Proton addresses aftersales parts availability issue – dealers now required to have 3 months holding stock

Besides revealing its sales performance for the month of February 2022, Proton also took the time to address the issues it currently faces regarding aftersales and parts availability in its official release.

“Our customers have reached out to us, and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused. I would like to reassure them we take every complaint seriously and senior management has identified several bottlenecks and operational issues that require fixing,” said Roslan Abdullah, chief executive officer of Proton Edar.

Roslan added that Proton has implemented a mandatory requirement where all dealers are required to have at least three months holding stock of 22 fast moving parts. This first step also extends to the carmaker’s central parts centre, which will hopefully reduce waiting times for customers.

“We are also strengthening the capability and knowledge of our dealers to provide excellent aftersales service to all Proton customers. There is still a lot left to do but we will give updates on our progress throughout the year,” noted Roslan.

Over the past few months, it was reported that Proton customers have been facing issues with aftersales parts, both for accident repairs and scheduled services. This has resulted in some customer cars being stuck at official service centres awaiting parts, or partially serviced with what few parts are available before owners are asked to return later when the rest of the parts are in stock.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Zaaba on Mar 03, 2022 at 3:15 pm

Nak trade in kereta

• sembang bole la, benda bukan baru last week. the models that had issues with parts availabity launched years ago already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • Make Malaysia Great Again on Mar 03, 2022 at 3:56 pm

Tahniah! Making Proton Great Again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • So that other cars can continue to be expensive and unfair protection for substandard parts!

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 03, 2022 at 4:23 pm

Took them long enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Ajibkor on Mar 03, 2022 at 4:29 pm

Regular servicing..also parts shortage,meh?Just buy Perodua ,lor.Solve the problem.Pay through your nose n car stuck at service centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • Yeah right. Perodua parts shortages are just as bad if not worse! I been waiting for fuel pump replacement 6 months ago, meanwhile Perodua ask me to continue using my ticking bomb of a car dunno when the engine will condemn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Amran on Mar 04, 2022 at 11:07 am

Perodua? Ishh.
      Nak dapat keta pun lambat.
      Dapat pun problem sana sini.
      Servis parts pun takde.

• newme on Mar 03, 2022 at 4:54 pm

Their solution to the part issue is dealers REQUIRE to hold 3 months stocks. The problem is are the dealers actually hold the stocks? Require je no use if no one actually follow. Btw, how are the dealers going to know how many stocks is worth 3 months? Is Proton forecast accurate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Carl25 on Mar 03, 2022 at 8:04 pm

cause dealers need to spend more money

• Nancy Cheng on Mar 03, 2022 at 8:15 pm

My x70 had been at ngu’s brothers workshop sibu since august 2021 til now is still there waiting for spareparts from proton to be fixed on. Why that long?

• Avenger on Mar 05, 2022 at 1:45 am

Forecast is by the SC input, how would Proton know what the SC needs? Each SC has their own needs & wants depending on use conditionslah! A SC in KL will turnover much sooner than one in Kelantan so how can Proton use the parts matrix for SC in KL and apply to Kelantan. Use brains please.

• Terrible way to manage stock. Toyota uses the JIT (Just-in-Time) and Kanban method to manage parts availability. Forcing dealers to hold 3-months stock just increases their operating cost and may lead to increased dealer debt owed to Proton.

• Proton is Malaysian stick to Malaysian style, everything wrong is forgiven

• Raja Kamarul on Mar 03, 2022 at 5:48 pm

LoL. Gérard, you go ask dealers la. Are they unwilling to stock, or Proton unable to supply? Why would dealers want to face a barrage of angry customers. Proton is trying to shift the blame.

• Muhammad Najmi on Mar 03, 2022 at 5:59 pm

Great, but please work for it and just don’t talk in news. Problem like spare parts availability must be prioritized so that if a new model is to be released later, problems like this have been managed properly…

And don’t forget the X70 CBU model ASAP, they are the ones who “suffered” the most with the problem of spare parts availability (especially on the fan motor and transmission)

• Azgarffield on Mar 03, 2022 at 6:05 pm

What are the 22 parts? Does it include radiator fans? Simple part but seriously tarnished Geely’s name

• David on Mar 03, 2022 at 7:32 pm

Part tarak apa boleh buat. Their basic script

• dear readers.. anyone here would like to try going to PROTON Part Center Glenmarie or PROTON COE directly and ask for parts? various X70 parts? oh.. how about Exora BCM? what a joke.. PROTON sendiri pun tak ada stock.. but dare to make it compulsory for dealers? dear ROSLAN.. April fool lagi 1 bulan lah.

• Ye ke ambik secara serious. SC pon main tendang² customer mcm bola bila nk claim

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 03, 2022 at 11:09 pm

tulah, tau kereta u bukan reliable sangat ini.

• china made cars, for 100k..need to be brave and foolish to throw that amount money into it..

• Fadli on Mar 03, 2022 at 11:56 pm

Ding Dong sana… Ding Dong sini, usually the same… I don’t know how to say…

• Logistic is rock solid thing on Mar 04, 2022 at 8:13 am

This is call provisioning programme and proton is very lack of it. Its not just dealer must hold stock, the main proton parts store must hold a greater amount of stock. If you put 22 month terms for dealer, the hq must put at least double of that so when the dealers stock reach “provisioning action figure”, they’ll order it from the hq and hq has a readily constant parts to support those demands. Its not just they have to keep stock but the way they monitoring it. The must a benchmark figure for maximum stock level, provisoining action figure and lower stock figure. Otherwise proton…youre will end up back to square one. Yes, there a lot of things when it come to provisioning. Not just about money.

• alldisc on Mar 04, 2022 at 8:14 am

Holdings 3 months stock shows how stupid proton management is. And if geely approved this, them too.

They should have really learn the concept of japanese system kanban. Only keep the stock that you really need.

Anything more than that means dealers will face with
    A. Space issue
    B. Stock control when the time comes for stock take audit.
    C. Higher risks of losses in terms of theft, flood And fire.

Dealers will scratch their heads to purchase 3 months of FMI parts.. which can cost them easily 20k to 50k (depending on SC size). Unless proton HQ allows 90 days credit terms or more.

I believe the actual scenario was either dealers did not place parts ordering(staff forgot to do so) or dealers reaching credit limit And therefore HQ wont allow any new orders.

If proton parts HQ are doing daily parts delivery similar to what UMW toyota is doing (just in time concept, of TPS), dealers Only need to keep 1 day worth of stocks. Perhaps 1+1 which include buffer stock.

The key word here is efficiency (both on dealer parts dept And HQ operations) And remove the stupid people immediately.

How to conquer ASEAN market with this type of business operations?

• BS Virik on Mar 04, 2022 at 10:18 pm

One of the best and practical comment. Hopefully Management inside Proton read your response and take heed. I heard service dealer order timing belt also no parts, have to turn customer away. Why manufacturing cannot supply some parts to Parts Centre? Do internal transfer with internal transfer pricing.

• Harisp on Mar 04, 2022 at 8:26 am

Sembang

• Keith on Mar 04, 2022 at 8:42 am

HAHAHA. Janji hanya tinggal janji jer lah si Proton ni. Serius memang dah serik dengan after sales service Proton ni. 6 bulan kereta tersadai kat SC. Tunggu punya tunggu spare parts. Dari dulu jer janji manis nak buat spare parts centre lah, itu lah ini lah. last2 semua tak der.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 04, 2022 at 2:01 pm

22 parts? Your normal maintenance and wear items in total are already more than that.

How about other parts?

If the distributor don’t have parts locally, completely pointless to kick the ball to dealers.

This problem have been happening for months already.

• david on Mar 04, 2022 at 3:31 pm

even if the get the spare parts already. they dont even call you up to make an appointment to repair it. only want you to come for your regular service. it seems proton still have big customer relationship problem that need to be solve

• BS Virik on Mar 04, 2022 at 10:12 pm

Only for 22 fast moving parts? I think a car got thousands of parts. This does not solve anything. Headline should read, *NOT ADDRESSING*

• Muhammad Najmi on Mar 10, 2022 at 11:56 pm

22 fast moving parts ? Are those parts are the one that prone to break ? Or those parts are the one that is imported from China ? (Remember that both X50 and X70 only shares of local components of just 45% to 53%)

And according to Roslan (from Proton’s Website) that holding 3 months of 22 parts are the “First Step” so that spare parts scarcity issue will be managed …

“First Step” right ? I hope the next step for solving that issue would be improve on Proton’s Management and better communication between HQ with Most Proton’s 3S and 4S dealerships…

Also Proton needs to increase local content of the car, and listening to customers seriously so that if there is a new problem Proton knows what to do, And if Proton wants to continue to be profitable and increase sales, Proton must also learn from Toyota. Through Toyota’s Management with the philosophy of “The Toyota Way”, not only the Toyota Production System but also “Kanban”, this is so that the problem of spare parts can be managed properly (this is what makes Perodua more successful, if not for Daihatsu itself is a subsidiary of Toyota)

I hope Proton’s senior Management will read this and i hope they know better than i am, and i hope they acknowledge and understand ..

• Hariz on Mar 24, 2022 at 2:22 am

I’m owning Proton Persona vet 2016 , I’ve got an accident , but the condition are not very terrible . just need a bumper replacement by claiming insurance at SC . I’m waiting for so long , nearly 3 month!! . And still counting ! I mean , Don’t buy Proton if u always got accident ?