Police to fine boyfriend of Malaysian influencer for sleeping while driving on highway with “autopilot” on

According to a report by Sin Chew Daily, the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) will be detaining and issuing a fine against local influencer Gatita Yan’s boyfriend, Tay Wee Shen, for falling asleep after putting a BMW iX on “autopilot” while driving on the highway.

In series of Instagram stories posted on March 28, 2023, Yan showed off her boyfriend fast asleep in the driver’s seat with both his hands and feet off the steering wheel and pedals. The posts have since been deleted but not before they were reported to the authorities that are currently on the hunt for the driver.

Perak police chief Mohd Yusri Hassan Basri told the daily that drivers are allowed to engage automated driving systems in cars, but they must remain awake and ready to take over control for their safety.

The police have announced in the past that it has banned motorists from using automated driving systems to drive hands-free in Malaysia. This is after videos of a Tesla Model 3 owner demonstrating the functionality of the car’s Autopilot system by driving certain sections hands-free from Singapore to Penang went viral.

At the time, Bukit Aman Traffic Investigations and Enforcement chief assistant director Superintendent Dr Bakri Zainal Abidin said, “from the PDRM’s perspective, Malaysia currently has no rules or laws against automated driving systems, but these systems do not help drivers keep their full attention on driving – the system can’t even be sure if there is a driver sitting in the vehicle.”

“This will probably cause the driver to pay less attention to the traffic around them, instead spending their time on other distracting things, such as using a mobile phone while driving,” said Bakri, who added that even the United States prohibits the use of autonomous vehicles, despite carmakers and tech companies testing such vehicles in the country (having obtained the necessary permits, of course).

The “autopilot” feature in some cars today is typically a semi-autonomous driving feature that is rated at SAE Level 2, which still requires the driver to pay full attention and prepared to take over when required. Even Tesla’s Full Self-Driving Beta (FSD Beta), despite the marketing, is still only a SAE Level 2 driver support feature.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Linda on Mar 31, 2023 at 4:06 pm

Hands-free driving is always banned in Malaysia.
    Whether anot you are using old school passive cruise control or L2 semi Autonomous ACC.

Basic driving rule, basic car rule Malaysia. Don’t reckless.
    Car should mandatory alarm and warning for driver leaving hand from steering,
    Don’t give low spec steering don’t know how to give warning like this case.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 31, 2023 at 4:55 pm

Our country needs “rich” people like this
      I agree police to slap them with summons
      Whether they are real stup*d or not

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
    • Why So Serious on Mar 31, 2023 at 5:04 pm

Malaysian roads are too safe. Here can drive handsfree with autopilot and the worst can happen is a fine. In USA, people who abuse autopilot either crash & burn or hit & kill other people. Why here we are so lucky people never die wan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Hantu Raya on Mar 31, 2023 at 10:56 pm

See, I told you people. Lagi kaya, lagi bodo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
      • Ramona Rachman on Apr 01, 2023 at 7:16 am

Indeed

• Casual reader on Apr 01, 2023 at 8:56 am

And this is why we ended up with a lagi bodoh government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 23
      • Haha, betul. Must be careful on the road, not just because of his life, but other road users too.

• TonyC on Apr 01, 2023 at 1:13 pm

Totally agree..

• noooo on Apr 02, 2023 at 6:25 pm

so you are the pandai or bodo?

that fella should be imprisoned instead of fine, its “influencing” similar car owners to leave their hands off the wheels.

these influencers are toxic

• What a double standard. There are tons of videos on bikers without helmet and multiple passengers ….buat2 tak nampak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 63
    • Separate issue already.

New issue must create awareness and action immediately, before out of control for moving forward.

Before noob $T20 with its low spec steering no continuously warning for sleeping driver, accidentally killing another datuk driving on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
      • haha… not just some t20 bodo… the bodo’est are those posted online….

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Mar 31, 2023 at 4:39 pm

Hahaha, Malaysia Madani for u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
      • Mesia Permaidani Terbang on Mar 31, 2023 at 5:32 pm

Ya betoi tu! Lepas yg miskin saman yg kaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Smirk on Apr 01, 2023 at 5:03 pm

Your trolling. Why do people like you when they disagree about something, they always turn and blame “Malaysia Madani” for it? That’s just dumb.

• YB Kinte Kunte on Mar 31, 2023 at 9:41 pm

IOMA,u r correct.
      Not only double,but triple standards.
      You go to any sekolah at 7.30am…guarantee thousands of helmetless bikers,riders ..like biasa je.
      “Illegal” boneshaking bas sekolahs,private vans doing brisk business.
      Enforcement..perhaps have reached ‘MYTH’ status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
      • Hantu Raya on Mar 31, 2023 at 11:02 pm

Takpa, those helmetless yg peach kepala I bagi tepukkan gemuruh for being selfless by removing them from the genepool. I say a big warm ‘thank you’ for not passing down your DNA for the benefit of mankind.

So the question is why would you want to bising2? They want to die, then help them lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • King Machai the V on Apr 01, 2023 at 12:53 am

No standards applied! Two different scenarios! One showing off that doozing off is possible while putting other drivers at risk in highway mah… Want to impress his GF so can get laid with bonus extra licks tonight?! WTF the later is a typical Malaysian culture whereby enforcement would be equal to reinvention of the tampon pads. Anyway I don’t see the relevance… I only see the uncle overloaded with his 3 kids to send them to school as most are in either taman or kampung area lei… Got school in highway? As long uncle don’t ‘rempit’ OK la bro….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Kanasai on Apr 01, 2023 at 7:07 am

Pecah kepala his kepala pecah, but this kind of noob if anything happen other people kepala yg pecah, not same caae la you b0d0h kanasai

• Spin Too Much on Mar 31, 2023 at 10:08 pm

What are you mindlessly ranting about? Bikers without helmet are only endangering themselves not other people unlike driving while sleeping and last I heard there are no restrictions to how many persons on a bike. Stupid ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • Tortilla on Apr 01, 2023 at 6:47 am

If he accident no productivity and income, Endanger his family, working company stability, and finally the nation due to his insurance claim.

• call me by your name on Apr 01, 2023 at 6:16 am

whataboutism

• Malaysia madanon on Apr 01, 2023 at 6:46 am

That is too different issue

• Surprised that the iX’s driver attentiveness detection system didn’t kick in and disengage these L2 semi-autonomous driving features if the driver isn’t paying attention…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Mar 31, 2023 at 4:56 pm

when an accident happen and someone died, then these culprits’ sad stories will appear in court to ask for leniency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Please give him hefty fine as much as the price of the car . Neglecting another person safety this guy should be jailed for life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • YB Kinte Kunte on Mar 31, 2023 at 9:34 pm

PDRM,kindly go all out to pull this bugger from his spiderhole if he is on the run.
      A fine is a big injustice to innocent motorists or bystanders who might die or be paralysed for life if bulldozed accidently by this bastard.
      A jail sentence should never be an option.
      It should be made MANDATORY.

• Casio on Apr 01, 2023 at 11:16 pm

It would be a joke if this clown only gets slapped with RM300 fine! This clown made the headlines sometime back by throwing 100k cash in a club. I believe he should at least have his license temporarily suspended, 6 months or so.
        I hope our country will consider issuing summonses in proportionate to the offender’s income bracket too. RM300 to some people is peanut change, whereas to a large number of us, it’s a weeks worth of groceries.
        Am so disgusted by how these ‘influencers’ brag about their stupidity and yet they are worshipped upon by their followers.

• Casio on Apr 01, 2023 at 11:17 pm

It would be a joke if this clown only gets slapped with RM300 fine! I believe he should at least have his license temporarily suspended, 6 months or so.
        I hope our country will consider issuing summonses in proportionate to the offender’s income bracket too. RM300 to some people is peanut change, whereas to a large number of us, it’s a weeks worth of groceries.
        Am so disgusted by how these ‘influencers’ brag about their stupidity and yet they are worshipped upon by their followers.

• Casio on Apr 01, 2023 at 11:19 pm

It would be a joke if this clown only gets slapped with RM300 fine! I believe he should at least have his license temporarily suspended, 6 months or so.

• Piplup on Mar 31, 2023 at 5:59 pm

Same kind of brainless driver who use seatbelts adapters. Ppl who take safety for granted, don’t cherishes their own lives is fine, but if want to cause accident pls pls don’t menyusahkan orang lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Curious on Mar 31, 2023 at 6:27 pm

Girlfren wanted publicity n fame, boyfren pay the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • RyanT on Mar 31, 2023 at 6:41 pm

Don’t u know the YouTubers are wayang-ing? They just want to be famous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Bieight8 on Mar 31, 2023 at 8:41 pm

Just a fined only???

• ElonSuck on Mar 31, 2023 at 9:03 pm

Already famous la…girl don’t like to wear clothes, guy throw money in clubs. They deserve one another. Just hope that they have some sense of responsibility when it comes to safety of the public at large.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • I think its ex-bf now.

• Even you have a lot of money, the attitude matters. This whore really pariah ppl. No matter how many money u make, u still look pariah, thus only got this kind of stupidity mindset to danger other road user. Pariah whore

• I totally against all these so call high tech auto pilot bla bla bla. There’s no guarantee the system works all the time. What happen when suddenly system faulty? U are digging ur own grave & drag other innocent people with u.

• Yusof Rahmat on Mar 31, 2023 at 11:55 pm

He should be banned from driving.

• Lavourn a/l Marima on Apr 01, 2023 at 3:45 am

She learn it the hard way and that is to know and understand what you can share to influence others and what is not.

• Roslan Ahmad on Apr 01, 2023 at 11:38 pm

Kaya lagi bodoh..kalau nak mampus buat jalanraya sendiri… mampus sorang2..tak babit orang lain….bodoh.!!!

• wee-aleh on Apr 01, 2023 at 10:58 am

since auto pilot is banned, why still implement or allow this model to come?

• Nasilemak takde on Apr 03, 2023 at 11:09 am

Apa lagi… to earn extra money and at the end blame on the ppl. Simple strategy. If auto pilot is banned, dont allow auto pilot cars to be sold at here… brainless gomen!

• Just driving at 30km/h what to worry?

Free marketing :D

• https://paultan.org/2023/02/21/study-finds-land-rover-bmw-drivers-to-have-lower-iq/

“Study finds Land Rover, BMW drivers to have lower IQ”

• Stupid driver on Apr 02, 2023 at 9:47 pm

He should be suspended from driving. What kind of a moron that falls asleep when driving.

• Squid on Apr 03, 2023 at 8:54 am

It’s all fun n games until someone loses their head.

• Hari Hari Piap 2x on Apr 03, 2023 at 11:33 am

You all missing the point here.. everybody go bising about T20 la, B40 la. No helmet lah. Know what, this guy go piap his gf 14x a week. So everyday go piap until no rest and fell asleep in car. Go google.

• Mike Tee on Apr 03, 2023 at 11:36 am

The iX gives an amber warning after 10 (15?) seconds or so if your hands are off the wheel. Another 10 seconds it goes red. Another 10 seconds later it just gives up, slows down, puts on the hazard lights and stops as it assumes you are incapacitated. Also iX ‘autopilot’ gives up when markings are not clear or a curve is severe amongst many other unknown reasons.

I don’t see him putting any device (the coke can trick on Mercedes, ‘Autopilot Buddy’ for Tesla) on the steering wheel to trick the car into thinking his hands are on the wheel. Basically what I am saying is it is impossible to fall asleep on the wheel on an iX. I know because I am driving one.

Finally, imagine getting fined or losing his license for a staged photo.

• johnas on Apr 03, 2023 at 2:15 pm

haiya some of you ppl here, don’t literally say org kaya ma…be more specific la. i mean in many circumstances, ya la, these everyday idiots are usually wealthy but not 100% of them are like that la.
    usually its those 2nd gen rich daddy’s child or 1 of those lucky ones who started doing business at early stages of their life. now it’s we have Influencers who made it. I still think calling them influencers is wrong. Influencers are supposed to set good examples.

• AppletTree on Apr 03, 2023 at 2:29 pm

Great ROI for this couple. Not many Malaysians know them. Now they are public figure. After this ordeal, they have more ppl following them.

• Demi rakyat on Apr 03, 2023 at 7:55 pm

This clown is on IG @ weeshentay. Typical spoilt brat flaunting daddy’s money with no regard for public safety. Should be sent to jail for a month, license suspended indefinitely and a hefty fine imposed. Imagine if your family member or friend got hit by this clown whilst he was sleeping at the wheel? How would you feel? Prevention is better than cure. Police should stop being so soft.

• Oh Malaysiaku on Apr 04, 2023 at 3:12 am

This should get the same heavy penalty as drunk driving, not just a slap on the wrist. Like drunk driving, this is clearly reckless and irresponsible towards other road users’ lives.