Perodua Ativa Hybrid subscription plan launched – 300 units CBU Rocky Hybrid, RM500 per month for 5 years

It was confirmed last month, and Perodua has now officially launched the Ativa Hybrid subscription programme. The company is branding it as an ‘electric vehicle study’ as well as a ‘long-term mobility as a service market study’ involving 300 subscribers. Did they say EV? Hybrid is the first step in Perodua’s electrification journey.

There are two things that the Malaysian market leader is studying here. The first is to understand group driving behaviour of a hybrid vehicle in populated locations, namely in the Klang Valley, Penang and Johor Bahru. These three urban areas account for 60% of Perodua sales, with the Klang Valley alone contributing 40%.

The other study is to understand consumer acceptance of a five-year subscription service, which Perodua is already offering to corporate clients under its EZ MOBi fleet arm, launched in January 2021.

“The Perodua Ativa Hybrid would be the best vehicle for us to gain unique insights on Malaysian behaviour as a controlled group, as this data will be used to anticipate our customers’ needs when using an electric vehicle,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

He was said at today’s event, which was also attended by MITI secretary general Datuk Seri Lokman Hakim Ali, Perodua chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin and Daihatsu Motor Co chairman Sunao Matsubayashi.

Zainal said that this pilot programme will also allow Perodua to gauge the acceptance level of customers on a long-term subscription programme as an alternative to the traditional method of buying, owning and selling cars.

“While we believe that vehicle ownership will still be our bread and butter; there is a possibility that a vehicle subscription business model may be acceptable for more users in the near future. This is what we mean by ‘subscription’ – a service where all other obligations of owning a vehicle – such as following a service schedule, paying vehicle insurance and paying road tax – will be managed entirely by us; all the customer has to do is pay a subscription fee to enjoy the package,” he explained.

That’s right. The programme participants need to pay an upfront payment of RM2,150 (includes refundable three months safety deposit, the first month fee and stamp duty) followed by a monthly subscription fee of RM500 for the next five years. Maintenance (including wear and tear items), insurance and road tax will be covered by Perodua, as the Ativa Hybrids are registered under the company, not in the name of the customers. This CBU Japan import is not for sale.

It is a five-year commitment and the mileage cap over the period is 100,000 km, which averages to 20,000 km a year or 1,666 km a month. At the end of the tenure, the total amount paid to Perodua would be RM30,150. Participants will have to return the car to Perodua after five years. By the way, all 300 units are in Pearl White without the black roof – there’s no other colour option.

Sounds like a good deal? Now RM500 a month sounds low, especially when it includes all miscellaneous costs; on the flipside, someone buying a car via the traditional method will have a car to sell after five years, and P2 residuals are pretty good. Good or bad depends on how you view cars and car ownership.

By the way, to get an Ativa AV’s conventional hire purchase loan monthly instalment to around RM500, you’ll need a downpayment of RM45,000 (five years, 2.5% interest rate, RM525 monthly). Not like anyone is going to do this, but just to give you an idea. One more point: leasing means you’re not taking a loan from a bank, and this means that your CCRIS and financial records are unaffected by the car, freeing up space in your debt service ratio.

As mentioned, this is a study and not a typical, purely commercial lease/subscription programme (Renault is one of the pioneers of this business model locally – more on how car subscription works here), participants will have to agree to having a GPS telematics system fitted in the car. This is so that P2 can study driving and usage patterns. The customer will also need to submit regular reports to Perodua, currently scheduled at once every three months.

Daihatsu Rocky e:Smart Hybrid system

As for the car itself, it’s straightforward. This is a CBU Daihatsu Rocky Hybrid, just with Perodua badging on the front, rear (P2 and Ativa) and steering wheel. The Perodua emblems and the Ativa wordmark are fitted on Malaysia-bound cars in Japan. There’s no ‘T’ badge on the tailgate and the number plate cutouts are smaller – JDM square.

Launched in its home market in November 2021, the Rocky e-Smart Hybrid is powered by a 106 PS/170 Nm electric motor (Ativa 1.0T has 98 PS/140 Nm), with a 1.2 litre WA-VEX Atkinson-cycle three-cylinder naturally aspirated engine with 82 PS/105 Nm acting purely acts as a generator for the hybrid battery. The e-motor powers the wheels via an HEV transaxle, which means that this series hybrid model works somewhat like a range extender electric vehicle, like Nissan’s e-Power system.

The JDM Rocky e-Smart Hybrid is very similar to the the ICE-powered Ativa from the outside, save for a Rocky-specific grille and more vertical front/rear bumpers (which makes overall length marginally shorter), JDM side mirrors (body coloured, smaller, left side has extra curb-view mirror), 17-inch two-tone wheels in a different (and more dynamic) design plus eco tyres (Dunlop Enasave).

Perodua Ativa AV (left), Perodua Ativa Hybrid (right)

By the way, the wheels have five lugs (Ativa has four, P2 says that more lugs are better for heavier cars) and the tyres are narrower – 195/60 vs Ativa’s 205/60. As is typical for hybrids, there’s no full size spare here, just a tyre repair kit. The Rocky’s tailgate is plastic. This is not unusual, but car companies typically change the hatch to metal for the Malaysian market.

Inside the familiar dashboard, the Daihatsu features its own AC control panel (with auto function but without P2’s signature memory buttons), a blue push start button and an electronic parking brake switch with auto brake hold – the latter recently made its Perodua debut on the Alza AV. But unlike in the top Alza, this high centre console incorporates two cupholders between the EPB and armrest. The original Japanese head unit has been swapped for a local Ativa unit, and there are no audio steering buttons.

The hybrid also features an available Smart Pedal function for one-pedal driving (S-PDL button below the driver’s AC vent), with regeneration and “engine braking” in place of stepping on the brakes. Lastly, the JDM suspension is 15 mm lower than the regular Ativa’s, and should be softer sprung as well.

Perodua Ativa AV (left), Perodua Ativa Hybrid (right)

The Rocky’s claimed fuel consumption is 3.6 litres per 100 km on the WLTP cycle, which is 27.8 km/l. Perodua says that the Ativa Hybrid is capable of 31.3 km/l in the Malaysian Driving Cycle, which is supposed to reflect local driving conditions. They add that at the current RON 95 price, a journey from KL to Penang (358 km) can cost as low as RM23 in fuel.

So, what do you think of the Ativa Hybrid and this subscription deal? Good deal or you’re better off just buying the turbo-powered regular Ativa? In any case, P2 received 600 applications for the plan and all 300 cars are already spoken for.

GALLERY: JDM Daihatsu Rocky e:Smart Hybrid

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• FudgeMeSideways on Sep 26, 2022 at 3:32 pm

As one of two national car manufacturer, you can do better than that, Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • Takpayah pikir , taknak pening. Beli je P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 27, 2022 at 7:30 am

My wife interested to subscribe one
        RM700 worthy for a Ativa HYBRID
        At least don’t need to worry RV

• Manifesto Dicapati on Sep 27, 2022 at 6:51 pm

Pening tunggu 10 bulan maseh xdpt keta, apamcm?

• driver5 on Sep 26, 2022 at 7:17 pm

True. Taking others data and ask them to pay some more.. the value of the data outweighs the rest. It should be the other way round: P2 pays participants for surrendering their data.

People are so clueless of how precious their data and privacy are.. sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Toyota makes crap EV and market knows it that is why they dare not sell in home country Japan but only do leasing service. Equally same with Perodua, using crap EV from Toyota so they cannot fool customers. As stated, these are CBU so not even passed Perodua assembly plant just a badge job like old Nautica.

Ironically these could well be the best made Ativas on the road!

• Is the subscription now open for all or still limited to those who booked the Ativa?

• As stated clearly in the article above, the 300 units are all fully taken and accounted for (out of the 600 applications). So nope, registration is already closed.

• OK so how do i sign up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • toyota supreme master race on Sep 26, 2022 at 4:10 pm

i wonder how daihatsu and toyota feel when perodua degrades their work in developing these supremely reliable hybrid systems by pussyfooting around it and insisting that a leasing test model is needed before it decides to properly sell it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • daihatsubabe on Sep 27, 2022 at 11:56 am

If you read the article properly, it is already mentioned WHY P2 needs to test the car here locally. Its not testing the hybrid car per se, but P2 needs to know how they can build their service network around the needs of hybrid users in the future.

• Myvi user on Sep 28, 2022 at 1:28 am

It’s not EV. No need service network. P2 is just talking crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Lawrence on Sep 26, 2022 at 4:29 pm

How do we sign up for this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Iskandar HIdayat on Sep 26, 2022 at 4:45 pm

Subscription to a company.. Hurmm..

No worries individual users. For sure this car will go to S0Car stable very soon. Believe me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • mustakym on Sep 27, 2022 at 8:10 am

I Dont believe you. One of my friends got the subscription offer from P2.

• Lim WC on Sep 26, 2022 at 5:29 pm

What are the preset wualification to lease?

• Ground europe passenger on Sep 26, 2022 at 5:31 pm

rm32k like a good deal. If let say u buy a “ordinary” ativa rm75k with 90% 5 years bank loan. After 5 years your car value left 60%, u’ve already burned off +-rm40k.

• Ground europe passenger on Sep 26, 2022 at 5:47 pm

…And the best part is No eco idle function replaced by daihatsu s-pdl.

• ecomyhead on Sep 28, 2022 at 8:16 pm

amen to that. i really disappointed the eco idle on p2 cars

• dellen on Sep 26, 2022 at 5:59 pm

keep a close eye on this, because what we are looking at is actually the next generation Toyota Vios Hybrid.

• Dissapointing on Sep 26, 2022 at 8:16 pm

Very dissapointing. Could have brought in the real Japanese import with android auto and apple carplay but we get the rubbish malaysian head unit from a crony company instead. Wonder what else P2 took out from the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • cronyHU on Sep 27, 2022 at 3:16 pm

yea, honestly that HU is so degrading to the car overall. this is like someone wearing expensive suits and tie, but in the end pairs everything with a cheap phua chu-kang rubber shoe. dont make sense at all. The Ativa looks so handsome except for that HU which is SO clearly off brand and cheap quality. Not to mention that UI of the HU is so horrible looking.

• hufan on Oct 01, 2022 at 11:16 am

if u visit ativa owner clubs and forums, many owners replaced their HU almost instantly. goes to show how poor the original HU is… p2 are u listening?

• ihv2agree on Oct 06, 2022 at 1:34 pm

I agree with U. the user interface of these HU are so bad. Imaging while driving a car, the driver needs to scroll and scroll and scroll to locate something. Why not just make them all HUGE icons instead? why need to scroll? This is not a tablet for home user, this is for a car driver to use WHILE driving a car.

• FrankC on Sep 26, 2022 at 8:39 pm

Good deal for us who can’t hv phev

• Azrul on Sep 26, 2022 at 9:26 pm

How do i sign up?

• Not bad, but the mileage cap ☹️

If no mileage cap then can subscribe to test it out

• Justaguy on Sep 26, 2022 at 10:10 pm

What is there to “study” ? It’s just a SUV with a (not even plug-in) hybrid drivetrain. Even the outdated X-Trail offers hybrid. Driver usage pattern will be identical to regular Ativa.

Why not “study” a proper EV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • AppleTree on Sep 27, 2022 at 11:27 am

Study the leasing model. The world is moving towards service model. There is a strong move in the industry globally to introduce leasing, value added service.

Perodua make more money selling car, but a pandai company need to move fast in their R&D. This initiative just another market research to prepare for the future.

• Rebel on Oct 04, 2022 at 10:10 am

Yeah, strong move in the industry… do you realize that in the West(UK,US,Italy, Germany, France,Norway, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland & Australia) they are killing the small businesses… do you want everything controlled by the giant corps…Open your eyes and ears!!

• newme on Sep 27, 2022 at 9:13 am

By the time they concluded the study, everyone is already using EV of other brands.

• oldyou on Oct 02, 2022 at 12:01 am

well p2 dont have to be the first. they just need to be the best (or at least better). so waiting a year or two before choosing the best way to electrify their cars is better than rushing out a tech but alas not something that fits the local scene.

• Mr. Sotong on Sep 27, 2022 at 9:36 am

I don’t think this has anything to do with testing the hybrid system. Is more to do with testing the subscription based system.

Limiting the numbers will also limit them from any potential exposure to loss.

It’s just bussiness.

• Cynthia Chin on Sep 27, 2022 at 1:27 pm

How to apply for the subscription?

• pdrmdisini on Sep 27, 2022 at 5:37 pm

The 300 limited CBU units already all taken up. So, no more. Gotta wait for next batch

• lim wye fun on Sep 27, 2022 at 4:39 pm

how to apply for it ?

• WK Chang on Sep 27, 2022 at 7:39 pm

I’m willing to subscribe and try the Hybrid Car

• Asri mokhtar on Sep 29, 2022 at 5:12 pm

I wish to subscribe to the perodua ativa hybrid. Pls advc.

• Husni Hashim on Oct 02, 2022 at 7:38 pm

Sy sudah biasa dgn konsep subscription Plan ini kerana sy menikmatinya dari Tan Chong motor yaitu Renault & support another brand ( foreign brand). Ini menbuat sy lebih teruja utk mengambil peluang ini & menberi sokongan jenama tempatan iaitu Perodua Ativa Hybrid. Syarat & termanya sgt saya memahami kerana sy telah menguna Jenama lain menjangkau 3 tahun yaitu Renault Captur. Sy harap sy dpt peluang ini menberi sokongan kepada jenama tempatan yaitu Perodua Ativa Hybrid.

• Arman on Sep 30, 2022 at 7:05 am

Menarik dan berminat

• Abu Hasan Bin Kamarudin on Oct 01, 2022 at 4:32 pm

Need Ativa EV to booking

• Addie Afero Bin Muhamat on Oct 02, 2022 at 6:56 am

saya mahu oder ativa hybrid

• Husni Hashim on Oct 02, 2022 at 10:45 am

Recently I use Renault Captur .. same concept subscription but I know very well how it works. I really interested in Ativa hybrid car coz to support Malaysian brand – Perodua Ativa Hybrid

• HUSNI on Oct 02, 2022 at 10:48 am

Recently I use Renault Captur … same concept subscription. I know how the system works . I am really interested to use Perodua Ativa Hybrid coz to support Malaysian brand – Perodua Ativa Hybrid.

• Rebel on Oct 04, 2022 at 10:06 am

So now perodua is following the Cabal concept… Corp ownership of every business… like the NWO(New World Order)
    Like this all the small insurance business owners, runners all die lor…everything will be corp owned and managed!!

500 people will become guinea pigs and they will also pay for the subscription… real life sheeple!!

• robertdeneero on Oct 04, 2022 at 3:46 pm

what isn’t corp owned nowadays?
      we listen to streaming music thru subscription, we dont own the songs. we subscribe to online movie, we dont own any of them. we use google/apple services, which we own none. we pay instalment on our houses, but the banks own them. we pay loan for our cars, but the grant says the bank own the car too.

• ezmobisloth on Oct 28, 2022 at 11:12 am

EZMOBI works really slow. Been waiting car since August. Why so slow to lease a car? If they work this slow, then who dare do business with them?

• nataCOCO on Nov 07, 2022 at 1:25 pm

I received my car today! So happy!
      Very quiet car when running on batteries.
      Only noisy when the 1.2L engine powers up to recharge the batteries. Nice nice.

• Good option able to replace new car every 5 years.

• TAI GEE HONG on Jan 12, 2023 at 8:16 am

What’s the requirements for applying Ativa Hybrid car !

• Halimi Hassan on Feb 04, 2023 at 3:20 pm

How can l book one? Is it still available?

• tricycle on Feb 23, 2023 at 11:58 pm

Dear Danny of Paultan,
    Just realize, the hybrid version got 5 wheel nuts compared to the rest of Ativa in Malaysia. Got any idea why?

• Tay Boon Leong on Sep 16, 2023 at 5:06 pm

I’m interested for peroduo Ativa hybrid rental plan. How to apply