Volvo C40 Recharge P8 AWD sighted on test in Shah Alam, Malaysia – launching soon as CKD EV?

The Volvo C40 Recharge has been sighted on test in Malaysia, hinting that an official launch might be close. These two units of the Volvo C40 Recharge was sighted parked in Bukit Jelutong yesterday by EV enthusiast reader @ECOmodepassion.

It’s not the first time we’re seeing Volvo cars being tested in Bukit Jelutong, Shah Alam – we previously saw the S60 being tested in the area.

It’s basically a sportier, coupe version of the XC40. It has a more dynamic rear end, but retains the same face. The face you see here looks different from what we’re used to seeing on the XC40 that’s currently on Malaysian roads, but the XC40 facelift will share the same face as this C40.

Although these C40 units have the badging on the rear taped up, it’s not hard to figure out that this is the electric dual motor all-wheel drive P8 model because it is the only model that the C40 is offered as currently, different from the XC40 which has both electric front wheel drive P6 and AWD P8 models as well as petrol and plug-in hybrid models.

The dual motors output 408 PS and 660 Nm of torque, drawing power from a 78-kWh lithium-ion battery pack that provides an estimated 420 km of range based on the WLTP standard. Performance-wise, the C40 has a 0-100 km/h time of 4.7 seconds, which is 0.2 seconds quicker than the XC40.

We expect the C40 to be more expensive than the XC40, but we don’t know how much. If we refer to Thai pricing, the XC40 is priced at 2.59 million baht while the C40 goes for 2.75 million baht, so that’s less than a 10% price premium. Just like the XC40, we expect the C40 to be offered as a CKD model in Malaysia.

GALLERY: Volvo C40 Recharge

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• anonymous on Oct 08, 2022 at 7:33 pm

so excited for this launch! one thing tho, am not a fan of the rims on these and i’m assuming these will be the ones fitted as standard. wished they went all in with the 20s fitted on its global launch (as seen on the blue official volvo C40 pictures)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Roti john Reborn on Oct 09, 2022 at 2:03 pm

I hope Proton release their Iriz EV soon. The world is moving towards EV, if Proton don’t have any EV cars, then Proton will fall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Logical Deduction on Oct 11, 2022 at 6:38 pm

Based on your logic, since Proton did have Iriz EV, so that meant Proton did not and will never fail laa….

• Celup King on Oct 12, 2022 at 4:20 pm

Proton never sold the Iriz EV to the public though… that was just a concept car

• Very good looking vehicle. Front looks like BMW F20/F21 pre facelift, nice

• Cheryl on Oct 09, 2022 at 7:54 am

Volvo hasn’t change thier interior from each car to another…

Its like how VW copy pasting between each models.

• I know 2 person own Prius and still keeping the car because the moment they bought they aware of no one will buy their car. In fact, one of them spent rm6k to change the battery after warranty…………You must have enough bullet to own advance tech car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • subidudu on Oct 09, 2022 at 11:22 am

i know one automotive guy subi expect fights over this knowing its xc40

• It’s funny as heck. A good example of bodoh sombong. He thought his car is the only series 40 volvo.

• Cipai on Oct 09, 2022 at 11:26 am

Compare to XC40…this is a case of paying more for less…

• Anonymous_C on Oct 10, 2022 at 10:06 am

Rear has this reminiscence of Proton Preve?

• Less headroom, battery as a long-term liability. They’ll need to price this very competitively otherwise most will still go for the XC40 which is incredibly capable and very well specced for our market.

• The achilles heel in this car and it’s ICE variant is the back seat length. It is just too short even for Asian and even shorter compared to the Perodua’s seat. The reason given by Volvo is the car is meant for young small family which I find it absurb because the child seat will not have enough length to properly seat the child seat.

• Will Mac on Oct 24, 2022 at 1:11 am

Better to buy the xc40 version.

• Unfortunately Ev has no future in Malaysia so long petrol is RM2.05 that is massively subsidised