BYD Atto 3 reaches 1k orders in 10 days since launch

The BYD Atto 3 has breached the 1,000 orders mark and the milestone was achieved in 10 days since the Chinese EV specialist’s brand launch in Malaysia. At the December 8 event, the Atto 3 electric SUV was revealed as BYD’s first model for our market, with more to come next year.

Official distributor BYD SD Motors Malaysia (BYD SDM, part of Sime Darby Motors) is offering two variants of the Atto 3, the RM149,800 Standard Range (SR) with a 49.92 kWh battery offering 410 km of range (NEDC, 345 km WLTP), and the RM167,800 Extended Range (ER) with a 60.48 kWh battery, rated for 480 km (NEDC, 420 km WLTP).

A “Grand Launch Special” introductory package adds on a free portable home charger, free V2L extension cable and RM1,000 worth of public charging credit.

Both in-house Blade EV batteries are connected to a front-mounted electric motor rated at 204 PS/310 Nm. 0-100 km/h acceleration is 7.3 seconds for both. This means that only range and kit separates SR and ER.

The Atto 3 is built on 400V architecture and supports AC charging (Type 2) up to 7 kW as well as DC fast charging (CCS2), the latter at a max rate of either 70 kW (SR) or 80 kW (ER). At the higher input rate, 0-80% state of charge can be reached in 45 minutes. The car has a V2L function to power other devices.

Equipment wise, the Atto 3 SR comes with a panoramic sunroof, heated electric wing mirrors, 5.0-inch digital instrument panel, faux leather seats, six-way powered driver’s seat (four-way for passenger), 360-degree camera, tyre pressure monitor, electronic parking brake with auto hold, LED headlamps and rear lights and adaptive front lights.

Also on are a 12.8-inch rotating touchscreen (landscape or portrait, not angle), auto air con and an NFC key card (wave at wing mirrors). Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity is wireless, and will be available with a software update in Q2 2023. Spotify is already present, though. You’ll also get a built-in dashcam and six speakers.

The ER adds on an electronic tailgate, multi-colour gradient rhythmic ambient lighting on the door handles (single colour on the SR) and eight speakers with “Dirac HD” sound, PM2.5 air filter and a wireless phone charger. From the outside, the ER can be differentiated by its 18-inch wheels (215/55). The SR rides on 215/60 R17 rubber.

Safety wise, it’s very comprehensive on this five-star Euro NCAP rated car, and both SR and ER get the same kit. Six airbags plus an centre side airbag for the driver (inside shoulder), full ADAS with stop and go for the ACC and door open warning are standard. Isofix child seat mounts are on the two outer rear seats.

Once again, the Atto 3 starts from RM149,800 for the SR while the ER goes for RM167,800. The factory warranty is six years or 150,000 km, while the Blade EV battery’s separate warranty is for eight years or 160,000 km. There’s another separate warranty for the drive unit – eight years or 150,000 km for the motor, motor controller, DC assembly and electric control assembly. Tour the EV with us in the video below.

GALLERY: BYD Atto 3 Extended Range in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mr Mar on Dec 22, 2022 at 12:17 pm

Good acceptance by Malaysian I could say. If P1 or P2 dont launch their own EV in the near time, BYD or GWM surely will dominate the market!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • DonkeyKong on Dec 22, 2022 at 12:18 pm

Quite surprising to see so many members of the LGBTQ community coming out of the closet. Looks like Malaysia is quite progressive after all. Hopefully car makers will not just tend to the LGBTQ community with EVs and will still produce good ICE vehicles to cater for straight people in years to come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 73
    • Tak faham, apa kaitan LGBTQ dengan kereta EV BYD ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Ex Rafizi supporter on Dec 22, 2022 at 1:03 pm

Apa yg ko merepek ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • DonkeyKong on Dec 22, 2022 at 2:25 pm

Cleantech San Diego:

“On July 24, CalETC, the Greater San Diego Business Association, Equality Professionals Network, and CleanTECH San Diego hosted a special VIP “Drive Your Values” event for San Diego’s Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) business and community leaders to raise awareness about the numerous health and economic benefits of a growing electric vehicle (EV) marketplace.”

Many other articles like this. EV first adopters and those who prefer EV to ICE cars are largely from the LGBT community. The LGBT market disproportionately prefer EVs over ICE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
      • raja petra on Dec 22, 2022 at 2:59 pm

hafiz bought ioniq5 so you are saying he is part of that community

that explains the fashion sense

• Nah, he supports wokeism. That is another leftist branch that is coming out of the woodworks with PH in control now.

• DonkeyKong is a BN supporter lah. Last time in 2016, he and john were the resident BN diehard fans in PaulTan website.

• dellen on Dec 22, 2022 at 3:51 pm

hello you see the buyer obviously has a wife and kid so what lgbt are you talking

• DonkeyKong on Dec 22, 2022 at 7:04 pm

Buyer has wife and kid.. can you imagine how much suffering that poor guy is going through. Cannot come out of the closet and have to maintain this drama..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
          • Donkey donkey on Dec 22, 2022 at 9:48 pm

Last time in 2016 you talked so much nonsense. I thought you became sane over the years but suddenly you’re typing sh1t again bro

• hazri on Dec 22, 2022 at 6:05 pm

what wrong is wrong. no argue on that. but, if you want to pukul rata, that’s wrong. even 10-20% lgbt prefer ev, you can not say the manufacturer support lgbt. do you think people who buying proton, perodua all straight ke? even apple ceo tim cook is lgbt, so people who are buying iphone, macbook, all are lgbt? please dont make stupid accusation like this.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 22, 2022 at 9:40 pm

It’s tough being closeted and having conflicting feelings. Maybe that’s why EV lovers are so hostile when the LGBT connection is pointed out. I’m not discriminating here. It’s a worthwhile market to tap. Just that if you like EVs instead of good old fire-breathing cars, then you have to learn to accept who you are deep inside..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Kogulakannan Rama linggam on Dec 22, 2022 at 12:28 pm

Why is this car being priced almost double whn we have our EV incentives in place
    The extended variant is priced close to RM 94,000.00 in conversion to CNY and we have to pay RM 167,000.00.

Anyone to clarify

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • This is great news for all. It means Malaysians are interested in EVs and that other manufacturers should also bring their A-game to the playing field. It also shows Malaysians moving away from Chinese brand stigma and that we’re willing to give companies a fair chance as long as they spec and price their products right.

• PH janji dicapati on Dec 22, 2022 at 1:02 pm

Hope after sales is good. If not, another Chery in the making.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Bangkok on Dec 22, 2022 at 8:36 pm

This brand is going to be successful like Toyota in Thailand soon because good product

• read again on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:30 am

what is the “heated electric wing mirrors” mentioned in the article? why do we need heated wing mirrors?