Singaporean vehicle ‘chups’ parking space in Malaysia

Getting a parking space in a shopping mall during a peak period is often a challenge, so when you do come across a bay where the car in it is ready to exit, you rejoice, switch on your indicator and wait to complete the parking process after the car leaves. Then you see a person walking up to the parking bay, but don’t really don’t bother too much about it at first, until it dawns upon you that the person is attempting to “chup” the parking spot for their car.

Chances are, you’ve probably come across it at one point. The act of reserving a parking spot in such a manner isn’t a rare occurrence – it isn’t exclusive to us. A recent case that surfaced in a video that has since gone viral cements the fact that the practice continues to occur, but what makes this one quite special is that the people doing the “chup” weren’t local, or at least, the vehicle wasn’t.

According to the owner of the Hey XpG Facebook account, which the video was uploaded to, the incident happened to her younger brother, who was waiting to enter a parking space that would soon be vacated by a Toyota Corolla Altis. It was not stated where the incident occurred.

However, a woman then pops up at the parking lot to ‘reserve’ the lot. After the Altis left the parking space, the woman stopped the car who was waiting to park by standing in front of the car to block access, following which a Mercedes-Benz GLB with a Singapore registration plate moves in front and then proceeds to reverse into the bay. Honking at the offender proved futile.

Now, it may be simple enough to brush it off as trivial (perhaps not, if you’re the one waiting there and then played out in such fashion), but the act of reserving a parking space in this manner is actually a punishable offence.

The police has said it before, and so has the road transport department (JPJ), that stamping your claim on a parking lot by standing in it (or for that matter, by placing a chair, cone or whatever object) and denying another the right to park in it is an offense under Section 50(3) of the Road Transport Act 1987.

The rule clearly states that “if any person, otherwise than with lawful authority, remains on any road or at any parking place for the purpose of importuning any other person in respect of the watching or cleaning of a motor vehicle, or for the purpose of directing any driver of a motor vehicle in respect of parking on such road or at such place, he shall be guilty of an offence.”

According to JPJ, this law is applicable in all areas, whether in public places or private premises including shopping centres. Chargeable under Section 119 of the Act, the penalty for the offence is a maximum fine of RM2,000 or imprisonment of up to six months, with a RM4,000 fine or 12 months jail term for subsequent offences.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 255
    • Si beh kiasu on Sep 05, 2022 at 4:09 pm

Common. Nothing new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • Kiasu nation on Sep 05, 2022 at 9:50 pm

Come here shake the car when pumping petrol. What can you expect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • hwl hi lo soft hard on Sep 05, 2022 at 4:52 pm

Reserved and ‘chup’ is different.
      Reserved is when the lot is assigned to someone. Its not an open lot. If we are to follow your logic then OKU lot is also illegal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 1
    • Mr. Sotong on Sep 05, 2022 at 4:56 pm

Bro can’t differentiate between “reserved” parking bays and standing in place to “reserve” the parking bay lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 1
    • Bro u embarrassed urself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Ghani on Sep 05, 2022 at 6:09 pm

This Sinkie buta ke, cannot differentiate between reserved parking and trying to block an open parking lot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • Daud Md Kassim on Sep 07, 2022 at 2:01 pm

ALL Sinkies are buta. Haven’t you seen their eyes? They hardly have eyes. They’re more like slits. Sinkies are parasitic vermin. In SG they obey their local laws. They cross tambak Johor and they feel like they’re in an inferior country and they proceed to break every law as they please. These babis are worst kind of travellers you can come across. Arrogant, narcissistic, freeloading, contemptuous rodents who think they’re better than all their poorer neighbours. But when they see a Mat Salleh in their owncountry, they bend over backwards to be nice and even put on fake American or British accents to impress orang putehs. I tell you, Sinkies are truly hilarious bangsats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
        • To be fair, many but not all la.

• Cb you on Sep 08, 2022 at 1:29 pm

You are the real babi here..knn. bastard

• James on Sep 11, 2022 at 10:10 am

So have they been punished for the deplorable act as they must!

• BabyBelly on Oct 04, 2022 at 7:46 am

Sinkies are bahliaaaas BangsAt I agree with your pov , they worship the mat Salleh ground and behave like arrogant bahriassss across tembok Johor

• tyuion on Sep 05, 2022 at 6:23 pm

Use your brain. Those reserved parking spot are registered and reserved through the management. In other words, registered for use only by a specific person, and not open to public. The law wording is clear to anyone that can read, it says “otherwise than with lawful authority”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • The only lawful authorities are the police and JPJ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
        • Brian on Sep 06, 2022 at 8:53 am

Are you for real? In Malaysia, indeed even in Singapore, there are reserved parking lots either for OKU, or ladies only, or reserved season parking lots (the ones with num plate on top), or lots for emergency vehicles, or short term duration parkers, so there are no such thing as police and JPJ could dictate what is reserved except the company operating that space. What is wrong, as seen by the acts of your fellow sinkie, is blocking an open parking space!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • Hailah on Sep 06, 2022 at 11:42 am

You still don’t understand. Reserved is different from blocking. Look up in the dictionary.

• Otherwise, when requested to handle such a dispute, the carpark operator says, I allow the woman to do it in this case, because eg she is an employee in the building, she has special needs, or just because we like her or sympathize with her, then the woman becomes one with “lawful authority”, or with a privilege granted by a “lawful authority”. This is when you allow authority to be propagated along a chain without an explicit and clearly stated relationship. How does anyone know where the chain ends? Then when the police or JPJ is asked to step in, who will decide whether it is right or wrong? Lawful authority at the top of the chain, or lawful authority at the bottom of the chain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 56
        • I am so happy that so many people scold you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Okaayyyy, how about this then. Back into that biatch, smashing her legs so she’ll be on wheelchair for life that way she can ‘chup’ any OKU parking lots whereever she goes. OK wat, OKU parking much closer to entrances. Win-win for all.

• Allergic to stupid sinkie on Sep 08, 2022 at 3:13 pm

This is what would happen to your brain if you watch too many p0rns.. Can’t even differentiate between ‘reserved’ and open public spot. Bro got ratioed too many times but still cannot accept that he’s in the wrong here ‍♀️

• When you are too stupid to understand the rules stated above

• Naikjeep Rayzack on Sep 05, 2022 at 8:47 pm

Your parking lots designated ABC1234 & Director of XYZ Department are authorized, legal & legit reserved parking lots. The lady who stood in a car parking lot to reserve it for parking of her car is unauthorized & illegal. Likewise, her standing there in that car park lot is akin to her parking her butt there & that in itself can already tell you why it’s illegal because she is not a car hence she can’t park herself there. Same thing goes to cones, chairs, etc. If you want to park your chair then look for chair parking lots!

• Susukotak on Sep 05, 2022 at 9:51 pm

How many dislike you will have?

• Camtu on Sep 05, 2022 at 10:47 pm

U are way too wrong. Pls read more

• Cow brain…. My bad, even a cow is much smarter than you HWT…..

• God please help this guy on Sep 06, 2022 at 9:03 am

With your statement, all condos are f*cked up, all owners can park wherever they like

• AppleTree on Sep 06, 2022 at 10:06 am

Normally not many people add comment here. The fact that so many ppl comments on your statement is a prove that not many ppl can tolerate idiots.

• Djemba djemba on Sep 06, 2022 at 2:49 pm

Brainless, the hospital surgeon and specialist need to run around for parking instead of treating patients, you need to go back to school and learn comprehension.

• Either there are 5 Sinkies or 5 Malaysian IC holder but Sinkie bootlickers liking this comment.

• Reserved for hwt on Sep 06, 2022 at 6:50 pm

I’m surprised with your ignorance. Do you even know the meaning of RESERVED?

• rtrdkiller on Sep 07, 2022 at 1:29 am

You got OKU card? Seems like you need one

• Anti-idiot on Sep 07, 2022 at 12:51 pm

An idiot will not know that he is an idiot because he’s too stupid to realise he’s an idiot

• Joshua Chan on Sep 08, 2022 at 3:44 pm

Probably a fellow Singaporean trying his best to defend his countryman

• Nasi Ayam on Sep 10, 2022 at 8:26 pm

You’re stupid laa bro haha . Cant differentiate chup and reserved.
      Then complain laa KLIA, toll booths, toilets, all why need reserve to specific items. Open to all la

• Sg citizens true colour on Sep 05, 2022 at 3:55 pm

Just pretend to not see the bitch and reverse your car into the parking bay, my fellow Malaysian.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
  • DonkeyKong on Sep 05, 2022 at 4:02 pm

Besides just getting fined, the authorities should make it legal to run over those standing at parking bays like this. That’s a good way to stop this stupid kiasu practice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • dong gor on Sep 05, 2022 at 5:51 pm

well, it’s time to go around the busy shop lots in PJ area and you can easily find chairs placed by the shop owner in front of the parking space…and issue the 2k fine/ 6 months jail. can’t expect citizen to go quarrel or end up fighting with these jokers right. u set up the rule, u enforce it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Ignatius Victor on Sep 05, 2022 at 5:57 pm

The notice board shown above should be displayed at entrance to every level of parking bays. Also at point of entry near barrier gate so no excuse for ignorance of law which we are all famous for.

• siput on Sep 05, 2022 at 6:03 pm

i think driver yg video sopan sangat.
    move in front n block the empty parking.
    wait….don’t quarrel or fight la…just smile.

• Make a report with JPJ and Police on this incident.

• Dwight on Sep 05, 2022 at 7:08 pm

People like this, just let them park. Mark the car. Then when they’re gone into the mall, create some “art” to the car. Act natural. A 50sen “coin brush” would do the job! Them dispose “the brush” in any charity box.!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
    • Actually coin is too much, prepare some superglue is better

• Oh my. I miss those 50sen. Always keep that in my wallet in case of sudden ’emergency’. Hehehe

• It can go both ways. If you insist on parking in that lot where the girl wants to ‘reserve’, and you did succeed, you may find an art mural on your car, done for free. Shed that “scratching” mentality and move on to find another.

• if it were me, I’d just pretend she doesn’t exist and back into and park as usual. humans can’t hold back a moving car

• Oh Malaysiaku on Sep 06, 2022 at 12:05 am

How about the many car workshop or tyre shop owners who only reserve 1 bay (painted red for them) but build their entrance ramps accross 4 or 5 bays and won’t allow people to park there because it will block their workshop entrance? Why do enforcement authorities and local councils allow it? Should have made them paid reservations for all the bays surrounding their workshop. Oh Malaysiaku..

• Jamie Lucas on Sep 06, 2022 at 3:12 am

Malaysia should start implementing system like Singapore once you reported a traffic offence, it will shows in the system for the offenders to be able to exit Malaysia is to pay the consequences either the fine or jail time. Please make sure the system is easily available for anyone to report easily and wisely.

• Simply snap a video ,send it to the police as well as uploas it to social medias

• 1MDB SRC LCS OPV SOLAR TUNNEL on Sep 06, 2022 at 8:39 am

Developed country mentality?

Should have installed
    Front & rear bars
    So that it will be easier
    To shove / over
    This shittyporean away

• Come to Ipoh, many tyre shops, accessories, air cond. repair center doing this. But looks still legal.
    I understand the law is there but without taking legal action, the law is useful.

• Hailah on Sep 06, 2022 at 11:38 am

Not only that. I was on the highway on Sunday (4th September) and most of the speeding cars were Singaporean. How do I know they were speeding? I was already going way about the 110 limit and they were ZOOMING past me.

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 06, 2022 at 12:04 pm

deport them back to sinkieland

• Aiyah, Malaysia got Keptomami culture , we have “chop” culture . Isn’t that a wonderful world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Copy Paste on Sep 06, 2022 at 4:36 pm

Copy paste: “want to talk politic, somewhere else. Here, only automotive! Get lost!”

• Capitano on Sep 09, 2022 at 4:44 pm

Singaporean love to put tissue to chup a place…

• Andrewong on Sep 10, 2022 at 10:57 am

I hope the authority concern would take zhe necessary action not withstanding the nationality nor racial status when evidence/s could be produced when a report is filed.

• wong min Yong on Sep 11, 2022 at 10:35 am

This is disgraceful behaviour and shame on the Singaporean – not being nasty but this Mecedez owner deserved to get his car vandalised – well deserved – especially when it is against the law