Driver “chups” charging bay in 1 Utama for another EV – be considerate; offenders may face RM2,000 fine

Electric vehicle (EV) chargers are a lot more common in shopping malls these days, and just like regular parking bays, it’s frowned upon to “chup” a spot for someone else. However, this was exactly the situation a Malaysian EV owner found himself in when he attempted to use a charging station in 1 Utama Shopping Centre recently.

Sharing his experience in the MyEVOC Facebook group, the EV owner said the one available slot he found was being blocked by an MPV upon his arrival. Giving a courtesy honk to indicate he would like to use the charging station, the MPV driver approached him and told him that there was “another car that wants to charge here because the spaces in the other wing was full”.

The EV owner responded by saying that this was unfair as he got to the charging bay first, to which the MPV driver returned to his vehicle to make a phone call (presumably to the owner of the other EV on its way) and eventually got a move on. Thankfully, no unwanted altercation resulted from the incident, which can’t be said of other cases where some irresponsible individuals attempted to “chup” slots.

Remember, using EV charging bays, which are typically based on existing parking bays, is first come, first serve, so practice proper etiquette and don’t “chup” them. However, there is an exception if the parking/charging provider offers a reservation feature like ParkEasy.

If you didn’t know, the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) has stated that “booking” a parking bay for another driver is illegal under Section 50 (3) of the Road Transport Act 1987, with those found guilty of the offence being liable to a maximum fine of RM2,000 or imprisonment up to six months. A second conviction doubles that – RM4,000 fine or 12 months jail term.

The rule states: “If any person, otherwise than with lawful authority, remains on any road or at any parking place for the purpose of importuning any other person in respect of the watching or cleaning of a motor vehicle, or for the purpose of directing any driver of a motor vehicle in respect of parking on such road or at such place, he shall be guilty of an offence.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• pleeeeenty of azoles to go around in malaysia, we will NEVER run out hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • republik nusantara on Nov 09, 2022 at 7:01 pm

As a pipit must respect the helang empowered with privilege medal awarded by states and federal rulers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Why So Serious on Nov 10, 2022 at 8:57 am

Which state ruler give awards to Sinkies?

• You drag them in for wat? Just take care our own backyard. Stupiid.

• bijan the convicted criminal was awarded many medals. so why should we respect convicted criminals?

• Hantu Raya on Nov 10, 2022 at 5:19 pm

Like I’ve always said-

Lagi banyak duit, lagi bodoh.

• dellen on Nov 09, 2022 at 6:30 pm

why you censor the plate? i bet its singaporean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Mr loba loba on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:02 pm

Fair enough to sensor. He is just an employee taking instruction. At least, the boss say let go. Did not insist on waiting. Good job blanking the car plate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
      • Kariayam on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:27 pm

Please lah, employee or not. Common sense should always be present. You’re acting like we’re supposed to be grateful the boss asked him to give the spot. If they have the audacity to do this then why not let everyone know what they look like? Clearly they already tak malu to do this in the first place. This kind of behavior is very much like Malaysian politicians cutting queues with police escort. Because they think they’re entitled to do it and place themselves above everyone else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • If he just the employee, i assume he drive his boss car? An alphard most probably too expensive for a normal employee who his work includes booking a parking spot for a boss. So, no need to censored his plate thou..thats his boss car also

• Probably not even his car so no point of censoring in the first place.

• Can see Malaysian road tax sticker on the windscreen. Singaporean car got no road tax sticker

• davenport on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:09 pm

This is why we don’t deserve nice things.

• FudgeMeSideways on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:36 pm

RM2k fine is like pocket change for these people la. Jail satu dua malam baru kena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • AP Putra on Nov 10, 2022 at 11:29 am

jail the slave (ahfat van driver), meanwhile master (driver’s boss) life goes on as usual?

• Vellfire. Of course la asshole.

• Why do people even dare to chop parking?

Nanti u leave the car there go shopping, come back all calar edi or tayar kena slash or kena throw paint or etc etc macam Mana?

Plus 1u EV charging macam free right/or at very cheap rates, maybe that’s why people wanna chop the place

• Junkies otr on Nov 10, 2022 at 7:46 am

Mpv? That’s a VAN laa, used by gangsters all around the world. U can see syndicates, triads, criminals using this type of VAN in all kinds of movies

• It may be illegal by law, but has anyone been prosecuted for this offence, so far? There are far more serious traffic issues, very frequently happening and posing greater accident risks that need police attention. Anyway, do people make police report over the parking bay “chupping”? The affected ones wuld normally curse and go off. Or do some not-so-creative art.

• ohmygosh on Nov 10, 2022 at 10:18 am

Isn’t that’s a normal practice in this country? There are always *d*ots around. Not only in this country but Singapore got lots of this @55ho!es too. Sad that the law protects these *d*ots as well – censoring their identification. Why? Kalau berani buat, tunjuklah muka semua, kan nak jadi hero? Apa malu bossku?

• DonkeyKong on Nov 10, 2022 at 10:21 am

There’s no such thing as a considerate Vellfire driver or owner. See a Vellfire? That’s automatically an inconsiderate arrogant moron.

• Thanks God you are Malaysian he just asked you politely. Being a foreigner in Malaysia not easy to face such situation.

• This feller already driving in the opposite direction. That already shows he/she is already an idiot where rules do not apply to him. 1U management please watch out for this car as I am sure he / she will be back.

• andre on Nov 12, 2022 at 9:40 pm

I don’t think the law applies in private parking areas.