Mat Rempit illegal racing due to peer pressure – PDRM

Peer pressure is among the reasons that youths take part in illegal racing activities, as found by Seri Alam police deputy chief Mohd Roslan Mohd Tahir through the three-year research he has conducted on illegal racing, Bernama reported.

A total of 300 mat rempit (illegal motorcycle racers) aged between 16 and 27 years from Johor Bahru, Seri Alam, Kulai, Skudai and Iskandar Puteri were approached and interviewed, according to the report.

“All this while, everyone has been pointing fingers, looking for someone to blame (for mat rempit issues). Some even blame the government, family and society,” Roslan said.

“Through the research, it was found that it is not the fault of the government, the enforcement or the family because they got involved at their own will, and 90% is due to peer pressure,” Roslan told a press conference. These issues can be dealt with if the government, through certain bodies continues to hold programmes such as awareness campaigns, he said.

“[While] the authorities can organise programmes for youths through awareness campaigns, parents also need to play a role in giving advice,” the Seri Alam police deputy chief said.

Illegal motorcycle racing, especially those involving mass crowds have resulted in dire consequences; a large kapchai gathering in Penang last month where street racing also took place ended in a massive incident that claimed three lives from the outset, and two more would succumb to their injuries later on.

Misadventures on two wheels documented to have taken place in the country also involved modified bicycles or basikal lajak, where eight teenagers died in an incident in 2017.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Illegal racing is due to lack of enforcement. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Why So Serious on Aug 09, 2022 at 3:34 pm

Drift King sez he is femes thanks to no Jepun enforcement.

• Ghani on Aug 09, 2022 at 9:13 pm

You gotta attend and see for urself those politaik Umno & Pas kapcai gathering… Free sarapan & minyak isi penuh, motor konvoi became illegal rempit racing for the youths. I don’t understand why our local persatuan must organize all these konvoi rempit extremely dangerous to themself & other road users. stooped so low in morality & social responsibility just to get a few more votes for their korup and undeserving kapal halimunan LCS plan,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
        • Uncle Joe Low on Aug 10, 2022 at 11:06 am

Those politicians are. ..World Record Rempits..but in a civilized “dignified’ manner

• Lets See on Aug 10, 2022 at 5:35 pm

Still far better than our DAPmaster ceramahs all ethic bashing and racism spewing from start to end. Whats worse if they come back to power they fully intend to deprive the majority of Malaysian their car usage and only limit cars to their own cronies and the rich. The poor has no place in their dream country and will suffer being forced out of their homes, their lands and even possibly kicked out of their own country. I don’t understand how any sane Malaysians could still support them but evidently we have plenty of insanes judging by their driving attitudes on the road. They talk thru noses about holier than thou morality but now their leader is boiling in the mother of all corruption cases. Lets see how much more hypocrisy they want to preach to an uninterested masses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Maverick Rafizi on Aug 09, 2022 at 5:37 pm

Enforcement…a big joke .it is mythical,at times.

• Jeffrey on Aug 09, 2022 at 1:18 pm

Also due to lack of enforcement.

• Right? on Aug 16, 2022 at 9:23 pm

We need to appreciate them. They willingly want to sacrifice their life for us.

That’s why gov want to do drag a.k.a grave race for them.

To die like heroes… Special tombstone (balut telor) like burger special will be erect for them.

The more the merrier.

• Best Punishment on Aug 09, 2022 at 1:49 pm

Effective solution on top of jail sentence:

Any motorbikes caught in illegal racing must be destroyed disposed totally into tiny pieces using metal crushing machine just like how Customs Dept disposed the illegal contrabands.

By destroying away their precious belonging it will surely hit them hard both financially and mentally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Why So Serious on Aug 09, 2022 at 3:40 pm

There is no effective solution to a social issue. Just as cannabis usage in the West have been problematic, now it is legalised and problem automatically solved. So with this view, we could similarly legalise rempitting and voila problem automatically solved.

Follow the Western liberalisation. Too much punishments & draconian laws will bring us backwards compared to our peers. This is the real peer pressure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • King Songlap on Aug 09, 2022 at 4:13 pm

Legalised rasuah also as taxable income.

• Lets See on Aug 10, 2022 at 9:12 am

Singapore has practiced that long time ago. See how rich they are today. Some say we should follow them, so now we follow them. Better late than never rite?

• Right? on Aug 17, 2022 at 3:42 pm

Legalised wifu also. So no need to curi2 take her from you. Can?

Because curi2 bring her also will bring pressure to rumahtangga.

Liberal at its best.

• Maverick Rafizi on Aug 09, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Yep…agree 200%.Throw the blardy bike into a quarry crushing machine.

• Melania Rosmah on Aug 09, 2022 at 5:40 pm

Now, authorities just starting to wake up..after 5rempits evaporated.Anyway,not too late.

• Ben Yap on Aug 09, 2022 at 2:01 pm

what the heck? 27 years old still a mat rempit. at that age, i already bought my first car and house. I was also at managerial level. No wonder these people will remain as B40 for their entire life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Uncle Joe Low on Aug 10, 2022 at 11:01 am

A rempit can be any age..dude.It is the blardy brain..infected with formula 1 syiok syiok gungho speed khayalan virus..thrill first…die later.

• Reaserch that pushing away responsibility?

• Ruslan Bahari on Aug 09, 2022 at 2:29 pm

Taking that defensive “it isn’t the government’s fault” is so cute. I will agree that it is the JOINT responsibility of many parties; parents, government, local authorities, government

The government’s role is to ensure there is continuous enforcement, that the law is updated to be more punitive, to adapt the education system to include road safety training as a curriculum, have PSAs or similar campaigns to deter the activity.

• God please help mat rempit on Aug 09, 2022 at 2:40 pm

Choose by their own will, and is not because family teaching. Not bad.

Pandai beranak, tak tau jaga anak. How many mat rempit out there and there’s no authority that can take care this matter ?

• Nak mamp*s menyusahkan orang on Aug 16, 2022 at 9:24 pm

Sterilize them, so they will not breed like stray cat. Mostly from PPR biforti that like to preng2 in the middle of the night.

• due to peers pressure? why not you give they give their peers pressure to stay home study?

• Contradiction on Aug 09, 2022 at 5:34 pm

If their peers are educated types, they will stay home and study.
      If their peers are the streetwise type, they will be out.
      In the real world, streetwise > bookwise. You don’t have to be highly educated to be a million dollar tiktoker.

• If you wantto be bad, just amit, do not push to peers. If you peers can influence you ro do something bad, why not you influence them to be good. Do not find excuse for being bad. Then who is the first one who started and influence by whom? There must be a person who started it. Find the real cause, not this tye of funny reason. We do not need anything pluck from air.

• Lets See on Aug 10, 2022 at 5:38 pm

You mean like how you and your ilk trying to influence negativity in this comment section? There must be a person who started it. So can you be the first to stop this negativity? I challenge you.

• BAHAHAHAHA on Aug 09, 2022 at 4:14 pm

Those mat rempits approached and interviewed….. were paid to say as such. Would you be surprised if this was true?

• Very innovate reseach on Aug 09, 2022 at 4:34 pm

Wow thank you for the groundbreaking findings! Now I only peer pressure only found among them that made them to illegal racings but not other groups of people. Reseach money well spent, talked to journalist, berita naik dah, case close?

Yeah not the fault of government, fault on everyone, any other people but just not the fault of government even tiny wee bit.

• Right? on Aug 16, 2022 at 9:26 pm

Make new law and enforce it by Sterilize them so they will not breed another idiot generation.

Good idea innit?

• johnnas on Aug 10, 2022 at 9:08 am

Peer pressure? You’re saying its not their fault!
    Langgar undang-undang….langgar lah tu. jgn bagi alasan. Diorang nak jadi superman, it is their choice but they must accept whatever the consequences from committing dangerous act on public road.
    Lots can be said but I’ll keep things simple for now to reduce hate.

• Right? on Aug 16, 2022 at 9:29 pm

Jail time? X jalan.
      Seized their motorbike? X jalan.
      Compound them? X jalan.

Just this one will jala. It’s to sterilize them.

• macampondan on Aug 17, 2022 at 9:29 am

latest feedback seems, it’s motivated by price money. if people are more educated, they can earn better by competing for work in global space.

majority can’t even speak proper English, how can we compete? forever jaguh kampung. theynwill compete for whatever left in “kampung”.

be smart, education first and people will able to take care ourselves and do not need hands out. No one born stupid, nasty and distasteful. circumstances did and our politicians thrive on segregation.

my 2 cents