.

• OCDontrashishardespeciallyinthiscountry on Jun 03, 2022 at 3:20 pm

Lorry driver might have dozed off or looking at handphone because normally you’ll see a vehicle will swerve either way while looking at handphone. No attempt to brake is seen here. At this rate, even lorry driver can benefit from ADAS here in this country where death from road traffic accidents is one of the highest.

• Bieight8 on Jun 03, 2022 at 4:22 pm

The lorry driver should be charged under murder not reckless driving…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • The lorry driver is definitely negligent here.. the unfortunate victims of the accident was far into the shoulder of the road, safe enough from the main road. You can see the truck swerved into the road shoulder, resulting in a collision of the car that was in front and the truck driver alongside the unfortunate victims. You can also see the truck failed to slow down which contributed into the whole collision.

The victim and their peers have no way to prevent that, they took proper measure to ensure they’re on the safe side of the road, it was the truck driver that snuffed their lives due to their negligence.

• Risk assessment. Seems like lorry driver dozed off or loose focus (hp etc..). Root cause: not enough sleep? Over worked? Lack of awareness on human factor. Etc.. strict implementation of no phone while driving etc.. Solution: any mitigation process that prevent any factor contributes to all the above.

• I think our bolehland lorry driver need to retake their license, I am driving a small car, always been highlight by lorry from the back ask me to go faster where I am on the left lane, no lane already, where to go? Somemore I am driving at 75 at 80kmh speed limit road… This case, really can’t see the lorry driver take the initiative to stop lo…

• FrankC on Jun 03, 2022 at 11:21 pm

it seems to me the lorry driver, just want to avoid crashing into the car in front that for some reason slowed down in the middle.
    well, the lorry seems to be speeding too ya… what happened if direct crash into the slowed down car ? also casualty right ?
    so the truck need to keep a distance from vehicle in front of it and keep reasonable speed to be able to stop within the distance….

• Zand AR on Jun 04, 2022 at 12:13 am

Educate educate educate, if the leaders who from every angle are able to educate its citizen but did not do so, they are the true real party/parties responsible for this tragedy. If the gov never even thought of creating video or documentary to air in our TV/media & advise the public why its important to drive like this or that, built it like this or that, do it like this or that…..then who else have the opportunity to educate the public which has now gone senseless, hopeless, ridiculous, rude, selfish & are only able to do good only for himself. What’s in our leaders mind? Robbing the country is their only agenda, it seems.

• Ghani on Jun 04, 2022 at 12:49 pm

Exactly the same question we ask SG Education Minister, what are they teaching their citizen at school when we see them come here acting like monkeys, stealing petrol, using our subsidised fuel when they are not allowed to do so, jacking cars as high as possible, humping it like they should be doing it in bed, breaking all laws expecting to pay bribes instead of saman. What’s in their leaders mind? Robbing the country is their only agenda, it seems.

• Common man on Jun 05, 2022 at 2:20 am

Yes Zand, for years I’m telling this to my family and friends. The gov need to make more road awareness by publish videos or at least more signboards to alert drivers. This can be done by the transport ministry on their own without need to ask their superior.

• Vezeroth on Jun 04, 2022 at 11:16 am

Prolly happened because the cars infront the lorry kaypo and slow down to see what was going on and the lorry couldnt slow down in time trying to avoid the car and hit the ppl at the roadside.. please dont kaypo and cause jam n accidents.

• Alasan? on Jun 04, 2022 at 3:04 pm

Benda da belajar (lesen), kita shj yg lalai (hp, berangan, microsleep etc)…

• Hizam on Jun 04, 2022 at 2:09 pm

Clearly the lorry at fault. Look his speed. I see many reckless lorry and express bus driver on the road

• James Wong on Jun 04, 2022 at 7:27 pm

The authorities must get hold of the lorry driver and revoke his driving license. He did not even slow down after killing 2 innocent people in trouble. The authorities should ban him from applying for a driving license the rest of his live. The authorities must also ck tact the employer of the driver and fine them heavily for employing such a person to drive a heavy vehicle on the road.

• Make Auto Braking mandatory in all cars, silicon saves lifes on Jun 07, 2022 at 3:09 pm

The lorry driver learns from right hand drive country

same species who drive certain brand car

the species who drive car left tyre makan left side line

• wa the lorry driver like dat oso can squeeze that sedan car in front (bezza?)…he make 2 lane become 3 lane?