Female clerk jailed six years for reckless driving and causing deaths of eight teens in “basikal lajak” case

If a reminder to motorists to be alert at all times while driving is needed, then this is it. The high court in Johor Bahru today sentenced a female clerk to six years’ jail and fined her RM6,000 for reckless driving in connection with the deaths of eight teenagers on modified bicycles, or “basikal lajak”, five years ago, FMT reports.

Sam Ke Ting, 27, was found guilty of causing the death of the eight cyclists at Jalan Lingkaran Dalam in Johor Bahru at 3.20 am on Feb 18, 2017. She was ordered to serve another six months in prison if she did not pay the fine, and was also disqualified from driving for three years, the latter effective immediately following the completion of her prison sentence.

She had originally been freed from a charge of reckless driving by the magistrates’ court in Johor Bahru in October 2019, being acquitted and discharged at the end of the prosecution’s case without having her called to the stand for her defence.

The attorney-general’s chambers had then appealed against the decision to acquit Sam, and the Johor Bahru high court ordered her to enter her defence on February 18 last year after allowing the prosecution’s appeal. Sam, who was 22 at the time of the incident, was charged under Section 41 (1) of the Road Transport Act 1987 (Act 333), which carries a maximum jail term of 10 years and a fine of RM20,000, upon conviction.

In his decision on the appeal of the case, judge Abu Bakar Katar said the prosecution had succeeded in proving a prima facie case against Sam, as reported by Berita Harian. He also said the trial court was found to have erred in reconsidering the issue raised at the end of the prosecution’s case, with regards to the identity of the driver, admissibility of exhibits and no identification of the victims.

The sad case is a reminder to be extra cautious when driving, especially on unfamiliar roads, because what happened to Sam could well happen to anyone. As magistrate Siti Hajar Ali noted in her judgement back in 2019, Sam was not under the influence of alcohol, was not using her phone and had her seatbelt on while driving, proving that she was driving responsibly and carefully.

The magistrate said it was a dark, hilly and winding road where the driver could not foresee that there would be a bicycle gang on the road at 3am in the morning, and added that the teens had put themselves in danger.

It may be impossible to eliminate the variables, but slowing down and being alert on dark or unfamiliar roads would be the most sensible advice, simply by offering better reaction time in facing any suprises. A dash cam also helps, should there be an incident.

Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.

Tags:

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bieight8 on Apr 13, 2022 at 1:01 pm

What a joke…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 10
    • winrar on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:25 pm

Parents fault letting the kids died in vain.. Wallahuk alam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
      • Out of here on Apr 13, 2022 at 10:22 pm

Bulan Ramadan, the kids parents should take responsibility. Dosa tau
        What poor kids???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • New Low KL on Apr 14, 2022 at 7:39 pm

There’s a clip been circulating on WA, showing group Mat Lajak also superman on the elevated highway near TRX right in front of IKEA Cheras during night

• Article 35, Article 42 of the Road Regulations 1959.
            Road Transport Act 1987) (Section 54(1), Section 79(2) and Section 112(3).

https://www.mpbp.gov.my/sites/default/files/aktapengangkutanjalan.pdf. Undang-undang Malaysia Akta 333. 54 (3)(a)(b). Page 91.
            Pengangkutan Jalan 91 (a) jika ia suatu sabitan berkaitan dengan pemanduan suatu kenderaan motor, mana-mana sabitan dahulu menurut kuasa seksyen ini hendaklah tidak diambil kira; (b) jika ia suatu sabitan menurut kuasa seksyen ini, manamana sabitan dahulu berkaitan dengan pemanduan suatu kenderaan motor hendaklah tidak diambil kira.

• Safety First on Apr 14, 2022 at 8:25 am

Wow just wow. So many here looking at this case with race-tinted glasses.

For crap sakes people! Use ur brain and take a look at that scene of accident, can a car going at moderate speeds create such a mess and turn turtle like that. Even a Hollywood stunt driver would find that a near impossible task.

Unless that road has curfew or restrictions, everyone has right of use 24/7. Kids being there at 3am does not absolve the lady driver of speeding. 2 wrongs do not make it right for the lady to go scott free since she killed 8 lives, people.

You people should look at this case with some brainmatter and think what lessons to learn from this. Nobody, especially the lady, thought about SAFETY FIRST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 112
        • Mike Tee on Apr 14, 2022 at 10:39 am

75km/h on a highway at anytime, much less 2-3am is not excessive speed and within the speed limit for that stretch of road. The damage on the car was caused by impact with structure on side of road. All these were in the forensics report.

Overturning is probably caused by the said impact also (this part is my conjecture).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • As ascertained, that stretch is max 50kmph. Going in excess of 50% more and that too high bro. Imagine going 160 kmph on normal highway. Too fast lah. Crash structure on road are designed to absorb impact and up to their max speed limit, over which anything can happen and as we see above, overturning did happen.

• A Malay Resident said that the accident spot is dark and he thinks the speed limit is 90kph

• Fabian Wylie on Apr 14, 2022 at 1:24 pm

I saw your comment . Firstly two wrong most certainly don’t make way for injustice. I am British and tell you that this behaviour of Malaysian kid culture, cycling on bikes of highways , with out brakes ans lights , would be excepted at all , growing up to do the same thing on motorcycles on main roads and motorways , which seemed to be allowed and not form of safety is in fact unforced in Malaysia . Problem is the courts do not make the parents responsible for child neglect ans the police do not deal with these kids ans young men , not only putting themselves in danger , but the other road users .

Stop the race card here , most certainly the weakest excuses in Malaysia .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
          • Aura89 on Apr 14, 2022 at 5:43 pm

Your British. And so? I’m American and I agree with #Safety First.
            Look at the scene of devastation and you tell me how on earth you found that woman was totally innocent.
            Does British courts allow punishment of parents for children failings? Coz it certainly don’t apply in US legal system. I guess we know why US is at the forefront of human suffrage and UK are sliding backwards. Hooray for the perps then. Perhaps that woman can find asylum in your country to escape justice because she won’t find any in mine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
          • CipekAura89 on Apr 17, 2022 at 4:00 pm

Start singing coxk song. Next time u can send your kid for rempit class

• Globalist on Apr 18, 2022 at 11:37 am

Can the American and other nationalites comment, for one driver who caused such devastation and killed 8 teenage lives — is equivalent to vehicular manslaughter in your country?

• How can parent let kids under age 18 out on the road at very very late night and on modified bycycle some more!!!!!
          Please do not let your kids put danger to road user toooo ! Dosa tak jaga anak sendiri. Kecil macam ini, besar nanti macam mana!!!

Both party got responsibility but the parents responsibility is BIGGEST! Your small kids not suppose to be out ON ROAD in BYCYcLe!
          Please be reasonable !

• HKLim on Apr 16, 2022 at 10:10 am

Think the American Guy Aura89 does not understand Culture or Asian respect, all he know is Human Right, That is why America is what America is today. No respect for others only themselves. Everything they do is right other’s opinion is wrong, and want to exert their authority everywhere they go. Why parents should not be responsible for “Children’s behaviour”, they are young and will do things without the after thought of their action. Is that why in America children are allowed to take drugs because they like it or take guns and shoot the teaches and students because they want revenge. Look at America so many living on the streets, so many drug crimes, and so many killings. Hooray for America’s Human Rights, God Bless America

• 30 teenagers spectacle blocked the winding hilly, dark grove highway road and crashed downhill into Sam, who drove uphill within the speed limit from Pelangi to Skudai. Reaction time allowed only seconds, only superman can avoid the accident?
          The car was damaged more severely at driver side and overturn when it hit a roadside barrier. It indicated that the driver did tried to avoid, steer away and brake hard. As magistrate Siti Hajar Ali noted in her judgement back in 2019, Sam was driving responsibly and carefully within the road speed limit (MIROS).

• ? (Malaysia CHILD ACT No. 611,2001. PART V. CHAPTER 3. III. 31. (1)(a), (4), (5) (a)(b) and 33. (a)(b)(c). PART II.3. (2)(e).

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:37 pm

A victory for night-time “illegal driving stealth machines” next better U switch off headlamps at night – if others hit U is not your fault

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
      • English Teacher on Apr 14, 2022 at 9:42 am

Too many idiots here defending an idiot. Birds of a feather flock together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
      • Another Citizen on Apr 15, 2022 at 1:03 am

Victory when in fact 8 lives lost? Are you for real?

• Sad World on Apr 16, 2022 at 4:14 am

Ya right,so when eight person go playing on the top of the roof of a 100floors building and fell.We shall blame the building to be legally there and not the person who went and play up there.Ok,lesson learn

• 30 teenagers spectacle blocked the winding hilly, dark grove highway road, and crashed downhill into Sam, who drove uphill within the speed limit. Only superman can avoid the accident?

• Chong abdullah on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:39 pm

There will be no joke if 8 chinese boy die instead of malay boy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 53
      • oricon666 on Apr 13, 2022 at 10:12 pm

Here come the racist comment… Here we go again…. Since we are not talking about law anyway… Not even the judge…. So it begins…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Jimho on Apr 14, 2022 at 3:02 am

If it happened in Japan or Denmark (mostly of same race) the kids parents will be hauled up by police/courts; they’ll surely be punished for gross negligence of their young children lives. It’s just very wrong to let our children doing such dangerous, illegal ‘sport’ at such ungodly hour; they should had been sleeping already. Stop ur racist speech + attitude

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
        • Safety First on Apr 14, 2022 at 8:29 am

No such laws to haul up parents. Do show proof. There are laws at prohibiting parents from using discipline by force and limiting their children’s human rights, one such is freedom of gathering. Parents stopping their kids to gather at 3am is tantamount to violating their children’s rights and that is liable for jail time. Stop ur racist speech + attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
          • Copy Paste on Apr 14, 2022 at 10:45 am

Copy paste: “Please check Google StreetView. The gigantic 50 kph signboard in front of the Petronas station has been there since the first StreetView picture in 2013. The accident happened in 2017.

The accident site was not far from the Petronas station, after the 50 kph signboard.”

• Be rational on Apr 14, 2022 at 11:21 pm

No need to response to these kind of idiot comment. “Parents stopping their kids to gather at 3am is tantamount to violating their children’s rights and that is liable for jail time” what nonsense is that.
            I dun think u has any child, will u let ur child gather at 3am and doing dangerous act endanger himself and other person on the road.

• Casual reader on Apr 14, 2022 at 7:17 am

After reading a few comments i feel like hurling, literally onto my screen and figuratively onto malaysian society. I mean what is wrong with you peeps victim blaming the dead kids? If it was a cow there and she whack it are you peeps going to blame the cow for being there. Jeez!
        Whats with this defending the wrongdoers lately, SG pumpers of ron95, tesla driving without hands, and now killer woman driver. You peeps are fracking retards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 31
        • Annamalai on Apr 14, 2022 at 9:16 am

Off course, this was not a case during broad daylight.. if there is a doubt that the female driver was under the influence then by all means punish her. Kids of course the kids. Probably u have never driven in the grand saga highway on weekends whereby bikers race. Try it then complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
          • There is no doubt that driver was not under any influence as that is charged under driving while intoxicated. She was charged due to recklessness tho, sez so on the judgement. I driven on Kesas at any time even late nites, and seem plenty of idiotics but while harrowing I never been in an accident with them because I take precautions and they are not stupid, they will avoid me if I’m driving in a predictable and calm manner. Evidently she did not otherwise how can she managed to flip that car colliding with a bunch of bikers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • obama on Apr 14, 2022 at 10:30 am

we don’t blame cow. we blame the owner of the cow and why cow on the road in the first place? same goes to these kids. they are not suppose to be on the road at the late night. FYI most of basikal lajak dont have any break

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 15
          • Cows can be free ranged, it doesn’t mean there must be an owner. Please stop justifying the fault of that driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
          • Neutral on Apr 15, 2022 at 10:39 am

From reports, the car was damaged (n probably flipped) when it hit a roadside barrier.

• Neutral on Apr 15, 2022 at 10:44 am

From reports, the car was damaged (n probably flipped) when it hit a roadside barrier, not due to impact on the bikes.

• Retard smarter than you on Apr 14, 2022 at 10:36 am

Cows can’t be taught not to break the law and go on a highway. Can you teach kids not to do that? That’s why we have laws for humans, not for cows. While trying to escape a robber you accidentally mowed him down, who is the victim? Who is in the wrong in the first place? Looks like the retards are much smarter than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
          • Please show me which law says that kids cannot be on the road? Please show me which law disallowing road usage at 3am? Either show me or educate yourself first. One or the other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
          • https://www.mpbp.gov.my/sites/default/files/aktapengangkutanjalan.pdf. Undang-undang Malaysia Akta 333. 54 (3)(a)(b). Page 91.
            Pengangkutan Jalan 91 (a) jika ia suatu sabitan berkaitan dengan pemanduan suatu kenderaan motor, mana-mana sabitan dahulu menurut kuasa seksyen ini hendaklah tidak diambil kira; (b) jika ia suatu sabitan menurut kuasa seksyen ini, manamana sabitan dahulu berkaitan dengan pemanduan suatu kenderaan motor hendaklah tidak diambil kira.

• today you can see many videos in FB everywhere round regarding encounter of these monkey lajak. you will be surprise how close call it is and barely visible in the dark, it is almost impossible to evade as they don’t have lights and brakes. this is terrible trauma to the girl and to all of us drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
      • Riding without proper lighting to ensure they are visible, on they road for leisure and unsupervised under 18. While we road users need to go for undang-undang. The parents should deserve equal sentencing if at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Trauma? Why didn’t she thought about that when driving fast at 3am?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
        • Mike Tee on Apr 14, 2022 at 10:44 am

She was driving 75km/h (in forensics report) on the 90km/h speed limit JBIRR. She was not speeding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Copy Paste on Apr 14, 2022 at 1:17 pm

Copy paste: “Please check Google StreetView. The gigantic 50 kph signboard in front of the Petronas station has been there since the first StreetView picture in 2013. The accident happened in 2017.

The accident site was not far from the Petronas station, after the 50 kph signboard.”

• Why So Serious on Apr 14, 2022 at 3:12 am

#BrownLivesMatter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Sick & Tired on Apr 14, 2022 at 5:58 pm

Truly sad day in Malaysia to find so many supporting this woman WHO KILLED 8 LIVES. I’m speechless, its not the racism but the fact that heartless disregard for human lives lost. Are we seriously backsliding down to ‘might is right’? Where are your consciousness folks? In fact, where was HER consciousness?
      What next, is it okay for me to bear arms and shoot any of you pricks who drove into my lane without signaling? We are going to end up being Mad Max very soon if such mentalities are condoned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • Resident confirmed the accident spot is dark.
      https://www.youtube.com/clip/Ugkxvc74t8EughcaSd5S6c7X8bMrJByFFPYa.
      Muhammad Azlan 1 year ago. 2. kawasan situ memang agak gelap.

• v-tec fan on Apr 13, 2022 at 1:20 pm

facepalm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Putin and Co on Apr 13, 2022 at 1:21 pm

How come the magistrate court didnt get a solid conviction for this case,and discharged the accused?
    Why must it take The High Court to discover the lower court has erred?
    If the lower court has secured a firm conviction,the accused would have served most of her jail time by now.
    In other words,there is a lack of competency in the lower courts which is very glaring,do you forum readers agree with this layman’s understanding of the case.
    We are layman with no legal competency,but from the report ,something is very wrong somewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 24
    • Nizam on Apr 13, 2022 at 3:53 pm

To appeal to the decision we have to do at higher court

• Aikon on Apr 13, 2022 at 4:12 pm

The lack of competency is in the justice system…and the magistrate court did the right thing only for the case to be appealed over and brought to the high court. There is no justice. Yes something is very wrong indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • You think the high court judge made the right decision?

• Blade on Apr 13, 2022 at 1:23 pm

What ? An retrial make her jail for 6 years ? If i was her after 1st trial which pronounced her innocent, i should have made decision leaving Malaysia…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 5
  • Bob Mal on Apr 13, 2022 at 1:23 pm

What is driving carefully/vigilantly means??? Do we have a different speed limit driving in the day and another at night then?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
    • Danny on Apr 14, 2022 at 1:33 am

If you drive to a point that you’re unable to control your car, then you are at fault, even if you were driving way under the speed limit.

For example: You’re driving at 80 km/h on PLUS highway during a heavy rain behind a car that is going slightly faster than you. The car in front of you suddenly brakes and you brake your car as well but it skids and rear ended the car in front. You’re at fault for driving recklessly that you can’t control your vehicle despite maintaing your speed below speed limit.

In this case, she managed to mow down eight lives, all kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
      • yenny on Apr 14, 2022 at 6:39 am

i dont get it. octopus are more intelligent than those kids yet we have no issue killing and eating them

• seancorr on Apr 13, 2022 at 1:31 pm

So the parents of those kids were not reprimanded for allowing their kids to ride dangerously on the road at that time of the night?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 5
    • Kariayam on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:39 pm

People with low IQ shouldn’t be allowed to have kids.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
  • Malaysian Law System on Apr 13, 2022 at 1:46 pm

Very easy solution. Just appeal again to high court until acquitted again lar. Since its the monkeys and frogs that we are dealing with now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
    • They will appeal. The key is that the High Court is not allowing a stay of execution, meaning that she’ll have to go to jail for now even if the appeal succeeds.

• Mr Fakta on Apr 13, 2022 at 1:52 pm

It was a dark day for all drivers, may the judge suffers the same fate as this poor girl.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 14
  • Unfortunately the laws in Malaysia is not equal for 2 wheeler vs 4 wheeler. The laws here will always favors the 2 wheelers, even though they are wrong.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 7
  • This is why Malaysia is in top 10 for the most stressful country to drive. With cyclist and motorcyclist driving recklessly, those who drive cars naturally stressed and with broken insurance system, those on 2 wheels are just abusing the insurance claim system. No offense, but it is the truth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 6
  • swaik on Apr 13, 2022 at 2:10 pm

Is the law protecting and indirectly encouraging kids to ride bicycles on highways at the odd hours of the morning?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 4
  • I do not have the exact facts of the case. But it should be quite straighforward: did she drive in a negligent manner or not? If she was not speeding, not texting, not intoxicated, and not otherwise distracted, then she was not negligent.

The bicycles should not be on the highway in the first place so if no reasonable person could have stopped on time driving in a normal way, then she should not be negligent. Simple as that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 7
    • Kangaroo on Apr 13, 2022 at 5:02 pm

Must prove intent to kill. If not, acquit her.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Random law student on Apr 16, 2022 at 12:22 am

The element of Intent to kill is only needed to be proved for murder cases. This is a potential manslaughter case and to see whether she’s guilty or not we look at whether she’s being negligent or not. Intent is not an issue

• Quinn on Apr 16, 2022 at 12:27 am

The element of Intent to kill is only needed to be proved for murder cases. This is a potential manslaughter case and to see whether she’s guilty or not we look at whether she’s being negligent or not. Intent is not an issue

• Since you might not be familiar with JB, while many who are familiar with JB never drive below the speed limit….

Inner ring road is NOT a highway. It has multiple lanes, but the maximum speed of that stretch of the road is 50 kph. In fact, any place along inner ring road, if you drive beyond 50, perhaps you are overly confident like her. If a driver cannot stop safety from maximum 50 kph, something is wrong. Either she was like many others who drive over the speed limit, or she is not competent enough.

Do people agree with me now that the “beta” autonomous vehicles are better than “production” drivers here? At least autonomous vehicles read road signs, while humans treat them as decorations….

See how many down votes I will get this time, for telling the truth that many prefer to ignore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 59
      • Yes am not familiar with Johor.. just from Wikipedia though, isn’t the speed limit 90km/h at the inner ring road? Not sure which particular section this is

• The gang should not be on the road at the first place. In fact, their parents should pay the lady the repair fee and mental fee caused by the brainless act . To those gang cyclist on the road, if you want to suicide go somewhere else. Karma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • SmartTess on Apr 13, 2022 at 11:00 pm

The speed limit in that area was brought down to an unrealistic 50kmh as a reaction to the accident.

• Please check Google StreetView. The gigantic 50 kph signboard in front of the Petronas station has been there since the first StreetView picture in 2013. The accident happened in 2017.

The accident site was not far from the Petronas station, after the 50 kph signboard.

• Panjang on Apr 14, 2022 at 6:13 am

Well, any court does not apply ‘should’ this or ‘should’ that. Its based on whatever fact there are available.

What can be confirmed is 8 lives were lost. Without going through the case verdict document we can all just speculate. As far as the public knowledge, she is not proven to be drunk, using mobile device, etc during the accident. She is only proven to be reckless. I wonder how the court come to that conclusion.

The accused must file an appeal to mahkamah rayuan and if that fails, to mahkamah persekutuan. Personally for me, this is just another road accident. After all, we dont leave our house unlock when we go out even we know we have our neighbour and pdrm, we dont simply leaves our personal belonging around when we are at public space just because we want to go to the toilet, we dont leave our kids roaming during odd hours even though we know they will usually come back.

The accused might be free from all charges if she got the right lawyer. However, she wont recover from the mental side of things she endure during this event.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Specialist on Apr 14, 2022 at 1:27 pm

Maybe the driver is not texting, etc, but failed to stop timely in the event of abnormalities can also be a form of negligence.
      6 years jail probably not due to fully responsible for the death but partly blamed for it. Judge make the call based on reasonableness of the driver effort and conditions.

• In the west, the parents would be jailed for child negligence. Full stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • In the West, snuffing out 8 lives meant an automatic life in jail sentence without parole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • kadajawi on Apr 14, 2022 at 4:04 pm

Coming from the Germany… nope. I’d expect a year in prison, which means the time doesn’t have to be served.

• Wtf. It makes zero sense at all. All these mosquito bikers illegally riding, gathering at dark places. And yet, drivers are charged. Senseless. Sooner or later, we can see more of these on the road, on the highway, cause they know they are above all the other drivers on the road. Stupid

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
  • Jokers on Apr 13, 2022 at 5:54 pm

After this all kids will freely use the road and highway for their use. And, drivers like us will be sent to jail. What a joke!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Chong abdullah on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:33 pm

What a sick human typing in the comment.. How about 8 kids who die.. Imagine that’s your kids.. Wth wrong with u guys here.. No sympathy at all for those kids.. Because malay kids right? If chinese kids u guys will said.. Justice well done.. Sick

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 179 Thumb down 138
    • Mr Fakta on Apr 13, 2022 at 7:35 pm

If it’s my kid, I’ll be sad but I’ll blame myself for not taking care of and teaching them, for letting them do illegal stuff. If your kid robbed a bank and killed by a police, will you blame the police? They play a dangerous game and lost their life, that’s all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 2
      • Amran on Apr 14, 2022 at 2:57 am

Stop blaming the victims. That woman didn’t die, it was the poor kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
        • Ambulance on Apr 15, 2022 at 8:40 pm

Why dun u change the woman with ambulance van with patient on it…

• Fantasy on Apr 13, 2022 at 7:40 pm

How about if your kid drive follow the speed limit, no drink, no use phone and wear seat belt in highway in the dark, then hit those kids because they lanjak in the highway in the dark.

Then judge give your kid 8 years of jail although your kid follow all the laws and did nothing wrong?

You only think about the 8 kids, do you think for the driver who in the first hand do nothing wrong? She is also the children of another parents.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • Ethan on Apr 13, 2022 at 8:29 pm

This is the stupidest comment I’ve seen here so far. The race doesn’t matter. Stupid people do suicidal things and die shouldn’t blame others. If 8 people go skydiving and they refuse to pull their parachute and die, so the plane pilot should get blamed? If it was 8 Chinese kids she should go scot free because she has not been negligent either. Doesn’t matter what race. This whole issue has been politicized because the kids are Malay and the people there refuse to accept that the kids did something incredibly stupid so they shift the blame to someone else.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
    • In the first place why parents ignore their children and directly place their children in danger at all time and not realised that they are actually the master mind of the insident. Is this the way to show that they love their children? Why are we always blame others infact we are the cause of the action. A lots of times, we neglected our own responsibility because we fear of shouldering it when needed. I can understand the fear and weakness from the inside of you. Common Mistakes of human being when facing unbearable pressure they just want to poke holes on the balloon to release pressure.

• Peh Eng Kean on Apr 13, 2022 at 11:15 pm

Why turn this to racial issue?

• Sorry won’t happen because I won’t let my kid ride bicycle on the road with card during midnight. I have a brain

• Norlia on Apr 14, 2022 at 2:51 am

Fully support. Best comment here. If it were from their community they would have demanded for a public hanging & mob lynching.

• Justice for all on Dec 11, 2022 at 5:33 am

Driver 6 yrs on jail, parents 6 yrs in jail too for negligence in kids upbringing causing their death. What parents don’t take precaution to prevent kids stealing out of house at 3am in the morning or did not come home past midnight? Both driver and kids parents serve jail sentence.

• Ahmad on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:39 pm

Cycling at 3 am.. hmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Un-f*cking-belieavable. My jaw dropped. Is there justice in Malaysia or not? In Malaysia 2-wheelers are alright “right” while 4-wheelers are not. Imagine you were in her place, do you think you would have had that same accident? I think very likely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • wolveray on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:45 pm

are you fu.k..g kidfing here..
    8 young boys have died and some of here want to defend this women.What kind of driveng that kill 8 person.You are driving at night in hilly area ,i’m sure speed limit will be low and yet yet you can’t stop your car and kill 2 groups of kifs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 106
    • Do you know how the teens rode their bikes? They were not riding normally but sat on the bike seats with their arms behind their back and legs In the air like a superman. So who actually were riding recklessly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Melvin on Apr 13, 2022 at 8:55 pm

No one will know how she drove.. she could be innocent or guilty… what we know is kids should not be there at 3am. Losing a child is unbearable to parents but they should be punished for negligence… fail to protect their children.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • IGP mom on Apr 13, 2022 at 8:56 pm

Dude, the so-called 8 kids were riding basikal lanjak with no brakes, having fun at 3am on the road. Tell me which one of the kids were school top exemplary students, or drop-out materials? Just ask yourself, have you ride a brakeless bike 3am in the morning in a badly lit hill road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Kayla on Apr 13, 2022 at 9:14 pm

Please imagine if you are driver. Driving at standard speed. But suddenly pop out 8 riders there. Are you on time to stop it?

• Safety First on Apr 14, 2022 at 8:11 am

No way a standard speed car could turn turtle like that in the header pic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Do yr research, dont be lazy on Apr 14, 2022 at 4:30 pm

Seriously people have no idea why the car was upside down? Do some research before saying that.. Geezzz

• Forza on Apr 14, 2022 at 8:55 pm

Not 8 but 16 kids. 8 died, another 8 injured. Imagine 16 kids on the road at 3:20am suddenly appear zooming at you, how would you respond?

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:53 pm

dark day for malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Andrekua on Apr 13, 2022 at 7:23 pm

This is politic, not laws. It smells just like LowYat2.0 all over. Thanks the voters for voting The Fallen to govern again. The timing is coincidence with their recent rise in state elections.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • In the first place why parents ignore their children and directly place their children in danger at all time and not realised that they are actually the master mind of the insident. Is this the way to show that they love their children? Why are we always blame others infact we are the cause of the action. A lots of times, we neglected our own responsibility because we fear of shouldering it when needed. I can understand the fear and weakness from the inside of you. Common Mistakes of human being when facing unbearable pressure they just want to poke holes on the balloon to release pressure.

• Melvin on Apr 13, 2022 at 8:57 pm

No one will know how she drove.. she could be innocent or guilty… what we know is kids should not be there at 3am. Losing a child is unbearable to parents but they should be punished for negligence… fail to protect their children.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Yes, she could be drunk or on drugs, but it’s still not her fault that things/animal that aren’t supposed to be on the road is.

• VW AEB on Apr 13, 2022 at 10:17 pm

That’s why AEB with pedestrians detection is so important. It can save you the time and money, damn those kids.

• Out of here on Apr 13, 2022 at 10:19 pm

Did the magistrate get her qualifications from a cereal box?

• Out of here on Apr 13, 2022 at 10:21 pm

Bulan Ramadan, the kids parents should take responsibility. Dosa tau

• Riding without proper lighting to ensure they are visible, on they road for leisure and unsupervised under 18. While we road users need to go for undang-undang. The parents should deserve equal sentencing if at all.

• Where is the Justice on Apr 13, 2022 at 11:29 pm

Where is the justice, this kids were racing illegally with modified so call lajak bicycle with no brakes on a dark hill slop road at 3.20am in wee hours of the morning. The parents should go to jail for negligence as they are responsible for contributing to this unfortunate incident, take a look at the video below, imagine if the myvi had hit all those kids, are we going to jail the driver !!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RkmQ1t_JOY&t=14s

• Specialist on Apr 14, 2022 at 1:36 pm

The Myvi stopped on time right? So, the driver is alert and responsive. Even though the basikal lajak at fault, the driver didn’t run them over like trash.

See the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • kadajawi on Apr 14, 2022 at 4:10 pm

The Myvi was driving maybe 20 at a crossing where you expect shit to happen and could not stop in time. He was right in between the bikes when he got to a stop, he was just lucky the kids evaded him. At 50 there would have been no chance he could have stopped. Her driving 75 didn’t help, of course, but those kids are to be blamed at least as much. The sentence is way too harsh.

• Truckers on Apr 15, 2022 at 8:29 am

Driving at 75 on a 50kmph stretch, she is defo going way too fast to react properly.

• what a jokes, full of street light..
    with that damages can forsee a full speed vehicle.
    8 kids die that days..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Danezo on Apr 14, 2022 at 12:56 am

These kids died for absolute fucks, parents breed so much to the point they can’t care also of one cycles downhill passed midnight and dies.

• Hok hok on Apr 14, 2022 at 3:05 am

Malaysian Judge is brain-dead

• Bobby Chew on Apr 14, 2022 at 7:26 am

The article did not explain how it actually happened? Was the driver speeding? The teenage gang stayed up till 3 am is all that we know. Still, this seen so strange got acquitted the first 2 times, now the driver is in jail for 6 years.

• landan on Apr 14, 2022 at 8:44 am

How could she hit the entire group? This is 8 lives we are talking about, her driving competency, speed limit adherence and sobriety was definitely in doubt. Yes, the kids were also at fault but I believe there was negligence on her part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • I think there were more than 8 cyclists without lights that charged out onto her rightaway. Do you think you will be able to swerve and change direction immediately to avoid the charging cyclists?

• Annamalai on Apr 14, 2022 at 9:18 am

There are many empty roads to race on. By all means race as the malaysian defenders will reward the bikers and cyclist who race.. total system failure from top to bottom

• Steen Tan on Apr 14, 2022 at 9:49 am

Parents should fully responsible and don’t try to blame other. parents should not allow his children go out during night. is really unfair

• pengguna ploton kecewa on Apr 14, 2022 at 10:49 am

6 Years sentence is not enough! 8 beautiful souls had gone because of speeding in the dark. She deserves a higher sentence w/out possibility of parole!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
    • Aikon on Apr 14, 2022 at 2:24 pm

Beautiful souls? Are you absolutely sure? They could be delinquents. Beautiful souls are those who respect their parents. In bed on time and not running WILD at 3am on public roads, racing bicycles. Beautiful souls study hard and get good grades so that one day, they can improve the lot of their family.

Beautiful souls? Think again! And think logically and rationally. NOT emotionally.

• The parents of the dead kids should come to terms with themselves that they have let their kids down.

• bothpay on Apr 14, 2022 at 12:30 pm

parents pay thier price not teaching thier kids correctly and had them die due to this type of incident.
    the driver on the other hand got to admit to her mistake by mowing down 8 kids, the one driving had great responsibility, so it already considered lucky she was not charged then.

• Malaysia for Malaysian on Apr 14, 2022 at 12:31 pm

Parents to take part of the blame (below 18 years old out in middle of road at 3am?).
    The car driver responsible too but not the 6 years jail term.

As usual, the people in power will rather try to please the 8 families instead of just 1 families & politized it fully ot earn & garner more for support in coming GE.

BTW, car pay road tax & insurance, whereas bicycle no road tax & insurance.

The rear of lajak bike no reflective & no rear or front light at all to make it lightest as possible to for them to go even faster. Not wearing helmet or any safety protection used at all, worst being in the middle of a dark road at 3am in the morning.

• Philip on Apr 14, 2022 at 2:46 pm

For those who are accusing the lady for reckless driving, just imagine if you are the lady, you are turning into a corner and suddenly 8 kids cycling in the middle of the road at 3am, and some more they are cycling in the opposite direction, you can really expect you can brake and evade all those kids?

For those who are talking nonsense, I really hope the same scenario happen on you and see what you are talking.

If the lady is sentenced for jail for 6 years, do sentence the parents as well for negligence of taking care of the kids.

• Specialist on Apr 14, 2022 at 4:18 pm

On the extreme opposite scenario, what if one day your kid run cross the road for no reason and a car driver run over your child like trash.
      Then the driver come out and say to you, “Why you are so negligent in taking care of your child?”. The driver went free.

If this scenario happen on you, see what you are talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Fantay on Apr 15, 2022 at 1:30 am

I’ll admit my negligent for not taking care of my child. I mean if my child alone or with 7 others kids crossing highway at 3am in the dark, who am I to blame?

I dont even dare to cross highway on the day, nonetheless at 3am and with a moving bike without brake.

• Sick & Tired on Apr 14, 2022 at 6:12 pm

In driving school we all learn the 3 second rule. 3 secs to look right, left, right, before turning. 3 secs gap between you and the car ahead. During night, one should double that time but the same rule applies. Every driver must be aware of their surroundings and make enough space for reaction time in case something goes wrong up ahead. When you do not make such allowances, you are driving reckless regardless if it lead to an accident or not.

With that in mind, I hope you change your mindset. If you still think that is nonsense, I hope to God you never have to go thru the anguish of those parents who lost their children.

6 years in jail is very light, that is less than 1 year in prison for each of those lost lives. A certain embezzlement conviction got far heavier sentence, and mind you that did not kill anyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Train enthusiast on Apr 14, 2022 at 9:16 pm

Totally agree.

Hypothetically, knowing that there will be kids playing around train tracks as well, trains traveling at night and wherever the tracks has bends, surely must drive at 35kmph or lesser. The train is definitely too massive That I feel even 35 kmph is too fast.

Anyways, definitely must make it a national standard for trains too. I’ll definitely jail all the train drivers who don’t observe this ruling.

High speed rail is definitely a no no. Just who has this dangerous idea. Kids life is at stake. Please get all the gov officials to consider properly. Even the thought of normal trains traveling at such speeds is scary.

• Forza on Apr 14, 2022 at 9:10 pm

There were 16 lajak kids on that day, 8 dead, 8 injured. Try to avoid 16 kids zooming at you at 3:20am….

• Francis on Apr 14, 2022 at 3:52 pm

Seems that the “someone” is implying that illegal mod, racing and hanging around in the middle of night given a “priority” over to obeying rules and laws.

Probably no need to wait for light, keeping to speed limit, no mobile driving and etc.

• Darren on Apr 15, 2022 at 8:31 am

Going over the speed limit & driving recklessly is NOT obeying rules and laws dude. Not in any country and certainly not here.

• A sad day for justice on Apr 14, 2022 at 4:19 pm

Have you ever experienced these riders at night? They almost appear out of nowhere. As a motorist, I do not expect a bunch of kids to be riding at 5kmph on the road in the middle of the night. A truck would’ve killed 20 of them. It’s really unexpected.

Our roads supposed to be a safe place for motorist. That’s why we penalize dangerous drivers. Because they are a threat to other drivers. So these kids are actually a threat to drivers.

Putting yourself in danger and now you blame the other person that something bad actually happened. Thankfully the driver was unscathed from this. Imagine if she broke her neck after her car turned turtle. Would you all still blame her?

• ROADforSharing on Apr 14, 2022 at 4:44 pm

All this girl driver need to do is to be aware of her surrounding when driving at 3am and reduce speed at the first instance of hazard on the road. Reduce speed and pass by the kids or any bicycle slowly. That way 8 kids and her will be able to go home safely. Unfortunately she did not do so and I am sure most Malaysian drivers KL and JB will be the same and speed past hazard on the road. Remember we have the highest accident death rate in the world not because of bicycle lajak but driver such as her.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Forza on Apr 14, 2022 at 9:15 pm

Easier than done… have you tried to evade a road with 16 lajaks occupying the road and riding at full speed? She did try to evade and resulted in 8 dead and 8 injured, and her own car turned turtle

• SLowdownlah on Apr 14, 2022 at 5:00 pm

there is 20km/j, 25 km/j 30km/j 35km/j……. and so on and so forth, there is brakes as well and gear, why must driver drive at only 80km/j and above and not using brakes to slow down. Malaysian driver on four wheels are non thinking driver. Highest road death in the world is not because of bicycle lajak

• High Mentality Citizen on Apr 14, 2022 at 5:06 pm

Acquitted twice only to be sentenced again just to please the lower mentality kampung people that can’t accept this wasn’t even her fault. What a joke. I hope this lady gets her freedom back instead of suffering over someone else’s mistake.

• Another Citizen on Apr 15, 2022 at 1:00 am

People keep on saying she was a competent driver, didnt use her phone etc. Facts: Car total lost (see pic) and there is no way to verify she wasnt using her phone/distracted when she ploughed through the group of lajak kids. Langgar tetap langgar. Really worrisome lots of people here think she is free from any blame for this. From the pics of the crash site, the roads appear to be well lit. Not sure about dark road as being mentioned time and time again. Smh

• If you want to prevent recurrence, find out the root cause. If you want to blame the driver, if the kids were not there where they were supposed to be, even she is dtunked, she took drug, she could bang the road dive, sgmhe could bang the tree, she could bang anything but how could she bang those kids? Use your brain. Kids wrong at the first place but u go n blame tge driver. You will only feel the pain if you are tge driver. There is always easy use your mouth to say something irresponsible!

• Highway nightmare on Apr 15, 2022 at 11:11 am

I feel very strongly for this innocent motorist. I have experienced similar situations many times on the roads after midnight while on my way home from
    work. The mat rempits were racing, weaving their way through traffic and doing their daredevil stunts. I was just so traumatised trying to avoid them. I can imagine the panic this poor young woman went through. And to be jailed for the folly of these teens and their parents, it’s a great injustice. It could be you or me going to jail one of these days.

• Khim Tan lay khim on Apr 15, 2022 at 7:03 pm

Is this photo the actual scene? Otherwise plz don’t mislead

• random on Apr 15, 2022 at 7:28 pm

i completely blame the parents for being so reckless and for not teaching them , the parents should have gone to jail not sam .

• J. D. Lovrenciear on Apr 16, 2022 at 9:45 am

I nearly fell off my chair reading your write-up which appears very safe within the barricades of ‘political correctness’ if not a fear of upsetting the power corridors. This is the state of our beingness in the country. Fear. Fear of walking on the wrong side of the divide. Cautious about walking the tightrope of self-censorship. This case brings to the table all the right reasons to debate about what really is ‘contempt of court’. It also reminds us of the real effects of controlled media and laws that manage freedom of expression. And critically the need to re-appraise our country’s social rot.

• HKLim on Apr 16, 2022 at 10:26 am

Safety First, in a way agree that the driver have to take responsibility but the sentence is too hush. The Law could have fine her a minimum amount and a suspended jail sentence because she has gone through many tramas over the 5 years, that said the main culprit who caused the accident were the children. One the bicycles were modified, no lights and no brakes which is against the law, second the children were without the necessary protective gears, third children as minors are not allowed to cycle on the Highway, forth is there no law to prevent children from being out of the house on their own at wee hours of the night? Why are the parents not charged. There have been many cases where a child slips and fall from a apartment building and dies. The parents are charged with negligence here too should be the same. Otherwise the children will continue to do the same and withou care, just waiting for the same thing to happen again. The Ministry responsible should propose an amendment. God Bless

• Pepeff on Apr 16, 2022 at 1:25 pm

Future foresights to be included in the judgement. Therefore parents are guilty and to be charged for negligence as deterrent not only on such stunts by children but also on possible influence of ganja/drugs or bad hats. Parents to call the police for assistance if children are out at certain hours

• Saa @ Sa ak Tawi on Apr 16, 2022 at 9:01 pm

The judgement was reckless driving..what are the “beyond reasonable doubts”..?

• Mak Bapak yang membiarkan Anak nya Mabuk/Ecstasy/Ribena/Ketamin pun perlu diambil tindakan kerana membiar anak nya mabuk/pening sehingga membawa kenderaan dengan kemabukkan/kepeningan yang melampau, memandu lawan arus, terhoyang – hayang dan melanggar penguna jalan raya lain sehingga menyebabkan KEMATIAN…..
    Malah STATISTIK Ibubapa yang membiarkan ANAK mereka MABUK / KEPENINGAN dan memandu dalam KEMABUKKAN/PENGARUH SUBSTANCE adalah lagi TINGGI…
    Melibatkan/Fataliti KEMATIAN di langgar di Pemandu MABUK/KEPENINGAN juga TINGGI sepatutnya IBUBAPA mereka pun patut di dakwa kerana membiarkan anak mereka MABUK/KEPENINGAN tanpa pengawasan….dan berlibur hingga ke pagi buta di Kelab Malam dan Disko2…
    Pantaulah Aktiviti Anak anda….

#ParentsShouldBePunishForLettingTheirSonOrDaughterDRUNKandTakingDrugs

• Only God know on Apr 19, 2022 at 3:22 am

If see clearly from the accident site, If the mat lajak team is racing at that moment and going downhill, it would have exceeded 50km/h for the team easily. So it is not a common sense for the car driver that driving at “50km/h” to have collided with them and create such a mess at the scene. I suspect that the lady is driving her car at over 100km/h to have cause such a mess with strong impact. Unluckily we can’t prove that the lady is driving very fast at that time because there is no black box in the car that record speed, and there is no speed trap camera in vicinity to proof that she is driving very fast, and she didn’t install any dashcam in her car to record every detail. I think lack of evidence will jeapardise the case. Only God know who is right and wrong and who is lying.