Proton spare parts shortage fix – fast moving and accident repair parts to be stocked up by end of June

Earlier this month, Proton announced that it had implemented a mandatory requirement where all its dealers would be required to have at least three months holding stock of 22 fast moving parts. The move is aimed at tackling the issue of a shortage of parts for both scheduled servicing and accident repairs, which has caused quite a bit of unhappiness among customers.

A timeline for this fix has now emerged. Speaking to paultan.org last week, Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah said that the company is putting plans in place to ensure that the parts shortage problem is resolved.

The results of these should be seen a few months down the line, with the company targeting to have adequate stock of fast moving parts in place by the end of June. “What we define by adequate stock is three months of stock at dealerships, three months stock at our warehouses and certain number of months’ stock at our vendors,” Roslan said.

This will hopefully put to an end a long-running issue faced by the automaker, where it was previously reported that some customer cars remained stuck at official service centres awaiting parts or were only partially serviced, with what few parts available being fitted before owners were asked to return later when the rest of the parts were in stock.

As for replacement parts needed for accident repairs, Roslan said this would also follow the same timeline. “For repair parts, we’re looking at (stocks being in place) three months from now. We are identifying what are the key replacement parts for crash repairs and identifying vendors that can build us these parts,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• newme on Mar 25, 2022 at 5:01 pm

Why make it sounds like it’s dealers problem?

Where the dealers purchase their parts from? Proton.

How can the dealer get the parts when Proton themselves doesn’t have any for the dealers to buy?

• Proton can only put into production what is on order, if dealers are only ordering minimum stocks insufficient for 3 months, Proton production planners can only plan so much.

Proton dealers are known to skimp on a lot of things. When Dr li came in, he forced many to reluctantly invest and upgrade into 3S & 4S centers. But then comes the skimping of spare parts by the dealers, many which treated Proton sales as their easy cash cow for many decades but didn’t want to invest more money to look after the brand. Now the problem is known, Dr Li once again put his foot down and got these unsupportive dealers to put more of their profits back into supporting Proton customers.

With the floods and Omicron wave hitting Proton and supply chain plus China lockdown, it is understandable Proton need time to build up stocks and they have set end of June as their deadline. A mere few months and but it is not easy considering the world still haven’t solve their global shortages after 2 years and counting.

• newme on Mar 28, 2022 at 1:36 pm

What insufficient for 3 months? People are waiting their parts for as long as 6-8 months. How many parts purchase transactions can be made with this timeframe?

Blame the customers, blame the dealers, blame everyone except themselves, that’s Proton.

• Unknown on Mar 28, 2022 at 3:59 pm

Dont tokok in this auto forum.
          What 6-8 months,u r blabbering ? Do u have proof?
          Ur well known as a proton basher working for p2.
          Ur words here carry less weight than the smoke you breathe in.

• Unknown on Apr 25, 2022 at 12:04 am

I faced similar issue 4-5 month no parts and no ETA on parts

• tsundere_detector on Mar 28, 2022 at 4:10 pm

Typical “newme”. Always pretending to find Proton fault with questions that already have answers. A type of reverse psychology to make sure that others who might have the same question will get the answer here. *Sniff* What a legend.

• Zelendky Blinken on Mar 25, 2022 at 5:20 pm

Just place your order at Honda or UMW.Don’t wait for no tomorrow uncertainty.or go n buy a recon suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Dong Gor on Mar 25, 2022 at 5:41 pm

Shouldn’t all this be part of the thinking process before a car is launched? and the x70 is entering its 3rd year as CKD and we are talking about identifying vendors for this and that keke. number one lor.

• tobias keller on Mar 28, 2022 at 4:13 pm

Wait.. before the car is launched? When was that? before covid?

• Yeah, Proton should have gotten a thinking crystal ball that could predict Covid, predict Russia invasion, predict China lockdowns, predict chip shortages.
      Maybe you should also get a thinking crystal ball that could predict 4D for you bro.

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 25, 2022 at 5:52 pm

Dear Proton HQ

Just in case your dealers tak tau calculate.

Total stocks should be at hand = KIV (back order) + 3 months average stock.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 25, 2022 at 7:36 pm

Mantap! Well done Proton! Kegemaran rakyat Malaysia!

• Muhammad Najmi on Mar 25, 2022 at 10:32 pm

if it weren’t for Covid 19, Electricity Problems in China, and the Big Flood in Malaysia (especially in Selangor, where most of Proton’s component and parts makers are located). Maybe Proton’s fate is better than this one if those things weren’t the case…….

Ah never mind, don’t assume too much, you guys at Proton have to focus on real and serious problems (and work hard for it will ya ! not just talk on meetings) with complaints and criticisms that already happened, good luck! …

• Long SW on Mar 26, 2022 at 12:12 pm

Please help me check on Perodua too. I own an Alza. I got problem on my front shock absorber. Call and asking for appointment, the queue is almost 2 weeks. I ask them on parts availability but told me needed to order. Meaning go 2 times, check and go back to change it if faulty. Ask them why, says got cases before it. Meaning Perodua service centers never even keep common parts for their common model like Alza. Suprise ? But true. I call up both service centers at SS19 PJ and the other at Rasah, Seremban. Both says didn’t stock up Shock absorbers. Surprisingly right ? They says only stock up routine maintenance replacement parts. My engine idling speed not stable but asking whether the throttle body sensor is available, also negative now. Even says need to change whole unit throttle body together at rm1200 !Need to order too.Where earlier has this sensor component individually. Whether there r cases of staff integrity is immaterial and penalize customers but their customers after service service is going down the drains.
    Please assist to conduct an investigation and write up about my horrible experience with their own Perodua Service center. Is really unbecoming now. Earn great profits on new car and ignore after sales service.
    U can call me at 0129181819 or email me if u need any further clarification. Thanks.

• I have experience with my mazda changing absorber before, if you go back to their service centre, you will need to confirm and pay a deposit for the part and within a week or maybe sometimes longer, they will call you back for the service and everything is done. So it’s considered as normal procedure for your shock absorber case at service center. For the sensor I am not sure.

People complaining about the Proton cases are because even after confirmation for the parts, they are waiting for 3 months or even longer.

• Kassim B Khairul on Mar 28, 2022 at 12:49 pm

No such thing. My perodua stranded in SC since the flood in Dec. Sparepart tarak. It is NOT NORMAL.

• jusknittin on Mar 28, 2022 at 4:22 pm

Service center will always tell you need to change one set punya. I never had major issues with my previous Alza but last time I had a problem with reverse camera – when reverse only show black, no video. When I ask, service center tell me need to change the whole set from multimedia player to the reverse camera. No such thing change only camera one. I end up not changing it until I let go the car.

• Pardeep Kumar on Mar 28, 2022 at 1:14 am

Dear it was very pleasure moment for me when Proton was announced to be launched in Pakistan… But i am very sad now because in Pakistan Proton is not in good hands, because since December 2020 till now not a single CKD unit has been delivered, even prices of Proton brands in Pakistan illegally increased with huge amount which upto Rs.860,000/- pee unit even for old bookings, which is totally injustice with Pakistani People by your partner fraudulent company Al Haj…Plz take it serious because in this situation Proton will be ended in pakistan prior to deliver….Take immediate action, recall increase in prices and forthwith deliver the vehicles to customers…
    Thanks & Regards
    People of Pakistan

• Rayan on Mar 29, 2022 at 4:31 pm

I was once being told Proton is an OEM & Simedarby, Mazda, Naza &some others are distributorship. Proton is at its arrogance of thinking about market share, number of sales, market leader but in actual fact they non less than another distributorship in Malaysia. Honda, Perodua Toyota has established the fundamentals of operations and some distributorships also are at par with Proton. Denial or shall I say ignorance of accepting the real issues is the main cause. Remember like any other distributorship Proton is striving on how to make aftersales profitable well on the other hand ignoring the fundamental of CS which is establishing LTL with customer. Shock sendiri thinking they achieving CS and longterm loyalty because there no CS benchmarking is done in Malaysia for now. Don’t blame the dealer. Blame yourself Proton for having incompetencies in your own organisation.

• Jamie on Jun 02, 2022 at 4:07 pm

My proton saga is only 1 year plus old but the power steering oil leakage has caused me headache. On 21st May the leakage was terrible and was sent to nearby Proton authorised service center. Till today 2nd June, i only received feedback that spare part not yet arrived!!! Hi Proton, please understand that not everyone has many cars that standby for all these long waiting repair. Please… i really need answer for this or else i need a temporary replacement for my vehicle. Thank you. Your attention is highly appreciated.

• My car made accident and submit to proton insurance claim centre on 14 oct 22 and insurance already approved the claim on 1 Nov 22.
    the stock ordered immediately according to the proton service centre 2 weeks still has no news on the stock ETA

may I know what’s going on? why this order is taken so long as proton claims that the stock delay problem has been fixed?