Perodua Ativa Hybrid vs Turbo compared side-by-side

Turbo and hybrid powertrains aside, what are the differences between the subscription-only Perodua Ativa Hybrid and the regular Perodua Ativa in showrooms? We’ve already detailed the Ativa Hybrid – a CBU Japan rebadged Daihatsu Rocky e-Smart Hybrid – and the points where it differs from the Rawang-made Ativa, but here are both white cars side-by-side, thanks to reader Ackhmed A.

If you’re wondering about the rebadging process, it’s done in Japan by Daihatsu – the Perodua emblems (front, rear, steering wheel) and the Ativa wordmark are fitted on Malaysia-bound cars by DMC, and there’s no ‘T’ badge (for turbo) on the tailgate. The number plate cutouts are also smaller JDM squares.

The JDM Rocky e-Smart Hybrid is very similar to the the ICE-powered Ativa from the outside, save for a Rocky-specific grille and more vertical front/rear bumpers (which makes overall length marginally shorter), JDM side mirrors (body coloured, smaller, left side has extra curb-view mirror), 17-inch two-tone wheels in a different (and more dynamic) design plus eco tyres (Dunlop Enasave).

By the way, the wheels on these two cars cannot be swapped. The Hybrid’s rims have five lugs (Ativa has four, P2 says that more lugs are better for heavier cars) and the tyres are narrower – 195/60 vs Ativa’s 205/60. As is typical for hybrids, there’s no full size spare here, just a tyre repair kit in the boot.

Also, the Rocky’s tailgate is plastic. This is not unusual for cars in Japan, but car companies typically change the hatch to metal for the Malaysian market. Another example of this is the T32 Nissan X-Trail.

Inside the familiar dashboard, the Daihatsu features its own AC control panel (with auto function but without P2’s two memory buttons), a blue push start button and an electronic parking brake switch with auto brake hold – the latter recently made its Perodua debut on the Alza AV.

But unlike in the top Alza, this high centre console incorporates two cupholders between the EPB and armrest. The original Japanese head unit has been swapped for a local Ativa unit, and there are no audio steering buttons or reverse camera.

Launched in its home market in November 2021, the Rocky e-Smart Hybrid is powered by a 106 PS/170 Nm electric motor (Ativa 1.0T has 98 PS/140 Nm), with a 1.2 litre WA-VEX Atkinson-cycle three-cylinder naturally aspirated engine with 82 PS/105 Nm acting purely acts as a generator for the hybrid battery. The e-motor powers the wheels via an HEV transaxle, which means that this series hybrid model works somewhat like a range extender electric vehicle, like Nissan’s e-Power system.

The hybrid also features an available Smart Pedal function for one-pedal driving (S-PDL button is below the driver’s AC vent, where the ADAS buttons are), with regeneration and “engine braking” in place of stepping on the brakes. Lastly, the JDM suspension is 15 mm lower than the regular Ativa’s, and should be softer sprung as well.

The Rocky’s claimed fuel consumption is 3.6 litres per 100 km on the WLTP cycle, which is 27.8 km/l. Perodua says that the Ativa Hybrid is capable of 31.3 km/l in the Malaysian Driving Cycle, which is supposed to reflect local driving conditions. They add that at the current RON 95 price, a journey from KL to Penang (358 km) can cost as low as RM23 in fuel.

The Ativa Hybrid subscription programme is described by Perodua as an ‘electric vehicle study’ as well as a ‘long-term mobility as a service market study’ involving 300 subscribers. There are two things P2 is studying here. The first is to understand group driving behaviour of a hybrid vehicle in populated locations (Klang Valley, Penang and JB). The other is to understand consumer acceptance of a subscription service, which Perodua is already offering to corporate clients under its EZ MOBi fleet arm.

Participants need to pay an upfront payment of RM2,150 (includes refundable three months safety deposit, the first month fee and stamp duty) followed by a monthly subscription fee of RM500 for the next five years. Maintenance (including wear and tear items), insurance and road tax will be covered by Perodua.

It is a five-year commitment and the mileage cap over the period is 100,000 km, which averages to 20,000 km a year or 1,666 km a month. At the end of the tenure, the total amount paid to Perodua would be RM30,150 and participants will have to return the car. By the way, all 300 units are in Pearl White without the black roof – there’s no other colour option.

What do you think of the Ativa Hybrid deal? Here’s a review by a subscriber. Also, which look do you prefer – Rocky or Ativa?

GALLERY: Perodua Ativa Hybrid

GALLERY: JDM Daihatsu Rocky e:Smart Hybrid

Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.

Tags:

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rav 1 on Nov 24, 2022 at 11:18 pm

I voted the turbo version looks better. Too bad ativa content too many fancies but not really useful feature. Old man like me better stick with “classic’ car like a toyota rush. + 9 inch android and reverse camera

• Ohh waiiiii on Nov 25, 2022 at 12:02 pm

I vote for CBU hybrid. Since p2 fanboys keep saying tebo kuat makan minyak and mahal nak service orso those fanboys say 3cyl engine manyak bising, vibrate, and mudah rosak wei.
      So stay away from p2 Ativa…. ohh waiiiii

• lost GE15 sapoter spotted on Nov 25, 2022 at 12:36 pm

awak down ke BN kalah ?? P2 tal downn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
        • Lolwhut? on Nov 25, 2022 at 2:27 pm

That’s a nice response. It’s very professional and shows a great level of intelligence and maturity.
          It’s nice to see that you don’t take every comment you see on the internet personally.
          Being able to take such criticism of something irrelevant to your political affiliation shows great character.
          Some people can’t handle being exposed to different opinions on the internet, you’re clearly not one of them.
          Have a great day!

• PlainBS on Nov 25, 2022 at 3:26 pm

That comment has nothing , NOTHING! , to do with politics and here is not a politic site , so get off your high horse and stop talking people down on this forum newbie , you have 0 , zero , cero , nada knowledge of automotive i see ;) please take a hike…

• What Perodua did in their infinite wisdom:
    Removed the passenger side keyless entry
    No tag reader (Myvi have this)
    No handbag holder (even Axia have this)
    Removed Android Auto head unit

But added unnecessary stuffs:
    Driver’s roof grab handle (who need this??)
    Metal tailgate (another added cost)
    Fancy HVAC controls (to appease Betamek??)

When you have monkeys running the show…

• Mr Mar on Nov 25, 2022 at 3:37 pm

The tag reader was taken out due to projection of mass RFID implementation in Malaysia. Sadly PLUS & TNG execution was bad. Up until now our RFID system still crappy.

• Are you kidding me? Haven’t you heard how frequent those thing broke and some have claimed warranty replacement 3 times before warranty period expires. It was so bad that they did not include in further new models. Nothing to do with PLUS or TNG.

• chan49 on Nov 29, 2022 at 3:46 pm

If read perodua official statement, the Turbo Ative is made from “highest percentage local parts and contents” compared to any other models. This alone makes the CBU Ative 100x more attractive.

• Of course CBU is better! A cheap knockoff cannot compare with the OG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • CBU unit looks better imo. Interior looks cleaner and more practical except for the lack of steering audio control which is a bizarre omission.
    P2 adds passenger-side keyless entry and AA&AC and I think the package is complete.
    Hope P2 bring in the beige and blue colour options because those look classy and unique. tired of the same silver, white or red options

• itsthaycoz on Nov 29, 2022 at 3:20 pm

audio controls were removed because P2 had to remove the entire entertainment system (that tablet thing) due to licensing. CBU supposed to have wireless apple carplay and also android auto. all removed. including reverse camera too, since all used the same tablet or screen.

• Cheng on Nov 25, 2022 at 5:39 pm

Since the hybrid is not going to be available probably for the next 5 years, this article is pretty much a waste of time to read.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • nobrain on Nov 29, 2022 at 3:28 pm

since you’re not buying cars for the next year, you reading on car news is also pretty much a waste of time.

• gibran on Nov 26, 2022 at 1:49 pm

Not so much about the cars but more about the article. In the publishing industry, we always label our photos, so it would be nice for the article to have footnotes at the bottom of the picture. The only way i was able to tell apart the 2 cars was by going through the articles, zooming into the number of wheel lugs to confirm. Please rectify in your next article. thank you.

• samueljr on Nov 29, 2022 at 3:23 pm

turbo version looked very local-car. with all sorts of extra plastic bits and parts added to complicate the entire car. typical malaysian design taste to over compensate things. if it aint a sports car, no amount of spoiler and bodykit can turn it into a sports car. I prefer the JDM hybrid look which is much cleaner and classier.

• superficial on Nov 29, 2022 at 3:59 pm

asalkn nampak sport. tak laju xpe. wkwkwk
      perodua suka cipta design ah-beng kt kereta nya.

• kencheng on Nov 30, 2022 at 11:27 am

biasa la. evo-wira, kancil-mira, toyota TRD, list goes on. ramai posers kat jalanraya. xde maruah.

• yongseng on Nov 29, 2022 at 3:47 pm

no wonder I saw a few of these Rocky cars on the road. I thought the owners modified their Ativa to Rocky. Now we know! The tell-tale sign is the 5-lug rims.

• jeremyc on Nov 30, 2022 at 10:10 am

the hybrid CBU has a more mature, elegant look. The local turbo looked too immature and weird. p2 should hv just left the original design untouched! Hope next face lift will look better.

• p2fanboi on Nov 30, 2022 at 3:06 pm

Perodua should just keep Rocky original design, it is so much good looking.