Grab pricing: Gov’t understands requests to determine a floor price, but wants to avoid interfering – Loke

The government says it is exploring the requests that have been made to determine a floor price for ride-hailing services, but is looking to remain committed to its current policy of not interfering with pricing, The Star reports.

According to transport minister Anthony Loke, while the ministry understands the request by ride-hailing drivers, it is also of the view that the existing dynamic pricing system should remain in place. “The drivers want this (floor price) to be imposed so that each trip they make will be worth the while, but if this is implemented, consumers will face higher prices,” he said.

Nonetheless, he said that drivers should not be allowed to operate at a loss, and that their welfare must also be looked into. “This is something that we need to consider, and discussions are still ongoing,” he said.

Loke said this in response to questions from reporters over Grab Drivers Malaysia Association (GDMA) vice-president Mohd Azril Ahmad’s call for discussions to be held between the gig industry and the government. Mohd Azril had asked for a floor price to be determined for services provided by ride-hailing drivers and delivery riders.

In February, the association had voiced its unhappiness over the latest rate revision made by Grab, which lowered distance charges from 70 sen to 25 sen per km. The company said that this was balanced out by increasing time charges from 20 sen to 43 sen per minute, and that its driver-partners would gain from the new rates, as they would be paid higher during rush hours even for shorter distances due to traffic.

However, Grab drivers were reportedly not satisfied with the adjustment, saying it would result in a 65% drop in earnings per km. They added that congestion is infrequent and mostly occurs only in KL and Selangor.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Working citizen on Apr 12, 2023 at 11:09 am

If unhappy just quit. Many jobs available

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 12, 2023 at 9:54 pm

U confirm the order
      Then U gotta pay lo
      Meter taxi kan ada?

• the driver on Apr 12, 2023 at 1:51 pm

Behind it all, the government is laughing all the way to the bank. With such high taxes even for local make of cars, it just might not be viable to make a decent living being a Grab, taxi or any call driver

• Ground europe passenger on Apr 12, 2023 at 2:25 pm

E hailing not profitable as 3 years back, now few people willing to use their above rm60k new car for e-hailing. Tyre, battery, oil change everything pun naik harga, better well kept the car instead of let it wear and tear prematurely.

• Laugh on Apr 12, 2023 at 2:42 pm

Since they complain so much.
    Should allow maximum increase.

Minimum pay per ride is RM50
    RM 5 Per KM
    RM10 per min

Kan everything more expensive now.
    Minimum wage pun dah naik.
    Grab Drivers needs higher income.
    Only understandable if they are allowed to make higher income.

We understand completely.
    Let them charge maximum.
    Willing seller, willing buyer.
    I’m sure more people will ride the GRAB then.

They do have high IQ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Ben Yap on Apr 12, 2023 at 3:48 pm

i don’t understand all these e-hailing drivers. they only know how to complain when they clearly know that they cannot make a career out of e-hailing. they should just stop their gig work and go back to proper employment that even pays them EPF. if they have no qualifications, they should get one. this job has no future at all and whatever they earn can even hardly raise a family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • Dog Face on Apr 12, 2023 at 10:14 pm

Then when you are going out during jam please do not order grab… Just drive your own, even when you are having emergency then take bus or ask someone to help you, please do no order grab. Thank you

• Stupid FC owner on Apr 13, 2023 at 9:39 am

Just like how we don’t understand why u so proud of ur civic, look at the street how many FC is there, still thinking people cannot own that lol…did u settle ur full loan civic already ?

What you mean no future ? Some people start Grab to save money so they can start their business in the future or just a temporary work / part time. Not all Grab drivers are asshole, just like not every FC owner think they are very HIGH CLASS, u r just a joke

• Ben Yap on Apr 13, 2023 at 3:36 pm

settle long time already lor… car loans are unhealthy loans so best to take as short as possible.

• Honda Grab on Apr 13, 2023 at 12:06 pm

Dude some people started driving Grab just because they are sick of the 9 to 5 job and wanted to make something for their future like starting up a business and here you are wanted them to go back where they wanted to escape from lol. And FYI you can apply for for EPF and SOCSO deduction for Grab too.

• blackjack on Apr 12, 2023 at 6:44 pm

ya, wants to avoid interfering floor pricing so that everyone can use ehailing like bapak dia punya kreta. come faster,drive faster im in a hurry ya,a/cond must b cold ,not smelly but i smell something fishy..

• Lim King Boon on Apr 12, 2023 at 9:58 pm

Anthony, all of you will never understand the problem we face after the adjustment.Just like what you did to the LRT and MRT, you have to go to the ground inorder to understand the problem facing the commuters.
    Try being a grab driver for a week, your blood pressure will probably shoot up the roof,
    We are giving service like a personal driver, we will pick you up from the place you stand to your door step you don’t even have to walk, yet our rates are cheaper than a taxi, ever thought why its that so.
    Have you ever ask why are e-hailing in Singapore, Australia, New Zealand rates are higher compared to Malaysia.
    It got worst to the point, even the foreign workers who frequent our services pity us ,nowadays they will ask ,how come the price so low,.

• holofanboi on Apr 13, 2023 at 10:34 am

@Lim King Boon, what do you think if the overall rates are increased by 20% (from current)?

Is that an acceptable increase?

• Loges on Apr 13, 2023 at 11:03 pm

To some of you’ll who giving the stupid comment around , we riders working for family timings because of kids at home need to care of. We riders are expecting higher payment for delivery’s and regarding the waiting payment non of us rider who received the payment we work for 12hour of calculation there will be 10, 2hour lose of wait for restaurant to prepare and wait for some of ridicules customer to collect there food because they lazy to come down to collect

• Filix on Apr 14, 2023 at 7:06 pm

Grab should understand that we are not competing to be the lowest fare in the market but we are the best service in transportation services. Actually we are complimenting or inovate the old traditional taxi service. So the fare shouldnt be too low for driver to survive in this industry.