DASH Highway – people are stopping on the side to lepak, like on SUKE – an accident waiting to happen?

The brand new Damansara-Shah Alam Elevated Expressway (DASH) is now open, and apparently in the tradition of new highway openings, Malaysian motorists have decided that the emergency lane is a place to stop their vehicle and chill out, taking in the views.

Both motorcycles and cars have been seen near the Puncak Perdana interchange and after the Kota Damansara toll plaza today parked on the emergency lane, with the occupants/riders hanging out by the roadside and taking in the view.

This act not only blocks the emergency lane which should not be used in this manner, but coming out to take photos risks yourself getting hit by other vehicles.

Such an accident has already happened on the SUKE Highway, where a motorcycle rider hit a yellow Myvi that was parked on the emergency lane while its rider enjoyed the view.

If an accident happens because of your parked vehicle, not only is it possible that you could kill someone, you could also get yourself killed, or at the very least your case could be investigated under the “halangan sehingga menyebabkan kemalangan” rule and the guilty party can be issued a RM300 compound.

So please Malaysians, use the highway, enjoy the shorter commute time that it offers, but please don’t stop by the side of the road.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 3rd world mentality mah, i’ve also seen those “you know who” fishing by the roadside…LOL

• Azman on Oct 17, 2022 at 1:37 pm

Mostly the nakal mat rempit who do this. they need to go through education

• Dey..KL got no kedai mamak meh?

• Kenny on Oct 16, 2022 at 10:29 pm

Those peoples never learn from the lesson. They will blame other people after incident happen.

• Ajibkor on Oct 16, 2022 at 10:32 pm

Nnti kicap sudah tumpah baru nak nyesal

• Monsoon flooded polls..u serious? on Oct 16, 2022 at 10:36 pm

PDRM should round up these lepak dudes.
    Lock them up for 14 days.
    By the time,they arrive at workplace..their bosses will say,”YOU R Fired”.
    So,they will devote more time to seek jobs than lepak.
    These lepak dudes are A CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER to other innocent motorists.

• Goh Beng Chiang on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:17 am

Pls come to Bukit Kukus in Pg. Police not doing anything. Gaji buta.

• no worru, just know these idiots to death! No one can help them if they do not help thrmselves. Why we need to worry of them while they do not even care about their own life?

• Jimny Owner on Oct 17, 2022 at 1:39 pm

That Jimny is nice.

• That’s why we don’t deserve nice thing. It’s not that hard to follow an easy mindset to avoid major problem.