2022 Mercedes-AMG A35 Sedan CKD launched in Malaysia – more kit, RM5k lower than CBU, RM343,888

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has launched the CKD locally-assembled Mercedes-AMG A35 Sedan in Malaysia. The A35 with a (short) boot is priced at RM343,888 on-the-road without insurance, with sales tax.

Yup, with sales tax, for bookings made from July 1. However, if you pick up the phone now or rush to the showroom to place your booking, the price with SST exemption is RM325,090. Of course, deliveries will have to be made by end-March 2023 for the SST savings to be applicable.

Looks familiar? The V177 A35 Sedan was launched in Malaysia as a CBU import in September 2019 with a sticker price of RM348,888. With SST exemption, the sedan was listed at RM336,278. So, if you take the sales tax inclusive price, the difference between CBU and CKD is RM5k. The rest of the A-Class Sedan range is also CKD, so the A35 completes the trio.

The entry AMG model is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine with 306 PS and 400 Nm of torque from 3,000 to 4,000 rpm. The M260 engine is mated to a seven-speed AMG Speedshift 7G dual-clutch transmission and AMG Performance 4Matic all-wheel drive, which propels the sedan from 0-100 km/h in 4.8 seconds. Top speed is capped at 250 km/h. AMG Ride Control suspension and AMG Dynamic Select is standard.

The Pekan-assembled sedan has an enhanced kit list compared to the CBU car. New items include the Parking package with a 360-degree camera, head-up display and AMG steering buttons; the Keyless-Go Comfort Package; wireless charging and the MBUX Interior Assistant.

The A35 Sedan gets 19-inch AMG 5-twin-spoke alloys and wider wheel arches for the AMG specific wheels. Colour options include Polar White, Cosmos Black, Iridium Silver, Mountain Grey and Denim Blue. Inside, it’s between the optional Artico synthetic leather or Dinamica microfibre black, with aluminium AMG Design trim elements in black or silver.

Other notable items on the kit list are an AMG Performance steering wheel wrapped in nappa leather with AMG steering wheel buttons, electrically-adjustable front sports seats with red seat belts, a Burmester surround sound system and the latest communications module (LTE) for the use of Mercedes me connect services, complemented by the Mercedes-Benz emergency call system.

We’ll provide you with the full specs for both new CKD models, CarBase.my-style shortly. Once again, it’s RM343,888 for the CKD A35 Sedan, on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of sales tax. That’s RM5k lower than the 2019 CBU model, but with more kit. If you act immediately, the price with SST exemption is RM325,090.

So, what do you think of the A35 Sedan and its performance per ringgit ratio?

GALLERY: 2022 Mercedes-AMG A35 4Matic Sedan, CKD

GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG A35 4Matic Sedan, official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mr Fakta on Jun 28, 2022 at 12:47 pm

Makes the CKD BMW M340i looks cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • aiyooo,, why dun put AMG seat instead of Sport seat /.\

• 5k cheaper. OMG, thats some huge saving indeed!

• mingKor on Jun 28, 2022 at 1:16 pm

still too expensive, 325k with sst exemption, different compare A250 ~80k, using same engine model.
    rather buy A250 and go mod outside, tune the engine, add the A35 bodykit, change the rim and stuff, cost you less then 30k =.=”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • you are paying for a lot more different things for the A35
      first of all, tuning up by 100hp in the same engine is not simple. there are more durable pistons in the A35 compared to A250.. You will blow up your engine if it is not done properly..
      A35 comes in 4-matic.. A250 only FWD..
      Tuning up power and torque without proper gearbox will blow up your gearbox too thus A35 has a proper AMG gearbox compare to the A250 7-DCT.
      Not to mention AMG suspension and tuning that you dont get in your regular Merc.
      Once you mod, you void your warranty..
      So don’t be cheap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • mingKor on Jun 29, 2022 at 9:13 am

no need full tune, stage 1 is enough,250 hp+, 5+sec 0-100 with 7 DCT is more then enough for daily drive. you not in track race everyday.
        if you need more power, look for recond C43 with that price range. more worthy

• Tokok

• seancorr on Jun 28, 2022 at 1:47 pm

For the added kit vs the new price….it’s still on the pricey side. Sweet spot would be just over 300k TBH. For that kind of price they should have added the AMG seats or the full set of driver assists as standard.

• Bieight8 on Jun 28, 2022 at 2:49 pm

Daylight robbery

• 7yearsfd1 on Jun 28, 2022 at 4:24 pm

almost full spec , but missing the AMG seats! i rather have the seats then HUDs/360 cam in such a compact sedan

dat steering tho.. oh my!

• Jeffrey on Jun 28, 2022 at 6:50 pm

Still Renault engine?

• Joker!