2022 Perodua Alza gets wired Android Auto system

Android Auto on the 9-inch Display Audio in the Alza AV

Just launched today, the second-generation, 2022 Perodua Alza arrives on the scene with a number of firsts from the Malaysian brand, such as the electronic parking brake (EPB) with auto brake hold. While features such as Android Auto connectivity for compatible smartphones have been on the market for some time, the convenience – and added safety through reduced distraction – is welcome.

Here, Android Auto on the 2022 Alza features on the AV variant – though it is simply described as a “9-inch Display Audio” unit on this and the H variant – where it requires a wired connection, accessed via the touchscreen head unit situated atop the central air-conditioning vents. Activating Android Auto can be done from the home screen, where the icon is located alongside the ‘Phone’, ‘Media’ and ‘Settings’ icons.

9-inch Display Audio in the Alza AV (left), H (right)

This example on the AV variant of Alza features a row of buttons on the right-hand-side of its bezel, namely for switching on and off, return-to-home screen, voice command, and the mute and volume control, whereas the H variant does without.

While the unit’s support for smartphone connectivity does not yet extend to Apple CarPlay, most head units which have Android Auto also support the Apple system, which could see the Alza’s setup gain an update in the future to accommodate both.

Android Auto on the 9-inch Display Audio in the Alza AV

Elsewhere on the AV, the top Alza variant also gets a 360-degree panoramic view monitor as well as an integrated digital video recorder (DVR), the latter a RM500 accessory if purchased separately from the Perodua GearUp catalogue.

Read the full launch report of the 2022 Perodua Alza, here. Three variants are on offer from launch, starting at RM62,500 for the 1.5X variant, through to RM68,000 for the 1.5H variant then to RM75,500 for the 1.5AV.

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza AV

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza H

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza X

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza AV with GearUp accessories

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza official brochure

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• newme on Jul 20, 2022 at 4:48 pm

Why so low tech? Who uses wire in such mobile environment (mobile phone in an automobile)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Malaysian C on Jul 20, 2022 at 5:09 pm

why need high spec at low price spec? at least it can also charge your phone.

• Copy Paste on Jul 21, 2022 at 2:42 am

Copy paste: “https://paultan.org/image/2022/07/2022-Perodua-Alza-X_Int-2.jpg
        This radio unit is the worst that I have ever seen in any car for the last 30 years, come on P2! Why da hell is this looking like a 80s cassette radio player. Even P1 worst base spec car has better looking ones than this dinosaur.”

• Sohai on Jul 20, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Is ok lah, a step in the right direction. Wirelese apple car play is not so common also. Some of the existing Merc models also using wired.

• Aight on Jul 20, 2022 at 5:39 pm

Me

• Shiro on Jul 20, 2022 at 6:48 pm

this is a entry level mpv,don’t expect it with too muvch technology,even i still think the interior and system infortainment look dated and much better than the previous gen

• venven81 on Jul 20, 2022 at 7:00 pm

why there’re always so many pictures on the main landing page of the website instead of putting those pics in its own article title? feel agigated to scroll down the page with so many pictures

• Altas vs AA on Jul 20, 2022 at 7:30 pm

P1: We have so called ALTAS
    P2: We don’t have ALTAS but Android Auto

Lmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Renegade Champion on Jul 21, 2022 at 2:31 am

I never understand this Malaysian companies Perodua and Proton. Always release half a**ed products, biggest offender is proton with their rubbish acotech without both android auto and CarPlay but a host of other useless bloatware apps. And here Perodua somehow can’t integrate apple CarPlay, I commend for the Android Auto but this is like 50% effort. IDK what’s so hard to implement, everyone else can do it easily only Malaysian carmakers slow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Sohai on Jul 21, 2022 at 2:33 pm

my guess could be due to licensing issue rather than a technical one. is down to cost ultimately.
      one of my consideration for a car is a good infotainment system since it makes the journey more enjoyable. while not perfect, having andriod auto is still good enough for me. This is a big thing as it keeps the head unit “current”. I could use Waze without worrying the map being obsolete and play my apply music.

• Private on Oct 13, 2022 at 1:58 pm

The Alza AV head unit got high failure rate. I lot of owners already complained and Perodua just DIAM DIAM and no further action taken.