SST exemption ends today – ensure all your booking details are correct, no changes can be made by July 1

It’s June 30, which means this is the last day for anyone to book a vehicle if they’re looking to take advantage of the sales tax exemption, which finally comes to an end as scheduled today after being extended three times since it was announced on June 5, 2020.

Of course, the joy is being stretched, as the government has made an allowance for the SST exemption to be applied for any vehicle booked before July 1 and with a sales invoice and registration completed before March 31, 2023. There is however a criteria for buyers to meet for the entitlement of the SST exemption.

Vehicles that are eligible for the exemption are passenger vehicles (including MPVs and SUVs), and covers both CKD locally assembled (100%) and CBU imports (50%) as well as used CBU imports (grey) that have a manufacturer invoice / K1 form dated from June 15, 2020 to March 31, 2023, according to a memo issued by the ministry of finance on June 22.

Of more importance to the end user, or buyers, is ensuring that the bookings are completed by today. There are also other points that must be adhered to, as gleaned from internal circulars as well as from various industry sources.

For one, buyers need to ensure that all information on the booking form is accurate, so please make sure your name and details are correct when you make a booking (and it doesn’t hurt to check the details on an existing booking, just to be sure).

Also, take note that the booking and registration of the vehicle must be made by the same customer (as per name and IC number), because as we have been made to understand it from industry sources, all booking forms and information will be submitted to the ministry of finance.

So, this means you won’t be allowed to change the booking ownership (customer name) to your spouse or other family members after today if you want to enjoy the SST exemption – everything has to tally in the system chain, regardless of any external conditions.

If you can’t get a loan approved for the purchase, you can’t switch names, which means the SST exemption can’t be gained (unless you find some other means to get the necessary amount). This also means you can’t book for fun and “scalp” your booking slot, which we’re sure many have been eyeing.

Also, the registered model must be the same as per the final booking as listed in the seller’s system by today, June 30. You can’t change your mind on a model, like booking a sedan and then deciding you’d like an SUV instead. Doesn’t matter if it’s from the same brand – the rule on this is specific.

As we understand it, it even works down to the variant, which means if you book a mid-spec, you can’t change your mind later to get a high-spec variant, for example. This also applies to the choice of exterior colour, according to customs and excise requirements. Do check all these salient points with the dealership or company you are buying the car from.

If you’re heading to dealerships to make that last ditch booking, good luck. Malaysians being the way they are, we expect that showrooms will be busy right into the evening – and in some cases, night – today.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Time to Rush

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • John Gagal on Jun 30, 2022 at 2:50 pm

Buy chicken, not car. Kereta dapat makan kah?

• Up to you... on Jul 01, 2022 at 2:37 am

Dapat. With car, you can generate/create money ;

1) Grab
        2) Go to office
        3) Freelance job etc

Thus can earn money and buy chicken.

See? Happy ending.

• Lets See on Jul 01, 2022 at 2:57 am

Car helps to get to work so that we can earn to buy chicken. But DAP want to deprive us of car usage, hence we cannot go to work anymore. If dont have car, will DAP subsidise us with free chicken?

• nvm, not first time make roti canai

• dong gor on Jun 30, 2022 at 2:36 pm

Booking forms are all handwritten including the date…so let’s see how well the things are being controlled.

• Honkauyu on Jun 30, 2022 at 6:26 pm

I just feel like going to show room just to have a feel the pasar mood there hhhgggnn

• No need to rush. After SST also get discount.

Example :

No SST (-1500) + Discount (-1000)

With SST also can get total discount nearly 3,000.

They just kecik kan discount when no SST. No benefits to end-user.

#pimaipimaitangtu

• Super man on Jul 01, 2022 at 2:02 pm

To ‘Lets See’. Orang bodoh. What have DAP to do with sst? Orang mala’s