Grab drivers to go on strike today? Association unhappy with latest fare revision, claim earnings lower

Grab drivers might go on strike later today. The Grab Drivers Malaysia Association (GDMA) is meeting today and will decide on the steps to take in protesting the latest rate revision by the company, according to Utusan Malaysia.

“If we go to the Grab Driver Centre to strike without discussing it first and when the question-and-answer time comes, we have no facts to back us up against the management. Because of that, we ask for some time so that we can gather information,” said GDMA vice-president Mohd Azril Ahmat.

Grab recently adjusted its fare system, lowering distance charges from 70 sen to 25 sen per km. This is balanced out by increasing time charges from 20 sen to 43 sen per minute. Grab said that its driver-partners stand to gain from the new rates as they would be paid higher during rush hours even for shorter distances, as cars are stuck in traffic jams.

The Utusan report said that Grab drivers are not satisfied and have claimed a 65% drop in earnings per km. It adds that the drivers insist that congestion is infrequent and mostly happens only in KL and Selangor.

Anyone else feel that Grab rides have gone up in price and are rather expensive these days, or is it just me?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on Feb 03, 2023 at 4:15 pm

E-hailing is supposed to be an alternative avenue for the people to earn extra income and not tied to the strings that usually come with permanent employment.

As usual, these people will form association to demand everything. Later they will have Gabungan Persatuan-Persatuan Grab. Give them a little more time, they will form Segala Gabungan-Gabungan Persatuan Pemandu Grab. Finally they will demand for a Kementerian Pemandu-Pemandu Grab. Probably they will demand a deputy PM post to fight for the rights of Grab drivers.

That’s entitlement.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 118 Thumb down 152
    • Rafizi sembang kencang on Feb 03, 2023 at 5:01 pm

They fight for their right.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 29
      • DonkeyKong on Feb 04, 2023 at 10:23 am

What right? Gig economy is a platform for part time gigs to earn supplementary income. They’re never meant to be full time jobs. What next, part time grass cutters start asking home owners to give them EPF and Socso along with their grass cutting fees?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 62
        • Terpaling flex lagi kan on Feb 06, 2023 at 10:59 pm

Itulah. Dulu flex sgt income konon blh da bao degree holder, up tiktok, fb, utube dan segala mcm socmed tunjuk income tinggi2 kerja sekejap.

Kan da cmpny mata merah potong incentive sana sini, pick up planet pluto hantar planet utarid, skrg sapa terpaling segalanya rugi?

• Amran on Feb 03, 2023 at 5:23 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 133
      • Maverick merpati still at Kajang on Feb 03, 2023 at 8:45 pm

U remember what the Ukrainian soldiers told the Russian warship at Snake Island at the beginning of the Ukrain war?
        Go and…..yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • Bird brain people not know nothing.. brains othe knee bah

• Hahahahaha exactly. Bird brain people who voted for the clan of Duta timur gajibutaa Utara pantai Timur, LOL wallahi sedekohh dah chukop jumelohhh..

• RenBoy on Feb 04, 2023 at 6:56 pm

Ini sebab u bodoh ‍♂️

• Gagal your head. This new rate is set by grab which is a private company here. Govt can’t intervene each time they revise the fares. And this has nothing to do with PH or Anthony loke. U faham tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
        • Masalah nye kera jaan dok sibuk gila kuasa..lantik lg banduan..xnk toyota neraka tp naik helicap..ke babi an ape kah ini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Babi? Sedap tu.. Try makan bak kut teh bang.. Mmg sedap gila babi.. Tlg try jgn lupa ye.. Kalau blh try ramai2..

• Doomdays on Feb 06, 2023 at 8:10 am

Kkk, U cerita acah2 cerdik, totally wrong and fatal. Yes, gov can surely intervene. Like all banks also are private company, but they can’t simply put high interest like Along to the consumers, they cant also treat they workers loke rubish. Thats why we Bank Malaysia and Kementerian SM.

What the use of gov if they cant jaga kemaslahatan rakyat Malaysia. Grab drivers pun rakyat Malaysia. Grab company is totally mot*herfu*ker. They only provide platform, while the car, the times belong, the energy are belong to the car owners. Grab should discussed with all car owners so both can find the point of understanding and win2 situation without burder the consumers.

U takyah ckp bykla, Anthony Loke mmg bod*h jadi menteri pengangkutan. Dulu pun bod*h, never trust any politician because they are will said everything to pleased everyone, but when it comes to implementation, they re d*mb as*. They cant even walk their own talk la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • bmyway on Feb 06, 2023 at 5:43 pm

Name also Doomsday talking like a baboon so I predict your brain also at your knee. Fyi I’m not a PH supporter but from what I know PH government just recently form a few months ago plus their new MP or whatever and your talking bullshit like this new government already leading this country for a long time and yup I’m right your really a dumb bell. Dude get a hike coz people like your negative attitude and with such name Doomsday are destroying our country.

• bmyway on Feb 06, 2023 at 5:45 pm

Brain at your knee cap

• Not entitled brat on Feb 03, 2023 at 6:53 pm

Been searching for this comment everywhere and forever now. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • YAB Anwar on Feb 03, 2023 at 8:41 pm

Recalitrant Newme
      If u r affected Grab driver,u will sing a different tune.
      You r one of the greatest hypocrites in town.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Newme on Feb 05, 2023 at 8:42 pm

Do you know the meaning of hypocrite? Dun simply use word for the sake of making it sound good.

• John labu on Feb 03, 2023 at 10:01 pm

Yes it is supposed to be the no strings attached only that all the rules and regulations that we drivers have to comply don’t suggest so. TQ for your opinion.

• Peter watson on Feb 03, 2023 at 10:16 pm

Just as you complain of low wages and high inflation, we as drivers are also affected. We too have families to feed. We use our own vehicles, do our own maintenance and do not get any support from the govt as compared to taxis who enjoy subsidized vehicle purchase. Please look at the whole picture !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
      • Newme on Feb 05, 2023 at 9:07 pm

High inflation is only complained by people that have difficulty understanding correlation between inflation and money supply in the market. This is why they are demanding another EPF withdrawal because of high inflation.

• Edward on Feb 06, 2023 at 7:22 am

Yes I’m agree

• Heaven or Hell on Feb 04, 2023 at 12:58 am

Try to go out from ur door.. take lifts or stairs to go to the nearest bus stand to hail for your cab. Wait there for an hour or more no matter it pours or shine. (Rather thn sipping your coffee or tea at ur home..while your driver already waiting for u downstairs while u just wearing your shoes) Or try get a parking space anywhere while u are alrdy late for your appointments or works. Oh not to mention the parking charges. Then u’ll know how convenient & ENTITILED the e-hailing drivers are nowdays.

Part-time days for the drivers are long gone when there used to be competitions among EHOs. Mind you,drivers have to do their yearly inspections to renew their roadtax, ehailing insurance, scheduled maintenance, wear & tears. Think again if u are goin to mention ehailings are meant to be for part timers. Drivers have to drive at least 8-14 hours (300-400km ) a day to earn some decent income.
      If not you’ll keep on complaining about fare surges during peak hours and holidays.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
    • Anonymous on Feb 04, 2023 at 1:08 am

You do realise that for us the unemployed ppl it’s the only source of income ?and coming from a b40 group do you know usually we are the sole breadwinners ? Ppl like me we apply for jobs everyday yet still unemployed .. all we ask is for our fair wages that’s all .. don’t be mean ..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
    • Grab Partner on Feb 04, 2023 at 2:10 pm

Try to drive for Grab and u know how difficult it is for drivers to make a living. U people sit in the office 8-10 hours in the air cond room. We drive for at least 12 hours a day. Try driving for 12 hours a day for a month and see how it feels like earning peanuts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 10
      • People worked hard to get where they are too ya know. We studied, got scholarships, paid attention in class, did our overtime to get these “A/C jobs”. The world isn’t against you, we live in the same world. And some of us don’t even have privileges because of the colour of our skin – we are at a bigger disadvantage to some degree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
        • Yeah and you complain about other people that doesn’t have that opportunity are you stup*d or what you can study till what you got is also base on your family don’t think like other people family also like you if you say your family doesn’t even support you i don’t think you grateful enough

• Grab drivers malas on Feb 21, 2023 at 5:54 am

Just eat the fact that most grab drivers that keep giving excuse like you did are budak malas and didnt want to sacrifice their youth to compete in education. They saw some ppl flex with grab income (during covid) and they wanted easy way out too. Now people dont use grab they strike. Funny people

• You obviously are oblivious to facts and corporate greed

• You really are oblivious to facts

• GengHo on Feb 05, 2023 at 12:40 pm

Why strike yoh? Just cancel any booking that is not beneficial to you and stay away and go rest during peak hours! Grab will then seriously reconsider its action, otherwise just keep barking.

• I’m not fond about going on strike too but I believe every grab driver has gone offline because of the change in fare. a lot have even changed their platform until Grab makes changes.

• Than for full timer wat you going to tell,Grab don’t have full timer??,each driver struggling to achieve their quota daily,grab must consider to pay higher incentive,rather than assuring alternative income…etc

• Morning Dew on Feb 03, 2023 at 4:40 pm

I find it so funny when people complain about Grab fare expensive and car price expensive, use ur leg and walk la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 25
  • moneygrab on Feb 03, 2023 at 5:14 pm

well to be fair, GRAB’s practise hasn’t been exactly favorable to its drivers. Grab has gotten rather huge and they know they have the means to pressure their drivers/riders. I personally do not use GRAB (anymore).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 11
  • Just switch to indriver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
    • Supirman on Feb 04, 2023 at 12:23 am

Indriver no permit lor.. If u get caught while driving indriver u will be summ’on and ur car will be ‘SITA’

• Ehmet on Feb 04, 2023 at 2:43 am

Try search in playstore

• It’s an illegal platform, you are exposed to danger that might cost your life….go ahead. Hahahaha

• PH lau on Feb 03, 2023 at 5:31 pm

What do you expect from people who sit in their comfort in the Air con room to understand the actual situation faced by the drivers.?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 16
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 04, 2023 at 10:21 am

What do you expect from people who don’t want to get a real job but expect job security like they have a real job? Grab drivers and Grab food riders are just the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 32
      • Yours Truly, Mr Wonderful on Feb 05, 2023 at 10:06 am

A job is still a job regardless, similarly as the company you’re with decides to just cut your wages as they like by 65% per kilometer of earnings, in your case of 9-5 job context which to me is just a false securities for many and often bad mouth younger generations who owns luxury cars on their own instead of given by parents.

It’s up to people to decide what they want in life and whatever means they get their earnings as long as it’s not illegal and harmful to society.

If 9-5 job has such security, why aren’t most 9-5 hustlers multimillionaires? Our entire society should have at least a C300 with no hiccups, why aren’t you driving a Ferrari or a Lamborghini now mate?

Food for thought before you speak

• Kingkong on Feb 05, 2023 at 11:34 am

So you think working as Grab driver is ‘ kerja main-main ‘ ?

• Apa ni Grab??? on Feb 03, 2023 at 6:06 pm

So who say that everything go up except rain?

• Come On Grab on Feb 03, 2023 at 6:12 pm

Mcm ni la Grab, takde hujan takde ribut, disebalik semua harga menaik, tup2 turunkan rate. Setakat seminggu ni, harga semasa peak hour jauh lebih rendah drp sebelumnya… sighhh… Pastu sistem dia bukannya boleh detect kat mana2 yang ada jem pun, dia main pukul rata je peak hour from 6-10am & 5-8pm, sedangkan kebanyakkan jalan di KL/Sel ni jem tak kira masa pun!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 6
    • Isaac on Feb 04, 2023 at 12:33 am

Agree.. I ada friends… ibu tunggal keje grab… hantar org dri KL ke Shah Alam rm30 jerrrr… Shah Alam ke Klang RM11… selalu dia mengadu hantar jauh2 tapi fare murah sgt… tolak komisen grab lagi… penah dpt KL ke Seremban RM60 je… adoiii tepuk dahi la weiii…. yg indriver pon sama… passenger demand harga…tekan driver…. nak selesa tapi byar murah… naik lrt la woiii… xpon tunggu bas… kesian org kerja ehailing ni cari rezki…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
      • Jennie kim on Feb 04, 2023 at 5:15 pm

Setuju…k.sel ke sekinchan rm24..dahla jauh sikit pulak tu..nasib2

• Regular car only require contoh RM55 for full tank, boleh jalan 450KM minimum. KL-S/Alam baru 35KM max. Dengan dapat RM30 ‘jerrr’ … jujur kata bersyukur la.
        Sometimes teksi even cheaper during daylight. The higher your rating, the more order masuk, the more you earn. #goodluck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Jebon on Feb 06, 2023 at 3:00 am

Itu baru kos minyak je bang. Kena kira kos lain² dan overhead sekali. Still thinking it’s worth it?

• Habibu on Feb 06, 2023 at 9:44 am

Dr M, what car you driving ? No need service and change “wear and tear” ? Please introduce to everyone, or your brain just can’t function well?

• Anonymous on Feb 06, 2023 at 10:24 am

Teksi murah skrg hanya sebab kewujudan grab ni je, if not they can jack up the price anytime and anyhow they want. If taken 35km=rm30 you
          say is “cheap”, then also factor in the time taken lah pakcik. 1hour+ to complete that 35km trip is no joke. Not only you wasted a lot of time but also petrol as well. That rm30 is supposed to be the floor price but also need some kind of incentives to make it relevant.

• Sape2 je la on Feb 12, 2023 at 2:42 am

Ko fikir minyak je? Usaha, masa, Tayar , service, brakepad mcm2 lagi wear and tear tu boleh claim kat nenek kau?

• This new fare system grab is paying less and charge on customers. They philosophy is squeeze driver and customers to the max while sitting down earning 20% every trip. US stock is losing and pushing up revenue to build good portfolio and sell the company???

• Brekpet on Feb 03, 2023 at 8:21 pm

Grab mention the driver is partner,but decision to re structure the price never ‘invite’ the driver itself.i can feel whoever driver fulltime basis,definately impact the income,unless grab reduce profit sharing with driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Grab is only good at propaganda claiming so passionate that drivers are their partners.
      In the first place by taking away 20% of the driver’s hard earn monies then that is not partnership.
      So Grab please don’t claim to be partners.
      In fact these pitiful drivers are your modern slaves.
      There are so many other E-hailing in the market , give it a try.
      Grab is no more the same as before.
      Leave Grab no point of complaining.
      There are many other fish in the ocean.

• And this is why we need more competitive e-hailing companies. Better for drivers and passengers alike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Ahmad on Feb 03, 2023 at 10:11 pm

Anthony loke should resign as transport minister ,and PM Anwar should step in right away to solve the problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • MOT focus pada public transport & safety road Ahmad. Kita tak boleh suka2 expect gov to interrupt / masuk campur hal swasta even PM skalipun unless they against the Law and Order.

• Peter Watson on Feb 03, 2023 at 10:11 pm

At 25 sen per km, a distance of 50 km covered will give us RM12.50 which can hardly cover fuel costs, not to mention wear & tear. Please bear in mind that we have to service our vehicle every 2-3 weeks and that will add to our maintenance cost. What about distant pickups of more than 4 km upto 20km, only to have the rider cancel when we almost reach their pickup area. Where does this leave us? Added to that our HP costs every month for 7/9 years, but by year 10, our vehicles are considered obsolete and we have to purchase a new vehicle. This makes us slaves to the hire purchase scheme and forever in debt to the banks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Grab them by the .. on Feb 03, 2023 at 10:19 pm

No wonder my application for Grab car rental suddenly got approved, but i won’t go for it knowing this now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Mudin on Feb 03, 2023 at 10:29 pm

Establish your own ride-share company then.
    Stop complaining and stop working with Grab lah.
    Keep insisting on entitlements, herd mentality.
    Were drivers forced to join Grab?
    Grab owes you a living ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • Anonymous on Feb 06, 2023 at 10:36 am

There’s a big difference between entitlement and asking basically their employers to be fair. And yes grab do owe them, they’re taking 20% of their earning. Drivers are the money making machine for them. They are the sole reason why this company is making millions right now.

Were drivers forced? Dude where are you living right now? Mars? The economy is forcing these drivers to join. Everybody wants a secured jobs even if it paid less and got epf as well so they can plan their retirement. But no, some of them dont have the luxury of options. They demand the fare to be fair, not to make them rich lol.

The gap between previous years and current income is so huge that they had to sound and demand what is theirs. It’s like you had 3k salary but your boss suddenly cuts your pay to 2.5k and now you have to work more hours. Be reasonable.

• Grab dah lama rancang Kita je lalai. Grab food sama jdgn grab car. Makin Hari fare Makin kurang. Belum double order lagi yg grab potong. Customer bayar fare kena tapis kat grab. Yg sampai pada rider dah kurang

• Karma on Feb 03, 2023 at 10:39 pm

Government must supress the domination of grab and make a way to welcome other ehailing services …. Fix a nominal fare. If demands created, then call off your grab services rather than charge 3x times costs, this will give other private taxis service a part.

• Chandran Thannimalai on Feb 03, 2023 at 11:37 pm

Please reduce the 20% commision to 12% now because spare parts costs has gone up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Bieight8 on Feb 04, 2023 at 12:18 am

But if they go on strike they won’t earn money?

• yes those that go on strike will let those that don’t earn more due to fare up due to lack of drivers in the road

• Isaac on Feb 04, 2023 at 12:43 am

Apa lah… tak rasional la sebab jem ikot masa je… so kalau bukan peak hour mcm mana… kesian woii… i dh dgr byk keluhan my friends yg keje grab… paling kesian ibu tunggal keje grab yg htr jauh2 kepong la sungai buloh la dri KL… dpt belas2 ringit je.. lagi gila KL ke Shah Alam Rm30++… KL ke seremban RM60++… adoiii pastuh tolak komisen grab lagi… dengar pon pelik…. org nak selesa wajib la bayar lebih… duduk aircond… nk murah naik rapid or lrt… driver indriver pon sama… kene demand macam pasar ikan… kasi tambang mcm nk gerak 100meter je… pengguna pon guna logika wei… kesian driver2 semua… diorg cri rezki… ingat lagi zaman dulu teksi letak harga mahal x guna meter maybe sebab mcm ni la kot… yela hantar org dpt duit… patah balik xda org…kosong… aku yg xkeje grab ni pon tapi pengguna grab kesian dgr keluhan driver grab ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Ehmet on Feb 04, 2023 at 2:50 am

You know why overall fare getting lower despite grab increase time based fare?
    Because, grabmaps can’t detect real time traffic. No, they fail to do so. Imagine in traffic jam, 2km only 5 minutes, what a lie. 2 minutes not even 500m lah.

Plus, congestion is always an unexpected event, sometimes there is sudden roadblock, sometimes there is accident, not to mention 199 traffic light. Sigh.

All this time, high fare during peak hour only be done via multiplication of regular fare. That’s it.

Lowering km based fare while Grab maps is still new is just stupid approach by grab. They have the audacity to estimate ETA based oh HISTORY of that route. What the actual fish is that? HISTORY, NOT REAL TIME TRAFFIC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Partner on Feb 05, 2023 at 2:40 am

System calculate base on current, next 5 minutes, anything can happen… Rain, accident, road works start… so the AI is not using real logic to calculate the fees therefore mismatch price.

• Ronnie on Feb 04, 2023 at 5:59 am

Grab fees look higher lately

• Saleh Penang on Feb 04, 2023 at 9:48 am

I have been a partner since before Covid. This is a gig industry. You come as you wish and please leave if not satisfied. If you are a muslim, just remember rezeki does not belong to you. There are more pressing issues regarding rakyat and the politicians are losing their focus….

• Ben Yap on Feb 04, 2023 at 10:26 am

I used to drive Uber and Grab as part time many years ago. the drivers’ earnings has been decreasing through time. However, I realized that being e-hailing driver is not a good career move and there is no social security. Hence, I tried to save up every dollar that I earned and further my studies by taking up MBA to complement my Bachelor’s Degree. It is a better investment to put your energy, strength and resources into a proper job rather than gig economy. E-hailing driver only can a part time job.

• Ruslan Bahari on Feb 04, 2023 at 11:33 am

Newme’s comment is right.

Anyone who thinks this is going to go the way of the drivers or riders will be disappointed. This is an income supplement plan, so if you build your earnings around this, it is going to be a problem. This is NOT employment.

Plus, if you disagree, leave the platform. There are many others that are out there. In a free market, this is what should take place, where market forces enable the prices to be moderated based on supply and demand. This is exactly what our politicians mean when they say “stop buying” (although they say it in an untrained way.

You cannot demand a price in a gig economy product. Even in normal employment, if you are offered a salary, you may seek for more but if they are unwilling to pay for whatever reasons (your experience, department equity, cost management, market averages), your choice is to decline the offer.

The commenter is right. Entitlement. And it has no place in an economy, especially over the top demands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • Wise words from one of our new minister…..if the telur is expensive don’t eat telur, if the restaurant is expensive don’t go to that restaurant…safe to presume if the grab taxi is expensive then don’t order the grab taxi…. masalah settle

• Letchmana on Feb 04, 2023 at 12:54 pm

I am a Grab diver..low fare issue and far pickup is really killing drivers. Wonder why no one is complaining about AUTO ACCEPT..is this not forced labour..we are not slaves for GRAB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Carrom on Feb 04, 2023 at 1:15 pm

Must be too many drivers refuse to work during peak hours..therefore increasing the base for minute incentive. This is actually very positive move for consumers, as there will be more drivers available during peak hours. Drivers obviously will be unhappy as many wanted the easy routes only.

• Audra Arthur on Feb 04, 2023 at 1:19 pm

Grab prices are ridiculously charged n there’s no consistency in pricing. Some days, especially Fridays it can be 3x more than the usual fare. It’s crazy n if it rains the fare is even higher. Absolute day light robbery. Sadly the consumer ministry does nothing to monitor or regulate Grab fares.

• Goodnessme on Feb 05, 2023 at 5:54 pm

U make it sound like grab is a government agency but it is private business . iPhone also always increasing price and so should you go and sound at government for iPhone prices to go down ?

• Shanmugam on Feb 04, 2023 at 3:01 pm

The Grab Fair is to low and cost of living in Malaysia gone up how to service with fair…

• Ipoh grab also the same. Got job 7 km to pick up but the is rm5. And to send another 6km to the destination. We r not running on NGV, we r running on patrol. N also see our maintenance also. Please do something about it.

• Jamie on Feb 04, 2023 at 3:42 pm

We give a service door to door not pick up at the road side . Plus we have to wait for passanger who are not likely ready to be pick up. The distance to pick up sometime it takes more then 10min to the destination and the fare is so low. Bare in mind that not all drivers are part timers . There are lots of fulltimers driver like single mother where thats the only sources of income to earn for living. We wake up as early as 5am till night just to support our famliy. But when the fare is so low how can we survive plus we have yo work more then 8 hours to achieve at keadt 150nett per day now.
    Not only that wear and tear we have to take from our pocket at leadt every one and a half month to service our car. Tiers we have to replace aircond we have to send for service if not passanger will complaint and our rating will drop.

The calculation during rush hour is not equalvalant to the fare that given to the drivers and also the bonus. Sometime it takes more then the time that grab predicted. So how did grab know whether we are atuck in jammed or not? By simply qivev the low fare to the passanger it makes us stress on tge road. Grab can make the passanger happy but we as a driver can also make ourselve happy but not accepting the job during pick hours.
    Another EHO are giving a good fare with less commisiion for themselves as they know how hard we as a driver works.

• Linda on Feb 04, 2023 at 4:59 pm

It’s bullshit..I just took my ride from Klang to shah Alam and it’s cost me nearly rm29.than from another 10km ride cost me rm21.not peak hours guys. That’s why better switch to other ehailing.and hope LRT project can complete it asap..no more taking grab etc

• Yngwie akam on Feb 04, 2023 at 5:12 pm

Setuju..tambang gila murah..hantar jauh tapi bayaran ciput..tak berbaloi!..komisyen tetap amik 20%…kurangkan la sikit amik komisyen tu!

• Greedy driver… Some expect every trip of less than 10 km to be above 20 rm

• Greedy drivers.. Some expect every trip of less than 10 km to be above 20 rm… The comments are mainly greedy drivers

• Samuel L Jeksen on Feb 06, 2023 at 3:11 am

The fare isn’t set by the drivers, but by Grab’s system instead

• paparadzi on Feb 04, 2023 at 6:49 pm

E-hailing is supposed to be a gig economy, which means should be mostly done by part-timers.
    However government regulations has made it quite difficult for part-timers to join in. Most e-hailing drivers are doing it full time.

• Honestly to say, now grab company is bullying their driver, they already over, even during peak hour, 0.45 is too low

• Chris on Feb 05, 2023 at 6:24 am

Grabbing

• Chris on Feb 05, 2023 at 6:29 am

Been Grabbing from the beginning myteksi days and I would say yes there’s a significant increase in rates but guess what, taxis are now cheaper and they go by their meters, all the ehailing made headway before because our taxis we’re not disciplined, they are now, so if Grab drivers persist and create the opportunity for full-time taxi drivers to once again seize the market, I think it’s fair game .

• Md Hassan Suman on Feb 05, 2023 at 7:34 am

Grab cars are getting expensive of course

• At least now i know why most Grab Driver bawak macam siput even on left lane they simply let car Over Take (potong). Sometimes purposely speed not even exceed 60km/h, even on highways. That reminds me when i took ride from LRT Sogo to Kepong area. Conclusion is decrease from 70sen to 25sen p/km is one hell acceptable.

• Jeff siddeka on Feb 05, 2023 at 10:43 am

Last 4 yrs i weigh on to buy a new car n do grab?
    Tht time grab was good option..everything was wonderful to earn..bt i decide to drive a taxi..n do grab.
    The income from both side r good ..bt its not always sunny day..i hv to contend with rider behaviour..i suck it up..bcos the pay.
    Nowadays..my taxi is abt to be overhaul..half cut gearbox at rm4k..not a small nomber. I don have that much..
    full time taxi doesnt match grab earning..even yhe fare now is been decrese…so open up to use many eho as u can..
    I m now trying to decide…myb i will take bus driving liecence…b a bus or lorry driver..

• Bark Chee Peng on Feb 05, 2023 at 11:10 am

Saya sentiasa dapat fare yg rendah, contoh: RM5- RM7 dan pick up point yg jauh seperti 4.5km ke atas sehingga 6- 7km pun ada, nak pick up pun 10minit ke atas kadang kala jalan sampai setengah passenger sudah cancel booking…….saya harap Management akan selesai pekara ini secepat mukin , sekian terima…

• It is their (GDMA) right to fight for their right, which they think they deserve. They, even have the right to self- terminate their services. In both cases the public or the govt cannot stop them.

• No mercy on Feb 05, 2023 at 11:29 am

Grab u bloody punk taking advantage of drivers situation, bloody vampire hope for your collapse soon

• GengHo on Feb 05, 2023 at 12:47 pm

Why bother to strike ? It’s obsolete – just reject any booking that is not favourable and stay away during peak period! Within one week, Grab will be on its kneel! Why pander to the 10sen per kilometre pick up incentive when one can drive back kilometres empty-handed during return trip ?

• GengHo on Feb 05, 2023 at 12:48 pm

Why strike yoh? Just cancel any booking that is not beneficial to you and stay away and go rest during peak hours! Grab will then seriously reconsider its action, otherwise just keep barking.

• Bad boys on Feb 05, 2023 at 12:50 pm

Macam la PN betul sangat bekerja. Tutup grab bagi lesen baru pada company baru

• Ern Xing on Feb 05, 2023 at 1:40 pm

If you can’t afford Grab rides, don’t take it. Just take the bus. Don’t complain about a luxury provided if you can’t afford it. As a Grab rider since Day 1, I feel Grab been unfair to all their so called “partners”.

Even when they lowered their fares, they still take 20% from them. Most of the people driving Grab, they are retirees or people who can’t just “get a job” at a company or not like us younger people.

All I want to see is fairness and kindness in this. As a person who doesn’t have a car, I use Grab often.

I try to tip every driver/rider because of this issue because I although I may not know what it feels like to be one, I empathize completely.

Please, just put the fares back to the original pricing before.

Thank you.

• Yes, Grab would be shortchanging you guys by doing this. Distance and time calculated has always been on free traffic. Grab saying that it will be on live traffic is rubbish.

• What the min fare rm 5, before this I get rm 3 sometimes rm 4 also…. Previously fare from ktm Butterworth to usm penang Island ard rm 38 now only rm 20 from ktm Butterworth to Queensbay far away from usm…… Do think our grab driver want to continue to take this order???

• Unfortunately the world has gone mad, its just modern day slavery

• Hardworker on Feb 05, 2023 at 5:38 pm

People working in an office (minority)is sucking the hard earn money $$$ by people working long hours, hard and risk outdoor (majority). This is what happened now in the world?!

• Goodnessme on Feb 05, 2023 at 5:49 pm

If don’t like grab few , don’t drive for them . Not like kena paksa . Those of us in office , think easy to study continuously and get a job we also have to invest to earn our keep . Grab doesn’t owe you a living since grab provides you a customer to work on . You asked those taxi driver before grab days how hard issit to find a client ? Grab was essentially a gig platform for us office worker after work to earn a extra money . It wasn’t meant for a full time driver to make a living . So those who wanna do that can’t complain because this grab isn’t meant for you but you still wanted to squeeze your round ideas to square peg . Don’t like the rates move on to another platform . You’ve invested nothing in grab and dependent in grab to give you customer .

Kalau pandai find your own customer and develop your own apps to drive to it

• Goodnessme on Feb 05, 2023 at 5:50 pm

If don’t like grab , don’t drive for them . Not like kena paksa . Those of us in office , think easy to study continuously and get a job we also have to invest to earn our keep . Grab doesn’t owe you a living since grab provides you a customer to work on . You asked those taxi driver before grab days how hard issit to find a client ? Grab was essentially a gig platform for us office worker after work to earn a extra money . It wasn’t meant for a full time driver to make a living . So those who wanna do that can’t complain because this grab isn’t meant for you but you still wanted to squeeze your round ideas to square peg . Don’t like the rates move on to another platform . You’ve invested nothing in grab and dependent in grab to give you customer .

Kalau pandai find your own customer and develop your own apps to drive to it

• Vincent on Feb 05, 2023 at 10:35 pm

Grab is a platform that collects bookings and distribute to the respective drivers. They should reduce their commission down to 5% from 20%.Grab income as a e hailing platform is unlimited, while the drivers are limited..Grab lower commission can be cushions by higher advertisement charges.. Majority of online platforms main income are from placement of ads..The rate of RM 0.25/km payable to drivers are historical figure of the 70’s…
    Nobody force anybody to be drivers or customers to Grab..The high or low rate for drivers/customers are irrelevant..What is relevant is the choice made which of free will by all..Just like restaurants, there is no such thing as expensive restaurants..Buy if you can afford, go other places if you can’t afford..The price or cost is displayed in front of every body eyes . No body is forcing anybody to buy .. Every body has equal opportunity but not fairness!!
    Stop complaining and move on in life..Life is full of choices!!

• Malar Chandran on Feb 05, 2023 at 11:57 pm

Very expensive

• Vincent on Feb 06, 2023 at 12:23 am

Burn down the grab.

• 3 hari dalam 6 hari bekerja@10 jam boleh dapat RM300.00 .
    Sekarang hanya 1 hari dalam 6 hari bekerja@ 10 jam boleh dapat RM300.00

• grabdriver on Jul 09, 2023 at 8:25 am

celah mana 10 jam dapat rm300. tolak toll minyak lagi.

• grabdriver on Jul 09, 2023 at 8:31 am

celah mana 10 jam dapat rm300. tolak toll minyak lagi. bahagi separuh pun belum cukup nak tanggung maintenance.

• Whatsoever on Feb 06, 2023 at 8:36 am

You have a choice. Accept n drive or change jobs. No one force u to drive.

• Amirul on Feb 06, 2023 at 11:37 am

Grab driver have right to demand because they are Malaysians. Grab as a private entity is using Malaysians to earn profit therefore Government, as the public servant that has been voted by these Grab drivers, must intervene to protect Grab drivers interest.

It is Private vs Public. Private serve shareholder interest which is mainly based by growth and greed. While Public/Goverment serve the welfare of the Rakyat.

There is no such thing as job security so please do not look down at the Grab Drivers. I was a grab driver back in Grab Uber days 8 years back because I have been retrenched in so called “Air Cond” job. 26 years old with a baby to feed.

• Rase nak tambang murah naik basikal atau naik bus…kami rider2 xhadap passengers nak pickup jauh / dan fare terlalu murah dan xmasuk akal

• M. Rajakumar S Manickam on Feb 06, 2023 at 2:33 pm

Why don’t you become a grab driver to feel the suffering. If not stop using Ehailing and take a free bus or LRT or MRT or KTM or cycle or much better jog !Fantastic reply. They only want cheap and the best. Should just cycle or walk because its free and healthy

• Sg grabber on Feb 07, 2023 at 6:07 am

While grab SG drivers earns at least 3-400 sgd per day

• Squid on Feb 07, 2023 at 9:22 am

Here’s a probable solution….

Government do own drive sharing platform. Can maximize income for drivers, and whatever profits are gov income…

• Bossku on Feb 08, 2023 at 10:24 am

Hmm…..you guys who are driving for Grab or any ride hailing companies, you can always choose not to! Nobody is forcing you to drive for them. If you are unhappy, find alternative employment instead of complaining. If you can’t find better options, just stick to driving and stop complaining. Life is unfair, afterall.

• Ah Chong on Feb 08, 2023 at 12:41 pm

Just vote with your action and/or wallet. No point complaining. I personally stop taking grab because fees gone higher driver gotten less.

I’m just lucky I can afford the longer time on a bus. I rather relax on a bus than trying to call grab 20 minute nobody wants to pick me up.

• abang meter taxi satu tahun kerja sudah kaya la
    ehailing mati la rate macam ni
    grab sama in driver ni rate macam nak sedekah orang shj
    kereta kami sendiri2

• Syarikat Grab, mengambil untung yang lebih . Kenapa dia nak 20% ? Kereta , minyak Dan tenaga kerja milik kita. Dia terima Rm2 untuk setiap booking dah cukup memadai …tetapi dia nak 20% !!! Untung dia semakin bertambah disebabkan pengorbanan pihak pemandu.Grab tidak jaga pemandu, dia jaga penumpang..! Dia cipta undang2 untuk melindungi diri serta menekan pemandu untuk terus beroperasi walaupun tambangnya murah. Dia kejam Dan zalim …..! Berpura2 menjaga kebajikan pemandu. Ada pihak tertentu memainkan peranan untuk menentukan harga …bagi kepentingan diri sendiri.

• Francis on Apr 19, 2023 at 11:13 am

Yes Grab fares are really low with forced auto accept and far pickups. Foreigners benefit the most with these fares at the drivers expense.