Motorcyclist rides into path of car, collision occurs – here’s why AEB should be in the next car you buy

Here’s another instance of car-versus-motorcycle caught on camera, and in this video that is just over one minute long, the camera car is shown to have actually received a double serving of misfortune; more on that in a moment.

The footage shows the camera vehicle travelling on the right-hand lane of a two-lane main road, and early in the footage a motorcycle is seen emerging from a junction on the left. The motorcyclist then proceeds to merge into the right lane, and into the path of the camera vehicle that is approaching.

From the moment the bike is seen leaving the junction, the position of the motorcyclist’s helmet can be seen to be facing in the direction of travel – as the case usually should be – however when making a lane change, the motorcyclist has neglected to do a head-check, also known as a ‘life saver’, which is to very quickly look over the shoulder in the direction the rider intends to turn towards.

The driver of the camera vehicle could also have done more to avoid or mitigate the severity of the collision. There is no speed readout on the dashcam footage, though the passage of road markings can be seen to have slowed just before impact. This shows the importance of far enough ahead and being alert to other road users around, and in case of this incident, slowing down in time.

Satu video 2 kemalangan dengan kereta yang sama.

Video ; ownerr

Posted by Aidan Ahmad on Monday, 10 April 2023

In the event driver input alone is insufficient, this is where autonomous emergency braking steps in, and could apply maximum braking force to reduce the impact, if not avoid the collision altogether.

At the 47-second mark in the video, another collision occurs, this time involving another motorcyclist and the same car. As there is no rearward-facing footage shown, it is uncertain if the second motorcyclist made contact with the car, though it is unlikely as there was no impact-related movement shown on camera when it occurred.

The second bike crash could have been from the second motorcyclist trying to avoid the stopped car and the surrounding traffic which had slowed for the first incident. Nonetheless, it appears that the second rider was going too quickly for the traffic conditions. Could the second bike crash be prevented had the car stopped on the left side of the road? Possibly, though at the speed it was travelling, it could have instead collided with the white Fortuner that had just passed the camera car on the left.

Last but not least, this, too, demonstrates the importance of having a dashcam installed and running on your vehicle to prove one’s innocence or otherwise. This also provides crucial evidence in the event the work of potential scammers are unfolding; one such case has surfaced just earlier this week.

LINK: Get a dashcam installed

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• ohwai? on Apr 12, 2023 at 1:11 pm

Why is it always the motorcyclist/matrempit/”rider”s fault for the majority of every single traffic violation in Malaysia that cause accidents, and the punishment/recourse/adjustments/precautions are forced upon innocent road car drivers? Why Why Why?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
    • Watel on Apr 12, 2023 at 1:53 pm

We want to know the police report outcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 12, 2023 at 9:51 pm

Looks like a hotspot for motorcycles
        to do illegal “cross-border U-turn”

• Bunch of monkeys judging other monkeys

• Why So Serious on Apr 12, 2023 at 4:15 pm

2 different collisions from opposite sides, this tells us that stretch of road is accident prone or berhantu. Ini semua salah jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • A Volvo AEB have failure track record even at low speed.
    the haters still dont agree to pay more for AEB.

But it’s better to have, bcuz insurance provider also have data to show the benefit of AEB,
    Effectively reducing % of accident.

Some country already charge insurance based on Risk Level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Pity poor Ryan on Apr 12, 2023 at 1:31 pm

Pity the car driver, have to fix front and back with his own money

90% of these monkey riders don’t even pay RM2 roadtax

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 4
  • Fanatic on Apr 12, 2023 at 1:34 pm

Make everything automatic on car just simply will turn human into more careless more lazy, more ignorant more denial on the road. Good awareness of surrounding and sense of safety much more important on the road. They knew they on the road with so many other vehicle, so should becareful and always watch for your own safety. Dont expect people to act for you if u dont act for yourself. Other people also watch for their own safety.
    Too manu dumb road user now a day. And guess what, they cant be blamed, they will always right even they at fault. Playing victim always their master card of oku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Meanwhile, many used car still belong to the Tin Kosong, No AEB.

If buy new car still no AEB, sooner or later you will feels it.
    Dissatisfaction, want to buy another new car.

• Holiday Driving on Apr 12, 2023 at 2:30 pm

The car owner did not even bother to ask if he is alright, straight away scold the motor cyclist. Well.. the biker deserve that for simply not being aware of the car right behind him. Hope the injuries are not severe. With all these gadgets, its still every drivers responsibility to be vigilant behind the wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
    • Pity poor Ryan on Apr 12, 2023 at 3:12 pm

Why would the drive bother the asshole if he is alright or not ? Just like why the heck the rider cross the lane, did he bother the driver ?

use ur brain please, u are just same as the rider

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • Yeahsure on Apr 12, 2023 at 9:27 pm

I wdnt either , fxxx majority of them, absolute monkies.. Always zero sympathy for them whenever i see them having accidents.. They cause so much shit to everyone else on the road…as long as they are a voting tool, authorities will nevwr take actions.. We just have to wait for karma to take its natural path

• Judging from the angle the 1st bike was heading, it seemed like he was aiming to possibly cross the road by going over the divider, otherwise, it just doesn’t make sense for him to head to the most right lane like that.

Either way, pity the car driver for having to deal with both his front and back getting smashed.

This could have easily been avoided had the 1st motorcylist just checked properly first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • taweel on Apr 12, 2023 at 2:40 pm

Incident looks like at Dungun.

• I doubt the AEB will function in this situation.My experience was no while the bike cut in in this angle.Yes,the motorcyclist was make mistake but the car driver can easy to avoid this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Phuddi sung lee on Apr 12, 2023 at 3:25 pm

Motor cycle fault cmg without see anything left e right, as they always practise it, once kick on ass by car then rite away their drama starts and act like monkey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • blowyamind on Apr 12, 2023 at 3:33 pm

baik mampos jer penunggang moto ni, dah lah bodoh menyusahkan orang lagi. kebanyakan penunggang moto ni anggap jalan raya bapak dia punya, kreta yg kena jaga nyawa dia.. puii!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • SHOULD HAVE EXPECTED on Apr 12, 2023 at 3:50 pm

Lacking driving decency

Selfish driver, cam is the witness

knock down poor innocent kapchai from 50M away
    Belakang langgar depan

Selfish driver will never allow you to change lane to make u-turn AND / OR similar manoeuvres

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 53
    • Pity poor Ryan on Apr 12, 2023 at 4:23 pm

Stupid, there’s no junction there, straight come out from junction and cross 2 lanes, u think u GOD is it ? U are just as asshole as the rider, innocent my ass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Apr 12, 2023 at 3:56 pm

the community spirit among motorcyclists are at its highest point. the second motorcyclist crashed his bike to accompany the first motorcyclist. the 2nd motorcyclist took the liverpool’s anthem “You’ll never walk alone” or “You’ll never crash alone” literally.

• Ahmad on Apr 12, 2023 at 4:02 pm

Seen many of these assholes before changing lane without consideration of other road users and stopping in the middle road as if own by their Datuk.
    Darwin’s theory still persist for auto eradication of inferior genes.

• Ahmad on Apr 12, 2023 at 4:03 pm

Seen many of these a**holes before changing lane without consideration of other road users and stopping in the middle road as if own by their Datuk.
    Darwin’s theory still persist for auto eradication of inferior genes.

• Vedder on Apr 12, 2023 at 5:47 pm

They should have aeb for bikes

• Iason on Apr 12, 2023 at 6:04 pm

OMG I saw the accident irl I was going to school

• Iason on Apr 12, 2023 at 6:04 pm

OMG I saw the accident irl after school

• With all these nanny gadgets like AEB for the drivers today, I wonder can these drivers even operate a vehicle safely without the assistance of these safety features without hurting themselves & others on the road. It’s all about drivers proper training & awareness on the road to minimize the chances of accidents.

• haha.. motobodo lagi….
    anak saya baik orang~~~~

• Soh@i on Apr 12, 2023 at 6:59 pm

NCD burned…kekeke!

• GenY AEB on Apr 13, 2023 at 10:26 am

Burnt NCD,
      No car use during repair,
      Trade in value also dropped.

Continue to pay High Bank Installment for the cheaper old car now.

• I guess no raya for motor cyclist. No motor to use unless he got money to repair. Plus injuries may take two weeks to heal.

• Bi-Stander on Apr 13, 2023 at 3:41 am

That’s terrible, I hope the car is OK

• davenport on Apr 13, 2023 at 9:52 am

My car has radar AEB.

In the first case, Even AEB won’t be able to stop in time, if it even detects the bike at all.

Those camera AEB, if it is designed to recognize bikes, might fare better…..provided the weather is clear, not at night, not pointed at the morning/evening sun and the fengshui is favorable to your 8 words.

The point is, AEB will not prevent every accident especially involving dumb@ss kapcai riders. Pay attention to the road, do the best you can and leave the rest to whichever deity you pray to.

• bodohland on Apr 13, 2023 at 10:21 am

AEB would be horrible for Malaysia, because of motorbikes.
    Motorbikes likes to swerve dangerously infront of moving cars. If AEB triggers, means the car would suddenly perform a auto braking, effectively causing a car from the back ram this AEB car. So the motorbike gets away without an accident, but the 2 poor car drivers….

• macampondan on Apr 13, 2023 at 1:45 pm

with the type of motorcyclist that we have in MY, whatever AEB, ABS, ADAS, AXXXXX…

all useless… unless, there’s a tech in the motorcycle to filter out idiot rider. I mean idiot rider….

those good riders are all good.

• Runthemdown on Apr 13, 2023 at 2:15 pm

Malaysia motorcyclists are the scums on our road. Always clap when I see one of them flat on the ground. Selfish assholes.