Transport ministry to look into Proton X50, X70 spare parts issue, right to repair outside official 4S network

The Selangor and Federal Territory Engineering and Motor Parts Traders’ Association (EMPTA) has met with the transport ministry to air several issues faced by more than 1,100 member companies associated with EMPTA. One of the matters that was brought up in the discussion was that surrounding parts and services related to the Proton X50 and X70.

According to transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong, the association voiced its concerns at parts sellers and owners not being able to obtain parts and services to fix or repair X50 and X70 models outside of the Proton network, with owners forced to fix their vehicles at the original maker’s 4S facilities. Parts shortages have obviously meant delays on that front.

Back in March, Proton said it was taking steps to address the issue of a shortage of parts for both scheduled servicing and accident repairs, a matter that had caused quite a bit of unhappiness among customers. The automaker said that it targeted to have adequate stock of fast moving parts in place by the end of June.

In a Facebook post highlighting the meeting with EMPTA, Wee said that the ministry will look into whether this action violates any rules of competition or reduces the right to repair for owners of these models.

Discussions over the right to repair topic are not new. In October last year, the Malaysia Competition Commission (MyCC), in publishing its latest Market Review Under Competition Act 2010 for Selected Transportation Sectors, said it had identified competition issues, as well as market concerns or regulatory issues in relation to the warranty claims for motor vehicles.

It said that warranty restrictions imposed by car manufacturers may possibly prevent or limit competition in the car repair and service industry. For servicing, the review said that the exclusionary clauses in new car warranties could potentially lead to the market being foreclosed only to franchise (3S/4S) or authorised workshops within the car manufacturers’ network, reducing consumers’ choices and preventing competition from independent workshops.

The situation is amplified when it comes to accident repairs. Due to warranty restrictions, independent repairers are likely to face barriers preventing them from repairing new cars that are still under warranty, leaving franchise workshops within the car manufacturers’ network as the only choice in these cases.

In cases where consumers still choose to send their new cars to an independent workshop, there have been instances where consumers were asked to sign indemnity letters, where it was stated that the vehicle owner was fully aware that he or she was engaging the services of an independent workshop, and that the entire manufacturer’s warranty would be voided as a result. This, MyCC said, potentially creates pressure for the vehicle owner to engage only the services of workshops within the authorised network

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dong Gor on Jun 03, 2022 at 2:10 pm

Yes, Pls do so. Especially the nonsense of getting battery from outside will void warranty. Almost as extreme as voiding warranty for outside wipers and tires!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Sawadee kap on Jun 03, 2022 at 4:56 pm

Everyone is aware this current Transport minister from utter failure BN gahmen, Wee Kosong is totally useless and clueless fella. Car spare parts supply also unable to settle.. Kerajaan BN cap ayam Dulu, kini n selamanya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 72
      • Brian on Jun 03, 2022 at 6:16 pm

Hahaha. WTH with these cytros all bullshitting from ear to ear! WKS is the only TM that showed concerns right down to the small details such as these spareparts issue. I never seen Anthony Loke actually cared for his job as TM then, actually I think he only cares about how much he raked in selling special plates every month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 99
        • cmon man, spare parts issue came like way after x50 launched. that was in 2nd half 2020, way after PH fell. u cant blame PH for this when it was a non-existent issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
          • Rohana IMDB on Jun 04, 2022 at 3:25 pm

John,this fella called Brian is a psycopath…very deranged thinking.He cant differentiate right from wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • Calvin on Jun 03, 2022 at 10:39 pm

Anthony Loke from PH DAP, the best Minister ever. Syukur pimpinan terbaik PH DAP. Terus mara utk Malaysia.

https://paultan.org/2018/08/01/monthly-rm100-unlimited-pass-for-public-transport-coming-early-2019-transport-minister-anthony-loke/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 30
          • Jacknen on Jun 04, 2022 at 8:32 am

Most of the time, Anthony Loke is not doing and worst than Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 45
          • loki was one of the PH politicians dat BN wanted to join their side. dat says a lot about his qualities doesnt it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Ahsiongkor on Jun 03, 2022 at 9:00 pm

If this parts shortage spiral out of control,P1 will go back into the moneypit like those bailout years.
      An air filter shortage,oh my gaud…they are made of titanium or what? cant be produced locally,meh?
      Very soon,if u spray paint a different color (with JPJ lulus),they will void your warranty saying didnt have cap “Proton original paint”

• Proton Please Localize More Parts on Jun 03, 2022 at 2:49 pm

China product what do you expect? Go purchase all spare parts from China wait turn leh…. Local no business. Proton business plan no good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 50
    • on FB group already got pipu complaining abt spare parts for months now (or even a year?), but some pipu here dun even belip. i dun even hate P1, i want them to succeed, but they nid to buck up on their customer service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Casual reader on Jun 04, 2022 at 5:37 pm

Ironically the problems are coming from local parts vendors same issue facing perodua and many of the CKD brands too

• But my grouse is that I was told at the Proton Service centre yesterday that they had ran out of X50 air filter and drain plug. And that they will replace it during the next subsequent service. What a joke when Proton is monopolising all the parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Mariam Mokhtar Sr on Jun 03, 2022 at 4:54 pm

So,P1 fanboys..kisah benar from x50 frustrated owner.
      If an air filter from P1 service centre is out of stock,I fully understand why Dr.Li has to have war room meetings on parts shortage.
      Perhaps the Roslan dude has to explain,why Asiongkor has to intervene.Just memalukan.
      The problem is DRB’s toxic work culture.They dont give a damn you spent 80 grand and cant get a filter.
      You dont find this in P2 or UMW,where eagle eye PNB is watching closely.PNB will never let this problem spiral out of control.
      So,for those still gian X50,may the force be with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • Becoz Proton have now squeeze out many local spare parts vendors.. parts are mainly from China, and face many logistics issues with supply and transportation to Malaysia… Thus the delays..

• General Gerasimov on Jun 05, 2022 at 1:28 pm

The problem is forseen by Dr.Li.Remember,when he first came to P1,he was appalled that the DRB crony vendors’ parts were 30-40% above market rate.
          So,X50 buyers..you got to wait a year to get your dream car.P1 is sourcing from Xi Xin Ping negara.Local vendors just too greedy..spoilt by toxic DRB culture.Ini kisah benar,finally.Now,anyone wanna a hot X50,be prepared to wait 300 days and above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • its a pakai buang car from china, these models have been in production for years already there are no reason for shortage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 58
  • Shuhaimi on Jun 03, 2022 at 3:44 pm

Please look into same issue about New Proton Perdana. Seems like it is just one off production to Proton. No responsibility at all.

• seancorr on Jun 03, 2022 at 5:25 pm

Wasted my money on the CBU X70. Sold it off after a year of ownership. Shouldn’t have gave Proton a chance when they said they are better now with Geely. It’s the same since it’s still under DRB so still got old blood in the DNA and end up same crap over and over again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 41
    • from the start, proton cars are gud. the problem until even now is their management. mana all the proton fanboys pergi? they keep saying this is all fake, but now even govt need to investigate pulak!

• Angry Voters on Jun 03, 2022 at 6:49 pm

It’s alright bro. All of us regretted for voting BN UMNO. Once bitten twice shy. Say NO to BN proton,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 35
      • Izham on Jun 04, 2022 at 4:46 pm

Well, I hope you & your deluded PH fanboys aren’t still waiting for the PH flying car to appear. By the way, what happened to that PH era nonsense thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Asiongkor on Jun 03, 2022 at 8:51 pm

Seancorr
      The old proverb “A leopard never change its spot”
      A leopard(Protong) ‘s DNA is never changed.Maybe Putin’s Sarmat nuke will change it with radiation.
      The only change that will happen is when DRB is completely kicked out,but this will never happen cos gomen wants maruah and local talents to run the show.
      Dr.Li can only do so much…he cant be doing everything.
      The work culture in DRB is short of disgusting,pathetic,tumpang other peoples success .
      Those addicted fanboys who still want to wait for X50 after 8 months…either they r misinformed or just people without plan B or C.So addicted and gian to get X50,meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Paul ang. on Jun 03, 2022 at 7:59 pm

Proton dealers should be able to supply spate parts for repair…it should not display attitude of wait n see..if proton wants to be no 3 or 2 in malaysia n Asean.. it should wait up..how to beat honda n Toyota.. if you still have old attitude…..and also on.stocks of x50…it should be 1 month waiting period not ..6 months…its already almost 2 years since launch.. and deliver to local customers before exporting..

• Sovana on Jun 04, 2022 at 12:03 pm

Honda more worst. Quality and service is also poor and offered lousy safety system with lanewatch but with left side and poor camera resolution, without 360 camera and rear cross traffic alert. So honda out!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • General Gerasimov on Jun 05, 2022 at 1:32 pm

Sovana,you hentam Honda.Do you know DRB has a big share in Honda Malaysia?
        So,are u saying anything traced to DRB,is ‘kaput’ quality? Maybe you r damn correct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Newme on Jun 03, 2022 at 9:08 pm

Despite all the efforts to tegakkan benang basah by Proton, the involvment of MOT tells the magnitude of the problem.

• I claim for my X70 rear booth telescopic nearly 2 months now still no stock and cannot confirm when will have. It can only open a bit and I cannot put anything behind so how to use the car to travel or buy sundry. Bad aftersales service how to support

• KJ, University of Oxford on Jun 05, 2022 at 1:35 pm

Tan,u failed to read my comments about P1.Now,too late..if u sell to used car..u will have to top up the bank loan.

• Why are Saga, Iriz and Persona not mentioned? Is this a Proton or a Geely problem?

• Pro Rakyat on Jun 04, 2022 at 9:02 am

Take it as a bad karma for you for cheating customers with substandard parts and charging insurance companies hefty original part cost. What the government needs to do is to protect the car owners’ right to quality and professional services, and not to protect the interest of greedy towkays.

• M Naeem Ahmad on Jun 04, 2022 at 9:12 am

A.A..Respected sir ,I belong from Pakistan and booked a proton x70 CKD unit,on 28th 0f January this year through A.s sialkot franchise Pakistan (Al Haj automotive Pakistan)they given me tentative delivery date 27th of July. Now they said that the company suspended all bookings. Is it true?..please inform me about this..I am highly appreciated you for doing this for me…Regards

• KJ, University of Oxford on Jun 05, 2022 at 1:37 pm

Mr.Naeem
      Before booking Protong,u should have read our comments at Paultan forum.
      When we tell facts,some people give us 100 dislikes cos they cant accept differing views.
      So,my advice…go and book HOnda or Toyota..plenty of choices.

• When will P1 ever grow up? on Jun 04, 2022 at 9:42 am

Tetap dipayung oleh kerajaan. Dulu, kini dan selamanya

• Tak aci on Jun 04, 2022 at 11:49 pm

Cannot la. Service outside, the warranty must void. All car maker use the same approach. If not, pokok ceri workshop will take granted by using non ori part and not repair up to standard. Then user go back to authorise dealer. Claim warranty. Then post in media social.

• Francis Lim on Jun 05, 2022 at 9:46 am

Not only P1 having parts shortages, P2 also having parts shortages. I sent my Aruz to their workshop on 27th. February and until now my vehicle is still in their workshop due to shortage in spare parts. Everytime I enquire, the answer is, “Sorry, spare parts takde”. Somemore injury is that I have to pay 50% of the parts upfront and have to wait the spare parts until now.

• Last 2 weeks ago I have sent my P2 Bezza (2020 model) to P2 SC to replace the left tail lamp (claim warranty). The part arrived in 1 week time, went back to SC to change and settled the issue in < 2 weeks. So far the experience is good with P2. Don't have to pay a cent in the entire process if the type of damage is covered by warranty.

• Not true, get my Bezza left tail lemp replace within 1 week time. the part arrive within 1 week time, went back to SC to replace it and settled. Didn’t have to pay a cent, prob because the damage is under warranty coverage.

• David on Sep 17, 2022 at 4:17 pm

Better buy other brands, no point of supporting this stupid company which do not even care to take notes of customers complains. What they know is making money by kerping on selling cars, just do not undetstand why people still continues to buy this brand.

The Proton company had treated you all like fools and yet you are still supporting them.