Gentari x Mercedes-EQ 180 kW DC charger at Petronas Pedas Linggi – 350 km in 30 mins for as low as RM45

Electric vehicle (EV) owners who are travelling from Johor Bahru to Kuala Lumpur and want to get a quick charge in before continuing their journey to the capital city can do so at the Petronas Pedas Linggi north-bound R&R.

There, you’ll find an ABB DC fast charger capable of delivering 180 kW and equipped with two CCS2 charging connectors. Currently, the charger is configured to operate from just one CCS2 connector at a time for the full 180 kW output, which means that when one is in use, the other will not be operational.

With the high-output charger and a vehicle capable of handling all that power, users can enjoy fast charging times – 350 km in just 30 minutes – as we explain in this video. The cost of charging is determined by time and set at RM3 per minute, although Mercedes-Benz EQ owners will enjoy a 50% discount through the JomCharge app.

The DC charger was set up as part of a collaboration between Gentari (a subsidiary of Petronas), Mercedes-Benz EQ and JomCharge. The one located at the Petronas Pedas Linggi north-bound R&R is one of five fast chargers planned, with another already operational at the Petronas Gambang R&R west-bound station on the East Coast Expressway (ECE), and three more set to be installed along other major highways.

If you want to know more about the new Gentari DC fast charger, give this video a watch. For EV owners who have already tried it, how has the experience been so far? Let us know in the comments below.

GALLERY: Gentari 180 kW DC fast charger

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• farghmee on Oct 13, 2022 at 6:00 pm

macam murah sikit aje?

assuming ice consume 12km/L.
    total fuel consumed over 350km is 350/12 = 29 L.
    assuming filling ron95 at rm 2.05/L,
    then RM spent for fuel is = RM59.

ice – charger = 59 – 45 = RM 14.

oh 30min delay also..

• Lampu on Oct 14, 2022 at 8:00 am

30mins Charge Lag.

• John Bon Jovi on Oct 14, 2022 at 8:34 am

That’s if you are Mercedes-Benz EQ owner.

Else, charger – ice = 90 – 59 = RM 31.

Way too expensive…

• Scion on Oct 14, 2022 at 10:36 am

Also this havent kira battery cost when time to replace!

• Ghosthunter999 on Oct 14, 2022 at 10:38 am

Don’t just look at the charging cost only. Using an EV, you need to considered:
      1) charging time that u had to spent charging the car during a long journey insted of refuelling
      2) the cost saved for charging instead of refuelling u need to considered for ur EV battery maintenance or replacement.
      3) charging will be a burden in future bcoz of queueing at charging station esp during peak season considering the increased of EV owner over times. How long ur jouryey will be just bcoz of charging port issue..

• Mike Tee on Oct 14, 2022 at 11:12 am

ICE vs EV for long distance driving (>50% real world range one way) does not bode well for EVs at the moment. If the DC charger is fully occupied or even worse, rosak, then you are royally screwed. ~3-5 hours to top up 50% at 11kWh would ruin any trip.

Cannot be your only car if these kinds of trip is a regular occurrence for you. If battery swap is available then it solves many problems

• Jason on Oct 13, 2022 at 10:58 pm

RM45 for 350km…I thought EV suppose to safe you money

• horrayooi on Oct 13, 2022 at 11:19 pm

350 km for RM45 is not economical for EV. My petrol engine Vios can travel for 350 km for RM39- 40 only.

• Car lover on Oct 14, 2022 at 9:28 am

This EV car should have implement “Dual battery” so that we can charge 2 battery at the same time, thus reduce the charging time even more

• Perplexed on Oct 14, 2022 at 10:02 am

I am actually perplexed Malaysia is setting a crazy precedent for itself by imposing fees on EV charging rate by minutes.

Everywhere else in the world charging fees are imposed by the number of energy (kW) you car receives from the charger. That is a fairer rate.

EV charger itself sometimes limits charging rate by number of cars being charged at the location. So if the number of cars being charged at the same location increases, the charging rate decreases and charging time becomes slower.

Also the more full your car battery is as you charge, the slower the charging rate becomes. This happens in all electric vehicle. Its set by the car’s Battery Management System (BMS) to protect the car’s battery. Eg. the car may be pulling 100kw at 10% battery but as you charge your car may only be pulling 30kw at 90% battery. Thus longer charging time. So it will take as long a time for you to fully charge your car from 80% to 100% as compared to 10% to 80%.

I think more awareness should be brought to the consumers about how EV charging is charged per minute in Malaysia compared to charged per energy (kW) like the rest of the world.

Perhaps (pipeline dream) that will then bring a service provider to charge per energy (kW) in Malaysia and bring competition to the EV charging industry and change the way how fees are to be imposed in the industry.

Charging fees per energy (kW) will also fast track EV adoption in Malaysia as its fairer and reduces uncertainty on how much a charge will be.

• Lets See on Oct 15, 2022 at 9:58 am

People wait in minutes, not in KW. Charging by minute is easier for users to gauge their charging times.

• Ghosthunter999 on Oct 14, 2022 at 10:39 am

Don’t just look at the charging cost only. Using an EV, you need to considered:
    1) charging time that u had to spent charging the car during a long journey insted of refuelling
    2) the cost saved for charging instead of refuelling u need to considered for ur EV battery maintenance or replacement.
    3) charging will be a burden in future bcoz of queueing at charging station esp during peak season considering the increased of EV owner over times. How long ur jouryey will be just bcoz of charging port issue..

• Meor Aris on Oct 15, 2022 at 11:37 am

All is well during normal times when there are not many ev’s queing. When balik kampung time( Raya, CNY,Deepavalli, long holidays) & we have long ques waiting at each charging points then we will know wether the sky is high or low! If we get more than 5 cars at a que hopefully the battery can last until u get to charge ur ev. Whatmore with M’sian drivers being an impatient lot, few seconds also cannot tahan at traffic lights, I hope there will be no shouting match.

• Without discount will be RM90 for 350km.. so where is the savings?
    It is not saving the planet as well since majority of our electricity supply is fossil fuel based, and the production of batteries alone already emit tonnes of CO2..